Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/24/2024 & 04/28/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to claims 1–16, the claims recite relative and functional terminology including, but not limited to, “confronting position,” “open position,” “further rocking is restricted,” and “driving mechanism,” without expressly reciting structural boundaries or quantitative parameters that define when such positions or conditions are achieved. While the claims describe these terms functionally, it is unclear from the claim language alone the precise structural or positional limits at which the recited states occur, thereby rendering the metes and bounds of the claims uncertain.
Further, claim 5 recites a first lever and a second lever sharing pivoting relationships on a frame member, including a first pivoting point and a second pivoting point, without clearly defining the spatial or mechanical relationship between the levers beyond functional interaction. As a result, the specific configuration and interaction of the levers under the broadest reasonable interpretation is unclear.
With respect to claims 18 and 19, the claims recite manufacturing and product-by-process language incorporating conventional semiconductor manufacturing steps, including sorting and shipping processes, without clearly delineating the scope of the claimed invention relative to the structural features of the semiconductor package or the specific manner in which the claimed heat sink unit imparts distinguishing characteristics. As a result, the scope of these claims is unclear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (U.S. 2010/0291793 A1) in view of Koseki et al. (U.S. 2002/0118513 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh et al. disclose a heat sink unit (300)(see [0019]) that dissipates heat of an IC package accommodated in an IC socket (200)(see [0019]), comprising: a heat sink (8) having a base (81) and a plurality of radiating fins (82) erected from the base (see [0027], heat sink 8 having body 81 and cooling fins (82), under BRI: base and radiating fins (82)) a unit base (1) mounted on a substrate (111) so as to surround the IC socket (200); a frame member (6) that has a first opening and supports the heat sink so that a base (1) of the heat sink passes through the first opening (see [0023], a cover 7 with casting 72 defining through holes 74 and lid 3 defining opening 33 aligned to guide heat sink module into position, under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI): opening supporting passage of the heat sink base see [0030]) wherein the frame member (6) is supported by the unit base so as to be rock-able between a confronting position and an open position tilting with respect to the confronting position (see [0029]; cover 7 pivotally assembled to fastening frame 6 and rotatable between opened position and closed position, under BRI: open and confronting positions, see [0036]) and the confronting position is where an end surface of the base on a side opposite to the radiating fins (82) side and the IC package confront each other at an interval (see [0036]); and a first lever (4) in which an intermediate portion between one end and the other end of the first lever (4) is pivotally supported at a first pivoting point of the frame member (6) (see 0022] operation lever (4) 14 pivotally mounted to fastening frame 12 via pivot axles 148 and pivot openings 129, under BRI: first lever (4) pivotally supported on frame member (6), see [0024]) when the frame member (6) reaches the confronting position, further rocking is restricted (see 0028] urging portions 146 snap into cutouts 130 and lever (4) is retained against accidental disengagement (BRI: further rocking restricted by engagement geometry, [0029]) the heat sink (8) supported by the frame member (6) moves downward (see [0028] rotation of lever (4) 14 causes urging portions 146 to press base plate 22 downward, [0030]) and the end surface of the heat sink comes into contact with the IC package (heat sink 8 abuts against IC package in closed position, [0036])
Hsieh et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose a first lever pivotally supported at a pivoting point of the frame member that converts rocking into downward pressing as recited.
Koseki et al. disclose a first lever pivotally supported at a pivoting point of the frame member that converts rocking into downward pressing as recited (see 0024] an operation lever pivotally mounted to a fastening frame and a cam based urging portion that snaps into a cutout and presses a heat sink base plate downward to clamp the heat sink, [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Hsieh et al. by incorporating the lever actuated clamping mechanism of Koseki et al., as doing so would provide a controlled lever driven downward contact force and secure retention against vibration because Koseki et al. describe snap engagement into cutouts to prevent accidental disengagement and provide firm pressing of the heat sink (see Koseki’s [0027] & [0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 1, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose a heat sink (8) mount that has a second opening and supports the heat sink so that the base of the heat sink passes through the second opening (see cover 7 includes casting 72 defining through holes 74 aligned with heat sink threaded holes 83 and supporting heat sink 8 on the cover [0030]) wherein the frame member (6) supports the heat sink and the heat sink mount (see [0029] cover 7 pivotally assembled to fastening frame 6 and supporting heat sink 8 by linking portions 78, under BRI: frame supports both, [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 2, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose when the frame member (6) reaches the confronting position, further rocking is restricted (see [0036] cover 7 reaches closed position with latching member 76 catch 761 abutting the top wall 31, BRI: rocking restricted at closed position) and the heat sink mount and the heat sink supported thereon move downward (see [0036], cover 7 rotates downwardly and heat sink 8 abuts IC package (BRI: mount and heat sink move downward).
Regarding claim 4, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 3, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose one end side portion of the first lever (4) is in contact with and separated from the heat sink mount (see [0028] wherein urging portions 146 of operation lever (4) 14 move along came plate 128 and then snap into cutout 130 while pressing base plate 22 (BRI: lever (4) end contacts and disengages along motion path, [0029]).
