DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-17, and 187-188 and the species of method step E) in claim 4 in the reply filed on June 22, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 7, 15-16, 18, 21-23, 89, 93, 109, and 120-121 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 5 has been withdrawn based on the election of step E) of claim 4. In view of the prior art, the species of method steps C) and D) in claim 4 have been rejoined. Steps A), B), F), and G) remain withdrawn. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 22, 2026.
Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of the International Application No. PCT/US2021/057453, filed on October 29, 2021. The instant application claims benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) to U.S. provisional application(s) 63/107,967, filed on October 30, 2020 and 63/192,305, filed on May 24, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 7, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites the term “regents” in line 6 which appears to be a typographical error for the term “reagent”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 4 utilizes capital letters for method steps while claim 1 already uses lower case letters which can lead to confusion. Claim 8 is included in the objection based on utilizing the same lettering convention as claim 4. In order to delineate method steps, Applicant should use letters, followed by numbers, then roman numerals. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 12 recites “FACS” which is a trademark/trade name. Although claim 12 appears to intend to use FACS as an acronym, it is recommended that Applicant amend claim 12 to remove “FACS” in order to avoid potential indefiniteness issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 188 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 188 recites the limitation “determining, by the one or more processors and according to a finalized single cell-to-colony machine learning model…” MPEP 2161.01(I) states:
“Original claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. … When examining computer-implemented functional claims, examiners should determine whether the specification discloses the computer and the algorithm (e.g., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter at the time of filing.”
Regarding the instantly recited machine learning claim elements, it appears the disclosure does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or achieved. The instant specification recites that the single cell-to-colony machine learning model may be a multiclass logistic regression, a multiclass boosted decision tree, a neural network algorithm, or a linear regression, or a derivatives thereof but does not disclose what is considered to be a derivative thereof (Para. [00197], [00198]). Further, the instant specification discloses that the single cell-to-colony model is optimized by using a training data set comprising one or more morphological cell features from a second plurality of images for a plurality of training single cells and measured quality attributes of each colony expanded from each of the plurality of training single cells. The finalized single cell-to-colony model can be further optimized by using a validation data set comprising one or more morphological cell features from a third plurality of images for a plurality of validation single cells and measured quality attributes of each colony expanded from each of the plurality of validation single cells, and comparing one or more predicted quality attributes of each of the plurality of validation single cells with the measured quality attributes of each of the colony expanded from each of the plurality of validation single cells (Para. [00199]).
Example 10 of the instant specification, referencing Fig. 24, provides an example where a training data set of cytometry images were used for morphological feature extraction based on image analysis and the outcome data was provided to “an algorithm to train it with supervised machine learning”. Although Applicant provides examples of morphological cell features and examples of the “corresponding outcome data set”, there is no disclosure of the specific morphological features or outcomes which were reduced to practice. The specification discloses that a second image data set was used to score and evaluate the predictive power of the algorithm and the predictive power of the algorithm was optimized. For classification optimization, the specification discloses that a multiclass logistic regression was tested and multiclass boosted decision tree and neural network algorithms were used “as needed”. The specification discloses that for prediction of numerical titer values, linear regression and neural network regression algorithms “can be” tested for optimizing the predictive power (See Para. [00262]). While the specification appears to indicate that multiclass logistic regression, multiclass boosted decision tree, and neural network algorithms were used for classification, the specification is silent on the specific type and/or architecture of the linear regression, boosted decision tree, and/or neural network models used in order to carry out the claimed method. Related to the theoretical use of liner regression and neural network regression algorithms which could be used to optimize the model for numerical predictions, the specification is similarly silent on the specific type and/or architecture of those models. Accordingly, the disclosure is not considered to describe the algorithm and specific steps which must be used in order to generate the finalized single cell-to-colony model used to perform the claimed method such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the method is to be performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-4, 8, 12-14, 17, and 187-188 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Dependent claims 2, 4, 8, 12-14, 17, and 187-188 are rejected for incorporating the limitations of a rejected base claim while failing to correct the deficiency.
