DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s response filed on August 24th, 2026. Claims 3-5, 9, 13, and 14 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to Applicant’s amendment filed July 20th, 2026, Examiner maintains the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 claim rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 20th, 2026 have been fully considered.
As to the applicant’s arguments regarding claim 9 as put forth on pages 4-5 of applicant’s remarks, the applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argues “None of the references appears to teach or suggest using the driver’s gaze directed to the fuel gauge as a trigger for presenting the specific fuel-related range information recited in claim 9. Applicant also notes that the present application consistently characterizes the invention as determining which particular item of information is currently being perceived by the driver and then displaying additional information that is related to that perceived information…when the driver looks at the fuel gauge, the system does not merely enlarge or relocate a display element. Instead, claim 9 recites a method of switching to a fuel-display mode in which a digital fuel gauge is shown together with additional fuel related information, including the range at the current speed and the range at an alternative speed. This is a method of information-specific adaptation, i.e., determining the specific information currently of interest to the driver and providing additional information related to that information that is not taught by any of the references, considered alone or in combination”.
As to point (a), Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Goldman-Shenhar does not teach specifically detecting gaze on a fuel gauge and consequently displaying more fuel information, Goldman-Shenhar does teach providing additional information related to the information currently of interest to the driver. The specification of Goldman-Shenhar teaches [0085-0086]; “Referring to FIG. 13, at a block 410, the processor 100 receives information 68 or generates the information 68. The processor 100 then generates and displays an indicator 70 that represents an awaiting notification and analyzes gaze location data 412. At a block 420, if the gaze location data (e.g., gaze locations 94 measured over time, movement between a gaze location 94 outside the indicator area 76 to a gaze location 94 inside the indicator area 76 is represented by arrow 412) includes a gaze location 94 in an indicator area 76 of the indicator 70, referring to FIG. 14, the processor 100 displays the information 68 ( e.g., replaces the indicator 70 with the information 68)”. The message indicator corresponds to the information of interest and the subsequent information provided corresponds to Applicant’s additional information. Therefore, given the relevant fuel information taught by Mohan it would have been obvious to modify Goldman-Shenhar in such a manner that, similar to the message indicator, if a gaze was detected on a fuel indicator more information regarding the fuel could be provided. Therefore, Examiner maintains this limitation is taught by the combination.
As to the applicant’s arguments regarding claim 9 as put forth on pages 5-6 of applicant’s remarks, the applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argues “In the disclosed approach, the viewed information item is used to infer the driver’s current information interest, and the displayed content is adapted accordingly. This differs from merely improving visibility of display elements that may be obscured by the steering wheel. By contrast, Wunsche focuses on visibility optimization. Eye tracking is used to determine which portions of the instrument cluster are obscured by the steering wheel, followed by resizing, relocating, removing, or reconfiguring gauges. Wunsche does not teach identifying the specific information currently being viewed by the driver and then providing additional information related to that viewed information. Finally, it is not apparent that Wunsche specifically teaches displaying a fuel gauge in a “middle area” of the display. Wunsche generally refers to relocating critical gauges to non-obscured areas but does not appear to disclose relocating a fuel gauge specifically to a missile display area”.
As to point (b), Examiner respectfully disagrees. As mentioned in point (a) above, Goldman-Shenhar does teach detecting a driver’s gaze and providing additional relevant information based upon said gauge, and Mohan teaches additional information a driver may desire regarding fuel. In regard to the location of the fuel gauge on the display Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the graphic location, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Therefore, Examiner maintains the corresponding rejection.
As to the applicant’s arguments regarding claim 9 as put forth on pages 6-7 of applicant’s remarks, the applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argues “there is no teaching or motivation in the cited references to combine…in the particular manner claimed and described in the application. As stated in the final OA on page 4, “Mohan is merely relied upon for the importance of including vehicle ranges with the various vehicle information being provided by the driver.” There is no teaching or suggestion in Mohan as to why one of ordinary skill would modify the combination of Golman-Shenhar and Wunsche to display additional fuel-related range information when detecting a user’s gaze at a fuel gauge. The Office Action has neither properly determined the scope and content of the prior art not properly ascertained the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art. Moreover, there would have been no reason for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the references to achieve the claimed combination. Thus, the Office Action has failed to clearly articulate a reason why the prior art would have rendered the claimed invention obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, no prima facie case of obviousness has been established and claim 9 is allowable”.
As to point (c), Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the displaying of the range being triggered by gaze location) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Regardless Examiner asserts in point (a), that Goldman-Shenhar does teach triggering display of additional information based on a driver’s gaze location.
As to the applicant’s arguments regarding claim 9 as put forth on pages 7 of applicant’s remarks, the applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argues “Dependent claims 3-5 and 13-14 are allowable due to their dependence on claim 9.”
