DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 10-11, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 10064329, Lovmark.
Regarding Claim 1, Lovmark discloses a system for removably coupling a detachable implement (16) to a motor shaft assembly of a garden machine, the motor shaft assembly driven to rotate by a motor (See claim 1 of Lovmark), the system comprising:
a motor shaft lock 44 configured to engage the motor shaft assembly 48 and discourage movement of a shaft of the motor shaft assembly in response to actuation of an actuator 40, (Col. 5, 40-60) and wherein actuation of the actuator is configured to prevent operation of the motor when the motor shaft lock is engaged (via stopping rotation of the shaft Col. 5, 40-60) and
an implement securing apparatus (14, “bottom plate”) configured for lockedly affixing the detachable implement to the shaft of the motor shaft assembly through manual manipulation of the implement securing apparatus (threading) and for removal of the detachable implement through manual manipulation of the implement securing apparatus 14 when the motor shaft lock 44 is engaged (Col. 5, 40-60).
Regarding Claim 2, in Lovmark, the implement securing apparatus 14 and the motor shaft lock 44 cooperate to facilitate installation and removal of the detachable implement 16 from the shaft without aid of tools other than the implement securing apparatus and the motor shaft lock (col. 5, 50-65).
Regarding Claim 3, in Lovmark, the motor shaft lock comprises: one or more lockers 44 for engaging a first portion 50 of the motor shaft assembly 48 to discourage shaft rotation when the motor shaft lock engages the motor shaft assembly (col. 5, 50-65), and wherein the first portion of the motor shaft assembly is configured in correspondence with the motor shaft lock for discouraging shaft rotation (col. 5, 50-65, fig 8).
Regarding Claim 7, in Lovmark, the system of claim 3 includes, wherein the implement securing apparatus comprises: one or more manually operated releases (fig 7, 56, col 5, 50-60, and col 5, 40-66) controlling interfacing of the implement securing apparatus 14 with the shaft (col. 4, 50-65), and wherein a second portion of the shaft (portion of shaft to which fastener 56 is threaded) is configured in correspondence with the one or more manually operated releases for the controlling interfacing of the implement securing apparatus (col. 5, lines 40-60).
Regarding Claim 10, in Lovmark discloses a method for removably coupling a detachable implement 16 to a motor shaft assembly 48 of a garden machine (10, col. 3, 30-40), the motor shaft assembly 48 driven to rotate by a motor (See claim 1 of Lovmark), the method comprising: actuating an actuator 40 to engage a motor shaft lock (44 and 50) through slidably moving a locker 44 to discourage movement of a shaft 48 of the motor shaft assembly (fig 8, col. 5, 40-65), wherein actuation of the actuator prevents operation of the motor assembly when the motor shaft lock is engaged (col. 5, lines 45-65); disengaging a manually operated release (56) of an implement securing apparatus (14, Col. 5, Lines 40-55) affixing the detachable implement 16 to the shaft of the motor shaft assembly through manual manipulation (Col. 4, Lines 55-60); and
twisting the implement securing apparatus relative to the shaft (Col. 4, Lines 55-60, e.g. through the threading) while the release 56 is disengaged and the shaft is discouraged from movement (via locking part 44), wherein the implement securing apparatus 14 and the motor shaft lock 44 cooperate to facilitate removal of the detachable implement 16 from the shaft without aid of tools other than the implement securing apparatus and the motor shaft lock (col. 5, 40-67).
Regarding Claim 11, in Lovmark, the locker 44 engages a first portion 50 of the motor shaft assembly (fig 8) when the motor shaft lock is engaged (fig 8, col. 5, 40-60), and wherein the first portion of the motor shaft assembly is configured in correspondence with the locker for discouraging shaft rotation (fig 8).
Regarding Claim 15, in Lovmark, a second portion of the shaft (portion of shaft to which fastener 56 is threaded) is configured in correspondence with the one or more manually operated release for controlling interfacing of the implement securing apparatus (col. 4, 50-60, and col. 5, 40-60).
