DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a liquid supply system” in claim 1, wherein the generic place holder “system” is preceded by functional limitation “liquid supply” without sufficiently reciting what the “system” structurally entails; and,
“a work extraction system” in claim 1, wherein the generic place holder “system” is preceded by functional limitation “work extraction” without sufficiently reciting what the “system” structurally entails.
Structural support for “a liquid supply system” can be found in page 14, lines 27 – 32 and page 15, lines 02 - 09, wherein it is described as a pump supplying liquid from a reservoir.
Thus, “a liquid supply system” is interpreted mean a pump of any kind that supplies liquid from a reservoir and equivalent thereof for the purpose of this examination.
Structural support for “work extraction system” can be found in page 5, lines 26 – 36 and page 10, lines 21- 34, wherein it is described as a heat engine or a power generator or a heat distributor.
Thus, “a work extraction system” is interpreted to mean a “heat engine”, “power generator” or “heat distributor” of any kind and equivalent thereof for the purpose of this examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding claim 25, this claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because: it is directed to “computer program product comprising computer program instructions”, See MPEP§ 2163.03.1.
"non-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include: Products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as "data per se") or a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations; Transitory forms of signal transmission (often referred to as "signals per se"), such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal or carrier wave."
In the case of claim 25, the claimed “computer program product comprising computer program instructions” is broad enough to encompass transitory forms of signal transmission. See MPEP § 2163.03. II.
The BRI of “computer program product comprising computer program instruction” can encompass non-statutory transitory forms of signal transmission, such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal per se. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007). When the BRI encompasses transitory forms of signal transmission, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 as failing to claim statutory subject matter would be appropriate.
Thus, claim 25 should be amended to recite that it is only directed to a non-transitory computer programs or program instructions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 16 – 18, the phrase "for example" in the claims renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims filed on 04/27/2023 has been entered. As directed by the preliminary amendment: Claims 6, 8, and 20 – 22 are cancelled. Claims 4, 7, 9-10, 12-15, 18-19, and 25 are amended. Thus, 1 – 5, 7, 9 – 19 and 23 – 25 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 7, 9 – 13, 15 – 19 and 23 – 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Villalobos (US 2006/0201157 A1) and hereinafter “Villalobos”.
Regarding claim 1, Villalobos discloses a heating system (steam generation systems, see FIG.1 and 2) comprising:
a liquid supply system (pump 100.6 for supplying water from tank 100.5, (0120 and see FIG.1));
a cell (a vessel 200.11, see FIG.2) configured to: receive liquid from the liquid supply system (receive water from the pump 100.6 via pipe 200.5, (0120 – 0121 and see FIGS. 1and 2)), provide heating thereof, and output heated fluid (provide heating and output steam via output pipe 200.6, (0121 and see FIGS. 1and 2));
a work extraction system (steam turbine 100.2, FIG.1) configured to extract useable work from heated fluid output from the cell (the steam turbine 100.2 is configured to receive high pressure steam via output pipe 200.6 thereby producing rotational energy/work, (0122 and see FIGS. 1 and 2));
wherein the cell comprises: (i) a housing arranged to define an internal portion for receiving liquid to be heated (the vessel 200.11 has a housing that define an internal portion for receiving liquid mass 200.9 to be heated, see FIGS. 1and 2), and (ii) a plurality of electrodes configured to apply electrical energy to fluid in the internal portion (electrodes 200.2, 200.3 configured to apply electrical energy to the liquid mass 200.9, (0120, 0128 – 0129 and see FIG.2)); and
wherein the electrodes are configured to apply electrical energy to said fluid in the internal portion to generate one or more bubbles of plasma for releasing energy into said fluid in the internal portion and the housing to provide heating of the fluid in the internal portion (the electrodes utilizes electrical energy applied at arc-plasma point 200.1 to ionize liquid mass 200.9 in the internal portion of the vessel housing to convert it into steam 200.10, (0120 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 2, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a controller (controller 200.8, see FIG. 2) configured to: (i) receive a signal indicative of at least one operational parameter of the cell (the controller 200.8, receives pneumatic signal indicative of gap distaste between electrodes in the vessel, (0133 and FIG.2)), and (ii) control operation of the heating system based on said operational parameter (the controller 200.8 automatically adjusts the gap based on the received signal , (0133 and FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 3, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the heating system so that heat and/or plasma generation in the cell is above a threshold level (the controller 200.8 automatically adjusts the gap of the arc-plasma point 200.1.1 to maintain the optimum gap to optimize the level of steam production by maintaining the most optimum energy of arc discharge for plasma generation, (0134 and FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 4, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 2, wherein controlling operation of the heating system comprises controlling at least one of (controlling the steam generation system involves, (0123)): (i) the supply of liquid to the cell by the liquid supply system (controlling valves 200.6.1 and pump 200.5 to permit the liquid mass 200.9 flow in optimal pressure, (0123 and see FIG. 1and 2)), and (ii) the electrical energy applied by the electrodes (controlling the electrical energy supplied from the electrical system is ideal for brisk arc-plasma activity, (0123, 0133 – 0135)) .
