DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/28/2023 and 08/22/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "or even" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "or even" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "or even" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the lipase" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9, from which claim 12 depends, does not recite lipase.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "or even" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, each of claims 5, 8, 10, and 12, respectively recite the broad recitation “at least 60% sequence identity”, and the claim also recites several narrower statements of the range. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Dependent claims are rejected for the same reason(s) as the base claim(s) upon which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Callisen et al. (WO 2014090940 A1) (already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Callisen et al. discloses a method for removing a stain on a textile (p. 1 line 12-p. 2 line 7, p. 21 lines 25-26), the method comprising contacting the textile with a wash liquor (p. 23 line 33-p. 24 line 12, p. 39 lines 27-36), wherein the wash liquor comprises lipoxygenase (reads on a polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity) (p. 1 line 12-p. 2 line 7, p. 23 line 33-p. 24 line 12, p. 39 lines 27-36).
Callisen et al. does not disclose wherein the wash liquor further comprises additional detergent; however, this fulfills the limitation of further comprising “0 g detergent/L wash liquor” which falls within the claim range.
As to the optional limitations (“optionally one or more polyunsaturated fatty acids, such as linoleic acid, and optionally one or more additional enzymes”), these do not introduce a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Regarding claim 3, Callisen et al. discloses wherein the polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity is a soybean lipoxygenase (p. 13 line 20).
Regarding claim 4, Callisen et al. discloses wherein the polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity is lipoxygenase EC 1.13.11.12 (p. 13 lines 9-10), which is synonymous for soybean lipoxygenase 1 (LOX-1) (see UniProt entry for EC 1.13.11.12, which has been added to the prosecution history record as an evidentiary reference).
Regarding claim 5, Callisen et al. discloses wherein the lipoxygenase (polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity) comprises or consists of the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 (p. 13 lines 27-29), which has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application (Applicant’s own specification as-filed confirms this, see p. 1 lines 27-29; see also BLAST alignment results below).
FASTA sequence for SEQ ID NO: 3 of WO 2014090940 A1 obtained from lens.org
BLAST alignment SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application to SEQ ID NO: 3 of WO 2014090940 A1: 100% identity
Regarding claim 6, Callisen et al. discloses wherein the lipoxygenase (polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity) is used in combination with at least one additional enzyme comprising lipase (p. 29 lines 32-34).
Regarding claim 7, Callisen et al. discloses wherein the lipoxygenase (polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity) is used in combination with a lipase (p. 29 lines 32-34).
Regarding claim 9, Callisen et al. discloses a detergent composition comprising a lipoxygenase (p. 2 lines 6-7, p. 23 lines 33-35) and one or more surfactants including AEO, APG, or a combination thereof (reads on one or more plant based biosurfactants, consistent with Applicant’s specification) (p. 24 line 22-p. 25 line 24).
As to the optional limitations (“optionally one or more polyunsaturated fatty acids and optionally at least one additional enzyme”), these do not introduce a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Nonetheless, Callisen et al. discloses wherein the composition comprises at least one additional enzyme (p. 29 lines 32-35).
Regarding claim 10, Callisen et al. discloses wherein the lipoxygenase comprises or consists of the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 (p. 13 lines 27-29), which has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application (Applicant’s own specification as-filed confirms this, see p. 1 lines 27-29; see also BLAST alignment results below).
FASTA sequence for SEQ ID NO: 3 of WO 2014090940 A1 obtained from lens.org
BLAST alignment SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application to SEQ ID NO: 3 of WO 2014090940 A1: 100% identity
Regarding claim 11, the claim is directed to a further specification of the at least one additional enzyme. However, claim 9, from which claim 11 depends, recites the at least one additional enzyme as being an optional component, and therefore the prior art need not disclose this feature to anticipate the claim. Nonetheless, Callisen et al. discloses wherein the at least one additional enzyme is lipase (p. 29 lines 32-35).
Regarding claim 12, the claim appears to be directed to a further specification of the at least one additional enzyme. However, claim 9, from which claim 12 depends, recites the at least one additional enzyme as being an optional component, and therefore the prior art need not disclose this feature to anticipate the claim.
