DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42-45, 49 and 51-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210117463 A1 (Shastry et al.)(hereinafter Shastry) in view of US 20050181723 A1 (Miller et al)(hereinafter Miller) in view of US 20150358955 A1 (KRESSE et al.)(hereinafter KRESSE) in view of US 20110313826 A1 (KEEN et al.)(hereinafter KEEN) in view of US 20130314257 A1 (Macrae et al.)(hereinafter Macrae) and in further view of US 20160372114 A1 (Klose et al.)(hereinafter Klose).
In re claim 42, Shastry discloses a method for communicating with a passenger making a journey in a vehicle (Fig. 4C:B438, [0003], “Transportation vehicles today have individualized functional equipment dedicated to a particular passenger seat, which can be utilized by a passenger, such as adjustable seats ...”. [0004], “It has become quite commonplace for travelers to carry personal electronic devices (PEDs) having wireless communication capability, such as cellular phones, smart phones, tablet computers, laptop computers, and other portable electronic devices...Many of these personal electronic devices have the capability to execute application software programs (“apps”) to perform various functions, including controlling other devices and systems”. [0092], “In block B438, the media content associated with one or more unique identifier is streamed to a PED and/or seat device” (communicating with a passenger in the flight)), the vehicle having a broadcast system for transmitting information to one or more passengers, the passenger having and operating a Portable Electronic Device (PED) (Fig. 300: 302, [0026], “The computer system 106 can provide the received viewing content 124 to the media server system 112 (broadcast system) and/or directly to one or more of the user interfaces 114 including a PED, as desired” (broadcasting can be interpreted as sending content at the same time to multiple passengers), the PED operable to receive information from the broadcast system of the vehicle and to display information content to the passenger ([0028], “In at least one embodiment, the user interface system 114 comprises a software application that a user downloads and installs on a personal electronic device (PED) to receive and view content via an access point 130”. [0067], “The storage device 316 may be used to store content displayed on a display 304 of PED 302 when used by a passenger” (media content broadcasted by the aircraft is downloaded by the PED through the app and displayed to the passenger)); the method comprising transmitting information to the PED of one or more passengers within the vehicle ([0092], “In block B438, the media content associated with one or more unique identifier is streamed to a PED and/or seat device” (transmitting media to one or more passengers in the vehicle). [0068], “Application 314 may be used to pair the PED 302 with the aircraft systems to receive content and communicate with CMD 360” (PED’s of passengers on board may pair with the respective seat to receive communication from the aircraft));
wherein the PED conducts a check to confirm the communication is with the correct passenger vehicle ([0083], “The unique identifier enables the aircraft system to control streaming of the media content to seat devices and/or PEDs...The unique identifier is based on one or more parameters, for example, an aircraft tail identifier (a unique identifier for identifying an aircraft), an identifier indicating a class of a cabin (e.g. first class, business class, economy or others) or any other parameter” (discloses a way to authenticate prior to communication such as using a unique identifier));
wherein the PED displays information content derived from the information transmitted to the PED;
wherein the PED of the passenger is displaying audio and/or visual content; transmission of information from the broadcast system to the PED causing the PED to interrupt the audio and/or visual display and display information content derived from the transmitted information;
the method further comprising translating information from a first language to be displayed by the PED in a second language.
Shastry does not explicitly disclose the vehicle having a broadcast system for transmitting information to one or more passengers, the passenger having and operating a Portable Electronic Device (PED).
Miller discloses the vehicle having a broadcast system for transmitting information to one or more passengers, the passenger having and operating a Portable Electronic Device (PED) ([0002], “The present invention relates generally to communication systems on board mobile platforms such as aircraft and, more particularly, to an on-board wireless local area network (WLAN) accessible by passengers' portable electronic devices such as laptop computers”. [0020], “Each access point 18 is configured to communicate with PEDs 38 over one of the three channels. For example, as shown in FIG. 1, three access points 18 communicate using channels 1, 6 and 11 respectively. Adjacent access points 18 broadcast over different channels. For example, referring to FIG. 2, a user sitting in a cell 80 in which the associated access point 18 broadcasts over channel 1 could communicate with the WLAN 10 via channel 1”. [0049], “a user PED 38 at the maximum distance from an access point antenna 34 broadcasting at 1 milliwatt receives a signal in the range of -45 to -50 dBm” (discloses a broadcast system capable of transmitting information to one or more PEDs)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shastry with Miller to provide a method and a system for communication of the broadcast system with the passenger in the vehicle wherein the broadcast system is configured to communicate with the personal electronic devices (PED) of passengers during the journey. The advantage of doing so is increased safety of passengers and to enable them to listen to the safety broadcasts or operational announcements in their language or communication through their PED while they remain engaged with their PEDs to read emails, to listen to music, to watch video based media.
