DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wenzel (US 4240942).
Regarding claims 1-6, Wenzel teaches an aqueous dispersion or solution of isocyanate polyaddition products having a polyether chain (a nonionic hydrophilic functional group) and semicarbazide end groups prepared by reacting a hydrazine compound with an isocyanate (claim 1). The instant specification indicates that polyoxyalkylene groups read on the claimed hydrophilic functional group (p. 10, [0024]); therefore, each polyether (or polyoxyalkylene) chain represents one hydrophilic functional group. The semicarbazide compound may be further reacted with an isocyanate-functional chain extension agent, including a diisocyanate (col. 11, lines 42-47). The chain lengthening reaction includes about 0.4-1.0 mol of the difunctional chain lengthening agent per mol of semicarbazide groups (col. 11, lines 55-60). An oligomer with 2 semicarbazide end groups includes 2 moles of semicarbazide groups. The diisocyanate chain lengthening agents include 2 moles of isocyanate groups per mole. The indicated 0.4-1.0 mol of diisocyanate will therefore include 0.8-2.0 mol of isocyanate functional groups per 1 mol semicarbazide groups. In other words, the majority of the range suggested by Wenzel involves reacting a molar excess of diisocyanate with semicarbazide. When an excess of diisocyanate is reacted, all semicarbazide groups will be converted to a structure according to formula (I). The ratio of structures according to formula (I) to polyether chains will remain the same in this case – about 2:1. This falls within the claimed range of 0.1-10. Further, Wenzel does not limit the respective amounts of isocyanates that may be present in the total amount of isocyanate, and permits any ratio. This prior art range encompasses the claimed range. A prima facie case of anticipation exists where the prior art range encompasses the claimed range. See MPEP 2131.
Regarding claim 7, Wenzel remains as applied to claim 1 above. Wenzel further teaches that the polyether chain may be present in amounts of 0-25 % by weight of the total product (claim 1).
Regarding claims 8-9, Wenzel remains as applied to claim 1 above. Wenzel further teaches that acetone (a hydrophilic organic solvent) may be used in amounts of up to 25% by weight relative to the total solids content of the reaction mixture (col. 8, lines 23-27; col. 9, lines 8-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenzel in view of Asahi (JP 2001003004 A, attached with English translation).
Regarding claim 10, Wenzel remains as applied to claim 1 above. Wenzel further teaches that the aqueous dispersion or solution may be used as an additive for synthetic resin dispersions or in coatings (col. 12, lines 14-16; claim 3). However, Wenzel is silent as to what resins may be used. In a similar field of endeavor, Asahi 2001 teaches use of similar compounds in a coating with hydantoin epoxy resin (p. 12, [0040]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the coating of Wenzel and the resin of Asahi to arrive at the claimed invention, and to provide a product with excellent storage stability, as taught by Asahi (p. 12, [0041]).
Conclusion
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762