Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030075514 A1 (hereinafter US 514) in view of https://www.hiwattinc.com/industrial-temperature-sensors/thermowells?srsltid=AfmBOoqI2-fmmDiI7R33_il0KMI5D1KgWkoCuX_HaLSGGbYQD6LRCYo6 (published August 6, 2019; retrieved December 21, 2025) (hereinafter NPL) and US 20190185361 A1 (hereinafter US 361).
Regarding claim 1, US 514 discloses a downflow hydrothermal reactor (see US 514 figures 1-3, 5-8, 10 and paragraphs 0039-0040).
US 514 discloses first zone configured for contacting a reactant with a volume of water under supercritical conditions to form a product and/or destroy a compound (see US 514 paragraphs 0001, 0013, 0035, 0038 & 0039 and figures 1-3, 5-8, & 10).
It is noted that the term “first zone” is any portion of the reactor that can achieve “contacting a reactant with a volume of water under supercritical conditions to form a product and/or destroy a compound”. US 514 discloses a zone wherein reactant and water form a product under supercritical conditions and/or destroys a compound.
US 514 discloses the first zone comprises a pressure vessel having a distal end and a proximal end (see US 514 figures 2, 3, 5-8, 10, vessel (12), abstract, paragraph 0013);a co-axial nozzle configured to deliver a fuel and/or an oxidant into a reagent introduction portion (see US 514 figures 2, 3, 5-8, 10 nozzle (548) and paragraphs 0039 and 0040).
US 514 discloses a reagent feedstock introduction portion positioned at the proximal end of the pressure vessel, wherein reagent feedstock introduction portion comprises (i) an opening configured to accept the co-axial nozzle; (ii) one or more reagent feedstock inlets positioned at the proximal end of the pressure vessel, wherein the one or more reagent feedstock inlets penetrate the reactor section and are disposed at an angle converging towards an axis of the co-axial nozzle, the one or more reagent feedstock inlets being configured to inject a reagent feedstock into a primary reaction zone of the pressure vessel, (see US 514 figures 2, 3, 5-8, 10 end (16), nozzle (548), duct (54) and lines (36, 46 and 52), gas source (116), internal fluid channel/inlet (114) and paragraphs 0035 & 0039 (US 514 discloses a reactor vessel wherein the upper portion comprises an opening for the nozzle (58) and the lines (36, 46 and 52) and duct (54), as well as the gas source/fluid inlet/channel (116, 114), bring water, fuel, reactant and oxidizer to the nozzle and enters the reactor vessel).
The claimed “the one or more reagent feedstock inlets … are disposed at an angle converging towards an axis of the co-axial nozzle” is understood as any angle converging to any axis of the co-axial nozzle. In US 514, at least one angle of at least one inlet is disposed at an angle that converges with at least one axis of any axis of the co-axial nozzle.
In the alternative, if US 514 does not disclose “the one or more reagent feedstock inlets … are disposed at an angle converging towards an axis of the co-axial nozzle”, then this feature is nonetheless rendered obvious by US 514.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inlet of US 514 to be disposed at an angle converging towards an axis of the co-axial nozzle because it would assist with the mixing of the different mediums flowing into the reactor.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inlet of US 514 to be disposed at an angle converging towards an axis of the co-axial nozzle and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. flow of fluid into the reactor.
US 514 discloses reagent feedstock introduction portion comprises (iii) one or more ports configured to introduce one or more internal thermocouples into the reagent feedstock introduction region (see US 514 figure 3 and paragraph 0046).
US 514 does not disclose one or more connections configured to couple an internal thermowell to the reagent feedstock introduction region.
NPL discloses that a thermowell is a protective receptacle tube, with one end closed, that a thermocouple measuring device is placed within (see NPL page 1). NPL discloses that the “Thermowells are protective receptacles that shield temperature measuring devices, such as thermocouple sensors and RTD sensors. from the negative effects that may occur through process immersion and exposure” (see NPL page 1 and figures).