Shastry and Miller do not explicitly disclose wherein the PED conducts a check to confirm the communication is with the correct passenger vehicle.
KRESSE discloses wherein the PED conducts a check to confirm the communication is with the correct passenger vehicle ([0064], “The device detection module 208 authenticates the vehicle using one or more authentication procedures. For example, the device detection module 208 on the mobile client device 188 may receive a beacon signal from the vehicle and authenticates the vehicle based on the beacon signal. The beacon signal may include an identifier of the vehicle. The device detection module 208 establishes a communication link between the mobile client device 188 and the vehicle for sending the digital data to the vehicle and receiving new mobile system data from the vehicle”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shastry and Miller with KRESSE to obtain valid journey context data by ensuring the correct vehicle. The advantage of doing so is to transmit/receive valid context data related to the journey.
Shastry, Miller and KRESSE do not explicitly disclose the PED operable to receive information from the broadcast system of the vehicle and to display information content to the passenger; wherein the PED displays information content derived from the information transmitted to the PED.
KEEN discloses the PED operable to receive information from the broadcast system of the vehicle and to display information content to the passenger (Fig. 5-6, [0102], “For example, the satellite 220 may provide information including sports scores, stock ticker, news headlines, destination weather and destination traffic. The satellite signals received by the satellite receiver 242 are provided to the on-board server 162 for repackaging this particular information for presentation to the PEDs 130 via the access points 160, as will be readily appreciated by those skilled in the art” (PED operable to receive information through the broadcast system). [0187], “the PED 430 may display video from the IFE video entertainment source 402 once the PED 430 is registered with the IFE controller 408. This advantageously allows the passenger to comfortably view the video from the IFE video entertainment source on their PED 430. The video from the IFE entertainment source 402 is wirelessly transmitted to the PED wireless transceiver 436”); wherein the PED displays information content derived from the information transmitted to the PED ([0083], “...The common data may be in the form of web pages in which passengers can browse via their PED 130” (common data transmitted to the PED is displayed in the form of webpages by the PED). [0088], “In addition to products and services, the common data is directed to interactive maps ...displayed on a PED 130, The interactive maps preferably correspond to the flight path 203 of the aircraft 120, and are updated or refreshed via the ground data link 174 when the aircraft 120 is parked on the ground at the airport 170” (interactive maps derived from the flight path are displayed by the PED)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shastry, Miller, KRESSE with KEEN to provide a method and a system for communication of the broadcast system with the passenger in the vehicle wherein the broadcast system is configured to communicate with the personal electronic devices (PED) of passengers during the journey. The advantage of doing so is to benefit the passengers so they don’t miss out on important safety and comfort related announcements on board.
Shastry, Miller, KRESSE and KEEN do not explicitly disclose wherein the PED of the passenger is displaying audio and/or visual content; transmission of information from the broadcast system to the PED causing the PED to interrupt the audio and/or visual display and display information content derived from the transmitted information.
Macrae discloses wherein the PED of the passenger is displaying audio and/or visual content; transmission of information from the broadcast system to the PED causing the PED to interrupt the audio and/or visual display and display information content ([0009], “By providing such an interface communication can be enabled between an aircraft system (for example a cabin management system) and a device (for example a passenger device) for use on an aircraft”. [0032], “The predetermined state of the aircraft content management system may comprise the transmission of forced video output, for example a safety message, by the content management system” (discloses safety videos are forced and interrupt the running audio/video content). [0135], “It is a feature of aircraft systems that playing of content at user devices may need to be coordinated or interrupted simultaneously at each user device, for example for simultaneous playing of a safety or other message at each device or to enable a PA message to be heard by all passengers”. [0136], “The application software running at the processor 16 responds to a signal indicating that the intercom system has been activated by transmitting a Pause On/Off state command to the client devices 110 as described above. The playing of content by the client devices 110 is paused in response to the Pause On/Off state command, allowing passengers to listen to the intercom system” (a running video maybe interrupted for such forced announcements via the personal device)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shastry, Miller, KRESSE and KEEN with Macrae to provide a control method to force safety and emergency messages and interrupt the running audio/video by the personal devices. The advantage of doing so is to benefit the passenger’s safety and maintain and control the cabin environment in flight.
