DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1 – 5, in the reply filed on January 8, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6 – 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 8, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH02-240145 to Kobayashi et al. (hereinafter Kobayashi), as evidenced by JPH05-261857 to Kato et al. (hereinafter Kato) and US 6,699,923 to Tanigawa et al. (hereinafter Tanigawa). For the purposes of examination, citations for Kobayashi are taken from the translation of the document submitted by applicant on April 28, 2023. Citations for Kato are taken from a machine translation of the document obtained from the European Patent Office in March 2026.
Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 5. Kobayashi teaches a polyolefin resin foam (Page -454-, “Field of Industrial Applicability”).
In Example 1, the foam comprises a blend of 100 parts by weight linear low density polyethylene (LDPE) and 3 parts by weight of the commercially available polyorganosiloxane graft copolymer SP-300 (Page -459-, Table 1), corresponding to a polymer blend comprising roughly 97 weight percent LDPE and 3 weight percent of graft copolymer. Kato provides evidence that SP-300 comprises 40 weight percent polydimethylsiloxane [0023]. Tanigawa provides evidence that the polymer in SP-300 onto with the polydimethylsiloxane is grafted is LDPE (Column 5, Lines 52 – 56). Thus, the SP-300 used in Kobayashi is reasonably considered a polydimethylsiloxane grafted LDPE (PDMS-g-LDPE).
The Office recognizes that the amounts of LDPE (97 weight percent) and PDMS-g-LDPE (3 weight percent) in Example 1 of Kobayashi are slightly outside the claimed ranges for LDPE (70 to 95 weight percent) and PDMS-g-LDPE (5 to 30 weight percent). The Office notes that, in Example 1, a silicone content relative to the overall resin used is 1.17 parts by weight (Page -459-, Table 1). However, in the general disclosure, Kobayashi teaches the silicone content relative to the overall resin may be as high as 5 parts by weight (Page -459-, 5th Paragraph). It is consequently the Office’s position that, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to raise the silicone content relative to the overall resin in Example 1 of Kobayashi to be as high as 5 parts by weight. The LDPE would then correspond to roughly 88.9 weight percent of the polymer blend, while the PDMS-g-LDPE would correspond to 11.1 weight percent of the polymer blend. The motivation would have been that increasing the amount of silicone would be expected to enhance the beneficial effects associated with the presence of the polyorganosiloxane-grafted polyolefin copolymers, including increases in finer cells, flexibility, and surface smoothness in the final foam product (Page -459-, 5th- and 6th Paragraphs).
Kobayashi does not expressly characterize the foam as a microcellular foam, nor teach its cell size is less than 60 microns. However, Kobayashi, when modified in the manner proposed, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a microcellular foam having a cell size of less than 60 microns, would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regrading Claim 3. Kobayashi teaches the microcellular foam of Claim 1 wherein the LDPE has a density of 0.921 g/cm3 and a melt index of 0.3 (Page -457-, 1st Paragraph of “Example 1”).
Regrading Claim 4. Kobayashi teaches the microcellular foam of Claim 1 but is silent with respect to the density and melt index of the PDMS-g-LDPE. However, Kobayashi does teach the LDPE has a density of 0.921 g/cm3 and a melt index of 0.3 (Page -457-, 1st Paragraph of “Example 1”). It is consequently the Office’s position that, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the PDMS-g-LDPE in Example 1 of Kobayashi with a melt index and density which are the same or substantially similar to the LDPE used in this example. The motivation would have been that providing a PDMS-g-LDPE with a melt index and density which are the same or substantially similar to the LDPE would ensure the polymers have similar flow properties, enhancing their miscibility and also homogeneity in a blend thereof.
Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0389537 discloses the use of AGILITY® 1021 in a foam layer, which is the same LDPE used in the inventive examples of the instant specification.
US 2018/0346676 pertains to microcellular foams based upon polyethylene.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764