NPL is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. instruments and/or components for reactors.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reactor vessel of US 514 by incorporating a thermowell for each of the thermocouple(s) within the reactor system of US 514 because it would assist with protecting each of the thermocouple sensors (see NPL pages 1-2).
Regarding the plurality of the claimed “one or more reagent feedstock inlets” limitation, the claimed “one or more ports” limitation and/or the claimed one or more connections” limitation, it is noted that it has been held that mere duplication of an element of an apparatus involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. There is no patentable significance of an additional inlet, port and/or connection, which predictable provides one of ordinary skill in the art with additional means of providing material to the reactor vessel, such as delivering additional reagent feedstock to the reactor vessel (inlet), and/or providing an additional thermocouple and/or thermowell (port and/or connection) that provides one of ordinary skill in the art with additional information regarding the operating condition of the reactor vessel, and the additional inlet, port and/or connection does not produce any new and/or unexpected results.
Hence, US 514 in view of NPL is deemed to disclose a downflow hydrothermal reactor, comprising (a) a first zone configured for contacting a reactant with a volume of water under supercritical conditions to form a product and/or destroy a compound, wherein the first zone comprises a pressure vessel having a distal end and a proximal end; a co-axial nozzle configured to deliver a fuel and/or an oxidant into a reagent introduction portion; and a reagent feedstock introduction portion positioned at the proximal end of the pressure vessel, wherein reagent feedstock introduction portion comprises (i) an opening configured to accept the co-axial nozzle, (ii) one or more reagent feedstock inlets positioned at the proximal end of the pressure vessel and that are configured to deliver a reagent feedstock into a primary reaction zone of the pressure vessel, and (iii) one or more ports configured to introduce one or more thermocouples into the reagent feedstock introduction region and/or one or more connections configured to couple a thermowell to the reagent feedstock introduction region.
US 514 in view of NPL discloses a second zone configured for dissolving solids in a volume of water in liquid phase, wherein the second zone is located downstream of the first zone with respect to reagent feedstock flow and wherein the second zone comprises one or more injection ports positioned at the distal end of the pressure vessel configured to introduce a liquid effluent or a quenching solution into the pressure vessel (see US 514 figures 2, 3, 5-8, 10 reactor vessel (12), quenching section (67), and paragraphs 0017, 0042-0043, 0049).
US 514 in view of NPL discloses “a quenching section 67 as shown in FIG. 2 to cool the effluent stream”, that water travels “via line 70 to an input duct 72 (See FIG. 2) near the end 18 of the reactor chamber 14. The water 38 injected through duct 72 is used for quenching the reaction stream 60 in the quenching section 67” (see US 514 paragraph 0042). US 514 in view of NPL discloses “high pressure gas, rather than water, can be used as a quenching medium. Also, it will be appreciated that water from an external source, or relatively dirty water (e.g., sea water), or cool, recycled reaction stream 60 can be used as a quenching medium” (see US 514 paragraph 0043). Thus, the line (70)/input duct (72) of US 514 in view of NPL is deemed to disclose an injection port positioned at the distal end of the pressure vessel configured to introduce a liquid effluent or a quenching solution
Regarding the plurality of the claimed “one or more injection ports” limitation, it is noted that it has been held that mere duplication of an element of an apparatus involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. There is no patentable significance of an additional injection port, which predictable provides one of ordinary skill in the art with additional means of providing material to the reactor vessel, such as delivering additional quenching solution, water, or dirty water to the reactor vessel, and does not produce any new and/or unexpected results.
US 514 in view of NPL discloses a second zone comprising one or more outlets configured to eject effluent from the hydrothermal reactor; and an effluent ejection portion positioned at the distal end of the pressure vessel (see US 514 figures 1-3, 5-8, 10 quenching section (67), exit port (76), reactor vessel (12) and paragraphs 0042).