Shastry, Miller, KRESSE, KEEN and Macrae do not explicitly disclose the method further comprising translating information from a first language to be displayed by the PED in a second language.
Klose discloses the method comprising translating information from a first language to be displayed by the PED in a second language ([0016], “The method may comprise automatically detecting, for each of the one or more devices, a preferred language. The step of signaling may comprise signaling the text message containing text in the detected preferred language...Alternatively, or additionally, the preferred language may be derived from the website on which the passenger has subscribed to receive the text messages or from the language used for the subscription. Alternatively, or additionally, the passenger may select his/her preferred language for the text message in an application, a user interface of a webpage or the like” (announcements are converted to text and/or preferred language)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shastry, Miller, KRESSE, KEEN and Macrae with Klose to provide a method of translating the announcements into the preferred language detected for the user. The advantage of doing so is to benefit the passengers so they don’t miss out on important safety and comfort related announcements on board.
In re claim 43, the combination discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein KEEN discloses wherein the PED displays information content comprised in the information transmitted by the broadcast system (Fig. 4, [0083], “Referring now to FIG. 4, another aspect will be discussed with respect to the data memory cache 155 cooperating with the access point 160 for storing common data accessible by the PEDs 130 during flight of the aircraft 120. The common data may be in the form of web pages in which passengers can browse via their PED 130” (webpages are displayed by the PED transmitted by the IFE system). [0088], “In addition to products and services, the common data is directed to interactive maps ...displayed on a PED 130, The interactive maps preferably correspond to the flight path 203 of the aircraft 120, and are updated or refreshed via the ground data link 174 when the aircraft 120 is parked on the ground at the airport 170” (interactive maps displaying flight paths as transmitted by the IFE system)).
In re claim 44, the combination discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein KEEN discloses wherein the PED displays information content retrieved from the memory of the PED ([0018], “The PED may further comprise a PED memory for storing the selected advertisement token image. The advertisements may correspond to at least one of products and services”. [0219], “The PED 630'' comprises a PED optical sensor 634'' for sensing a selected advertisement token image 620'', a PED wireless transceiver 636'', and a PED controller 638''. In addition, the PED 630'' includes a display 640'', an input device 642'' and a memory 637'' coupled to the PED controller 638''. The memory 637'' may store the selected advertisement token image, at least until confirmation of the purchase has been received” (PED displays selected advertisement token from its memory unless purchase of product is confirmed); the display of the information content being triggered by information broadcast to the PED by the broadcast system ([0087], “The data memory cache 155 may be configured to push the common data related to the services and products to the PEDs 130”. [0198], “The IFE advertisement source 603 advantageously provides advertisements 620 on various products and services that can be selected for purchase by a passenger using their PED 630” (advertisements related to products and services pushed through the broadcast system triggers displays of such advertisement tokens on the PED)).
In re claim 45, the combination discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein Shastry discloses the method comprising converting information using speech-to-text operations, wherein the PED displays a text message to the passenger ([0066], “PEDs 302 may include a microphone 336 for receiving a voice input from a passenger. The voice input is converted into text by an application 314 for processing”).
In re claim 49, the combination discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein KEEN discloses wherein information is transmitted to the PED during one or both of while the passenger is within the passenger vehicle ([0110], “As noted above, predetermined web pages are stored in the data memory cache 155 when the aircraft 120 is parked on the ground (i.e., electronic retailer shopping and on-board shopping, as well as advertisements). Since the satellite links 252, 254 are wide band, the requested web information may also be downloaded for storage or refreshed in the data memory cache 155 while the aircraft is in flight”. [0156], “Alternatively, the application software may be downloaded to the PED 430 while on-board the aircraft”) or while the passenger is outside the passenger vehicle ([0156], “Application software for the touch screen 443 may be preloaded into the PED 430 from the manufacturer, or the application software may be downloaded by the passenger prior to boarding the aircraft” (information is transmitted to the PED while passenger is outside the vehicle)).
