DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: Missing preposition “to”. Claim 1 recites: “…the platy catalyst elements are stacked each other so that…” The preposition “to” is missing after the word “stacked.” For purposes of examination, examiner will interpret claim 1 as reciting: “…the platy catalyst elements are stacked to each other so that…” Claim 4 recites: “…the platy catalyst elements are stacked each other so that…” The preposition “to” is missing after the word “stacked.” For purposes of examination, examiner will interpret claim 4 as reciting: “…the platy catalyst elements are stacked to each other so that…” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Takuma et al. (JP2014030791A1, relied on machine translation, hereinafter Takum a) . In regards to Claim 1 , Takuma discloses a catalyst unit for purifying flue gas, comprising a plurality of platy catalyst elements (#1) , wherein the platy catalyst element (#1) comprises one flat plate portion (#11a) and one wavy plate portion (#27) , the wavy plate portion (#27 having 1 ridge and 1 thalweg ) has ridges and thalwegs, the flat plate portion (#11a) and the wavy plate portion (#27) are respectively quadrilateral in view image from normal direction relative to a main face thereof, an edge of the flat plate portion (#11a) and an edge of the wavy plate (#27) portion are connected, and a number of the ridges and a number of the thalwegs are totally not less than 4 (number of ridges and thalwegs in total are not less than 4 as seen on figure 1a) , and the platy catalyst elements (#1) are stacked to each other so that a top of the ridges of the wavy plate portion (#27) in one of the platy catalyst elements (#1) is in contact with the flat plate portion (#11a) of another adjacent of the platy catalyst elements (#1) and the wavy plate portion (#27) secures gas flow paths (see figures 1 A -1 B and paragraphs [0009], [0011]-[0012], [0031] and [0033]) . In regards to Claim 2 , Takuma discloses wherein the edge of the wavy plate portion (#27) connected to the edge of the flat plate portion (#11a) is a portion on a ridge line or a thalweg line of the wavy plate portion (#27) (see figure 1A). In regards to Claim 3 , Takuma discloses wherein the edge of the wavy plate portion (#27) connected to the edge of the flat plate portion (#11a) is a portion on a center line between a ridge line and a thalweg line of the wavy plate portion (#27) (see figures 1A and 1B). In regards to Claim 4 , Takuma discloses a platy catalyst element (#1) configured to be used in a catalyst unit for purifying flue gas , comprising one flat plate portion (#11a) and one wavy plate portion (#27) , wherein the wavy plate portion (#27 having 1 ridge and 1 thalweg) has ridges and thalwegs, the flat plate portion (#11a) and the wavy plate portion (#27) are respectively quadrilateral in view image from normal direction relative to a main face thereof, an edge of the flat plate portion (#11a) and an edge of the wavy plate (#27) portion are connected, and a number of the ridges and a number of the thalwegs are totally not less than 4 (number of ridges and thalwegs in total are not less than 4 as seen on figure 1a) , wherein the catalyst unit comprises a plurality of the platy catalyst elements (#1 ), the platy catalyst elements are stacked to each other so that a top of the ridges of the wavy plate portion (#27) in one of the platy catalyst elements (#1) is in contact with the flat plate portion (#11a) of another adjacent of the platy catalyst elements (#1) and the wavy plate portion (#27) secures gas flow paths (see figures 1A-1B and paragraphs [0009], [0011]-[0012], [0031] and [0033]) . Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Whittenberger et al. (US Pat. No. 5,791,044, hereinafter Whittenberger). In regards to Claim 1 , Whittenberger discloses a catalyst unit for purifying flue gas, comprising a plurality of platy catalyst elements (#40, #48, #50, #52) , wherein the platy catalyst element (#40, #48, #50, #52) comprises one flat plate portion (#44) and one wavy plate portion (#42) , the wavy plate portion (#42) has ridges and thalwegs, the flat plate portion (#44) and the wavy plate portion (#42) are respectively quadrilateral in view image from normal direction relative to a main face thereof, an edge of the flat plate portion (#44) and an edge of the wavy plate (#42) portion are connected, and a number of the ridges and a number of the thalwegs are totally not less than 4 (more than 4), and the platy catalyst elements (#40, #48, #50, #52) are stacked to each other so that a top of the ridges of the wavy plate portion (#42) in one of the platy catalyst elements (#40, #48, #50, #52) is in contact with the flat plate portion (#44) of another adjacent of the platy catalyst elements (#40, #48, #50, #52) and the wavy plate portion (#42) secures gas flow paths (see figures 1-4 , column 2, lines 51-63 and column 5, line 39 to column 6, line 3). In regards to Claim 2 , Whittenberger discloses wherein the edge of the wavy plate portion (#42) connected to the edge of the flat plate portion (#44) is a portion on a ridge line or a thalweg line of the wavy plate portion (#42) (see figures 1-4). In regards to Claim 3 , Whittenberger discloses wherein the edge of the wavy plate portion (#42) connected to the edge of the flat plate portion (#44) is a portion on a center line between a ridge line and a thalweg line of the wavy plate portion (#42) (see figures 1-4). In regards to Claim 4 , Whittenberger discloses a platy catalyst element (#40, #48, #50, #52) configured to be used in a catalyst unit for purifying flue gas , comprising one flat plate portion (#44) and one wavy plate portion (#42) , wherein the wavy plate portion (#42) has ridges and thalwegs, the flat plate portion (#44) and the wavy plate portion (#42) are respectively quadrilateral in view image from normal direction relative to a main face thereof, an edge of the flat plate portion (#44) and an edge of the wavy plate (#42) portion are connected, and a number of the ridges and a number of the thalwegs are totally not less than 4 (more than 4), wherein the catalyst unit comprises a plurality of the platy catalyst elements (#40, #48, #50, #52) , the platy catalyst elements (#40, #48, #50, #52) are stacked to each other so that a top of the ridges of the wavy plate portion (#42) in one of the platy catalyst elements (#40, #48, #50, #52) is in contact with the flat plate portion (#44) of another adjacent of the platy catalyst elements (#40, #48, #50, #52) and the wavy plate portion (#42) secures gas flow paths (see figures 1-4 , column 2, lines 51-63 and column 5, line 39 to column 6, line 3). Conclusio n Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JELITZA M PEREZ whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8139 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 9:00am-6:00pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Claire Wang can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-1051 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JELITZA M PEREZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774