DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 12/05/2025:
Claims 1-5, 9-13, 15, and 16 are pending.
Claims 6-8, 14, 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trakas et al. (US20110241238), and further in view of Brittingham (US20080156183).
Regarding claim 1, Trakas teaches an injection device ([0036] Referring to FIG. 2A, FIG.
2B, and FIG. 6, a valve gate assembly, indicated generally at 200) that performs molding by
injecting molding material into a mold ([0041] Once the gate 213 is open, molten polymer
passes through the gate 213 and into the mold cavity 260) from a nozzle member (nozzle seal
215 and hot manifold 221; Figure 2A) provided at a distal end of a barrel (cylinder 210 in Figure
2A and Figure 6; see hot manifold 221 at a distal end of cylinder 210 in Figure 2A), the injection
device comprising:
a plunger (shutoff pin 220; Figure 2A) disposed in an internal bore of the barrel (see
shutoff pin 220 disposed in piston hole 234 and washer hole 246 in Figure 2A) and an internal
bore of the nozzle member (see shutoff pin 220 in melt flow bore 227 in Figure 2A; [0041] The shaft 222 is also passable through the forward opening 216, is received into the hot manifold
pin hole 214, passes through the hot manifold 221 into the melt flow bore 227), and movable in
a front-rear direction along an axial direction (see movement of shutoff pin 220 in axial
direction in Figure 2A and Figure 2B);
a feed throat provided in the nozzle member (see annotated Figure 2A on pg. 8 of the
Office Action mailed 04/23/2025) in order for the molding material to be fed into the internal
bore of the nozzle member; and
a seal housing (manifold seal 223; Figure 2A and Figure 6) configured to be accommodated in a rear end portion of the nozzle member rearward of the feed (see manifold seal 223 held in a rear end portion of hot manifold 221 rearward of feed throat shown in annotated Figure 2A on pg. 8 of the Office Action mailed 04/23/2025), the seal housing having a tubular shape (see tubular shape of manifold seal 223 in Figure 6) and an outer diameter larger than a diameter of each of the internal bores (see annotated Figure 2A on pg. 8 of the Office Action mailed 04/23/2025), wherein the seal housing is fixed by a front end portion of the barrel (forward opening 216; Figure 2A) and the rear end portion of the nozzle member attached to the barrel ([0042] The cylinder 210 is affixed by compression to the hot manifold 221, which has a preferably screw- threaded a manifold seal 223; see seal housing fixed to front end of cylinder 210 and rear end portion of hot manifold 221 in Figure 2A), both the front end portion of the barrel and the rear end portion of the nozzle member facing to the seal housing in the axial direction (see forward opening 216 and rear end portion of hot manifold 221 in Figure 2A facing and aligned with manifold seal 223 along axis 202), and includes:
a first inner surface forming a first internal bore through which the plunger passes (see
annotated Figure 2A on pg. 8 of the Office Action mailed 04/23/2025 and inside bore 225); and
a second inner surface forming a second internal bore (see annotated Figure 2A on pg. 8
of the Office Action mailed 04/23/2025), the second internal bore having a larger diameter than the first internal bore and being coaxial with the first internal bore (see larger diameter of
second inner surface in annotated Figure 2A on pg. 8 of the Office Action mailed 04/23/2025
and through side view of 223 in Figure 6).
However, Trakas fails to teach an internally threaded portion having a larger diameter than the plunger is formed in at least a part of the first inner surface of the seal housing and
a seal having an annular shape configured to prevent the molding material fed from the feed throat from flowing rearward along the plunger, wherein the seal is held in the second internal bore between the seal housing and the plunger.
In the same field pertinent to the problem of easily removing seals between barrel structures (see [0040] of Applicant’s instant disclosure), Brittingham teaches a seal housing (see Figure 1, Figure 2, and Figure 4) with an internally threaded portion (reduced thread area 2; Figure 2) in at least a part of a first inner surface ([0016] FIG. 2 shows a top view of the female interrupted threads in the thread mount and [0023] FIG. 4 an internal, side view of the thread mount indicating the location of the o-ring groove 4, o-ring placement 3 and showing the orientation of the reduced thread area 2 in relationship to the o-ring groove 4) and a seal having an annular shape (o-ring placement 3; Figure 4), wherein the seal is held in a second internal bore (o-ring groove 4; Figure 4). The seal housing of Brittingham allows for the seal to be easily, quickly, and reliably attached between two barrel structures to seal the barrel structures (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the seal housing of Trakas to have an internally threaded portion, as taught by Brittingham, with a larger diameter than the plunger and
a seal having an annular shape held in the second internal bore, as taught by Brittingham, such that the seal is held between the seal housing the plunger and prevents the molding material fed from the feed throat from flowing rearward along the plunger. The seal housing of Brittingham has a known benefit of easily, quickly, and reliably attaching and detaching a seal between two barrel structures.
Regarding claim 2, Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the injection device according to claim 1.
Further, Trakas teaches wherein the nozzle member includes a nozzle (nozzle seal 215 and hot manifold 221; Figure 2A), and a first accommodating bore in which the seal housing is
accommodated is formed in a rear end portion of the nozzle in a manner so that the seal
housing is insertable into and removable from the rear end portion of the nozzle ([0042] The
cylinder 210 is affixed by compression to the hot manifold 221, which has a preferably screw-
threaded a manifold seal 223; see annotated Figure 2A on pg. 9 of the Office Action mailed
04/23/2025 showing outer threaded portion of seal housing going into a first accommodating
bore of a rear end portion of the nozzle).