In re claim 51, the combination discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein KEEN discloses wherein the PED displays information content on the PED and/or displays content on a display assembly remote from the PED ([0150], “an integrated PED 430 may be operated as a remote control for remotely controlling the video displayed on an IFE passenger seat display 404. Another option is for the PED 430 to operate as an entertainment source for displaying video on the IFE passenger seat display 404. Yet another option is for the PED 430 to display video on a PED display 440 from the IFE video entertainment source 402”) wherein the remote display assembly is comprised in the communication system of the passenger vehicle (Fig. 5, [0024], “FIG. 5 is a screen shot from a PED of an interactive map corresponding to the flight path of the aircraft in accordance with the present invention” (discloses PED displaying an interactive map of flight route as part of the communication system of the vehicle), wherein the remote display assembly is comprised in a seat assembly of the passenger vehicle (Fig. 22, [0041], “FIG. 22 is a view of a passenger seat display displaying an advertisement and an advertisement token image associated therewith”. [0152], “The PED input device 442 cooperates with the PED controller 438 to selectively control video being displayed on the IFE passenger seat display 404” (remote display assembly is integrated in the seat assembly of the vehicle)).
In re claim 52, Shastry discloses a communication system for a passenger vehicle (Fig. 3A, [0042], “In one aspect, system 300 includes, the onboard management system 344, a seat device 326, a PED 302, and a crew management device (CMD)”. [0055], “In one aspect, the IFE layer 334 uses the seat device communication interface 328 to interface with the PED 302 and/or onboard management system 344. The communication interface 328 includes logic and circuitry for interfacing with the onboard management system 344 and/or PED 302. In one aspect, the communication interface 328 may use a wireless and/or wired connection for such communication”), the communication system comprising a broadcast system for transmitting information to one or more passengers travelling in the vehicle, the one or more passengers having and operating a Portable Electronic Device (PED) (Fig. 300: 302, [0026], “The computer system 106 can provide the received viewing content 124 to the media server system 112 (broadcast system) and/or directly to one or more of the user interfaces 114 including a PED, as desired” (broadcasting can be interpreted as sending content at the same time to multiple passengers), the PED operable to receive transmitted information from the broadcast system of the vehicle and to display information content to the one or more passengers ([0028], “In at least one embodiment, the user interface system 114 comprises a software application that a user downloads and installs on a personal electronic device (PED) to receive and view content via an access point 130”. [0067], “The storage device 316 may be used to store content displayed on a display 304 of PED 302 when used by a passenger” (media content broadcasted by the aircraft is downloaded by the PED through the app and displayed to the passenger)),
wherein the PED is operable to conduct a check to confirm the communication is with the correct passenger vehicle ([0083], “The unique identifier enables the aircraft system to control streaming of the media content to seat devices and/or PEDs...The unique identifier is based on one or more parameters, for example, an aircraft tail identifier (a unique identifier for identifying an aircraft), an identifier indicating a class of a cabin (e.g. first class, business class, economy or others) or any other parameter” (discloses a way to authenticate prior to communication such as using a unique identifier));
wherein the PED of the passenger is operable to display audio and/or visual content; transmission of information from the broadcast system to the PED causing the PED to interrupt the audio and/or visual display and display information content derived from the transmitted information;
the system operable to translate information from a first language to be displayed by the PED in a second language.
Shastry does not explicitly disclose the communication system comprising a broadcast system for transmitting information to one or more passengers travelling in the vehicle, the one or more passengers having and operating a Portable Electronic Device (PED).