Regarding claim 5, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 4, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose a second lever (4) in which an intermediate portion between one end and the other end of the second lever (4) is pivotally supported at the first pivoting point on the frame member (6)(see [0028]), and one end side portion of the second lever (4) is pivotally supported at a second pivoting point on the frame member (6) that is separated from the first pivoting point see (see [0020] operation lever (4) includes operational body 142 and parallel arms 144 with pivot axles 148 defining pivot support relative to the frame, and the lever (4) urges portions 146 engage cam plates 128 at a different location, BRI, lever is consider the same as actuator with multi pivot relationships on a frame, see [0024], [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 5, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose a driving mechanism in which a force is generated to lift upward the other end side portion of the second lever (4) and the other end side portion of the first lever (4) when the frame member (6) is rocked from the open position toward the confronting position (see [0028] rotation of operation lever (4) 14 about pivot axles 148 with cam interaction at cam plates 128 generates lever (4) force through the arms during closure, BRI: driving mechanism generating lever (4) force during rocking, [0030]).
Regarding claim 7, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 6, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose a cover combined with the unit base (see 0027] cover 7 pivotally assembled to fastening frame 6 mounted around socket base 1, under BRI: cover combined with unit base, see [0029]) and a first coil spring that is sandwiched between the unit base and the cover to form the driving mechanism (see [0030] springs 79 mounted on linking portions 78 between cover 7 and heat sink 8 providing bias and compliance (BRI: coil spring between cover and base supported structure); wherein a proximal end side portion of the second lever (4) and a proximal end side portion of the first lever (4) are pivotally supported at a third pivoting point on the side plate of the cover (see 0024] operation lever (4) 14 pivotally mounted to fastening frame 12 at pivot openings 129 and pivot axles 148, under BRI: pivot support location, see [0026]).
Regarding claim 8, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 7, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose when the frame member (6) is at the open position, the proximal end side portion of the first lever (4) pushes down the cover (see [0027] operation lever (4) 14 rotates relative to fastening frame 12 during actuation while the assembly is positioned on heat sink 2 (BRI: lever (4) movement acting on cover frame system, see [0028]) and an elastic restoring force of the first coil spring is released when the first pivoting point passes a position directly above the third pivoting point by rotational movement of the first lever (4) with the first pivoting point as a fulcrum (see [0028] urging portions 146 snap into cutouts 130 after passing a critical cam position and are firmly clasped to prevent disengagement (BRI: over center release and locking behavior, [0029]).
Regarding claim 9, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 8, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose the unit base has a third opening in which the IC socket (200) is accommodated (see [0023] lid 3 has opening 33 and base 1 accommodates IC package receiving area (BRI: opening accommodating socket area, [0036]) and a plurality of side wall portions surrounding the third opening, (lid 3 includes side walls 32 surrounding opening 33 and base housing includes ends surrounding conductive area (BRI: side wall portions surrounding opening, see [0020] & [0023]) a bearing base portion is provided on a first side wall portion which is one of the pluralities of the side wall portions, (fastening frame 6 includes ears 64 with pivotal shaft 65 defining a bearing structure and a proximal end side portion of the frame member (6) is pivotally supported at a fourth pivoting point on the bearing base portion (see [0028] cover 7 pivotally assembled to fastening frame 6 via pivotal shaft 65 (BRI: fourth pivoting point, [0029]).
Regarding claim 10, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 9, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose a second side wall portion facing the first side wall portion across the third opening therebetween, the second side wall portion provided with a receiving base portion (see [0024] top wall 31 and opening 33 provide opposing sides and guiding surface 35 for the heat sink module and latching engagement with top wall 31 (BRI: receiving base portion on opposing side, [0036]) and at the confronting position, the tip end side portion of the frame member (6) touches against the receiving base portion, and further rocking is restricted (see [0036] catch 761 upwardly abuts against top wall 31 after closure (BRI: tip end touching and restricting further rocking).
Regarding claim 11, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 10, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose the base of the heat sink is provided with a first through hole (see [0027] threaded holes 83 in heat sink body 81) the heat sink mount is provided with a second through hole (through holes 74 in casting 72 of cover 7 [0030]) the frame member (6) is provided with a fixing hole (fixing posts 75 and assembled members providing fixation structure on the cover and frame system [0030]) the heat sink, the heat sink mount, and the frame member (6) are stacked, (heat sink 8 mounted on cover 7 which is pivotally assembled to fastening frame 6 [0029]) and a screw is screwed into the fixing hole through the first through hole and the second through hole (linking portions 78 pass through holes 74 and engage threaded holes 83, screw engagement through holes. [0027-0030]).
Regarding claim 12, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 11, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose a second coil spring is provided inside the heat sink (see springs 79 mounted on linking portions 78 between cover 7 and heat sink 8, coil spring associated with the heat sink assembly, [0029-0030]).
