DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendment filed 04/27/2026. The previously filed IDS have been reconsidered. The replacement drawings have been accepted and the previous drawing objection withdrawn. The previous claim objection has been withdrawn in response to applicant’s amendment. Claims 14-33 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reinforcing structure” in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-22 and 25-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trimble (US 4,782,832 A).
Regarding claim 14, Trimble discloses a nasal plug for a nasal oxygen catheter (abstract, col 1 ln 12-16 discloses oxygen delivery), comprising a body, which comprises a casing (#54 fig 9) and a cavity (see Trimble annotated fig 9 below) positioned in the casing, and is provided with at least one gas outlet (#65 fig 9), wherein the nasal plug further comprises a stop structure (#68, 72, 70, 58 fig 9, although the structure is not disclosed as a “stop structure” due to similar construction it is seen that the component is capable of performing the function of a “stop structure”) that surrounds the at least one gas outlet and extends from an inner wall of the casing toward the cavity (see fig 9), so that condensed water on the inner wall of the cavity has to flow over the stop structure before it can be discharged from the gas outlet (as the stop structure juts out from the inner wall and surrounds the outlet it is seen that condensed water would need to flow over the stop structure in order to be discharged from the gas outlet).
Trimble annotated fig 9
Regarding claim 15, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 14. Trimble further discloses a reinforcing structure is formed on the stop structure (#68, 72 fig 9).
Regarding claim 16, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 15. Trimble further discloses the reinforcing structure comprises reinforcing ribs (#68 fig 9, outer structural ribs to provide differing orientation).
Regarding claim 17, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 15. Trimble further discloses the reinforcing structure comprises a flanged edge, which is folded and extends towards the outside of the gas outlet (#72 fig 9, bulbous outward flanging).
Regarding claim 18, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 14. Trimble further discloses the stop structure comprises a first end connected to the casing and a second end extending into the cavity (see Trimble annotated fig 9 above), and an inner diameter of the second end is greater than that of the gas outlet (see Trimble annotated fig 9 above).
Regarding claim 19, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 15. Trimble further discloses the stop structure comprises a first end connected to the casing and a second end extending into the cavity (see Trimble annotated fig 9 above), and an inner diameter of the second end is greater than that of the gas outlet (see Trimble annotated fig 9 above).
Regarding claim 20, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 16. Trimble further discloses the stop structure comprises a first end connected to the casing and a second end extending into the cavity (see Trimble annotated fig 9 above), and an inner diameter of the second end is greater than that of the gas outlet (see Trimble annotated fig 9 above).
Regarding claim 21, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 17. Trimble further discloses the stop structure comprises a first end connected to the casing and a second end extending into the cavity (see Trimble annotated fig 9 above), and an inner diameter of the second end is greater than that of the gas outlet (see Trimble annotated fig 9 above).
Regarding claim 22, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 18. Trimble further discloses the inner diameter of the second end is greater than that of the first end (see Trimble annotated fig 9 above).
Regarding claim 25, Claim 18 is rejected as Trimble disclosing the stop structure comprises a first end connected to the casing and a second end extending into the cavity, and an inner diameter of the second end is greater than that of the gas outlet (see Trimble annotated fig 9 – version 2 below).
Trimble annotated fig 9 – version 2
Trimble further discloses one part of the first end extends from an edge of the gas outlet (inner wall side, see Trimble annotated fig 9 – version 2 above), and another part of the first end is arranged spaced apart from the edge of the gas outlet (outer wall side see Trimble annotated fig 9 – version 2 above).
Regarding claim 26, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 14. Trimble further discloses the stop structure is a stop ring (see fig 8 showing the stop structure having a round ringed shape).
Regarding claim 27, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 15. Trimble further discloses the stop structure is a stop ring (see fig 8 showing the stop structure having a round ringed shape).
Regarding claim 28, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 14. Trimble further discloses the nasal plug comprises at least two gas outlets (see fig 9 showing two nasal plugs/outlets), and the stop structure surrounds all the gas outlets on the nasal plug (see fig 9 showing a stop structure around each outlet).
Regarding claim 29, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 15. Trimble further discloses the nasal plug comprises at least two gas outlets (see fig 9 showing two nasal plugs/outlets), and the stop structure surrounds all the gas outlets on the nasal plug (see fig 9 showing a stop structure around each outlet).