Miller discloses the communication system comprising a broadcast system for transmitting information to one or more passengers travelling in the vehicle, the one or more passengers having and operating a Portable Electronic Device (PED) ([0002], “The present invention relates generally to communication systems on board mobile platforms such as aircraft and, more particularly, to an on-board wireless local area network (WLAN) accessible by passengers' portable electronic devices such as laptop computers”. [0020], “Each access point 18 is configured to communicate with PEDs 38 over one of the three channels. For example, as shown in FIG. 1, three access points 18 communicate using channels 1, 6 and 11 respectively. Adjacent access points 18 broadcast over different channels. For example, referring to FIG. 2, a user sitting in a cell 80 in which the associated access point 18 broadcasts over channel 1 could communicate with the WLAN 10 via channel 1”. [0049], “a user PED 38 at the maximum distance from an access point antenna 34 broadcasting at 1 milliwatt receives a signal in the range of -45 to -50 dBm” (discloses a broadcast system capable of transmitting information to one or more PEDs)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shastry with Miller to provide a method and a system for communication of the broadcast system with the passenger in the vehicle wherein the broadcast system is configured to communicate with the personal electronic devices (PED) of passengers during the journey. The advantage of doing so is increased safety of passengers and to enable them to listen to the safety broadcasts or operational announcements in their language or communication through their PED while they remain engaged with their PEDs to read emails, to listen to music, to watch video based media.
Shastry and Miller do not explicitly disclose wherein the PED is operable to conduct a check to confirm the communication is with the correct passenger vehicle.
KRESSE discloses wherein the PED is operable to conduct a check to confirm the communication is with the correct passenger vehicle ([0064], “The device detection module 208 authenticates the vehicle using one or more authentication procedures. For example, the device detection module 208 on the mobile client device 188 may receive a beacon signal from the vehicle and authenticates the vehicle based on the beacon signal. The beacon signal may include an identifier of the vehicle. The device detection module 208 establishes a communication link between the mobile client device 188 and the vehicle for sending the digital data to the vehicle and receiving new mobile system data from the vehicle”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shastry and Miller with KRESSE to obtain valid journey context data by ensuring the correct vehicle. The advantage of doing so is to transmit/receive valid context data related to the journey.
Shastry, Miller and KRESSE do not explicitly disclose wherein the PED of the passenger is operable to display audio and/or visual content; and display information content derived from the transmitted information.
KEEN discloses wherein the PED of the passenger is operable to display audio and/or visual content (Fig. 5-6, [0187], “the PED 430 may display video from the IFE video entertainment source 402 once the PED 430 is registered with the IFE controller 408. This advantageously allows the passenger to comfortably view the video from the IFE video entertainment source on their PED 430. The video from the IFE entertainment source 402 is wirelessly transmitted to the PED wireless transceiver 436”); and display information content derived from the transmitted information ([0083], “...The common data may be in the form of web pages in which passengers can browse via their PED 130” (common data transmitted to the PED is displayed in the form of webpages by the PED). [0088], “In addition to products and services, the common data is directed to interactive maps ...displayed on a PED 130, The interactive maps preferably correspond to the flight path 203 of the aircraft 120, and are updated or refreshed via the ground data link 174 when the aircraft 120 is parked on the ground at the airport 170” (interactive maps derived from the flight path are displayed by the PED)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shastry, Miller, KRESSE with KEEN to provide a method and a system for communication of the broadcast system with the passenger in the vehicle wherein the broadcast system is configured to communicate with the personal electronic devices (PED) of passengers during the journey. The advantage of doing so is to benefit the passengers so they don’t miss out on important safety and comfort related announcements on board.
Shastry, Miller, KRESSE and KEEN do not explicitly disclose wherein the PED of the passenger is operable to display audio and/or visual content; transmission of information from the broadcast system to the PED causing the PED to interrupt the audio and/or visual display and display information content derived from the transmitted information.