Regarding Claim 17, in Lovmark, the garden machine comprises a lawn mower and the detachable implement comprises a grass cutting blade (col. 3, 35-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovmark as applied to Claims 3 and 11 above and in in view of USPGPUB 20050155227, Botefuhr.
Lovmark lacks the one or more lockers comprise: a sliding locker having a wide slot section configured for unimpeded rotation of the shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is disengaged and a narrow slot section configured for discouraging rotation of shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is engaged (claim 4), the motor shaft locking apparatus further comprises: a biased actuator configured to encourage relative movement of the sliding locker to interface with the first portion of the shaft assembly when the shaft is insufficiently aligned with the narrow slot section (claim 5) and wherein the motor shaft locking apparatus further comprises: an energy storage apparatus biasing the sliding locker to a position in which the first portion of the shaft assembly is disposed in the wide slot section (claim 6).
Botefuhr discloses a Spindle Lock Mechanism For Rotary Power Hand Tool, in the same field of endeavor as the shaft locking device of a rotary hand tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes: a sliding locker 32 having a wide slot section 58 configured for unimpeded rotation of a motor shaft 30 when the motor shaft locking apparatus is disengaged (par 0022) and a narrow slot section 38 configured for discouraging rotation of shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is engaged (par 0022-0023) (claim 4), the motor shaft locking apparatus further comprises: a biased actuator 44 (biased via spring 60) configured to encourage relative movement of the sliding locker to interface with the first portion of the shaft assembly when the shaft is insufficiently aligned with the narrow slot section (See par 0024) (claim 5) and wherein the motor shaft locking apparatus further comprises: an energy storage apparatus 60 biasing the sliding locker to a position in which the first portion of the shaft assembly is disposed in the wide slot section (par 0023) (claim 6), in order to “ develop a Spindle lock mechanism that is inexpensive, effective and convenient to engage and which does not risk damage to the output gears or the like during operation” par 0003.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lovmark to make the one or more lockers comprise: a sliding locker having a wide slot section configured for unimpeded rotation of the shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is disengaged and a narrow slot section configured for discouraging rotation of shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is engaged (claim 4), the motor shaft locking apparatus further comprises: a biased actuator configured to encourage relative movement of the sliding locker to interface with the first portion of the shaft assembly when the shaft is insufficiently aligned with the narrow slot section (claim 5) and wherein the motor shaft locking apparatus further comprises: an energy storage apparatus biasing the sliding locker to a position in which the first portion of the shaft assembly is disposed in the wide slot section (claim 6), in order to o develop a Spindle lock mechanism that is inexpensive, effective and convenient to engage and which does not risk damage to the output gears or the like during operation as taught in Botefuhr.
Regarding Claims 12-14, Lovmark lacks the one or more lockers comprise: wherein the locker comprises a wide slot section configured for unimpeded rotation of the shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is disengaged and a narrow slot section configured for discouraging rotation of shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is engaged (claim 12), the motor shaft locking apparatus further having/comprising: applying a bias force encouraging relative movement of the locker to interface with the first portion of the shaft assembly when the shaft is insufficiently aligned with the narrow slot section (claim 13) and overcoming a bias force encouraging the locker to a position in which the first portion of the shaft assembly is disposed in the wide slot section when engaging the motor shaft locking apparatus (claim 14).
