DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Heat source configured to emit heat in claim 1.
Location determination module configured to determine a location of target hair in claim 1.
Guide mechanism for use in guiding emitted heat from the heat source to the location of the target hair in claim 1.
Infrared emitter configured to emit infrared radiation in claim 3
Optical element configured to interact with the infrared radiation emitted by the infrared emitter in claims 4, 7
Hair sensor to determine a property of hair in claim 10.
The corresponding structures described in the specification are (see pgpub for citations):
Heat source [Wingdings font/0xE0] infrared emitter, laser, convective heat source (paras. 7, 11, 53)
Location determination module [Wingdings font/0xE0] imaging sensor and processor, temperature sensor and moisture sensor (paras. 17, 19, 57)
Guide mechanism [Wingdings font/0xE0] digital light processing chip, lenses, movable baffle, mirrors (paras. 46, 50, 53)
Infrared emitter [Wingdings font/0xE0] laser (paras. 11, 14)
Optical element [Wingdings font/0xE0] digital micromirror device such as a DLP chip, mirror, lens (paras. 12, 15)
Hair sensor [Wingdings font/0xE0] temperature sensor, moisture sensor (paras. 21, 22)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Karbakhsh (US 20180103741 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Karbakhsh discloses a haircare appliance comprising
a heat source configured to emit heat (a hair dryer is disclosed and a hair dryer has a heat source; para. 2),
a location determination module configured to determine a location of target hair (para. 65), and
a guide mechanism for use in guiding emitted heat from the heat source to the location of the target hair in response to an output of the location determination module (para. 45).
Regarding claim 2, Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, wherein the guide mechanism comprises a movable member movable in response to the output of the location determination module (para. 45).
Regarding claim 8, Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, wherein the location determination module comprises an imaging sensor (camera) configured to capture an image, and an image processor (inherently disclosed) configured to determine the location of the target hair within the captured image (para. 65).
Regarding claim 14, Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, wherein the heat source is configured to be inoperable when the location determination module cannot determine a location of target hair (this can occur when the system, including the heat source and location determination module, is turned off).
Regarding claim 15 Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, wherein the haircare appliance comprises an airflow generator configured to generate an airflow directed toward the determined location of the target hair (para. 10).
Regarding claim 16 Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, wherein the haircare appliance comprises a main body (Fig. 1, 20), and an attachment releasably attached to the main body, the attachment (100) comprising any of the heat source, the location determination module (para. 65), or the guide mechanism (para. 45).
Regarding claim 17, Karbakhsh discloses (see rejection of claim 1 for citations) an attachment for a haircare appliance, the attachment comprising a heat source configured to emit heat, a location determination module configured to determine a location of target hair, and a guide mechanism for use in guiding emitted heat from the heat source to the location of the target hair in response to an output of the location determination module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karbakhsh (US 20180103741 A1) in view of Wang (CN 213962188 U).
Regarding claim 3, Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, except wherein the heat source comprises an infrared emitter configured to emit infrared radiation.
However, Wang teaches a hair dryer having a heat source comprising an infrared emitter configured to emit infrared radiation (pg. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Karbakhsh’s hair dryer holder system to hold a hair dryer having a heat source comprising an infrared emitter configured to emit infrared radiation, since Karbakhsh’s hair dryer holder system is designed to hold a wide variety of hair dryers and Wang teaches an example hair dryer. Moreover, the Wang teaches that an IR operated hair dryer has advantages over a traditional convective hair dryer (pg. 2).
Regarding claim 4, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 3, wherein the guide mechanism comprises an optical element (e.g., reflector) configured to interact with infrared radiation emitted by the infrared emitter (Wang, top of pg. 3).
Regarding claim 5, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 4, wherein the infrared emitter is configured to emit infrared radiation in a first direction, and the optical element is configured to interact with the emitted infrared radiation such that infrared radiation downstream of the optical element travels in a second direction different to the first direction (Wang, pg. 3).
Regarding claim 6, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 4, wherein the optical element comprises a plurality of mirrors (Wang; reflectors 6032).
Regarding claim 7, modified Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 4, wherein the guide mechanism comprises a further optical element, the further optical element (convex or concave lens) configured to refract the infrared radiation (Wang; third paragraph on pg. 9).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karbakhsh (US 20180103741 A1) in view of Murakami (US 20050128291 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 8, except wherein the imaging sensor comprises at least one of a thermal imaging sensor and a visible light imaging sensor.
However, Murakami teaches an object tracking camera system comprising a thermal (IR) imaging sensor and a visible light imaging sensor (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Karbakhsh wherein the imaging sensor comprises at least one of a thermal imaging sensor and a visible light imaging sensor. The motivation to combine is to improve the tracking capability of the location determination module. This feature would be especially useful in low light conditions when visible light levels are low.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karbakhsh (US 20180103741 A1) in view of Kim (KR 200369961 Y1).
Regarding claim 13, Karbakhsh discloses the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1, except wherein the heat source comprises a laser light source.
However, Kim teaches a hair dryer wherein the heat source comprises a laser light source (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Karbakhsh wherein the heat source comprises a laser light source, in order to stimulate the scalp, prevent hair loss, etc (see pgs. 1 and 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762