Macrae discloses wherein the PED of the passenger is displaying audio and/or visual content; transmission of information from the broadcast system to the PED causing the PED to interrupt the audio and/or visual display and display information content ([0009], “By providing such an interface communication can be enabled between an aircraft system (for example a cabin management system) and a device (for example a passenger device) for use on an aircraft”. [0032], “The predetermined state of the aircraft content management system may comprise the transmission of forced video output, for example a safety message, by the content management system” (discloses safety videos are forced and interrupt the running audio/video content). [0135], “It is a feature of aircraft systems that playing of content at user devices may need to be coordinated or interrupted simultaneously at each user device, for example for simultaneous playing of a safety or other message at each device or to enable a PA message to be heard by all passengers”. [0136], “The application software running at the processor 16 responds to a signal indicating that the intercom system has been activated by transmitting a Pause On/Off state command to the client devices 110 as described above. The playing of content by the client devices 110 is paused in response to the Pause On/Off state command, allowing passengers to listen to the intercom system” (a running video maybe interrupted for such forced announcements via the personal device)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shastry, Miller, KRESSE and KEEN with Macrae to provide a control method to force safety and emergency messages and interrupt the running audio/video by the personal devices. The advantage of doing so is to benefit the passenger’s safety and maintain and control the cabin environment in flight.
Shastry, Miller, KRESSE, KEEN and Macrae do not explicitly disclose the system operable to translate information from a first language to be displayed by the PED in a second language.
Klose discloses the system operable to translate information from a first language to be displayed by the PED in a second language ([0016], “The method may comprise automatically detecting, for each of the one or more devices, a preferred language. The step of signaling may comprise signaling the text message containing text in the detected preferred language...Alternatively, or additionally, the preferred language may be derived from the website on which the passenger has subscribed to receive the text messages or from the language used for the subscription. Alternatively, or additionally, the passenger may select his/her preferred language for the text message in an application, a user interface of a webpage or the like” (announcements are converted to text and/or preferred language)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shastry, Miller, KRESSE, KEEN and Macrae with Klose to provide a method of translating the announcements into the preferred language detected for the user. The advantage of doing so is to benefit the passengers so they don’t miss out on important safety and comfort related announcements on board.
In re claim 53, the combination discloses the communication system according to claim 52, wherein KEEN discloses the method further comprising a display assembly, the PED displaying information content on the display assembly ([0150], “Another option is for the PED 430 to operate as an entertainment source for displaying video on the IFE passenger seat display 404” (video from the PED is displayed on the IFE passenger seat display assembly)).
In re claim 54, the combination discloses the communication system according to claim 52, wherein KEEN discloses the method further comprising: an interface (Fig. 11); wherein the interface provides a connection between the broadcast system and the PED of a passenger (([0072], “The access points 160 are illustratively connected to an on-board server 162 and an air-to-ground transceiver 152. The server 162 includes a data memory cache 155 and a data traffic controller 158. [0131], “The above content is provided to the on-board server 162 which may include or interface with the data memory cache 155. The data is provided to passenger PEDs 130 using Wi-Fi or WiMax distribution via the access points 160”); wherein the interface is connected wirelessly to the broadcast system and/or the interface is hard-wired to the broadcast system (Fig. 11:406, “IFE wireless Tx/Rx”); and/or wherein the interface is wirelessly connectable and/or connectable by a hard wire connection to the PED of a passenger ([0071], “equipment has been installed on the aircraft 120 so that the aircraft appears as a hotspot or intranet to the PEDs 130. Nodes or access points 160 are spaced throughout the cabin area of the aircraft 120 providing 802.11 services (i.e., Wi-Fi) or 802.16 services (i.e., WiMax), for example”. [0131], “Video and data is provided to an Ethernet distribution 320 for distributing throughout the aircraft as part of the in-flight entertainment system” (interface having wired or wireless connection to the broadcast system and PED)).
In re claim 55, the combination discloses the communication system according to claim 52, wherein KEEN discloses the system further comprising a seat assembly for the passenger vehicle ([0004], “Passenger displays typically are located overhead and/or on opposing seatbacks” (seats with displays on seat back)), the seat assembly comprising: an audio/visual display assembly for displaying audio and visual content to a passenger occupying the seat assembly (Fig. 5-6, [0193], “One option is to operate the PED 430'' as a remote control for selectively controlling displayed video on the IFE passenger seat display 404''); and means for connecting a portable electronic device (PED) of the passenger to the audio/visual display assembly ([0187], “the PED 430'' may display video from the IFE video entertainment source 402 once the PED 430 is registered with the IFE controller 408''. [0150], “Another option is for the PED 430 to operate as an entertainment source for displaying video on the IFE passenger seat display 404”), whereby audio and visual content may be displayed by the PED remotely on the audio/visual display assembly ([0169], “The video from the PED 430 is wirelessly transmitted to the IFE wireless transceiver 406. An IFE video buffer 423 may be coupled to the IFE controller 408 to store at least a portion of the video from the PED 430 prior to being viewed on the IFE passenger seat display 404”).