Claim 1 step d) recites that a target cell is selected “at least based on” a pre-determined value which renders the scope of the claim indefinite. As instantly claimed, it is unclear what other factors, beyond the pre-determined value, are intended to be used in order to select a target cell, rendering the scope of the claim unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
With regard to claim 1, the term “pre-determined value” in line 16 is subjective term which renders the claim indefinite. A claim may be rendered indefinite by reference to subjective term (see MPEP 2173.05(b), IV). The phrase “pre-determined value” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for measuring the scope of the term, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Dependent claims 2, 4, 8, 12-14, 17, and 187-188 are included in the basis of this rejection because they do not clarify the scope of the “pre-determined value”. Appropriate correction is required. During prosecution, the applicant may overcome a rejection by amending the claim to remove the subjective term, or by providing evidence that the meaning of the term can be ascertained by one of ordinary skill in the art when reading the disclosure. However, "[f]or some facially subjective terms, the definiteness requirement is not satisfied by merely offering examples that satisfy the term within the specification." DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1261, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1108 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
With regard to claim 3, the term “expected outcome” is subjective term which renders the claim indefinite. A claim may be rendered indefinite by reference to subjective term (see MPEP 2173.05(b), IV). The phrase “pre-determined value” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for measuring the scope of the term, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required. During prosecution, the applicant may overcome a rejection by amending the claim to remove the subjective term, or by providing evidence that the meaning of the term can be ascertained by one of ordinary skill in the art when reading the disclosure. However, "[f]or some facially subjective terms, the definiteness requirement is not satisfied by merely offering examples that satisfy the term within the specification." DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1261, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1108 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
With regard to claim 12, the term “reduced perturbations” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reduced” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As claimed, it is unclear what a skilled artisan is to consider “reduced”. Although applicant attempts to clarify what is considered to be “reduced” by reciting “corresponding perturbations” there is similarly no definition for or indication of what a skilled artisan is to consider “corresponding perturbations”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “solution/environment” in line 2 which renders the scope of the claim indefinite. As instantly claimed, it is not clear whether “solution/environment” is intended to be interpreted as “solution and environment”, “solution or environment” or “solution and/or environment”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 8, and 188 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite mental processes (i.e., concepts performed in the human mind including observations, evaluations, judgements, opinions) and mathematical concepts (i.e., mathematical relationships, formulas, equations, or mathematical calculations).
MPEP 2106.04 states:
In addition to the terms "laws of nature," "natural phenomena," and "abstract ideas," judicially recognized exceptions have been described using various other terms, including "physical phenomena," "products of nature," "scientific principles," "systems that depend on human intelligence alone," "disembodied concepts," "mental processes," and "disembodied mathematical algorithms and formulas." It should be noted that there are no bright lines between the types of exceptions, and that many of the concepts identified by the courts as exceptions can fall under several exceptions. For example, mathematical formulas are considered to be a judicial exception as they express a scientific truth, but have been labelled by the courts as both abstract ideas and laws of nature. Likewise, "products of nature" are considered to be an exception because they tie up the use of naturally occurring things, but have been labelled as both laws of nature and natural phenomena. Thus, it is sufficient for this analysis for the examiner to identify that the claimed concept (the specific claim limitation(s) that the examiner believes may recite an exception) aligns with at least one judicial exception.
Claims 1, 3, 8, and 188 are directed to a method for selecting a target cell and therefore are drawn to the statutory category of a process and are eligible under Step 1.
Claim 1 recites “selecting a target cell…at least based on a pre-determined value” and claim 8 recites additional limitations as to the length of time for the selection to be made. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “selecting” includes observation and decision making. Thus, claim 1 recites a concept that falls into the mental processes group of abstract ideas.