Regarding the plurality of the claimed “one or more outlets” limitation, it is noted that it has been held that mere duplication of an element of an apparatus involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. There is no patentable significance of an additional outlet, which predictable provides one of ordinary skill in the art with additional means for the removal of material or expelling material from the reactor vessel, and does not produce any new and/or unexpected results.
US 514 in view of NPL does not disclose a plurality of external thermocouples and/or external thermowells that are physically associated with the downflow hydrothermal reactor at exterior locations between the distal end and the proximal end of the pressure vessel in the first zone.
US 361 discloses a supercritical water oxidation reactor (see US 361 abstract, paragraphs 0016, & 0053 and figures 1-6). US 361 discloses a series of temperature sensors are arranged to inside the reactor to measure the fluid within the reactor and arranged outside of the reactor to measure the reactor body (see US 3161 paragraph 0023; see also US 361 claims 1 & 29 and figures 1-5). US 361 discloses that the temperature sensors assist with “controlling the heat flux through the reactor body by use of the thermal elements to obtain a vertical reference temperature profile in the reactor” (see US 361 paragraph 0053) by “determining the temperatures by use of the temperature sensors; comparing the determined temperatures to the reference temperature profile” (see US 361 paragraphs 0055-0056) and then “increase the heat content in fluid in the reactor at the specific location, if the temperature determined is lower than the reference temperature at the specific position, or decrease the heat content in the fluid in the reactor at the specific location, if the temperature determined is higher than the reference temperature at the specific position and/or adjusting the flow of organics into the reactor” (see US 361 paragraphs 0058-0060) based on said comparison (see US 361 figure 3 and paragraphs 0113-0120).
US 361 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. supercritical water oxidation reactor.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reactor vessel of the system of US 514 in view of NPL by incorporating a plurality of temperature sensors/thermal elements, as disclosed in US 361, both internal and external to the reactor body, as disclosed in US 361, because it would assist by providing one of ordinary skill in the art with additional information about the temperature condition of the reactor vessel (see US 361 paragraphs 0023), and/or because it would assist with determining a temperature profile, to compare with a reference temperature profile, in order to assist with determining if an adjustment to the system is necessary (see US 361 paragraphs 0058-0060 and figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reactor vessel of the system of US 514 in view of NPL by incorporating a plurality of temperature sensors/thermal elements, as disclosed in US 361, both internal and external to the reactor body, as disclosed in US 361, and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. provide one of ordinary skill in the art with information as to the temperature within and outside of the reactor vessel.
US 514 in view of NPL discloses a thermocouple(s) and thermowell(s). US 514 in view of NPL discloses that the thermocouple(s) and thermowell(s) are “constructed of ceramic insulated thermocouple wires or mineral insulated cable for increased durability. … construction for corrosive, high velocity, and high pressure. Typical industrial process applications include chemical, petrochemical, metal treating, power generation, waste treatment, and diesel engine testing” (see NPL page 1). US 361 discloses temperature sensors/thermal elements.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use thermocouple(s) and thermowell(s), as disclosed in NPL, as the temperature sensor element in the system and reactor vessel of US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 because it would assist with durability during the supercritical oxidation process.
Hence, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 is deemed to disclose a downflow hydrothermal reactor, comprising (a) a first zone configured for contacting a reactant with a volume of water under supercritical conditions to form a product and/or destroy a compound, wherein the first zone comprises a pressure vessel having a distal end and a proximal end; a co-axial nozzle configured to deliver a fuel and/or an oxidant into a reagent introduction portion; and a reagent feedstock introduction portion positioned at the proximal end of the pressure vessel, wherein reagent feedstock introduction portion comprises (i) an opening configured to accept the co-axial nozzle, (ii) one or more reagent feedstock inlets positioned at the proximal end of the pressure vessel and that are configured to deliver a reagent feedstock into a primary reaction zone of the pressure vessel, and (iii) one or more ports configured to introduce one or more thermocouples into the reagent feedstock introduction region and/or one or more connections configured to couple a thermowell to the reagent feedstock introduction region; (b) a second zone configured for dissolving solids in a volume of water in liquid phase, wherein the second zone is located downstream of the first zone with respect to reagent feedstock flow and wherein the second zone comprises one or more injection ports positioned at the distal end of the pressure vessel configured to introduce a liquid effluent and/or a quenching solution into the pressure vessel; one or more outlets configured to eject effluent from the hydrothermal reactor; and an effluent ejection portion positioned at the distal end of the pressure vessel; and (c) a plurality of thermocouples and/or thermowells that are physically associated with the downflow hydrothermal reactor at exterior locations between the distal end and the proximal end of the pressure vessel in the first zone.
