DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the reply filed 1/29/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 21-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/28/2025.
Response to Arguments
All of Applicant’s arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In summary, Applicant argues that the cited references do not disclose the added features of amended claim 17.
This is not persuasive. As discussed in the modified rejection below, Akatsuka makes obvious component (D) as recited by the claim.
Modified/Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akatsuka (US 2010/0172964) and Guala (EP1002525) as evidenced by SciFinder (Pellicer L-30).
Akatsuka discloses a vesicle comprising an α,Є-bis(Υ-N-(C10-30)acylglutamyl) lysine; a ceramide and a glycerin fatty acid ester. The acyl group of the α,Є-bis(Υ-N-(C10-30)acylglutamyl) lysine is preferably a lauroyl group. The vesicle can be contained in external preparations for the skin (Abs). The vesicle is taught to comprise 1-50% of the α,Є-bis(Υ-N-(C10-30)acylglutamyl) lysine [0036] and the vesicle makes up 0.1-10% of the external skin preparation [0057], thus α,Є-bis(Υ-N-(C10-30)acylglutamyl) lysine is calculated to be present in the external composition in amounts of .001-5%.
Regarding claims 17-18 and component (A): Akatsuka teaches that a preferred lysine is α,Є-bis(Υ-N-(C10-30)acylglutamyl) lysine, which is the commercially available product “Pellicer L-30” [0036], as evidenced by SciFinder Pellicer L-30 satisfies the structure of component A wherein R1 and R2 are a lauroyl group (i.e. 11 carbon); M1, M2 and M3 are sodium; n1 and n2 are 0 and 2; and n3 and n4 are 2 and 0.
Regarding claim 17 and Component (D): Akatsuka teaches that the external skin preparation can comprise optional ingredients such as fatty acids, surfactants and moisture ingredients including sodium pyrrolidone carboxylate. Suitable fatty acids include oleic acid, this reads on formula D wherein R5 is a unsaturated linear hydrocarbon group and M7 is H [0059]. It would have been prima facie obvious to include oleic acid as an ingredient in the composition of Akatsuka as this is specifically contemplated to be a suitable ingredient for use.
However, Akatsuka does not teach the inclusion of component B as elected.
Regarding claims 17-18 and component (B): Guala discloses the use of N-acylate derivatives of pyrrolidone carboxylic acid (PCA) as surfactants or hydrating agents for use in cosmetics for topical use. The derivatives have the formula
, wherein R is a saturated or unsaturated, linear or branched C3-C22 acyl and salts thereof (Abs). Suitable salt forms include sodium salts and R is preferably an acyl of C12-C18 fatty acid, such as lauric acid [0008]. In view of these teachings the use of component (B) as claimed wherein R3 has 11 carbons and M4 is sodium is prima facie obvious. This component is taught by Guala to be used in amounts ranging from 0.1-30% [0016]. Guala teaches that these derivatives of PCA have excellent properties as surfactants together with hydrating properties which make their use advantageous in cosmetics or composition intended to make contact with the skin [0007].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Akatsuka with those of Guala. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to add 0.1-30% of the N-acylate derivatives of PCA as taught by Guala as these are taught to be effective surfactants and hydrating agents. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as both Guala and Akatsuka teaches external skin preparations and Akatsuka further teaches that surfactants and moisturizing agents such as pyrrolidone carboxylates can be added.
Regarding claim 20: As discussed above the prior art makes obvious an external skin preparation comprising .001-5% of component A and 0.1-30% of component B, this results is a proportion of component B to component A of .02-30,000 which falls within the claimed .004% or more.
Regarding the preamble “starting material for fragrances and cosmetics,” per MPEP 2111.02: If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. As the prior art makes obvious the claimed structure, then the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, as such it meets the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613