DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-22 are pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The Information Disclosure Statements filed 08/14/2023 and 08/14/2025 were considered by the Examiner.
Response to Restriction/Election Requirement
Applicant’s election with traverse of the following compound,
, to prosecute Group I, in the reply filed on November 3rd, 2025, is acknowledged. The transversal is on the grounds that examination of all of the claims does not create an undue search burden on the examiner. This is not found persuasive in view of the art below.
Applicant states that Claims 1-9 and 11-21 encompass the elected species. However, claims 4, 5 and 10 do not read on the elected species. Regarding claims 4-5, in the elected species Z is -C(O)- and X is -NH, these claims do not allow for this. Further, regarding claim 10, in the elected species R2 is H and R1 is C(O)R3, wherein R3 is heterocycloalkyl, substituted with R4, wherein R4 is aryl, claim 10 does not allow for this. As such, claims 4-5 and 10 are also withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected species.
As per MPEP 803.02, the examiner will determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicants' elected species is not allowable. Therefore, according to MPEP 803.02:
Following election, the Markush claim will be examined fully with respect to the elected species and further to the extent necessary to determine patentability.
If the Markush claim is not allowable, the provisional election will be given effect and examination will be limited to the Markush claim and claims to the elected species, with claims drawn to species patentably distinct from the elected species held withdrawn from further consideration.
If on examination the elected species is found to be anticipated or rendered obvious by prior art, the Markush claim and claims to the elected species will be rejected, and claims to the nonelected species will be held withdrawn from further consideration.
As the elected species has been found not allowable, the Markush-type claims have been rejected and claims to the nonelected invention held withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-3,6-9 and 11-21 have been examined to the extent that they are readable on the elected compound above. Since the elected species is not allowable, subject matter not embraced by the elected embodiment is therefore withdrawn from further consideration, claims 4-5, 10 and 22 is withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected group. Any additional issues below that address subject matter outside the scope of the search and examination discussed above are presented in the interest of compact prosecution since they were discovered incidental to said search and examination.
Improper Markush Grouping
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 16-21 are rejected on the basis that they contain an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of Formula (A) is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons: the various permutations of variables X, Y and Z and rings A and B result in compounds that only require a structure of a tricyclic structure in common, which is not a significant structural similarity. The varying permutations are not recognized to belong to the same physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class. To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use. The scope of formula A (inclusive of the elected species) that would form a proper Markush grouping would be where X is -C(O) and X and Y are -NH. There would appear to be several different ways in which a proper Markush grouping could be derived from the scope instantly claimed; however, defining the X, Y and Z variables would appear to be a minimum requirement since the options for X, Y and Z to be the multiple options listed in instant claim 1 results in numerous dissimilar ring permutations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9 and 11-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schinazi et al (WO 2019/213584 A1, as cited on the IDS dated 08/14/2023).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Schinazi teaches a method for treatment or prophylaxis of a disease affected by Retinoic Acid Receptor-like Orphan Receptor (ROR) modulators, comprising administering an effective treatment amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of any of a general formula (A) to a patient in need of treatment thereof (claim 27).
Schinazi further teaches that the disease is ischemic stroke (claim 29).
Schinazi teaches compounds of formula (A) that includes the following (claim 13):
.
This compound is embraced by instant formula A, wherein Z is -C(O)-, X is -NH-, Y is -NH, A and B are phenyl, R2 is H, and R1 is C(O)R3, wherein R3 is heterocycloalkyl, substituted with R4, wherein R4 is aryl.
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
Schinazi does not teach an explicit embodiment where the compound above was administered to a patient.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Regarding claim 1, while the prior art does not explicitly teach an embodiment where the compound above was administered to a patient, Schinazi teaches compounds of instantly claimed formula B and their utility in treating a subject suffering from ischemic stroke. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to screen the example compounds of the prior art in the particular utilities to determine which would provide optimum treatment outcomes.
Regarding claim 2, Schinazi teaches that the compound is an ROR alpha agonist (claim 36).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, X is -C(O) and Z is -NH-.
Regarding claim 7, Y is -NH.
Regarding claims 8-9, R2 is H.
Regarding claim 11, R2 is
.
Regarding claim 12, R2 is -C(O)-heterocyclyl-alkylaryl.
Regarding claim 13, the compound above is the first compound of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 14, the compound above is embraced by the formula of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 15, Schinazi teaches that the pharmaceutical composition comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient (claim 15).
Regarding claim 16, Schinazi teaches that the pharmaceutical composition is a transdermal composition or a nanoparticulate composition (claim 16).
Regarding claim 17, Schinazi teaches that the pharmaceutical composition further comprises a second Retinoic Acid Receptor-like Orphan Receptor (ROR) modulator from formula (A).
Regarding claims 18-19, Schinazi teaches that the pharmaceutical composition further comprises aspirin (claim 24).
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites “wherein the pancreatitis is…”, however, the method of the prior art is a method of treating a stroke. Claim 1, the claim from which claims 7 depends, recites that the disorder can be pancreatitis, sarcopenia, stroke glioblastoma and traumatic brain injury. As the limitations of claim 20 is to pancreatitis, the method of the prior art above reads on the claim. Regarding claim 21, the claim is also concerned with pancreatitis as the claim recites “associated with an increased risk of pancreatitis”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 11-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/203, 874 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending application claims a method for the treatment or prophylaxis of a disease affected by Retinoic Acid Receptor-like Orphan Receptor modulators, comprising administering an effective treatment amount of a compound of Formula (A) (claim 1). The copending application further claims that the compound of Formula (A) is
(claim 6). Further, the copending application claims that the disease is brain cancers (claim 17).
Regarding claims 1-2, This compound is embraced by instant formula A, wherein Z is -C(O)-, X is -NH-, Y is -NH, A and B are phenyl, R2 is H, and R1 is C(O)R3, wherein R3 is heterocycloalkyl, substituted with R4, wherein R4 is aryl.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, X is -C(O) and Z is -NH-.
Regarding claim 7, Y is -NH.
Regarding claims 8-9, R2 is H.
Regarding claim 11, R2 is
.
Regarding claim 12, R2 is -C(O)-heterocyclyl-alkylaryl.
Regarding claim 13, the compound above is the first compound of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 14, the compound above is embraced by the formula of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 15, the copending application claims that the compound is present in a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient (claim 8).
Regarding claim 16, the copending application claims that the composition is a transdermal composition or a nanoparticulate composition (claim 9).
Regarding claim 17, the copending application claims that the composition further comprises a second ROR modulator from formula (A) (claim 10).
Regarding claim 18, the copending application claims that the composition further comprises one or more active agents selected from the group consisting of agents used to treat cancer (claim 12).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/A.G.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/MATTHEW P COUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626