Botefuhr discloses a Spindle Lock Mechanism For Rotary Power Hand Tool, in the same field of endeavor as the shaft locking device of a rotary hand tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes: a sliding locker 32 having a wide slot section 58 configured for unimpeded rotation of a motor shaft 30 when the motor shaft locking apparatus is disengaged (par 0022) and a narrow slot section 38 configured for discouraging rotation of shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is engaged (par 0022-0023) (claim 12), the motor shaft locking apparatus further comprises: a biased actuator 44 (biased via spring 60) which overcomes a bias force configured to encourage relative movement of the sliding locker to interface with the first portion of the shaft assembly when the shaft is insufficiently aligned with the narrow slot section (See par 0024) (claim 13) and wherein the motor shaft locking apparatus further comprises: an energy storage apparatus 60 biasing (and thus requiring the overcoming of said force) the sliding locker to a position in which the first portion of the shaft assembly is disposed in the wide slot section (par 0023) (claim 14), in order to “ develop a Spindle lock mechanism that is inexpensive, effective and convenient to engage and which does not risk damage to the output gears or the like during operation” par 0003.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lovmark to make the one or more lockers comprise: the one or more lockers comprise: wherein the locker comprises a wide slot section configured for unimpeded rotation of the shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is disengaged and a narrow slot section configured for discouraging rotation of shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is engaged (claim 12), the motor shaft locking apparatus further having/comprising: applying a bias force encouraging relative movement of the locker to interface with the first portion of the shaft assembly when the shaft is insufficiently aligned with the narrow slot section (claim 13) and overcoming a bias force encouraging the locker to a position in which the first portion of the shaft assembly is disposed in the wide slot section when engaging the motor shaft locking apparatus (claim 14) in order to o develop a Spindle lock the output gears or the like during operation as taught in Botefuhr.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovmark as applied to Claims 7 and 15 above and further in view of USPN 1041831, Martin.
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Lovmark lacks, disengaging the manually operated release comprises: overcoming a bias force applied to the pawl of the manually operated release to pivot an end of the pawl away from the second portion of the shaft.
Martin discloses a Nut Lock Mechanism, involved with the same problem of securing a nut to a shaft as is dealt with by the present invention, and discloses that such a system includes disengaging a manually operated release (user gripped portion of nut 11) by overcoming a bias force applied to the pawl of the manually operated release to pivot an end of the pawl away from the second portion of the shaft (see page 1 lines 176-95, Martin), in order to prevent a user from accidentally unscrewing the part, but allowing unscrewing only after the pawl has been engaged by the user (col 1, pg 1, 1-20, and col 1, pg 2, 1-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ozawa by including the disengaging of the manually operated release of Lovmark comprising overcoming a bias force applied to the pawl of the manually operated release to pivot an end of the pawl away from the second portion of the shaft in order to prevent a user from accidentally unscrewing the part, but allowing unscrewing only after the pawl has been engaged by the user, as taught in Martin.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovmark, in view of Lovmark, and in view of Botefuhr.
Regarding Claims 18-19, Lovmark discloses a system for removably coupling a detachable grass cutting blade (16, col. 4, 5-10) to a motor shaft assembly of a lawn mower (col 4, 50-67), the motor shaft assembly driven to rotate by a motor (claim 1 of Lovmark), the system comprising:
an actuator (portion 40 of motor shaft lock [combined parts 40 and 44]);
a motor shaft lock (combined parts 40 and 44) having a sliding locker 44 configured to engage a first portion 50 of a shaft 48 of a motor assembly of the lawn mower (see claim 1 of Lovmark, which discloses that the rotated shaft is an extension of the motor) and discourage rotation of the shaft 48 when the actuator is actuated (col 5, 40-64),
and an implement securing apparatus 14 configured interface with a second portion of the shaft for affixing the detachable grass cutting blade to the shaft (fig 8, col. 4, 40-60), wherein the implement securing apparatus includes one or more manually operated releases 56 controlling rotation of the implement securing apparatus relative to the shaft (col. 5, 50-60), wherein the implement securing apparatus and the motor shaft lock cooperate to facilitate installation and removal of the detachable grass cutting blade 16 from the shaft without aid of tools other than the implement securing apparatus and the motor shaft lock (col. 50-67), and wherein the second portion of the shaft is configured in correspondence with the one or more manually operated releases for the controlling interfacing of the implement securing apparatus (col. 5, 50-67).