As to point (d), see points (a-c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 3, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20160116977 (hereinafter, “Goldman-Shenhar”) in view of US-9120379 (hereinafter, “Wunsche”) and US-20190061779 (hereinafter, “Mohan”).
Regarding claim 9 Goldman-Shenhar discloses a method for displaying information (see at least [Abstract]; “Systems and methods for a vehicle including an eye tracking device. The systems and methods use input from the eye tracking device. The systems and methods are configured to communicate with a driver based on input from the eye tracking device”) on a display device in a dashboard of a vehicle (see at least Fig. 1 and [0046]; “the display 60 is positioned in a dashboard 80 of the vehicle 10 behind the steering wheel”) while being driven by a driver (see at least [0087-0088]; “Alternatively or additionally, at the block 420, the processor 100 displays the information 68 only if sensor data 422 is below the threshold 424. Here, the threshold 424 represents operation of a vehicle system 20 below which (or above which) a driver can receive the information 68 without substantially distracting or disturbing the driver. For example, the threshold 424 may be a speed, an amount of traffic, a time to next driving direction, etc.,” information is able to be displayed while driving as long as the threshold is not exceeded), the display device having an electro-optical display (see at least fig. 2; and [0042]; “the display 60 is a visual output. For example, the display can be a two-dimensional output or a three-dimensional output. Two-dimensional output includes an electronic output on a screen or a projection onto a surface. Three-dimensional outputs include holographic projections”),
displaying a multiplicity of different items of information by the electro-optical display device so that the multiplicity of different items of information are perceived by the driver of the vehicle (see at least fig. 2; and [0047]; “In certain embodiments, the indicators 70 represent a state or condition of the vehicle systems 20 or environment 50. Commonly, indicators 70 include gauges such as a speedometer, tachometer, odometer, and fuel gauge. Other indicators 70 include a gearshift position, a seat belt warning light, a parking-brake-engagement warning light, and an engine malfunction light, low fuel, low oil pressure, low tire pressure, and faults in the airbag (SRS) system,” the indicators on the display correspond to the multiple different items of information), at least one item including a representation of an analog fuel gauge (see at least fig. 2; and [0047]; “In certain embodiments, the indicators 70 represent a state or condition of the vehicle systems 20 or environment 50. Commonly, indicators 70 include gauges such as a speedometer, tachometer, odometer, and fuel gauge);
detecting a viewing direction of eyes of the driver (see at least [0050]; “the vehicle 10 further includes a gaze detection device 90 that is configured to output gaze location data 92 reflecting a gaze location 94 over time. For example, the gaze location 92 is the location of a gaze of a driver on the display”) as looking at the analog fuel gauge (see at least [0075]; “If the gaze location data includes a gaze location 94 in an indicator area 76 of the fuel level indicator 70, the driver has noticed the fuel level”),
Goldman-Shenhar does not disclose displaying a digital fuel gauge at a middle area of the electro-optical display so it is not hidden by a steering wheel of the vehicle based on the detected viewing direction; and
displaying a range of the vehicle at the current speed and a range of the vehicle at a reduced speed at the middle of the electro-optical display.
Wunsche, in the same field of endeavor, teaches displaying a digital fuel gauge at a middle area of the electro-optical display so it is not hidden by a steering wheel of the vehicle based on the detected viewing direction (see at least [Col. 5, lines 5-27]; “Referring to FIG. 7, a method for adaptive instrument display using eye tracking 100 is illustrated. At 104, method 100 collects raw eye movement data from at least one camera 78. At 108, method 100 uses the data to determine the location of the occupant's 62 eyes in the vehicle 10. At 112, method 100 uses the eye location to determine the line of sight of the occupant 62. At 116, method 100 collects steering wheel 18 location data from at least one steering wheel sensor 74. At 120, method 100 uses the line of sight and steering wheel location to determine the portion 26a of the instrument cluster 26 obscured by the steering wheel 18. At 124, method 100 determines the primary or critical gauges. At 128, method 100 determines whether the obstructed portion 26a is less than the predetermined threshold. If false, method 100 relocates the critical gauges to non-obscured areas on the instrument cluster and, if necessary, removes non-critical gauges at 132. If true at 128, method 100 determines whether the obstructed portion is in a location where resizing is available at 136. If false, method 100 relocates the critical gauges to non-obscured areas on the instrument cluster”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the display system of Goldman-Shenhar with the adaptive fuel location of Wunsche. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of censuring critical information is not obstructed from the driver (see at least Wunsche; [Col. 5, lines 5-27]).
