DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-6, 11-20 in the reply filed on 12/1/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4, 11-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: the term "preferably" in the claims presents an interpretation that the features are just optional. It is suggested to reword the claims to make clear what is a positive limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-5,13,15,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaeger (DE 19509464) in view of Lu (EP 3318224). Fig. 12 of DE ‘464 shows a beaded component, comprising an expandable body 3 and at least two shaping assemblies 5. However, Jaeger did not explicitly disclose the shaping assemblies include a first part and a second part; wherein the first part has a columnar inner cavity, and a partial section of the expandable body is bundled within the columnar inner cavity to form a shrinkage section of the beaded component; or the first part has a columnar outer surface, and an inner surface of the partial section of the expandable body is fixedly connected to the columnar outer surface to form the shrinkage section of the beaded component; the second part is a tubular part, and the shrinkage section is sheathed in the second part; and an expansion section of the beaded component is formed between two adjacent shrinkage sections. It is noted that the expandable body 3 is bundled in a first part 5, see Jaeger (translation page). Lu teaches (Fig. 5b) that a second part or tubular part 17 sheaths a first part of a shrinkage or constricting section, paragraph 52. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a shrink tube as taught by Lu with the bead component of Jaeger such that it protects or cover the first part or constriction to provide a smooth covering and eliminate separation. Regarding claim 3, it noted Jaeger disclosed (page 3 of translation) the partial section of the expandable body and the columnar inner cavity are connected in a first manner by a tight fit. In addition per the modification with Lu the second part and the shrinkage section are connected in the first manner selected from hot melt or tight fit, paragraph 39 of Lu. Regarding claims 4,13 Jaeger shows (Fig. 12) the expandable body 3 is a meshed tube (page 2 of translation), the second part employs a polymeric material (Lu paragraph 39); the second part is a heat shrink tube; and Lu also teaches (paragraph 39) the polymeric material of the second part is selected from polyolefin material, fluorinated ethylene propylene copolymer, neoprene or fluororubber. Regarding claims 5,15,16, it can be seen (Fig. 12) of Jaeger that the distance between two adjacent shaping bodies 5 has a value that is greater than the outer diameter of the second part which is placed on the shaping bodies, see also page 2 of translation.
Claim(s) 6,18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaeger (DE 19509464) in view of Lu (EP 3318224) as applied to claims 1,3-5 above, and further in view of Ward (2005/0192662). Jaeger in view of Lu is explained as before. However, Jaeger as modified by Lu did not disclose the expandable body comprises a first expandable body and a second expandable body, wherein the first expandable body is sheathed in the second expandable body, and a partial section of the second expandable body is bundled within the columnar inner cavity. Ward teaches (Fig. 1) a first expandable body 10 and a second expandable body 20. Ward also teaches (Fig. 2) the first expandable body is sheathed in the second expandable body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize first and second expandable bodies with one sheathing the other as taught by Ward with the beaded component assembly of Jaeger as modified with Lu such that it provides the necessary support with two structures and stabilize one another and provide the necessary support for its intended purpose, see Ward paragraphs 16,25.
Claim(s) 2,11,12,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaeger (DE 19509464) in view of Lu (EP 3318224) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jensen et al. (EP 2497447). Jaeger in view of Lu is explained supra. However, Jaeger as modified by Lu did not disclose end parts of the second part are provided with chamfering structures; preferably, the first part has the columnar inner cavity, and the first part has a shape selected from a cylinder, a prism, a sphere or a truncated cone; preferably, the first part has the columnar outer surface; and preferably, the columnar inner cavity is cylindrical, or the columnar outer surface is cylindrical. Jensen et al. teach (Fig. 1) end parts of a sleeve tube 20 with chamfering structures. It is noted that Jaeger provides a bead component 5 that defines a lumen in the form of a cylinder and also the tube 17 incorporated thereon as taught by Lu can be said to suggest to provide the first part with a cylinder like structure. Thus it can be said that Jensen further would lead one also to use a cylinder like structure as Fig. 2 shows channel 30 provides a passage in the form of a cylinder. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a second part with ends chamfered as taught by Jensen et al. with the bead component of Jaeger as modified with Lu in order to reduce sharp shoulder or edges to aid in its use if placed in a lumen, see Jensen. In addition it can be construed that the first part provides a columnar cavity in the form of a cylinder in view of the combined teachings all providing a cylindrical channel. Regarding claim 11, it noted Jaeger disclosed (page 3 of translation) the partial section of the expandable body and the columnar inner cavity are connected in a first manner by a tight fit. In addition per the modification with Lu the second part and the shrinkage section are connected in the first manner selected from hot melt or tight fit, paragraph 39 of Lu. Regarding claim 12 Jaeger shows (Fig. 12) the expandable body 3 is a meshed tube (page 2 of translation), the second part employs a polymeric material (Lu paragraph 39); the second part is a heat shrink tube; and Lu also teaches (paragraph 39) the polymeric material of the second part is selected from polyolefin material, fluorinated ethylene propylene copolymer, neoprene or fluororubber. Regarding claim 14, it can be seen (Fig. 12) of Jaeger that the distance between two adjacent shaping bodies 5 has a value that is greater than the outer diameter of the second part which is placed on the shaping bodies, see also page 2 of translation.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaeger (DE 19509464) in view of Lu (EP 3318224) and Jensen et al. (EP 2497447) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ward (2005/0192662). Jaeger in view of Lu and Jensen is explained as before. However, Jaeger as modified by Lu and Jensen did not disclose the expandable body comprises a first expandable body and a second expandable body, wherein the first expandable body is sheathed in the second expandable body, and a partial section of the second expandable body is bundled within the columnar inner cavity. Ward teaches (Fig. 1) a first expandable body 10 and a second expandable body 20. Ward also teaches (Fig. 2) the first expandable body is sheathed in the second expandable body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize first and second expandable bodies with one sheathing the other as taught by Ward with the beaded component assembly of Jaeger as modified with Lu and Jensen such that it provides the necessary support with two structures and stabilize one another and provide the necessary support for its intended purpose, see Ward paragraphs 16,25.
/BRIAN E PELLEGRINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799