Claim 3 recites “predicting an expected outcome…” in line 1. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “predicting” includes judgement and opinion. Thus, claim 3 recites a concept that falls into the mental processes group of abstract ideas.
Claim 188 recites “determining by one or more processors and according to a finalized single cell-to-colony machine learning model, one or more predicted attributes…”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “determining…predicted attributes” includes observation, judgement, and opinion. Thus, claim 188 recites a concept that falls into the mental processes group of abstract ideas.
Regarding the finalized single cell-to-colony machine learning model, the instant specification discloses that a training data set of cell morphology was extracted by image analysis, which could be performed by mental processes and/or mathematical concepts and corresponding outcome data set was fed to an algorithm. A second scored data set, which could be generated via metal processes and/or mathematical concepts, was used to correlate predictive power and logistic regression or linear regression, mathematical concepts which could be performed in the mind, were used for optimizing predictive power (Para. [00262]). These recitations are similar to the concepts of collecting information, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis is Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)), comparing information regarding a sample or test to a control or target data in Univ. of Utah Research Found. v. Ambry Genetics Corp. (774 F.3d 755, 113 U.S.P.Q.2d 1241 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and Association for Molecular Pathology v. USPTO (689 F.3d 1303, 103 U.S.P.Q.2d 1681 (Fed. Cir. 2012)), and organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations in Digitech Image Techs., LLC v Electronics for Imaging, Inc. (758 F.3d 1344, 111 U.S.P.Q.2d 1717 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) that the courts have identified as concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind or mathematical relationships. As detailed supra under 112a rejections, the disclosure does not provide sufficient structure related to generation of the machine learning model. Therefore, the claimed machine learning model is not further defined beyond something that reads on performing a calculation using a computer as a tool, and merely looking at data and making a determination. As such, said steps are directed to judicial exceptions.
Thus, claims 1, 3, 8, and 188 are drawn to the judicial exception of abstract ideas and mathematical concepts under Step 2A, Prong One.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the additional method steps are no more than insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to generally apply an exemption. Claim 1 recites additional steps of placing a plurality of cells into a plurality of chambers, exposing at least a subset of the plurality of chambers to a condition, and detecting a signal or change thereof from a particular chamber. These additional method steps are performed in order to generate the conditions required for use of the recited judicial exceptions of selecting a target cell (claims 1 and 8), predicting an expected outcome (claims 3), and determining predicted attributes (claim 188).
Additionally, the machine learning model of claim 188 is used to generally apply the abstract idea without placing any limitation on how the machine learning model operates. The claim omits any details as to how the machine learning solves a technical problem and instead recites only the idea of a solution or outcome. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the limitation represents no more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea of determining predicted attributes, which is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” to the recited judicial exception. In addition, the claim confines the use of the recited judicial exception “selecting” of claim 1 to the technological environment of machine learning by generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the recited machine learning model. Therefore, this general recitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Therefore, it can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use or a technological environment. Thus, the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B because the instant disclosure teaches well-understood, routine, and conventional methods of data gathering including placing a plurality of cells in a plurality of chambers, exposing a subset of the chambers to a condition, and detecting a signal or change from a chamber which are implemented for the steps of selecting a target cell, predicting an expected outcome, and comparing colony monoclonality assurance and/or viability. These steps of data gathering would be well known to one having ordinary skill in the art. Applicant’s instant specification discloses that existing methods of selecting target cells are known in the art and include sorting cells into single-cell cultures, culturing, analyzing the cells, and selecting desired cell populations based on the analysis (Para. [0051]). Further, the as detailed supra, the machine learning model is considered to amount to mere instructions to apply the recited single cell-to-colony machine learning model to the judicial exception of target cell selection. The limitations reciting use of data from one or more processors according to a finalized machine learning model for cell selection equate to instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer environment which does not provide an inventive concept (See MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(f)).
