DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 18-21 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the new claims recite a distinct set of limitations that were not filed with the original claim set.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 18-21 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Heat source configured to emit heat in claim 1.
Location determination module configured to determine a location of target hair in claim 1.
Guide mechanism for use in guiding emitted heat from the heat source to the location of the target hair in claim 1.
Infrared emitter configured to emit infrared radiation in claim 3
Optical element configured to interact with the infrared radiation emitted by the infrared emitter in claims 4, 7
Hair sensor to determine a property of hair in claim 10.
The corresponding structures described in the specification are (see pgpub for citations):
Heat source [Wingdings font/0xE0] infrared emitter, laser, convective heat source (paras. 7, 11, 53)
Location determination module [Wingdings font/0xE0] imaging sensor and processor, temperature sensor and moisture sensor (paras. 17, 19, 57)
Guide mechanism [Wingdings font/0xE0] digital light processing chip, lenses, movable baffle, mirrors (paras. 46, 50, 53)
Infrared emitter [Wingdings font/0xE0] laser (paras. 11, 14)
Optical element [Wingdings font/0xE0] digital micromirror device such as a DLP chip, mirror, lens (paras. 12, 15)
Hair sensor [Wingdings font/0xE0] temperature sensor, moisture sensor (paras. 21, 22)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Karbakhsh (US 20180103741 A1) in view of Wang (CN 213962188 U).
Regarding claim 1, Karbakhsh discloses a haircare appliance comprising:
a housing (Figs. 4-7; exterior walls of the invention);
a heat source configured to emit heat (a hair dryer is disclosed and a hair dryer has a heat source; para. 2),
a location determination module configured to determine a location of target hair (para. 65), and
a guide mechanism for use in guiding emitted heat from the heat source to the location of the target hair in response to an output of the location determination module (para. 45),
wherein the heat source, the location determination module, and the guide mechanism are all disposed in the housing, and
wherein the guide mechanism comprises a movable member movable in response to the output of the location determination module (para. 45).
Karbakhsh fails to disclose:
wherein the heat source comprises an infrared emitter configured to emit infrared radiation, and wherein the guide mechanism comprises an optical element configured to interact with infrared radiation emitted by the infrared emitter.
However, Wang teaches a hair dryer having a heat source comprising an infrared emitter configured to emit infrared radiation (pg. 1), and wherein the guide mechanism comprises an optical element (e.g., reflector) configured to interact with infrared radiation emitted by the infrared emitter (top of pg. 3)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Karbakhsh’s hair dryer holder system to hold a hair dryer having a heat source comprising an infrared emitter configured to emit infrared radiation, and wherein the guide mechanism comprises an optical element configured to interact with infrared radiation emitted by the infrared emitter, since Karbakhsh’s hair dryer holder system is designed to hold a wide variety of hair dryers and Wang teaches an example hair dryer. Moreover, the Wang teaches that an IR operated hair dryer has advantages over a traditional convective hair dryer (pg. 2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 4, wherein the infrared emitter is configured to emit infrared radiation in a first direction, and the optical element is configured to interact with the emitted infrared radiation such that infrared radiation downstream of the optical element travels in a second direction different to the first direction (Wang, pg. 3).
Regarding claim 6, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 4, wherein the optical element comprises a plurality of mirrors (Wang; reflectors 6032).
Regarding claim 7, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 4, wherein the guide mechanism comprises a further optical element, the further optical element (convex or concave lens) configured to refract the infrared radiation (Wang; third paragraph on pg. 9).
Regarding claim 8, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, wherein the location determination module comprises an imaging sensor (Karbakhsh; camera) configured to capture an image, and an image processor (inherently disclosed in Karbakhsh) configured to determine the location of the target hair within the captured image (para. 65).
Regarding claim 14, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, wherein the heat source is configured to be inoperable when the location determination module cannot determine a location of target hair (this can occur when the system, including the heat source and location determination module, is turned off).
Regarding claim 15 modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, wherein the haircare appliance comprises an airflow generator configured to generate an airflow directed toward the determined location of the target hair (Karbakhsh, para. 10).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karbakhsh (US 20180103741 A1) in view of Wang (CN 213962188 U), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Murakami (US 20050128291 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 8, except wherein the imaging sensor comprises at least one of a thermal imaging sensor and a visible light imaging sensor.
However, Murakami teaches an object tracking camera system comprising a thermal (IR) imaging sensor and a visible light imaging sensor (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Karbakhsh wherein the imaging sensor comprises at least one of a thermal imaging sensor and a visible light imaging sensor. The motivation to combine is to improve the tracking capability of the location determination module. This feature would be especially useful in low light conditions when visible light levels are low.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karbakhsh (US 20180103741 A1) in view of Wang (CN 213962188 U), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim (KR 200369961 Y1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, except wherein the heat source comprises a laser light source.
However, Kim teaches a hair dryer wherein the heat source comprises a laser light source (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Karbakhsh wherein the heat source comprises a laser light source, in order to stimulate the scalp, prevent hair loss, etc (see pgs. 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karbakhsh (US 20180103741 A1) in view of Wang (CN 213962188 U), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Prehodka (US 9237789 B2).
Regarding claim 16, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, except further comprising an attachment releasably attached to the housing. However, Prehodka teaches a variety of attachments releasably attached to the housing of a hair dryer (see Field of the Invention).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Karbakhsh to further comprise an attachment releasably attached to the housing. The motivation to combine is so that different styling attachments can be used with the haircare appliance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the arguments directed at amended claim 1, Karbakhsh discloses a haircare appliance comprising a housing, i.e., exterior walls of the appliance (see Figs. 4-7), enclosing the heat source, location determination module, and guide mechanism.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12, 17, 22 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762