Mohan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches displaying a range of the vehicle at the current speed and a range of the vehicle at a reduced speed at the middle of the electro-optical display (see at least Fig. 5B and [0070]; “The display module 309 is coupled with the speed and fuel measuring module 305, mileage and distance estimation module 306 and GPS data processing module 307. The display module 309 is used to display speed, mileage, gear, distance to empty, time to reach, no. of fuel stations on the way before vehicle fuel go empty, over speed fine in as illustrated in the FIG. 5B, Route options with time and fuel saving/loss comparison as illustrated in the FIG. 6B, a method to display speed, fuel efficiency and gear with/without a needle/indicator to indicate instantaneous parameters as illustrated in FIG. 4c, FIG. 4d, FIG. 4e and FIG. 4f are all displays the information to the user using the display module 309 which is in communication with other module to receive the information for display,” while Mohan does not explicitly disclose displaying at the middle of the electro-optical display, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the location of the current and reduced speed ranges to be located in the middle of the display, since it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the display system of Goldman-Shenhar as modified by Wunsche with the vehicle ranges of Mohan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of comparing information about fuel consumption at different speeds and select the best suited speed (see at least Mohan; [0018]).
Regarding claim 3 Goldman-Shenhar in view of Wunsche and Mohan renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 9. Additionally, Goldman-Shenhar discloses the display device further comprising a second electro-optical display, wherein additional information is displayed on the second electro-optical display (see at least [0046]; “Referring to FIG. 1, for purposes of teaching, the display 60 is positioned in a dashboard 80 of the vehicle 10 behind the steering wheel 82. In some embodiments, a display includes one or more screens, projections, and the like. For example, a display 60 can include a first display 60 behind the steering wheel 82, a second display 60 (e.g., a HUD) projected onto the windshield 84 of the vehicle 10, and a third display 60 in the center of the dashboard 80 (e.g., center console 86). Although a display can include physically separate components, the components can be treated as a single display. Otherwise, the components can operate as individual displays or different displays can be formed from different components”).
Regarding claim 13 Goldman-Shenhar in view of Wunsche and Mohan renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 9. Additionally, Goldman-Shenhar discloses wherein the electro-optical display is connected to a voice output unit (see at least [0041]; “The computing device 40 is further configured to communicate with a driver via a vehicle user-interface such as the displays 60, an audio (e.g., speaker/microphone) system 88”).
Regarding claim 14 Goldman-Shenhar in view of Wunsche and Mohan renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Goldman-Shenhar discloses wherein a voice message is generated and output when a specific gaze gesture by the driver is detected (see at least [0133]; “At a block 910, the processor 100 analyzes gaze location data 942 (e.g., horizontal x-axis is time) to monitor a gaze location 94 of a driver. If the gaze location 94 is at the location associated with a vehicle system 20 for a time 944 that is greater than a threshold time 946, at a block 920, a gaze is registered and, at a block 930, the processor 100 communicates the information 68 visually on the display 60 and/or audibly through the audio system 88 of the vehicle 10.”).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldman-Shenhar in view of Wunsche and Mohan, as applied to claim 3 above, in view of US-20190100145 (hereinafter, “Chen”).
Regarding claim 4 Goldman-Shenhar in view of Wunsche and Mohan renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 3. Goldman-Shenhar does not disclose wherein the second electro-optical display is arranged on an A-pillar of the vehicle.
Chen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second electro-optical display is arranged on an A-pillar of the vehicle (see at least [0024]; “Referring to FIG. 7 together, the plurality of display modules 40 may be specifically a display screen and be electrically connected to the image retrieval module 30. The display modules 40 are respectively disposed on the vehicle body pillars 3.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the display system of Goldman-Shenhar as modified by Wunsche and Mohan with the A-pillar display of Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of being able to see the blind-spot and thereby improving driving safety (see at least Chen; [0006]).
Regarding claim 5 Goldman-Shenhar in view of Wunsche, Mohan, and Chen renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 4. Additionally, Chen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the environment behind the A-pillar of the vehicle is displayed on the second electro-optical display (see at least [0024]; “Each display module 40 receives and displays a partial three-dimensional blind spot image I.sub.D of a corresponding vehicle body pillar 3. For example, a display module 40 located at an A-pillar of the vehicle 2 receives and displays a partial three-dimensional blind spot image I.sub.D blocked by the A-pillar, to enable a driver to observe an outside view blocked by the A-pillar that is. That is, an effect similar to that the driver sees through the A-pillar can be achieved, thereby further meeting the position of the line of sight of a driver when the driver drives a vehicle and improving the driving safety”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the display system of Goldman-Shenhar as modified by Wunsche and Mohan with the A-pillar display of Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of being able to see the blind-spot and thereby improving driving safety (see at least Chen; [0006]).
Conclusion
/ASHLEIGH NICOLE TURNBAUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
9/1/26