Regarding claim 14, Callisen et al. discloses a method for bleaching a stain on a textile (p. 1 line 12-p. 2 line 7, p. 3 lines 11-15, p. 21 lines 25-26, p. 27 lines 23-24) comprising contacting the stain with a detergent composition (p. 1 lines 31-34, p. 23 lines 33-35) comprising a lipoxygenase (p. 2 lines 6-7, p. 23 lines 33-35) and one or more surfactants including AEO, APG, or a combination thereof (reads on one or more plant based biosurfactants, consistent with Applicant’s specification) (p. 24 line 22-p. 25 line 24).
As to the optional limitations (“optionally one or more polyunsaturated fatty acids and optionally at least one additional enzyme”), these do not introduce a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Nonetheless, Callisen et al. discloses wherein the composition comprises at least one additional enzyme (p. 29 lines 32-35).
Regarding claim 15, Callisen et al. discloses wherein the contacting is performed under wash conditions (col. 2 lines 12-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deinhammer et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0205628).
Regarding claim 1, Deinhammer et al. discloses a method for removing a stain on textile (para. 333-340), the method comprising contacting the textile with a wash liquor (Example 16, para. 333-337), wherein the wash liquor comprises an enzyme cocktail comprising lipase and further comprises 2.5 g detergent/L wash liquor (falls within the claim range) (para. 337). As to the optional limitations (“optionally one or more polyunsaturated fatty acids, such as linoleic acid, and optionally one or more additional enzymes”), these do not introduce a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Deinhammer et al. does not expressly teach that the enzyme blend used in Example 16 comprises a polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity.
However, Deinhammer et al. is directed towards reducing formulation costs by replacing detergent components with enzymes (para. 21) and discloses that “in most cases it is beneficial to combine two or more enzymes to be able to partly replace or fully replace one or more of the surfactants, builders, polymers and bleaches” (para. 106). Specifically, Deinhammer et al. discloses combining lipase with an oxidoreductase (para. 109), wherein the oxidoreductase may be lipoxygenase (para. 98-99). The lipoxygenase can serve to replace the bleaching and/or dye transfer inhibition functionality of detergent (para. 98-102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Deinhammer et al. such that the enzyme cocktail comprises, in combination with the lipase, lipoxygenase (reads on a polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity), as Deinhammer et al. clearly envisions combining lipase and lipoxygenase in the method, and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to add lipoxygenase to achieve bleaching and/or dye transfer inhibition properties to improve textile treatment.
Regarding claim 2, Deinhammer et al. discloses wherein the wash liquor comprises 2.5 g detergent/L wash liquor (falls within the claim range), as set forth above.
Regarding claim 3, Deinhammer et al. teaches the polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity, as set forth above, wherein the polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity is lipoxygenase (EC 1.13.11.12) (para. 99), which is soybean lipoxygenase (see UniProt entry for EC 1.13.11.12, which has been added to the prosecution history record as an evidentiary reference).
Regarding claim 4, Deinhammer et al. teaches the polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity, as set forth above, wherein the polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity is lipoxygenase (EC 1.13.11.12) (para. 99), which is synonymous for soybean lipoxygenase 1 (LOX-1) (see UniProt entry for EC 1.13.11.12, which has been added to the prosecution history record as an evidentiary reference).
Regarding claim 5, Deinhammer et al. teaches the polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity, as set forth above, wherein the polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity is lipoxygenase (EC 1.13.11.12) (para. 99).
Although Deinhammer et al. does not include a sequence ID, the UniProt entry for EC 1.13.11.12, which has been added to the prosecution history record as an evidentiary reference, lists the sequence, and the sequence has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application (see BLAST alignment search below). Therefore, Deinhammer et al. necessarily meets the limitation.
BLAST alignment SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application to EC 1.13.11.12: 100% identity
Regarding claim 6, Deinhammer et al. teaches wherein the polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity is used in combination with lipase, as set forth above.
Regarding claim 7, Deinhammer et al. teaches wherein the polypeptide having lipoxygenase activity is used in combination with lipase, as set forth above.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deinhammer et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0205628) in view of Baltsen (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0153356).
Regarding claim 8, Deinhammer et al. discloses the lipase, as set forth above.
Deinhammer et al. does not expressly teach wherein the lipase has at least 60% sequence identity to the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 2.
