DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14, 15, and 17-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/27/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 and 16 in the reply filed on 1/27/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Farrand fails to teach the claimed polymer is a chiral helical polymer. This is not found persuasive because Farrand appears to teach that its structures enable both left and right handed helices may be formed by the compound (e.g., [0034]).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farrand et al. (US 2010/0019199, “Farrand”).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Farrand teaches a compound reading on that of presently claimed formula I’ wherein arylene rings are connected via a direct bond and a divalent linking group and wherein the arylene groups may further be substituted with a halide (see, e.g., [0190], wherein the below monomer is shown and described).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakayori et al. (US 2007/0100129, “Sakayori”) in view of Farrand.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Sakayori teaches a polymer compound having a repeating unit having a first planar group and a second planar group (see, e.g., Formula (5), reproduced below, [0034] – [0037], wherein the benzene rings have a lean that is from 30 to 40 degrees relative to each other) and having a bond linking the two groups (see Formula (5) having a bond connecting the benzene rings) and a divalent linking group linking the groups (see Formula (5) having at least one divalent linking group connecting the benzene rings).
Sakayori fails to specifically teach that the polymer is a chiral, helical polymer, but this configuration is well known in the art. For example, in the same field of endeavor of components for use in display devices (e.g., [0002], Farrand teaches to apply similar compounds in a chiral, helical arrangement in order to effectively create optical polymer films whose optical properties are useful in display devices and are suitably controllable ([0002] – [0010]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have adapted the polymer of Sakayori so as to be chiral and helical in order to effectively create optical polymer films whose optical properties are useful in display devices and are suitably controllable (Farrand, [0002] – [0010]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Sakayori additionally teaches that the repeating units may be arranged at roughly 180 degrees from one another and may be collinear (see Formula (5) being bonded to the remaining polymer at opposite ends roughly 180 degrees from one another).
Regarding claim 4, Sakayori additionally teaches the compound comprises a second divalent linking group linking the planar groups (see Formula (5) having two divalent linking group connecting the benzene rings).
Regarding claims 6, 7, and 9, Sakayori additionally teaches the compound comprises first and second planar groups that may comprise arylene groups that may be connected by a direct bond that may be perpendicular to the axis of the polymer (see Formula (5), above, having benzene planar groups).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Sakayori additionally teaches that the polymer may read on the claimed repeating of, for example, formula (III) and (IIIa) (see Formula (5), above, and e.g., [0030] – [0040]).
Regarding claim 16, Sakayori additionally teaches that the material may be used in a display device ([0023] [0024]), and Farrand further teaches to use such materials in a liquid crystal display or layer (i.e., an optical modulator) with electrode layers applied thereon and thus the incorporation of such materials in this type of device would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing ([0002], [0024]).
Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senthilkumar et al. (US 2018/0066102, “Senthilkumar”).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 7, and 8, Senthilkumar teaches a polymer compound having a repeating unit having a first planar group and a second planar group (see, e.g., Formula (I), reproduced below, [0033] – [0039], such planar groups are arylene groups and would be expected to be in different planes at least to some degree) and having a bond linking the two groups (see Formula (I) having a bond connecting the benzene rings) and a divalent linking group linking the groups (see Formula (I) having at least one divalent linking group connecting the benzene rings). Senthilkumar additionally teaches that the compounds may be chiral and helical ([0063] – [0066]). Senthilkumar additionally teaches that the direct bond may be parallel with the axis of the polymer (Formula (I), polymeric bonds parallel to medial bond connecting the aryl groups).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782