Regarding claim 5, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to control the supply of liquid to the cell and/or the electrical energy applied by the electrodes based on an obtained indication of demand for heating to be provided by the cell (the steam generation system 200 pump 100.6 is controlled according to the parameters of the pressure setpoint as desired to the volume of steam demand, (0138 – 0139))
Regarding claim 7, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 2, wherein the signal indicative of at least one operational parameter comprises an indication of a quality and/or quantity of plasma generation within the cell (the controller 200.8 also receives electrical signal feedback of how much of electrical energy is used in arc discharge with in the vessel, (0133 – 0134)); and
wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the heating system so that the quality and/or quantity of plasma generation remains within a selected range (the controller 200.8 optimizes the electrical energy supplied as well as the liquid biomass transfer for optimum energy of arc discharge, (0133 – 0134)).
Regarding claim 9, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of: (i) the supply of liquid to the cell based on the electrical energy to be applied by the plurality of electrodes (controlling by increasing quantity of solution flow rate for an increased electrical energy applied to the electrodes, (0138)), and (ii) the electrical energy to be applied by the plurality of electrodes based on the supply of liquid to the cell (controlling by increasing electrical energy applied to the electrodes for an increased flow of steam produced, (0138)).
Regarding claim 10, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 2, wherein the signal indicative of at least one operational parameter comprises an indication of a temperature associated with at least one of: the cell, the fluid in the cell, and the fluid output from the cell (the steam generation system also includes temperature transducer 200.7.1 and pressure transducer 200.7 to monitor temperature and pressure, respectively, (0137)) and
wherein the controller is configured to control at least one of: (i) the electrical energy applied by the electrodes, (ii) the supply of liquid to the cell, and (iii) an external heater, to increase the temperature of the cell, the fluid in the cell, and/or the fluid output from the cell in the event that the indication of temperature is below a threshold level (the electrical energy applied by the electrodes and the quantity of solution and the rate of flow of steam is controlled based on the temperature and pressure feedback , (0136 – 0139)) .
Regarding claim 11, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to increase the electrical energy applied by the electrodes to provide increased heating and/or decrease the flow rate of liquid through the cell in the event that the indication of temperature is below the threshold level (the electrical energy applied by the electrodes is controlled based on the temperature feedback from temperature transducer 200.7.1, (0137 – 0139)).
Regarding claim 12, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 1, wherein an internal surface of the housing of the cell comprises an electromagnetic energy-absorbing material arranged to convert incident photons into heat (the inside of the vessel housing is equipped with a reclaim grid 200.4 that collects electromagnetic energy and ceramic or borosilicate glass material that absorbs heat at high temperature, (0131 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 13, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 1, wherein the liquid supply system is configured to supply liquid to the cell under pressure (pump 100.6 configured to pump liquid to the vessel, (0120, see FIG.1 and 2)), and the cell is arranged to retain fluid in the housing under pressure (the vessel 200.11 is arranged to hold the liquid 200.9 and pressured steam 200.10 in the vessel, (0120 – 0121, see FIGS. 1and 2));
Regarding claim 15, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of electrodes comprises: (i) an anode (high voltage anode 200.2, see FIG.2) arranged to provide a conductive path for current to be applied to fluid in the internal portion (the high voltage anode 200.2 is arranged to provide a conductive path for high current applied into the fluid in the vessel, (0133 and FIG.2)), and (ii) a cathode (low voltage anode 200.3, see FIG.2) arranged to provide a conductive path away from the internal portion for current received from the anode through the fluid in the internal portion (the low voltage anode 200.3 is arranged to provide a conductive path from the high current hot anode 200.2 through the fluid in the vessel , (0133 and FIG.2)) .