Thus, the additional elements recited in the claims are no more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities commonly known in the art and mere instructions to apply the judicial exemption to a field of use. These elements do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. Therefore, the instant claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself under Step 2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 12-14, 17, and 187 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshimoto et al. (2013, An automated system for high-throughput single cell-based breeding. Sci. Rep., 3(1), 1191, hereafter “Yoshimoto”) as evidenced by Yoshimoto and Kuroda (2014, Single-cell-based breeding: Rational strategy for the establishment of cell lines from a single cell with the most favorable properties. J. of Biosci. and Bioeng., 117(4), 394-400, hereafter “Yoshimoto and Kuroda”).
With regard to claim 1, Yoshimoto discloses a method of high throughput screening of suitable cells in order to select and expand an isolated single cell (Abstract). Yoshimoto discloses placing a plurality of cells into a plurality of microchambers (Pg. 2-3, right col., bridging para.; Pg. 3, right col., 2nd para.) where each microchamber is designed to hold a single cell (Pg. 3, right col., 1st para.; Fig. 1) and covering the cells with culture media (Pg. 3, right col., 2nd para.), which is considered to reasonably read on exposing at least a subset of the microchambers to a reagent based on the definition of reagent in the instant specification (bottom of Para. [0009]). Yoshimoto discloses measuring the fluorescence intensity of the plurality of microchambers in order to determine the presence of a cell in each microchamber and virtually “marking” cells based on fluorescence intensity, which is considered to reasonably read on detecting a signal or change thereof from a particular chamber wherein the signal or change thereof is indicative of the presence of a target cell in in the particular chamber and selecting target cells based on a pre-determined value of the signal (Pg. 2-3, right col., bridging para.; Pg. 3, right col. 2nd para.; Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 2, Yoshimoto discloses transferring the selected cell to an assigned well of a plate, which is considered to reasonably read on a cultivation vessel (Pg. 2-3, right col., bridging para.; Pg. 3, right col., 2nd para.; Fig. 2), and that the selected cells (i.e., cells with the highest fluorescence) were allowed to proliferate into colonies (Pg. 3-4, bridging para.; Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 3, Yoshimoto discloses that the selected cells having the highest fluorescence produced clones which had the highest expression of pluripotency markers (e.g., Rex1) (Pg. 3-4, bridging para.; Fig. 3). This is considered to reasonably read on predicting an expected outcome of a colony expanded from a target cell (e.g., high expression of pluripotency markers) based on the signal (i.e., fluorescence), wherein the selecting is responsive to the predicted expected outcome (e.g., selection of cells exhibiting high fluorescence is correlated with cells expressing high levels of pluripotency markers).
With regard to claim 4, in view of the prior art, steps C) and D) have been rejoined. Regarding step C) Yoshimoto discloses that cells are introduced into microchambers via a “brief” centrifugation of 1 minute (See Fig. 2 caption). Regarding step D), Yoshimoto discloses that when selecting CHO cells based on fluorescence, single CHO cells could be retrieved within 3 hours (Pg. 6, right col., last para.). Regarding step E), Yoshimoto discloses that the detecting is performed by fluorescence imaging (Pg. 2-3, right col., bridging para.; Pg. 3, right col., 2nd para.; Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 8, as detailed supra, Regarding step D), Yoshimoto discloses that when selecting CHO cells based on fluorescence, single CHO cells could be retrieved within 3 hours (Pg. 6, right col., last para.).
With regard to claims 12 and 13, Yoshimoto discloses that use of FACS subjects cells to mechanical associated with high voltage and pressure and chemical stress from the sheath solution for cell suspension (Pg. 1, bottom para.) and that these mechanical and chemical stresses associated with FACS are likely to alter gene expression of isolated single cells (Pg. 8, right col., 1st para.). Further, Yoshimoto discloses that their method is “undisruptive” due to gentle handling of cells (Pg. 4, left col., 1st para.). This is considered to reasonably read on Yoshimoto’s method involving reduced mechanical perturbations compared to FACS.
