DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
(a) Claim 21 depends on claim 20, however claim 20 has been cancelled, accordingly the claim dependency needs correction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) “determining a first tracking area code (TAC) obtaining mode supported by a network-side device; determining a second TAC obtaining mode supported by a terminal; and based on the first TAC obtaining mode and the second TAC obtaining mode, determining a mode of obtaining a target TAC”.
The limitations of determining the TAC obtaining modes supported by a network-side device and a terminal, and determining a mode for obtaining a target TAC, as drafted, are processes that under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims fail to recite additional elements to apply or use the judicial exception that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims only recites that the method “is applied to a terminal” which is a simple recitation of a generic computer element. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 11, 13, 14, 16-18, 21, 28, 32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GAO et al. (WO 2020/034324, cited on IDS filed on 04/28/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a method of determining a tracking area code (TAC) obtaining mode, applied to a terminal and comprising:
determining a first TAC obtaining mode supported by a network-side device (page 14, lines 3-10; page 17, lines 14-16; no TAC is broadcasted in system information by the network; thus the network supports the terminal obtaining the TAC mapped from the geographical area);
determining a second TAC obtaining mode supported by the terminal (page 14, lines 3-10; page 17, lines 14-16; the UE supports determining a TAC mapped from geographical area when TAC is not broadcasted); and
based on the first TAC obtaining mode and the second TAC obtaining mode, determining a mode of obtaining a target TAC (page 14, lines 3-10; page 17, lines 14-16; when no TAC is broadcast in system information, the UE determines/obtain a TAC mapped to the geographical area in which the UE tries to camp (i.e., TAC obtaining mode)).
Regarding claim 2, Gao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first TAC obtaining mode and the second TAC obtaining mode comprise at least one of a network-based obtaining TAC mode (page 15, lines 3-5; page 17, lines 14-16; in some embodiments, the network can broadcast TAC in system information) or a terminal-based obtaining TAC mode (page 14, lines 3-10; page 17, lines 14-16; the UE supports determining a TAC mapped from geographical location when TAC is not broadcasted).
Regarding claim 3, Gao discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining the first TAC obtaining mode supported by the network-side device comprises:
in response to determining that a TAC broadcast by the network-side device is received, determining that the first TAC obtaining mode supported by the network-side device at least comprises the network-based obtaining TAC mode; or,
in response to determining that a TAC broadcast by the network-side device is not received, determining that the first TAC obtaining mode supported by the network-side device only comprises the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode (page 14, lines 3-10; page 17, lines 14-16; when no TAC is broadcast in system information, the UE determines/obtain a TAC mapped to the geographical area in which the UE tries to camp (i.e., terminal-based TAC mode)).
Regarding claim 4, Gao discloses the method of claim 3, wherein determining the mode of obtaining the target TAC comprises:
in response to determining that the first TAC obtaining mode at least comprises the network-based obtaining TAC mode and the second TAC obtaining mode is network- based obtaining TAC mode, determining to obtain the target TAC by the network-based obtaining TAC mode; or,
in response to determining that the first TAC obtaining mode at least comprises the network-based obtaining TAC mode and the second TAC obtaining mode comprises the network-based obtaining TAC mode and the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode, determining to obtain the target TAC by the network-based obtaining TAC mode or by the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode; or,
in response to determining that the first TAC obtaining mode at least comprises the network-based obtaining TAC mode and the second TAC obtaining mode is the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode, determining to obtain the target TAC by the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode (page 14, lines 3-10; page 17, lines 14-16; no TAC is broadcasted in system information by the network; thus the network supports the terminal obtaining the TAC mapped from the geographical area).