Lovmark lacks: wherein the sliding locker includes a wide slot section configured for unimpeded rotation of the shaft when the motor shaft lock is disengaged and a narrow slot section configured for interfacing with the first portion of the shaft when the motor shaft lock is engaged, and wherein the first portion of the shaft assembly is configured in correspondence with the one or more shaft locking apparatus for discouraging shaft rotation, wherein actuation of the actuator prevents operation of the motor assembly when the motor shaft lock is engaged;
Botefuhr discloses a Spindle Lock Mechanism For Rotary Power Hand Tool, in the same field of endeavor as the shaft locking device of a rotary hand tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes: a sliding locker 32 having a wide slot section 58 configured for unimpeded rotation of a motor shaft 30 when the motor shaft locking apparatus is disengaged (par 0022) and a narrow slot section 38 and a narrow slot section 38 configured for interfacing with the first portion of the shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is engaged, and wherein the first portion of the shaft assembly is configured in correspondence with the one or more shaft locking apparatus for the discouraging shaft rotation (par 0021-0022) (claim 18), and wherein the motor shaft locking apparatus further comprises: an energy storage apparatus 60 biasing the sliding locker to a position in which the first portion of the shaft assembly is disposed in the wide slot section; a biased actuator configured to encourage relative movement of the sliding locker to interface with the first portion of the shaft assembly when the shaft is insufficiently aligned with the narrow slot section (See par 0024) (Claim 19), in order to “ develop a Spindle lock mechanism that is inexpensive, effective and convenient to engage and which does not risk damage to the output gears or the like during operation” par 0003.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lovmark to make the one or more lockers comprise: a sliding locker having a wide slot section configured for unimpeded rotation of the shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is disengaged and a narrow slot section wherein the sliding locker includes a wide slot section configured for unimpeded rotation of the shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is disengaged and a narrow slot section configured for interfacing with the first portion of the shaft when the motor shaft locking apparatus is engaged, and wherein the first portion of the shaft assembly is configured in correspondence with the one or more shaft locking apparatus for the discouraging shaft rotation; (per Claim 18) and wherein the motor shaft locking apparatus further comprises: an energy storage apparatus biasing the sliding locker to a position in which the first portion of the shaft assembly is disposed in the wide slot section; a biased actuator configured to encourage relative movement of the sliding locker to interface with the first portion of the shaft assembly when the shaft is insufficiently aligned with the narrow slot section (per Claim 19), in order to o develop a Spindle lock mechanism that is inexpensive, effective and convenient to engage and which does not risk damage to the output gears or the like during operation as taught in Botefuhr.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovmark in view of Botefuhr as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Martin.
Lovmark lacks wherein the one or more manually operated releases comprise: a pawl having a bias applied thereto encouraging the pawl to engage the second portion of the shaft and discourage movement of the implement securing apparatus during operation of the garden machine.
Martin discloses a Nut Lock Mechanism, involved with the same problem of securing a nut to a shaft as is dealt with by the present invention, and discloses that such a system includes disengaging a manually operated release (user gripped portion of nut 11) by overcoming a bias force applied to the pawl of the manually operated release to pivot an end of the pawl away from the second portion of the shaft (see page 1 lines 176-95, Martin), in order to prevent a user from accidentally unscrewing the part, but allowing unscrewing only after the pawl has been engaged by the user (col 1, pg 1, 1-20, and col 1, pg 2, 1-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Ozawa by including the disengaging of the manually operated release of Lovmark comprising overcoming a bias force applied to the pawl of the manually operated release to pivot an end of the pawl away from the second portion of the shaft in order to prevent a user from accidentally unscrewing the part, but allowing unscrewing only after the pawl has been engaged by the user, as taught in Martin.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 9/18/26, with respect to the drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have rendered the previously filed objections to said drawings moot. Thus, these objections have been removed.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 9/18/26, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 USC 112(b) and under 102/103 (as the claims have now been amended) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 USC 112 and the prior art rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lovmark.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs/USPGPUBs 4489525 20070180705 5887489 6665940 6065214 4735020 4690252 4402241 5704257 20020116826 and while DE 19542144 A1 and EP0235598A disclose shaft locking devices for motor operated rotating tools. Thus, each of these references disclose elements relevant to the present invention/application.
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724