Regarding claim 2, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses a replaceable liner component that is made of titanium (see US 514 paragraph 0039 (US 514 discloses that the “inner surface 57 can include a corrosion resistant liner” (see US 514 paragraph 0039); US 361 paragraph 0143 (US 361 discloses “the inner liner 18 can be made as a replaceable insert” (see US 361 paragraph 0143).).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the liner of US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 replaceable, as disclosed in US 361, because it would assist with replacement of the liner after the supercritical oxidative reaction and/or because it would assist with replacing the liner to maintain the effectiveness of the reactor vessel (see MPEP 2144.04, V, C (In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose.").).
Regarding claim 4, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses one or more reagent feedstock inlets are connected to a reagent feedstock supply (see rejection of claim 1).
US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses the reagent feedstock supply comprises biomass, sewage sludge, an industrial effluent, an environmental contaminant, or a combination thereof (see US 514 paragraphs 0001, 0010, ; see US 361 paragraphs 0002, 0028).
Regarding claim 5, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses the first zone is maintained at a temperature of 374 degree C to 800 degree C and a pressure of at least 22 MPa (see US 514 paragraphs 0004, 0013; see US 361 paragraphs 0002, 0070, 0084).
Regarding claim 6, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 does not disclose the reagent feedstock introduction portion is detachable from the pressure vessel and/or the effluent ejection portion is detachable from the pressure vessel.
However, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses a valve feature that can be used to control the flow of material in the system (see US 514 paragraphs 0053-0054; see US 361 paragraph 0142).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a valve, as discloses in US 514 and/or US 361, to control the flow of the reagent feedstock and/or the effluent ejection from the pressure vessel, because it would assist with controlling the movement of material through the system.
While US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 does not disclose a single embodiment of the reagent feedstock introduction portion is detachable from the pressure vessel and/or the effluent ejection portion is detachable from the pressure vessel, as recited in claim 6, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 does disclose all of the features within the disclosure as being compatible aspects of a single invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the different elements, as disclosed in US 514 in view of NPL and US 361, into a single embodiment, as recited in claim 6, and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 intended, i.e. decompose waste via a SCWO and/or control the movement of fluid in a system.
Regarding claim 7, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 does not disclose the downflow hydrothermal reactor is portable.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system/reactor vessel of US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 to be portable because it would assist with treatment of waste/materials in remote locations.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system/reactor vessel of US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 to be portable because “Fact that a claimed device is portable or movable is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results” (see MPEP 2144.04, V, B)
US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 does not disclose the second zone further comprises one or more ports configured to introduce one or more thermocouples into the second zone.
However, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reactor vessel of US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 to have one or more ports configured to introduce one or more thermocouples in multiple locations, such as in the second zone, because it would assist with providing information/data to one of ordinary skill in the art about the condition of the reactor vessel in the second zone.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0248685 A1 (hereinafter US 685).
Regarding claim 3, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 does not disclose the co-axial nozzle comprises an inner tube region that delivers a fuel into the downflow hydrothermal reactor and an outer tube region that delivers the oxidant into the downflow hydrothermal reactor.
