DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and Species A in the reply filed on 1/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (KR 10-2019-0046688, citations from US 2021/0336272) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2019/0348663).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4, Oh et al. discloses in Figs 1-3, an electrode assembly ([0065]) for a lithium secondary battery ([0063]-[0065]), comprising: at least one electrode (ref 100) located at an outermost shell ([0065]) of the electrode assembly ([0065]), wherein the at least one electrode (ref 100) is a single-sided ([0032], Fig 2) positive electrode ([0033]) including an active material coating layer (ref 120) disposed only on one surface ([0032], Fig 2) of a current collector (ref 110) facing an inner electrode ([0065]) with a separator ([0065], [0073]) being interposed therebetween, and a coating layer (ref 130) containing a particulate ([0057], dry sheet includes particles) plastic polymer ([0043]) disposed on another surface (Fig 2, bottom) of the current collector (ref 110) of the single-sided ([0032], Fig 2) positive electrode (ref 100).
Oh et al. does not explicitly disclose the coating layer containing 60% or 70% by weight or more of a super-engineering plastic polymer including polyamide-imide.
Hasegawa et al. discloses in Figs 1-8, a battery (ref 100) including a current collector (ref 11) with a coating of a surface polymer-coated ([0032]-[0033]), the coating constituting ([0033], the polymer is the only material, thus is 100% by weight) super-engineered polyamide-imide ([0033]). This configuration enhances battery structural integrity, preventing short-circuiting and enhancing overall electrical performance ([0032]-[0033]).
Hasegawa et al. and Oh et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the super-engineered polyamide-imide at the amount disclosed by Hasegawa et al. into the polymer coated layer of Oh et al. to enhance battery structural integrity, preventing short-circuiting and enhancing overall electrical performance.
Regarding claim 8, modified Oh et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, but the reference does not explicitly disclose the coating layer has a thickness of 5 – 60% relative to a thickness of the positive electrode active material coating layer. As the electrode cost of construction and physical properties are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said thickness of the coating layer (see Oh et al., [0044]), with said construction cost and physical properties both varying as the coating thickness is varied, the precise coating thickness would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed coating thickness cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thickness of the coating in the coating material layer of Oh et al. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the physical properties (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223.
Regarding claim 9, modified Oh et all discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the electrode assembly ([0065]) is configured such that the single-sided electrode ([0032], Fig 2) is formed on a whole of outermost shells on both sides of a stacking direction ([0065], [0073], [0005], general configuration disclosed).
Regarding claim 10, modified Oh et all discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a separator ([0065], [0073], [0005]) is located outside of the single-sided positive electrode ([0032], Fig 2)
Regarding claim 11, modified Oh et all discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the electrode assembly is of a stack-folding type ([0005]) in which one or more unit cells of a full-cell are folded ([0005]) with a sheet-type separation film such that a positive electrode and a negative electrode are alternately stacked ([0005]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (KR 10-2019-0046688, citations from US 2021/0336272) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2019/0348663) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Scordilis-Kelley et al. (US 2011/0287305).
Regarding claim 3, modified Oh et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the particulate super-engineering plastic polymer has a D50 particle diameter of 50 nm – 20 microns.
Scordilis-Kelley et al. discloses in Figs 1-3, a battery (Abstract) including an electrode containing polymer particles at D50 = 12 microns ([0106]). This configuration enhances the structural integrity and performance of the electrode and battery ([0105]-[0107]).
Scordilis-Kelley et al. and Oh et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the plastic polymer particles of Oh et al. at the size disclosed by Scordilis-Kelley et al. to enhance structural integrity and performance of the battery.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (KR 10-2019-0046688, citations from US 2021/0336272) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2019/0348663) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2008/0292968).
Regarding claims 5-7, modified Oh et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose
Lee et al. discloses in Figs 1-5, a battery separator structure (Abstract) including a substrate (ref 1) coated with a surface polymer binder layer (ref 5). The surface polymer binder layer (ref 5) includes PVdF an amount of 20 wt% relative to other components ([0071]). This configuration enhances the stability and performance of the battery ([0053], [0095]).
Lee et al. and Oh et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate a PVdF binder at the amount disclosed by Lee et al. into the plastic coating layer of Oh et al. to enhance stability and performance of the battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yamada et al., “Review of the Design of Current Collectors for Improving the Battery Performance in Lithium-Ion and Post-Lithium-Ion Batteries” discloses polymer PVdF coatings on surfaces of current collectors to inhibit dendrite growth (P144/§8.1).
Meguro et al. (US 2017/0125842) discloses in Figs 1-6, a battery including super engineered plastic particles therein ([0122]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725