Regarding claim 5, Gao discloses the method of claim 4, wherein in response to determining that the first TAC obtaining mode at least comprises the network-based obtaining TAC mode and the second TAC obtaining mode comprises the network-based obtaining TAC mode and the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode, determining to obtain the target TAC by the network-based obtaining TAC mode or by the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode comprises:
obtaining the target TAC by the network-based obtaining TAC mode, or
reporting a tracking area identity (TAI) list to the network-side device (page 16, lines 4-8);
receiving indication information from the network-side device (page 14, lines 3-10; UE receives broadcast with no TAC in system information, the broadcast system information indicates that geographical position TAC management is applied (i.e., indication information)); and according to the indication information, determining to obtain the target TAC by the network-based obtaining TAC mode or by the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode (page 14, lines 3-10; page 17, lines 14-16; when no TAC is broadcast in system information, the UE determines/obtain a TAC mapped to the geographical area in which the UE tries to camp (i.e., terminal-based TAC mode)).
Regarding claim 7, Gao discloses the method of claim 5, wherein, according to the indication information, determining to obtain the target TAC by the network-based obtaining TAC mode or by the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode comprises:
according to the indication information, determining whether the network-side device supports the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode (page 14, lines 3-10; UE receives broadcast with no TAC in system information, the broadcast system information indicates that geographical position TAC management is applied (i.e., indication information) in which determines TAC mapped from the geographical area (i.e., terminal based obtaining TAC mode)); and
in response to determining that the network-side device does not support terminal-based obtaining TAC mode, applying the network-based obtaining TAC mode (page 15, lines 2-5; when the broadcast provides a TAC, the UE can use the broadcast TAC (i.e., network based obtaining TAC mode)); or,
in response to determining that the network-side device supports the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode, applying the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode; wherein according to the indication information, determining whether the network- side device supports the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode comprises:
in response to determining that the indication information indicates that a TAC in a received TAI list configured by the network-side device is a network-broadcast TAC, determining that the network-side device does not support the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode;
and in response to determining that the indication information indicates that the TAC in the received TAI list configured by the network-side device is determined by the network-side device based on the TAI list reported by the terminal, determining that the network-side device supports the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode.
Regarding claim 11, Gao discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising:
in response to determining that the first TAC obtaining mode only comprises the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode, and the second TAC obtaining mode does not comprise the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode, sending to the network-side device auxiliary information, wherein the auxiliary information is used for indicating the network- side device to, at the time of paging the terminal, determine a cell where the terminal is located based on the auxiliary information; or,
in response to determining that the first TAC obtaining mode only comprises the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode and the second TAC obtaining mode comprises the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode, obtaining the target TAC by the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode (page 14, lines 3-10; UE receives broadcast with no TAC in system information, the broadcast system information indicates that geographical position TAC management is applied (i.e., indication information) in which determines TAC mapped from the geographical area (i.e., terminal based obtaining TAC mode)),
wherein the auxiliary information comprises a position and a moving speed of the terminal (These limitations are related to above-mentioned limitations that are optional based on the alternative language “or”, see lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 13, Gao discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining the first TAC obtaining mode supported by the network-side device comprises:
receiving indication information from a base station (page 14, lines 3-10; UE receives broadcast with no TAC in system information, the broadcast system information indicates that geographical position TAC management is applied (i.e., indication information) in which determines TAC mapped from the geographical area (i.e., terminal based obtaining TAC mode)), and determining the first TAC obtaining mode supported by the network-side device as one of: the network-based obtaining TAC mode; the network-based obtaining TAC mode and the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode; and the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode (page 14, lines 3-10; UE receives broadcast with no TAC in system information, the broadcast system information indicates that geographical position TAC management is applied (i.e., indication information) in which determines TAC mapped from the geographical area (i.e., terminal based obtaining TAC mode)).