US 685 discloses a reaction system based on supercritical water oxidation that is used for treatment of wastewater (see US 685 abstract, paragraph 0001 and figures 1, 5 and 6). US 685 discloses that the reactor vessel of the system comprises a nozzle that comprises an outer pipe and an inner pipe (see US 685 paragraphs 0014-0015, 0085-0086) or a nozzle that comprises an inner pipe, an outer pipe and a middle pipe (see US 685 paragraphs 0016, 0088; see also US 685 figure 3 and claims 3-5). US 685 discloses that “In order to prevent the materials from diffusing to the straight porous pipe 1404 or even to an annular space between the straight porous pipe 1404 and the straight pressure-bearing wall 1403, the imporous pipe 1411 in the present invention extends downward along an outlet of the nozzle pipe 1401 and the extending distance is 2-6 times of an inner diameter of the outer pipe 03” (see US 685 paragraph 0086). US 685 discloses that “With the nozzle pipe 1401, the coaxial nozzle pipe 1401 may be prevented from being overheated, and simultaneously a space is provided for the fuel and oxygen for mixing, preheating and reacting (see US 685 paragraph 0087). US 685 discloses that “In this embodiment, an auxiliary fuel is adopted to inject into the supercritical water oxidation reactor 14. … The nozzle pipe 1401 further includes a middle pipe 02; and the outer pipe 03 and the middle pipe 02 are stretched into the reaction zone in a flush manner. The wastewater is injected into the water oxidation reactor 14 via the outer pipe 03, the oxygen is injected via the middle pipe 02 and the fuel is injected into the water oxidation reactor 14 via the inner pipe 01. The fuel and oxygen are mixed and combusted in the middle pipe 02 first to take the combustion supporting effect to the wastewater, so that the high-temperature wastewater forms the hydrothermal flame and reaches to a condition of the supercritical water oxidative reaction for reaction and degradation; and the reaction product is discharged from a reaction fluid outlet f at a bottom of the reactor 14” (see US 685 paragraph 0088).
US 685 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. supercritical water oxidation reactor.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the nozzle, which comprises an inner pipe, an outer pipe or an inner pipe, outer pipe and a middle pipe, as disclosed in US 685, into the reactor vessel of US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 because it would assist with providing material into the reactor vessel, and/or because “the coaxial nozzle pipe 1401 may be prevented from being overheated, and simultaneously a space is provided for the fuel and oxygen for mixing, preheating and reacting (see US 685 paragraph 0087), and/or because the “wastewater is injected into the water oxidation reactor 14 via the outer pipe 03, the oxygen is injected via the middle pipe 02 and the fuel is injected into the water oxidation reactor 14 via the inner pipe 01. The fuel and oxygen are mixed and combusted in the middle pipe 02 first to take the combustion supporting effect to the wastewater, so that the high-temperature wastewater forms the hydrothermal flame and reaches to a condition of the supercritical water oxidative reaction for reaction and degradation; and the reaction product is discharged from a reaction fluid outlet f at a bottom of the reactor 14” (see US 685 paragraph 0088).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the nozzle, which comprises an inner pipe, an outer pipe or an inner pipe, outer pipe and a middle pipe, as disclosed in US 685, into the reactor vessel of US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. deliver material into the reactor vessel.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the nozzle, which comprises an inner pipe, an outer pipe or an inner pipe, outer pipe and a middle pipe, as disclosed in US 685, into the reactor vessel of US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). This substitution yields the predictable result of delivering material into the reactor vessel.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of US 5837149 A (hereinafter US 149).
Regarding claim 4, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 discloses one or more reagent feedstock inlets are connected to a reagent feedstock supply (see rejection of claim 1) supply.
US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 does not disclose the reagent feedstock supply comprises biomass, sewage sludge, a chemical warfare agent, a chemical warfare agent hydrolysate, a per- or polyfluoroalkyl substance, a pesticide, an industrial effluent, an environmental contaminant, or a combination thereof.
