DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/27/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 11/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation promoter is chosen from gadolinium, yttrium and mixtures thereof, and the claim also recites preferably from gadolinium and yttrium which is the narrower statement of the limitation.
In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation the mass concentration of promoter in the catalytic system ranges from 0.1% to 20% by weight relative to the weight of the support, and the claim also recites preferably from 0.5% to 15% by weight, preferably ranges from 1% to 10% by weight which is the narrower statement of the range.
In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation the cerium/zirconium molar ratio is within a range from 90/10 to 40/60, and the claim also recites preferably from 80/20 to 50/50 which is the narrower statement of the range.
In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation the mass concentration of nickel in the catalytic system ranges from 3% to 30% by weight relative to the weight of the support, and the claim also recites preferably from 7% to 17% which is the narrower statement of the range.
The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yao et al (“Synthesis Gas Production via Dry Reforming of Methane over Manganese Promoted Nickel/Cerium-Zirconium Oxide Catalyst”).
Regarding claim 1, Yao discloses Nickel/cerium-zirconium oxide (Ni/Ce50-Zr50) and manganese promoted Ni/Ce50-Zr50 (Ni-Mn/Ce50-Zr50) catalysts were prepared using an impregnation method and used in the dry reforming of methane (abstract meeting limitation “catalytic system comprising a support comprising cerium and/or zirconium, nickel and a promoter chosen from… manganese”).
Regarding claim 4, Yao discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses commercial Ce50-Zr50 (Rhodia) was used as a support (Pg. 16646 left column paragraph 2.1 meeting limitation “characterized in that the support is a mixed oxide of cerium and of zirconium”).
Regarding claim 5, Yao discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including commercial Ce50-Zr50 (Rhodia) was used as a support (Pg. 16646 left column paragraph 2.1 meeting limitation “characterized in that the cerium/zirconium molar ratio is within a range from... 80/20 to 50/50”).
Regarding claim 7, Yao discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the catalysts were prepared via a classical impregnation method (Pg. 16646 left column paragraph 2.1). This meets the claim limitation since the instant specification defines “the support, the nickel and the promoter form a homogenous mixture” as “the nickel and the promoter are uniformly distributed in the totality of the volume of the catalyst” (Pg. 9 lines 17-20). The instant specification further discloses the catalytic systems with nickel doped by the promoter metal M were prepared by the process of wet co-impregnation (Pg. 25 lines 1-3). Therefore, absent further evidence Yao discloses the support, the nickel and the promoter form a homogenous mixture since classical impregnation was used by Yao to dope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milanov et al (CA 2877956).
Regarding claim 1, Milanov discloses a catalyst for the CO2 reforming of hydrocarbons (Pg. 3 line 11 meeting limitation “catalytic system”) having an active composition which comprises at least… zirconium dioxide-comprising support material (Pg. 3 lines 12-13 meeting limitation “a support comprising zirconium”). In a preferred embodiment of the catalyst of the invention, the Ir is present on the zirconium dioxide-comprising support and the latter is doped with further elements (Pg. 4 lines 5-7). For doping the zirconium dioxide support, preference is given to selecting elements form the group of the rare earths (i.e. from the group consisting of… Y…Gd)… and oxides thereof (Pg. 4 lines 7-13 meeting limitation “a promoter chosen from gadolinium, yttrium”).
In a further preferred embodiment, the catalyst comprises at least one base metal-comprising promoter from the group consisting of Ni (Pg. 6 lines 11-12 meeting limitation “nickel”).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any of the promoters disclosed by Milanov, including Ni, and arrive at the composition according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Milanov discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including for doping the zirconium dioxide support, preference is given to selecting elements form the group of the rare earths (i.e. from the group consisting of… Y…Gd)… and oxides thereof (Pg. 4 lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 3, Milanov discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the yttrium oxide content based on ZrO2 is preferably in the range from 0.01-80% by weight… even more preferably 1.0-30% by weight (Pg. 5 lines 3-5). In an example disclosed by Milanov, the yttrium-stabilized zirconium dioxide had an yttrium oxide content (Y2O3) of 8% by weight (Pg. 13 lines 30-31). 8% by weight is within the claimed range of from 1% to 10% by weight.
Regarding claim 6, Milanov discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses in a further preferred embodiment, the catalyst comprises at least one base metal-comprising promoter from the group consisting of Ni… where the proportion of base metal-comprising promoters based on the weight of the catalyst is in the range 0.1-50% by weight… more preferably in the range 1-20% by weight (Pg. 6 lines 11-15).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range taught by Milanov (1-20% by weight) overlaps with the claimed range (7-17%). Therefore, the range in Milanov renders obvious the claimed range.
Conclusion
/N.L.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738