Regarding claim 16, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 15 further comprising a balancing electrode (collector electrode 200.4.2 of the reclaim grid 200.4, (0128, see FIG.2)) arranged to provide an additional conductive path towards or away from fluid in the internal portion (the collector electrode 200.4.2 provides additional path from the reclaim grid 200.4 in the vessel, (0128 and see FIG.2)), for example wherein the anode, cathode and balancing electrode all have the same coefficient of thermal expansion (*Note here – limitation after “for example” are not considered part of the claim).
Regarding claim 17, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 16, wherein the balancing electrode is separated from the conductive path from the first electrode to the second electrode, (the collector electrode 200.4.2 provides a separate path from the high and low anode electrodes 200.2, 200.3 , (0128 and please see FIG.2)) for example wherein the balancing electrode extends perpendicularly away from the conductive path from the first electrode to the second electrode, for example wherein the balancing electrode is arranged to be closer to the first electrode than the second electrode is (*Note here – limitation after “for example” are not considered part of the claim).
Regarding claim 18, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 15, wherein the cell comprises a resistive element arranged between the anode and cathode (the PYREX ring 200.4.3 of the reclaim grid between high voltage anode 200.2 and low voltage anode 200.3, (please see FIG.2) is a resistive element of silicate glass material, (0131 and see FIG.2)), for example wherein the resistive element comprises quartz (*Note here – limitation after “for example” are not considered part of the claim).
Regarding claim 19, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim15, wherein the anode and cathode are arranged concentrically with each other (high volage anodes 200.2 and the low voltage anode 200.3 are preferably coaxially aligned, wherein arc point is formed at the center, (0133 and FIG.2) thus, are concentrically arranged with each other).
Regarding claim 23, Villalobos discloses a method of providing a heated fluid for extracting useable work therefrom (a method of providing a highly pressurized steam for use in steam turbine, 0120 – 0125 and see claims 8, and 10 – 18) the method comprising:
supplying a liquid to be heated to a cell (supplying water to be heated by the pump 100.6 to a vessel 200.11 from tank 100.5, (0120, see FIGS.1 and 2)), wherein the cell comprises: (i) a housing arranged to define an internal portion for receiving the liquid to be heated (vessel 200.11 has housing that defines an internal portion for receiving liquid mass 200.9, see FIGS. 1and 2), and (ii) a plurality of electrodes configured to apply electrical energy to fluid in the internal portion (electrodes 200.2, 200.3 configured to apply electrical energy to the liquid mass 200.9, (0120, 0128 – 0129 and see FIG.2));
controlling operation of the plurality of electrodes to apply electrical energy to fluid in the internal portion to generate one or more bubbles of plasma (controlling the electrodes electrical energy to form an arc discharge at arc-plasma point for plasma generation, (0134 and FIG.2)):
generating heat in the housing proximal to the internal portion in response to the housing receiving incident photons associated with plasma bubbles in the internal portion (generating heat in the internal portion of the vessel to turn the supplied liquid mass 200.9 into high pressure steam 200.10 by arc-plasma activity, (, 0123, 0129 – 0132 and see FIG.2));
using the housing to conductively heat fluid in the internal portion (using the reclaim grid of the vessel to conductively heat the liquid mass in the internal portion of the vessel, (0131 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 24, Villalobos discloses a method of controlling operation of a heating system (controlling the steam generation system, (0123, FIGS. 1 and 2)), the heating system comprising a cell (a vessel 200.11, see FIG.2) comprising: (i) a housing arranged to define an internal portion for receiving liquid to be heated (the vessel 200.11 has a housing that define an internal portion for receiving liquid mass 200.9 to be heated, see FIGS. 1and 2, and (ii) a plurality of electrodes configured to apply electrical energy to fluid in the internal portion (electrodes 200.2, 200.3 configured to apply electrical energy to the liquid mass 200.9, (0120, 0128 – 0129 and see FIG.2)), the method comprising:
controlling operation of the electrodes to apply electrical energy to fluid in the internal portion to generate one or more bubbles of plasma for releasing energy from the plasma into the fluid in the internal portion and the housing to provide heating of the fluid in the internal portion (controlling the electrodes electrical energy to form an arc discharge at arc-plasma point for plasma generation, (0134 and FIG.2) and using the reclaim grid of the vessel to conductively heat the liquid mass in the internal portion of the vessel, (0131 and see FIG.2)), wherein controlling operation of the electrodes comprises:
receiving a signal indicative of at least one operational parameter associated with the cell and/or a fluid associated therewith (receiving temperature and pressure signal of the vessel 200.11 from the temperature sensor 200.7.1 and pressure sensor 200.7, (0137 and FIG.2));
operating in a 'cold-start' mode when the operational parameter indicates heating and/or plasma generation is below a threshold level (operating in ‘arc start’ mode, wherein the generated steam only proportional to the size of the arc generated between the electrodes, (0152)); and
operating in a 'normal' mode when the operational parameter indicates heating and/or plasma generation is above the threshold level (operating in a ‘higher temperature and pressure mode’ after the initial arc start, wherein increasing the fluid flow or the electric curet to the electrode provides a greater volume of steam production, (0153));
wherein operating in the cold-start mode comprises controlling at least one of: (i) the electrical energy applied by the electrodes, (ii) supply of liquid to the cell, and (iii) operation of an external heater, to increase the temperature of the cell and/or the fluid associated therewith in the event that the operational parameter indicates heating and/or plasma generation is below a threshold level (controlling quantity of liquid mass 200.9 and the rate of flow of steam 200.10 according to the parameters of the pressure setpoint as desired and increasing electrical energy disposed to the electrodes to increase the flow rate of fluid, internal pressure and temperature through arc point, (0138, see FIG.2)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villalobos in view of Villalobos (US 2006/0042251 A1) and hereinafter “Villalobos’251”
Regarding claim 14, Villalobos discloses the heating system of claim 1.
Villalobos does not explicitly teach that the liquid supply system is configured to increase heating of liquid prior to supplying it to the cell in the event that heat and/or plasma generation of the cell is below a threshold level.
However, Villalobos’251 that relates to analogous scalable steam generator that generates steam energy through arc-hydrolysis of water (0002), also teaches the steam generation system having Pre-start solution heater 100.9 configured to heat the solution 200.9 prior to suppling it to the vessel 200.11, in the event to a temperature of the solution is at a certain temperature threshold to commence the steam producing process, (0056, see FIGS. 1and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating system of Villalobos to include an external heater for increasing the heating of the liquid prior being supplied to the vessel in order to control the temperature of the liquid supplied into the vessel to be of a certain threshold before entering the vessel as taught in Villalobos’251. POSITA apprised of Villalobos’251’s teaching of controlling the temperature of liquid externally before being supplied to the vessel would be motivated to implement the same, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to achieve better temperature control of the liquid mass supplied to the vessel as taught in Villalobos’251.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villalobos in view of Redwine (US 2018/0062190 A1) and hereinafter “Redwine”
Regarding claim 25, Villalobos discloses the method of claims 23.
Villalobos does not teach a computer program product comprising computer program instructions configured to control a processor to perform the method of claims 23.
However, Redwine that related to method includes applying super-heated steam across a catalyst surface within a catalyst chamber to generate ionized steam plasma (0009), also teaches the storing of the method steps as computer program instructions configured to control a processor in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium to perform the method steps, (0022, 0055 – 0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating system of Villalobos to include a computer program product comprising computer program instructions configured to control a processor to perform the method of claims 23 as storing steps/ instructions in a computer program product comprising computer program instructions configured to control a processor in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium an industry trend known in the art as taught in Redwine.
Conclusion
/DILNESSA B BELAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761