In re claim 56, the combination discloses the communication system according to claim 55, wherein KEEN discloses wherein the audio/visual display assembly is comprised in a seat ([0005], “In addition, viewing content from a PED can be provided to the aircraft IFE system for viewing on a seat-back display” (audio/video is integrated in the seat back)).
In re claim 57, the combination discloses the communication system according to claim 55, wherein KEEN discloses wherein the audio/visual display assembly is applied to a seat of the seat assembly ([0152], “The PED input device 442 cooperates with the PED controller 438 to selectively control video being displayed on the IFE passenger seat display 404 that displayed the registration token image 410 used in the registration. Instead of the passenger using the passenger control unit (ECU) 405 coupled to the IFE controller 408 to selectively control the displayed video on the IFE passenger seat display 404, the passenger's PED 430 may now be used” (audio/video assembly is integrated in the seat assembly of the vehicle)).
In re claim 58, the combination discloses the communication system according to claim 55, wherein Shastry discloses the system further comprising an interface for connecting the audio/visual display assembly to the PED ([0055], “In one aspect, the IFE layer 334 uses the seat device communication interface 328 to interface with the PED 302 and/or onboard management system 344. The communication interface 328 includes logic and circuitry for interfacing with the onboard management system 344 and/or PED 302. In one aspect, the communication interface 328 may use a wireless and/or wired connection for such communication”).
In re claim 59, the combination discloses the communication system according to claim 58, wherein Shastry discloses wherein the connection between the audio/visual display assembly and the PED is wireless and/or hard-wired ([0027], “The user interface system 114 may be computing terminals in communication with an access point 130. The user interface system 114 provides a display device to view content. The user interface system 114 includes a hardware interface to connect to an access point 130 that provides a wired and/or a wireless connection for the user interface system”).
In re claim 60, the combination discloses the communication system according to claim 55, wherein Shastry discloses wherein the audio/visual display assembly comprises a simple screen or simple monitor (Fig. 3A: 330, [0067], “The storage device 316 may be used to store content displayed on a display 304 of PED 302 when used by a passenger. In one aspect, display 304 may include a touch screen for receiving input commands”).
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210117463 A1 (Shastry et al.)(hereinafter Shastry) in view of US 20050181723 A1 (Miller et al)(hereinafter Miller) in view of US 20150358955 A1 (KRESSE et al.)(hereinafter KRESSE) in view of US 20110313826 A1 (KEEN et al.)(hereinafter KEEN) in view of US 20130314257 A1 (Macrae et al.)(hereinafter Macrae) in view of US 20160372114 A1 (Klose et al.)(hereinafter Klose) and in further view of US 20130074107 A1 (Hyde et al.)(hereinafter Hyde).
In re claim 48, the combination discloses the method according to claim 42, but does not explicitly disclose wherein information is deleted from the PED after the passenger has completed a journey in the passenger vehicle or wherein information is stored in the PED after the passenger has completed a journey in the passenger vehicle.
Hyde discloses wherein information is deleted from the PED after the passenger has completed a journey in the passenger vehicle (Fig. 3, [0074], “When the electronic media device is in dormant mode after passenger exit, the following responsive activities may be scheduled: customized content and informational data are purged from the storage module, and the battery status is checked 351; and a detected low or bad battery is recharged or replaced at on-board or off-board location 352” (deleting the content from the PED if not necessary anymore after the journey)) or wherein information is stored in the PED after the passenger has completed a journey in the passenger vehicle ([0073], “While the electronic media device is in active mode during descent and landing, the following activities may be scheduled: new content is downloaded regarding destination, flight transfers, and baggage 346; and access to stored content is allowed 347”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shastry, Miller, KRESSE, KEEN, Macrae and Klose with Hyde to provide storage, access and removal of content on the PED during and after the journey. The advantage of doing so is to enable the passengers to view and interact with the content on their personal devices during and after the journey as needed.
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649