Regarding claim 13, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 12, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose a shaft that holds the second coil spring (see linking portions 78 and associated structures supporting springs 79, BRI: shaft holding coil spring, [0030]) wherein a fixing hole for passing the shaft is provided in the frame member (6) or the heat sink mount (through holes 74 receiving linking portions 78, BRI: fixing hole for passing the shaft, [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 13, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose a third coil spring is provided between the heat sink mount and the frame member (6) (see [0031] springs 79 mounted on linking portions 78 between cover 7 and heat sink 8, under BRI: spring between heat sink mount and frame member (6), see [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 14, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose a coil spring or a torsional coil spring is provided between the unit base and the frame member (6) to reduce impact when the frame member (6) is closed (see [0024] resilient legs 124 and frame compliance during lever (4) actuation providing resilient impact absorbing behavior, BRI: spring element between base and frame to reduce impact, [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 6, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose the heat sink mount is supported by a support portion of the second lever (4)(see [0028] urging portions 146 of operation lever (4) 14 support and press the heat sink base plate 22 during actuation BRI: heat sink mount supported by lever (4) support portion, see [0029]).
Regarding claim 17, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose the heat sink unit according to claim 1, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose incorporated in a socket main body of the IC socket (200)(see [0019] socket assembly 100 comprises socket 200 and heat sink module 300 detachably assembled to the socket (BRI: incorporated heat sink unit (300) in socket body, [0027])
Regarding claim 18, Hsieh et al. disclose in Figs. 5-8, a manufacturing method of semiconductor package ([0035]), comprising: a semiconductor assembling process of assembling a semiconductor package by applying an external connection terminal (see [0019 & 0023]), a protective covering (7), etc., to a semiconductor element (see 0027]); a first sorting process of sorting out the semiconductor package in which defects are generated by the semiconductor assembling process (see [0036-0037]); a screening process of discriminating a product quality by applying thermal load or electrical load to the semiconductor package judged to be good through the first sorting process (see [0019] socket assembly 100 provided to test an IC package and heat sink module dissipates heat buildup during testing, BRI: screening by applying thermal or electrical load in a test socket, [0035]) a second sorting process of sorting the semiconductor package which is judged to be defective by the screening process; and a shipping process of shipping the semiconductor package which is judged to be good by the screening process (see [0035-0038]), wherein during the screening process, an IC socket (200) to which the semiconductor package is detachably attached is mounted on a predetermined circuit board (see [0027] socket 200 mounted on a testing printed circuit board, BRI: predetermined circuit board, [0035]) and the heat sink socket according to claim 1 is detachably attached to the IC socket (200), wherein heat sink module 300 detachably assembled to socket 200 (BRI: heat sink socket detachably attached, [0027])
Hsieh et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose the assembling process, first sorting process, second sorting process, and shipping process as recited.
Koseki et al. disclose the assembling process, first sorting process, second sorting process, and shipping process (see [0025-0028])
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to employ the known IC socket screening configuration of Hsieh et al. within a conventional semiconductor package manufacturing workflow including sorting and shipping steps, as doing so would integrate established screening by thermal or electrical load using a test socket and detachable heat sink into the production flow for separating good and defective units and shipping good units because Hsieh et al. describe a socket assembly for testing IC packages on a testing printed circuit board with a detachable heat sink module to manage heat during testing (see Koseki’s [0008 & 0009]).
Regarding claim 19, Hsieh et al. & Koseki et al. disclose A semiconductor package manufactured by the manufacturing method of semiconductor package according to claim 18, wherein Hsieh et al. further disclose semiconductor package as the IC package tested in the socket assembly and processed through the screening configuration (see [0019] wherein product made by the method, [0035]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 7,609,523 B1 to Ni et al. disclose a memory module assembly includes two-plate heat sink attached to one or more of the integrated circuits (e.g., memory devices) of a memory module PCBA by adhesive. The adhesive is either heat-activated or heat-cured. The adhesive is applied to either the memory devices or the heat-sink plates, and then compressed between the heat-sink plates and memory module using a fixture. The fixture is then passed through an oven to activate/cure the adhesive. The two heat sink plates are then secured by a clip to form a rigid frame.
U.S. 6,401,708 B1 to Wyler et al. disclose a folded fin heat sink to be clamped onto circuit components in need of cooling, in particular CPU's. Ridges are designed to optimize air flow. Suitable for use with a fan to force air movement.
U.S. 6,243,267 B1 to Chuang discloses a PGA socket comprises a base, a cover slidably attached to the base, a lever and a slider. The lever is rotatable coupled between the base and the cover to calmingly slide the cover and the slider relative to the base. A CPU having a plurality of terminals is inserted into the PGA socket. A heat sink is then attached to a top of the CPU. When the lever is rotated to a closed position, the cover slides to a closed position, electrically connecting the terminals of the CPU with the contacts in the socket. A pair of latch arms integral with the lever rotate from their open vertical position down between the fins of the heat sink to their closed horizontal position, and at the same time the cams of the lever actuate the slider to calmingly slide toward the heat sink thereby, effectively locking the heat sink into place.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
February 6, 2026
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858