With regard to claim 14, Yoshimoto’s method discloses that the target cell is not removed from the chamber before selection of target cell based on fluorescence (Pg. 3, right col., 2nd para.; Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 17, as detailed supra, Yoshimoto’s method discloses detection of a fluorescent signal which is based on cellular GFP expression (Pg. 3, right col., last para.). GFP expression is considered to reasonably read on detection of a product produced by a cell which is a protein.
With regard to claim 187, Yoshimoto discloses that single cells of the plurality of cell were isolated in the microchambers and the microchamber array was scanned by a camera in order to produce a plurality of images of each of the cells and microchambers. The captured images were used for analysis of each cell and microchamber in order to detect fluorescence intensity of each individual cell by a computer (See Fig. 2 and caption; Pg. 7-8, Methods, bridging para.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 188 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto in view of Dao et al. (2016, CellProfiler Analyst: interactive data exploration, analysis and classification of large biological image sets. Bioinformatics, 32(20), 3210-3212, hereafter “Dao”).
With regard to claim 188, as detailed supra, Yoshimoto teaches a method of high throughput screening of suitable cells in order to select and expand an isolated single cell (Abstract). Yoshimoto’s method involves placing a plurality of cells into a plurality of microchambers (Pg. 2-3, right col., bridging para.; Pg. 3, right col., 2nd para.) where each microchamber is designed to hold a single cell (Pg. 3, right col., 1st para.; Fig. 1) and covering the cells with culture media (Pg. 3, right col., 2nd para.), which is considered to reasonably read on exposing at least a subset of the microchambers to a reagent based on the definition of reagent in the instant specification (bottom of Para. [0009]). Yoshimoto teaches measuring the fluorescence intensity of the plurality of microchambers in order to determine the presence of a cell in each microchamber and virtually “marking” cells based on fluorescence intensity, which is considered to reasonably read on detecting a signal or change thereof from a particular chamber wherein the signal or change thereof is indicative of the presence of a target cell in in the particular chamber and selecting target cells based on a pre-determined value of the signal (Pg. 2-3, right col., bridging para.; Pg. 3, right col. 2nd para.; Fig. 2). Yoshimoto’s method teaches that single cells isolated in microchambers and the microchamber array was scanned by a camera in order to produce images of each of the cells and microchambers. The captured images were used for analysis of each cell and microchamber in order to detect fluorescence intensity of each individual cell by a computer (See Fig. 2 and caption; Pg. 7-8, Methods, bridging para.).
Yoshimoto is silent as to the use of machine learning to determine predicted attributes of cell colonies.
Dao teaches that CellProfiler Analyst software can be used to identify single-cell phenotypes, uses a machine-learning based interface (Pg. 3210, left col.), and is suitable for high throughput datasets (Pg. 3210, right col.). Dao teaches that CellProfiler Analyst provides machine learning algorithms which can be trained to identify phenotypes in single cells (Pg. 3211, left col., 2nd and 3rd paras.) based on single cell images (Pg. 3211, left col., 3rd para.). Dao teaches that CellProfiler Analyst can be used for single cell classification (Pg. 3210, left col.; Pg. 3211, left col., 3rd para.), which is considered to reasonably read on predicting an attribute.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply CellProfiler Analyst software as taught by Dao to Yoshimoto’s high throughput method of selecting a target cell using cellular images generated by an automated system with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply CellProfiler Analyst software to Yoshimoto’s method as Yoshimoto’s method is drawn to selection and isolation of the most suitable cells in a population of cells based on image analysis and Dao teaches that CellProfiler Analyst software is useful for single cell images from high throughput data sets and uses machine learning based classification which improves speed (Pg. 3211, left col. 3rd para.). One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success as both Yoshimoto and Dao teach cell classification using images from high throughput data sets.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ERIN V PAULUS/Examiner, Art Unit 1631
/ARTHUR S LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1631