US 149 discloses a supercritical water oxidation system and method for the decomposition of material (see US 149 abstract and figures 2 and 4). US 149 discloses that the supercritical water oxidation system is capable of decomposing materials such as organic compounds, inorganic compounds, or combinations thereof to compounds, hazardous waste, mustard gas, pesticides, herbicides, chlorinated waste, halogenated organic compounds, phosphorus-containing organic compounds, sulfur-containing organic compound, waste, ordnance, chemical warfare agents, energetic materials, explosives, paint sludges, chlorofluorocarbons, various polymer wastes, phosphorous organic compounds, nitrogen-organic compounds, sulfur organic compounds, halogenated wastes, e.g. cleaning solvents, dairy waste, pharmaceutical waste, food waste (see US 149 col 1 lines 26-30 & 39-47; col 2 lines 39-45; col 3 lines 36-40; col 4 lines 4-45; col 5 line 65 – col 6 line 7).
US 149 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. supercritical water oxidation reactor.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the system and reactor vessel of US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 to decompose the material, such as chemical warfare agents, organic compounds, inorganic compounds, or combinations, waste, ordnance, pesticides, herbicides, chlorinated waste, halogenated organic compounds, paint sludges, chlorofluorocarbons, dairy waste, food waste, as disclosed in US 149, in the system and reactor vessel of US 514 in view of NPL and US 361, because it would assist with removing/decomposing harmful waste (see US 149 col 1 lines 14-16; see US 514 paragraph 0001), and/or because the system and reactor vessel of US 514 in view of NPL and US 361 is used to decompose material, as disclosed in US 149, and/or because US 149 provides guidance on the type of material to be used as an reactant in the system/reactor vessel US 514 in view of NPL and US 361.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the reactant/material, as disclosed in US 514 in view of NPL and US 361, with the material, such as chemical warfare agents, organic compounds, inorganic compounds, or combinations, waste, ordnance, pesticides, herbicides, chlorinated waste, halogenated organic compounds, paint sludges, chlorofluorocarbons, dairy waste, food waste, as disclosed in US 149, because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). This substitution would yield the predictable result of decomposing the material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed March 12, 2026 have been fully considered.
The indefiniteness rejection has been withdrawn.
The prior art rejection is maintained. The Examiner's remarks to Applicants' arguments are herein incorporated into the rejections presented above. Additional remarks are represented below.
In the response, it was argued that US 514 does not disclose the newly presented feature “one or more reagent feedstock inlets … are disposed at an angle converging towards an axis of the coaxial nozzle”. This argument is deemed unpersuasive. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed “an angle converging towards an axis of the coaxial nozzle” is understood as any angle converging to any axis of the co-axial nozzle. In US 514, at least one angle of at least one inlet is disposed at an angle that converges with at least one axis of any axis of the co-axial nozzle.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inlet of US 514 to be disposed at an angle converging towards an axis of the co-axial nozzle because it would assist with the mixing of the different mediums flowing into the reactor and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inlet of US 514 to be disposed at an angle converging towards an axis of the co-axial nozzle and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. flow of fluid into the reactor.
Related Prior Art
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants’ disclosure:
US 5979799 A (hereinafter US 799) discloses a feed nozzle of a reactor (see US 799 abstract, title). US 799 discloses
The center axis of the plurality of passageways, and consequently the angle of steam flow through the passageways, is at an angle from about 0° to about 60° from the longitudinal axis of the steam conduit. This angle will depend on the usage of the nozzles, but can be to either side of the longitudinal axis of the steam conduit. Typically, where the feed is side entry into the reactor the angle will be about 0°, or about 3° to about 45° below the longitudinal axis of the steam conduit.
(see US 799 col 4 lines 5-14; see also US 799 figures 1, 2, 4A and 5G).
Prior Art
All other art cited not detailed above in a rejection is considered relevant to at least some portion or feature of the current application and is cited for possible future use for reference. Applicant may find it useful to be familiar with all cited art for possible future rejections or discussion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERNADETTE KAREN MCGANN/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773