Baltsen discloses a composition for washing a laundry item (para. 2-7) comprising a lipase having at least 95% sequence identity to a sequence identified as SEQ ID NO: 2 (para. 68), wherein a composition comprising this particular lipase performs “nicely” when treating laundry (Example 1, para. 360-379).
The lipase having SEQ ID NO: 2 of Baltsen (2019/0153356 is a publication of application no. 15/576051) is a 100% match to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application (see ABSS search result below).
ABSS search of SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application: SEQ ID NO: 2 of US 15/576051 is 100% match
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lipase disclosed by Deinhammer et al. to have 100% sequence identity to the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 2, as Baltsen discloses that a lipase having this sequence was known in the art to deliver good results when used to launder clothing, and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to select a particular lipase recognized in the art to be effective in a method of laundering textiles.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callisen et al. (WO 2014090940 A1) (already of record) in view of Baltsen (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0153356).
Regarding claim 8, Callisen et al. discloses the lipase, as set forth above.
Deinhammer et al. does not expressly teach wherein the lipase has at least 60% sequence identity to the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 2.
Baltsen discloses a composition for washing a laundry item (para. 2-7) comprising a lipase having at least 95% sequence identity to a sequence identified as SEQ ID NO: 2 (para. 68), wherein a composition comprising this particular lipase performs “nicely” when treating laundry (Example 1, para. 360-379).
The lipase having SEQ ID NO: 2 of Baltsen (2019/0153356 is a publication of application no. 15/576051) is a 100% match to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application (see ABSS search result below).
ABSS search of SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application: SEQ ID NO: 2 of US 15/576051 is 100% match
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lipase disclosed by Callisen et al. to have 100% sequence identity to the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 2, as Baltsen discloses that a lipase having this sequence was known in the art to deliver good results when used to launder clothing, and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to select a particular lipase recognized in the art to be effective in a method of laundering textiles.
Double Patenting
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 7,456,001 in view of Schulz et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0362632).
Regarding claim 9, each of independent claims 4 and 13, respectively, of the reference patent recite a detergent composition comprising a lipoxygenase and a surfactant. As to the optional limitations (“optionally one or more polyunsaturated fatty acids and optionally at least one additional enzyme”), these do not introduce a patentable distinction over the claims of the reference patent.
The reference patent claims are silent as to the surfactant being a biosurfactant selected from the group consisting of rhamnolipid, sophorolipid and plant based biosurfactants, such as SLS, APG, AEO and SLES.
Schulz et al. discloses that it was known in the art of cleaning detergent compositions to use biosurfactants rather than other surfactants because biosurfactants can be sustainably produced on a large scale (para. 2-5). Schulz et al. discloses that such biosurfactants include rhamnolipids and sophorolipids (para. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surfactant recited in each of claims 4 and 13, respectively, of the reference patent to comprise rhamnolipids or sophorolipids, based on the teachings of Schulz et al., as the skilled artisan would have been motivated to select a particular surfactant recognized in the art to offer the advantage of sustainable production on a large scale.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 7,264,954 in view of Schulz et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0362632).
Regarding claim 9, claim 13 of the reference patent recite a detergent composition comprising a lipoxygenase and a surfactant. As to the optional limitations (“optionally one or more polyunsaturated fatty acids and optionally at least one additional enzyme”), these do not introduce a patentable distinction over the claims of the reference patent.
The reference patent claim is silent as to the surfactant being a biosurfactant selected from the group consisting of rhamnolipid, sophorolipid and plant based biosurfactants, such as SLS, APG, AEO and SLES.
Schulz et al. discloses that it was known in the art of cleaning detergent compositions to use biosurfactants rather than other surfactants because biosurfactants can be sustainably produced on a large scale (para. 2-5). Schulz et al. discloses that such biosurfactants include rhamnolipids and sophorolipids (para. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surfactant recited in claim 13 of the reference patent to comprise rhamnolipids or sophorolipids, based on the teachings of Schulz et al., as the skilled artisan would have been motivated to select a particular surfactant recognized in the art to offer the advantage of sustainable production on a large scale.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lant et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0264140) is directed to a detergent composition containing lipoxygenase and a method of contacting a textile with the detergent in a washing machine such that the concentration of the detergent in the wash liquor is 0g/L to 5g/L.
Conclusion
/HOLLY KIPOUROS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799