DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, 13, and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masatoshi et al. (JP 2002/179669, “Masatoshi” a machine translation of which is provided and used as the citation copy).
Regarding claims 1 and 22 - 24, Masatoshi teaches a chiral helical polymer wherein a bond and a divalent linking group connect first and second planar groups (see [0019], [0020], [0009] – [0018], wherein the compound of structural formula 1 has axial asymmetry). For example, Masatoshi teaches a compound reading on that of presently claimed formula Ia wherein arylene rings are connected via a direct bond and a divalent linking group such that the medial ring may have 7 atoms (see, e.g., [0020], wherein the below monomer is shown and described, wherein R1 may have or be substituted with a halogen). Such a compound has a group corresponding to the presently claimed B1 group may read on one of the claimed divalent compounds (see, e.g., Formula 1, shown below). Such a configuration has first and second planar groups that may be considered phenylene groups.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Masatoshi teaches a compound reading on that of presently claimed formula Ia’ wherein arylene rings are connected via a direct bond and a divalent linking group such that the medial ring may have 7 atoms and wherein the arylene groups may further be substituted with a halide (see, e.g., [0020], wherein the below monomer is shown and described, wherein R1 may have or be substituted with a halogen).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakayori et al. (US 2007/0100129, “Sakayori”) in view of Farrand et al. (US 2010/0019199, “Farrand”).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 24, Sakayori teaches a polymer compound having a repeating unit having a first planar group and a second planar group (see, e.g., Formula (5), reproduced below, [0034] – [0037], wherein the benzene rings have a lean that is from 30 to 40 degrees relative to each other) and having a bond linking the two groups (see Formula (5) having a bond connecting the benzene rings) and a divalent linking group linking the groups (see Formula (5) having at least one divalent linking group connecting the benzene rings). Such a configuration has first and second planar groups that may be considered phenylene groups.
Sakayori fails to specifically teach that the polymer is a chiral, helical polymer, but this configuration is well known in the art. For example, in the same field of endeavor of components for use in optical films and polymerics (e.g., [0002]), Farrand teaches to apply similar compounds in a chiral, helical arrangement in order to effectively create optical polymer films whose optical properties are useful in display devices and are suitably controllable ([0002] – [0010]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have adapted the polymer of Sakayori so as to be chiral and helical in order to effectively create optical polymer films whose optical properties are useful in display devices and are suitably controllable (Farrand, [0002] – [0010]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Sakayori additionally teaches that the group corresponding to the presently claimed B1 group may read on one of the claimed divalent compounds (see, e.g., Formula 5, described in the rejection of claim 1, above).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masatoshi, as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Sakayori.
Regarding claim 5, Masatoshi teaches a chiral helical polymer wherein a bond and a divalent linking group connect first and second planar groups (see [0019], [0020], [0009] – [0018], wherein the compound of structural formula 1 has axial asymmetry). For example, Masatoshi teaches a compound reading on that of presently claimed formula Ia wherein arylene rings are connected via a direct bond and a divalent linking group such that the medial ring may have 7 atoms (see, e.g., [0020], wherein the below monomer is shown and described, wherein R1 may have or be substituted with a halogen). Such a compound has a group corresponding to the presently claimed B1 group may read on one of the claimed divalent compounds (see, e.g., Formula 1, shown below). Such a configuration has first and second planar groups that may be considered phenylene groups.
Masatoshi teaches that the planar compound should have a twist angle (e.g., [0002] – [0010]) but fails to specifically teach a twist angle as presently claimed. However, in the same field of endeavor of compounds for use in optical application (e.g., in films for use in display devices and for which optical properties are important, see [0110] [0111]), Sakayori teaches planar groups connected by a divalent group having a lean that is from 30 to 40 degrees relative to each other ([0035], [0036]). While Masatoshi fails to specifically teach the lean or twist angle with regard to the planar groups of the above-described molecule, because such an angle is known in the art and because Sakayori teaches that such an angle produced a composition having suitable optical properties for use in display device films (e.g., Sakayori, [0110], [0111]) the ordinarily skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of filing to have tried such an angle for the composition of Masatoshi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/16/26 are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Arguments that are relevant to the current rejections are addressed below.
Applicant argues that Farrand is not combinable with Sakayori. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that both are drawn to the field of optical polymeric materials. The Examiner maintains that it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have adapted the polymer of Sakayori so as to be chiral and helical in order to effectively create optical polymer films whose optical properties are useful in display devices and are suitably controllable (Farrand, [0002] – [0010]).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Therefore, claims 1, 5, 12, 13, and 22-24 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782