Regarding claim 30, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 14. Trimble further discloses one end of the cavity is formed as a gas inlet end (end connected to #52 fig 5, 6, 9), and the other end is formed as a closed end (see Trimble annotated fig 5 below), and a connecting structure (#52 fig 5, 6, 9) for connecting with a ventilation pipeline is formed on a side of the casing corresponding to the gas inlet end (see fig 1 showing a ventilation pipeline being connected to inlet component/connecting structure).
Trimble annotated fig 5
Regarding claim 31, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 15. Trimble further discloses one end of the cavity is formed as a gas inlet end (end connected to #52 fig 5, 6, 9), and the other end is formed as a closed end (see Trimble annotated fig 5 above), and a connecting structure (#52 fig 5, 6, 9) for connecting with a ventilation pipeline is formed on a side of the casing corresponding to the gas inlet end (see fig 1 showing a ventilation pipeline being connected to inlet component/connecting structure).
Regarding claim 32, Trimble discloses a nasal oxygen catheter (abstract, col 1 ln 12-16 discloses oxygen delivery), comprising a ventilation pipeline (#24 fig 1) and the nasal plug of claim 14 (see claim 14 above).
Regarding claim 33, Trimble discloses a ventilation therapy device (abstract), comprising the nasal oxygen catheter of claim 32 (see claim 32 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trimble as applied to claims 18 and 22 above, and further in view of Davidson (US 2006/0237017 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 18. Trimble is silent to the inner diameter of the first end is greater than that of the gas outlet. Trimble instead discloses the first end being flush in size with the outlet (see fig 9).
Davidson teaches a nasal plug (see fig 43-44) comprising an outlet (#17 fig 44) and a stop structure (#120 fig 44), wherein the inner diameter of the stop structure is greater than that of the gas outlet (see fig 44 showing the outlet fitting inside the stop structure thus showing a greater inner diameter of the stop structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an outlet smaller than the stop structure first end as taught by Davidson for the first end/connection between the stop structure and the nasal prong of Trimble as doing so provides increased flexibility facilitating movement of the nasal prongs (par 0110).
Regarding claim 24, Trimble discloses the nasal plug of claim 22. Trimble is silent to the inner diameter of the first end is greater than that of the gas outlet. Trimble instead discloses the first end being flush in size with the outlet (see fig 9).
Davidson teaches a nasal plug (see fig 43-44) comprising an outlet (#17 fig 44) and a stop structure (#120 fig 44), wherein the inner diameter of the stop structure is greater than that of the gas outlet (see fig 44 showing the outlet fitting inside the stop structure thus showing a greater inner diameter of the stop structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an outlet smaller than the stop structure first end as taught by Davidson for the first end/connection between the stop structure and the nasal prong of Trimble as doing so provides increased flexibility facilitating movement of the nasal prongs (par 0110).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the structure of Trimble fails to result in condensed water on the inner wall to flow over the stop structure before being discharged. Although the stop structure of blank is intended for a different purpose as applicant noted (see pg 7-8 of response filed 04/27/2026), due to the structure surrounding the outlet it is seen that the water would need to flow over the structure in order to access the outlet and the claimed function is performed regardless of the structure's intended purpose. Applicant further asserts that Trimble utilizes a moveable fit between 58-72-70 thus resulting in gaps between these elements (see pg 8 of response filed 04/27/2026) causing condensed water to leak into these gaps. However, these gaps do not connect to the outlet 65 and instead connect to recess 56. As the claim requires the condensed water to flow over the stop structure in order to be discharged from the outlet (Trimble 65) it remains seen that Trimble meets the claim language and that the gaps do not affect this claimed function.
Applicant's arguments are not persuasive and the examiner upholds the rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2021/150883 A1 (fig 13b)
US 10,569,042 B2 (fig 44)
US 20190275278 A1 (see fig 1A #137)
US 20220409839 A1
US 20040226566 A1
US 20070125387 A1
US 20070272249 A1 (see specifically fig 38)
US 20100252044 A1
US 20160051787 A1 disclosing ribbing (see fig 6, 7)
US 20190070441 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRA B DAHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785