DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukudome et al. (US 2019/0192386).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5 and 8: Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses dental compositions [abstract], wherein Example 15 [Ex. 15; 0476-0478; Table 10, Ex. 15] contains the paste of Ex. 5, 10.5 ppm yellow pigment, 3.1 ppm red pigment, and 1.4 ppm blue pigment [Ex. 15; 0476-0479; Table 10, Ex. 15]. Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses Ex. 5 [Ex. 5; 0466-0473; Table 4, Ex. 5] contains 100 parts by mass {pbm} monomer M-4, 100 pbm inorganic filler F-1, 100 pbm organic-inorganic composite filler CF-1, and 0.2 mas% CQ (camphorquinone [0400-0402]) [Ex. 5; 0466-0473; Table 4, Ex. 5]. Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses M-4 contains 30 mass% Bis-GMA [0384-0385], 40 mass% D2.6E [0392-0393] and 30 mass% 3G [0388-0389] [Table 1, M4]; F-1 is a spherical filler (average primary particle size 0.4 µm) [Table 2, F-1]; and CF-1 prepared from M-2 (UDMA [0396-0397; Table 2, M-2]) and F-1 (average primary particle size 0.4 µm), and having an average primary particle size of 5.5 µm [0425-0431; Table 3; CF-1]. Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses Ex. 15 was cured and has a contrast ratio (1 mm thick; Yb/Yw [0439-0443]) of 0.45 [Table 11; Ex. 15].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. ratios R650/600, R700/600, and R750/600 of spectral reflectances at 650 nm, 700 nm, and 750 nm wavelengths to a spectral reflectance at 600 nm wavelength all fall within a range of 97% to 103% when measured for a 1.0 mm-thick cured product of the dental curable composition against a white background with a spectral colorimeter [instant claim 1], would inherently be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claim 3: Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses a light diffusivity (D=[{(I(20)/cos 20°)+(I(70)/cos 70°)}/(2×I(0))]×100) [0444-0466] of a 0.5mm sample of 44 [Ex. 15; Table 11, Ex. 15].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a light diffusivity (LD; (I5/cos5o)/Io) of 0.0001 to 0.99 for a 0.25mm thick cured sample [instant claim 3], would inherently be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claim 4: Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a 1.0 mm-thick cured product of the dental curable composition has a chromaticity index a*/w of -3.0 to 2.0 as measured in L*a*b*color system with a standard whiteboard placed behind the cured product [instant claim 4], would inherently be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claim 6-7: Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses CF-1 is agglomerated [0256] and was prepared from F-1 (average primary particle size 0.4 µm) having an average primary particle size of 5.5 µm [0425-0431; Table 3; CF-1]. Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses F-1 has a refractive index of 1.521 [Table 2, F-1]. Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses M-4 has a refractive index after curing (nP) [0374] of 1.551 [Table 1, M-4] {corresponding to a refractive index difference |(M-4) – (F-1)| of 0.03}.
Regarding claim 9: Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses CF-1 was prepared from F-1 (average primary particle size 0.4 µm) having an average primary particle size of 5.5 µm [0425-0431; Table 3; CF-1] and M-2 (UDMA [0396-0397; Table 2, M-2]). Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses F-1 has a refractive index of 1.521 [Table 2, F-1] and M-2 has a refractive index after curing (nP) [0374] of 1.509 [Table 1, M-2]. Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses M-4 has a refractive index after curing (nP) [0374] of 1.551 [Table 1, M-4] {corresponding to a refractive index difference |(M-4) – (F-1)| of 0.03; a refractive index difference |(M-4) – (M-2)| of 0.042}.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/3/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-5 and 8 based upon Fukudome et al. (US 2019/0192386) is maintained.
Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) was relied on for disclosing dental compositions [abstract], wherein Example 15 [Ex. 15; 0476-0478; Table 10, Ex. 15] contains the paste of Ex. 5, 10.5 ppm yellow pigment, 3.1 ppm red pigment, and 1.4 ppm blue pigment [Ex. 15; 0476-0479; Table 10, Ex. 15]. Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses Ex. 5 [Ex. 5; 0466-0473; Table 4, Ex. 5] contains 100 parts by mass {pbm} monomer M-4, 100 pbm inorganic filler F-1, 100 pbm organic-inorganic composite filler CF-1, and 0.2 mas% CQ (camphorquinone [0400-0402]) [Ex. 5; 0466-0473; Table 4, Ex. 5]. Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses M-4 contains 30 mass% Bis-GMA [0384-0385], 40 mass% D2.6E [0392-0393] and 30 mass% 3G [0388-0389] [Table 1, M4]; F-1 is a spherical filler (average primary particle size 0.4 µm) [Table 2, F-1]; and CF-1 prepared from M-2 (UDMA [0396-0397; Table 2, M-2]) and F-1 (average primary particle size 0.4 µm), and having an average primary particle size of 5.5 µm [0425-0431; Table 3; CF-1]. Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses Ex. 15 was cured and has a contrast ratio (1 mm thick; Yb/Yw [0439-0443]) of 0.45 [Table 11; Ex. 15].
As Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) discloses a dental composition substantially identical to the claimed composition, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. ratios R650/600, R700/600, and R750/600 of spectral reflectances at 650 nm, 700 nm, and 750 nm wavelengths to a spectral reflectance at 600 nm wavelength all fall within a range of 97% to 103% when measured for a 1.0 mm-thick cured product of the dental curable composition against a white background with a spectral colorimeter [instant claim 1], would inherently be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
“[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same...[footnote omitted].” The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)). [See MPEP 2112]. Evidence {data} would need to be provided showing the composition disclosed by Fukudome et al. (US ‘386) does not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of the claimed product.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767