Regarding claim 14, Gao discloses the method of claim 13, wherein determining the mode of obtaining the target TAC comprises:
in response to determining that the first TAC obtaining mode only comprises the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode or the network-based obtaining TAC mode, determining to obtain the target TAC by using the first TAC obtaining mode (page 14, lines 3-10; page 17, lines 14-16; when no TAC is broadcast in system information, the UE determines/obtain a TAC mapped to the geographical area in which the UE tries to camp, the TAC obtaining mode is terminal-based given that the UE/terminal determines the TAC); or,
in response to determining that the first TAC obtaining mode comprises the network-based obtaining TAC mode and the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode, obtaining the target TAC by the second TAC obtaining mode; wherein obtaining the target TAC by the second TAC obtaining mode comprises:
in response to determining that the second TAC obtaining mode only comprises the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode or the network-based obtaining TAC mode, determining to obtain the target TAC by using the second TAC obtaining mode; or,
in response to determining that the second TAC obtaining mode comprises the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode and the network-based obtaining TAC mode, obtaining the target TAC by using any one of the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode and the network-based obtaining TAC mode.
Regarding claim 16, Gao discloses a method of determining a tracking area code (TAC) obtaining mode, applied to a network-side device and comprising:
sending indication information to a terminal (page 14, lines 3-10; UE receives broadcast with no TAC in system information, the broadcast system information indicates that geographical position TAC management is applied (i.e., indication information)), wherein the indication information is used to indicate a first TAC obtaining mode supported by the network-side device for the terminal to determine a mode of obtaining a target TAC (page 14, lines 3-10; UE receives broadcast with no TAC in system information, the broadcast system information indicates that geographical position TAC management is applied (i.e., indication information) in which determines TAC mapped from the geographical area (i.e., support for terminal based obtaining TAC mode)).
Regarding claim 17, Gao discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the first TAC obtaining mode comprises at least one of a network-based obtaining TAC mode or a terminal-based obtaining TAC mode (page 14, lines 3-10; UE receives broadcast with no TAC in system information, the broadcast system information indicates that geographical position TAC management is applied (i.e., indication information) in which determines TAC mapped from the geographical area (i.e., terminal based obtaining TAC mode)).
Regarding claim 18, Gao discloses the method of claim 17, wherein sending the indication information to the terminal comprises: in a registration process of the terminal, sending the indication information to the terminal (page 16, lines 4-11).
Regarding claim 21, Gao discloses the method of claim 20, further comprising:
receiving terminal indication information from the terminal (page 15, lines 2-5; the UE receives a broadcast that includes a TAC (i.e., indication)); and
based on the terminal indication information, determining the second TAC obtaining mode comprises one of: the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode; and the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode and the network-based obtaining TAC mode (page 15, lines 2-5; when the broadcast provides a TAC, the UE can use the broadcast TAC (i.e., network based obtaining TAC mode)).
Regarding claim 28, Gao discloses the method of claim 17, wherein sending the indication information to the terminal comprises:
broadcasting the indication information to the terminal through a base station (page 14, lines 3-10; page 17, lines 14-16; the network provides a broadcast of system information with no TAC which indicates geographical position TAC management is applied (i.e., indication information), note that base station is inherent for the transmission of system information to the UE), wherein the indication information comprises one of that:
the first TAC obtaining mode comprises the network-based obtaining TAC mode;
the first TAC obtaining mode comprises the network-based obtaining TAC mode and the terminal-based obtaining TAC mode; and
the first TAC obtaining mode comprises terminal-based obtaining TAC mode (page 14, lines 3-10; page 17, lines 14-16; when no TAC is broadcast in system information, the UE determines/obtain a TAC mapped to the geographical area in which the UE tries to camp, therefore, the no TAC indicates a TAC mode that is terminal (UE)-based).
Regarding claim 32, Gao discloses an electronic device, comprising: a processor; a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (Fig. 13; page 21, lines 20-25); wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of determining a TAC obtaining mode according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1, above).
Regarding claim 34, Gao discloses an electronic device, comprising: a processor; a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (Fig. 13; page 21, lines 20-25); wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of determining a TAC obtaining mode according to claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16, above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 19, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a) Gunnarsson et al. (WO 2017/200453) – Handling tracking area information in a wireless communication network.
(b) Nylander et al. (WO 2012/148329) – The radio node broadcasts system information with network identities of the cellular networks and multiple operator specific tracking area codes (TACs).
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643