Regarding claim 3, Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the injection device according to claim 1.
Further, Trakas teaches wherein the nozzle member includes a nozzle adapter provided at a distal end of the barrel (hot manifold 221; Figure 2A), and a nozzle (nozzle seal 215; Figure 2A) provided at a distal end of the nozzle adapter (see nozzle seal 215 provided at a distal end of hot manifold 221 in Figure 2A),
the plunger is disposed in the internal bore of the barrel and an internal bore of the
nozzle adapter (see shutoff pin 220 disposed in piston hole 234 and washer hole 246 and melt
flow bore 227 in annotated Figure 2A in the rejection of claim 1 above), the feed throat is
provided in the nozzle adapter in order for the molding material to be fed into an internal bore
of the nozzle adapter (see feed throat in annotated Figure 2A in the rejection of claim 1 on pg. 8
of the Office Action mailed 04/23/2025), and
the seal housing is fixed by the barrel and the nozzle adapter ([0042] The cylinder 210 is affixed by compression to the hot manifold 221, which has a preferably screw-threaded a manifold seal 223).
Regarding claim 4, Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the injection device according to claim 3.
Further, Trakas teaches wherein a second accommodating bore in which the seal housing is accommodated is formed in a rear end portion of the nozzle adapter in a manner so that the seal housing is insertable into and removable from the rear end portion of the nozzle adapter ([0042] The cylinder 210 is affixed by compression to the hot manifold 221, which has a
preferably screw-threaded a manifold seal 223; see annotated Figure 2A in the rejection of
claim 1 on pg. 8 of the Office Action mailed 04/23/2025 showing outer threaded portion of seal
housing going into a first accommodating bore of a rear end portion of the nozzle).
Regarding claim 5, Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the injection device according to claim 1.
Further, Trakas teaches wherein a third accommodating bore in which the seal housing is accommodated is formed in a front end portion of the barrel in a manner so that the seal
housing is insertable into and removable from the front end portion of the barrel (see manifold
seal 223 in forward opening 216 in Figure 2A and Figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the injection device according claim 2.
Brittingham teaches the seal housing comprising an O-ring, wherein a groove configured to hold the O-ring is formed in an end surface of the seal housing ([0023] FIG. 4 an internal, side view of the thread mount indicating the location of the o-ring groove 4, o-ring placement 3 and showing the orientation of the reduced thread area 2 in relationship to the o-ring groove 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the seal housing of Trakas to comprise an O-ring, as taught by Brittingham, configured to prevent the molding material from flowing rearward from between an outer circumferential surface of the seal housing and an inner surface of the first accommodating bore, and to comprise a groove configured to hold the O-ring formed at an end surface of the seal housing, as taught by Brittingham. The seal housing of Brittingham has a known benefit of easily, quickly, and reliably attaching and detaching a seal between two barrel structures.
Regarding claim 10, Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the injection device according to claim 1.
Further, Brittingham teaches wherein the internally threaded portion is formed on an entire surface of the first inner surface forming the first internal bore (see reduced thread area 2 located along the entire surface of the first inner surface forming the first internal bored in annotated Figure 4 below).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the seal housing of Trakas to have the internally threaded portion formed on an entire surface of the first inner surface forming the first internal bore, as taught by Brittingham. The seal housing of Brittingham has a known benefit of easily, quickly, and reliably attaching and detaching a seal between two barrel structures.
Regarding claim 12, Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the injection device according to claim 2.
Further, Trakas teaches wherein a third accommodating bore in which the seal housing is accommodated is formed in a front end portion of the barrel in a manner so that the seal
housing is insertable into and removable from the front end portion of the barrel (see manifold
seal 223 in forward opening 216 in Figure 2A and Figure 6).
Regarding claim 13, Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the injection device according to claim 4.
Further, Trakas teaches wherein a third accommodating bore in which the seal housing is accommodated is formed in a front end portion of the barrel in a manner so that the seal
housing is insertable into and removable from the front end portion of the barrel (see manifold
seal 223 in forward opening 216 in Figure 2A and Figure 6).
Regarding claim 15, Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the injection device according claim 4.
Brittingham teaches the seal housing comprising an O-ring, wherein a groove configured to hold the O-ring is formed in an end surface of the seal housing ([0023] FIG. 4 an internal, side view of the thread mount indicating the location of the o-ring groove 4, o-ring placement 3 and showing the orientation of the reduced thread area 2 in relationship to the o-ring groove 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the seal housing of Trakas to comprise an O-ring, as taught by Brittingham, configured to prevent the molding material from flowing rearward from between an outer circumferential surface of the seal housing and an inner surface of the second accommodating bore, and to comprise a groove configured to hold the O-ring formed at an end surface of the seal housing, as taught by Brittingham. The seal housing of Brittingham has a known benefit of easily, quickly, and reliably attaching and detaching a seal between two barrel structures.
Regarding claim 16, Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the injection device according claim 5.
Brittingham teaches the seal housing comprising an O-ring, wherein a groove configured to hold the O-ring is formed in an end surface of the seal housing ([0023] FIG. 4 an internal, side view of the thread mount indicating the location of the o-ring groove 4, o-ring placement 3 and showing the orientation of the reduced thread area 2 in relationship to the o-ring groove 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the seal housing of Trakas to comprise an O-ring, as taught by Brittingham, configured to prevent the molding material from flowing rearward from between an outer circumferential surface of the seal housing and an inner surface of the third accommodating bore, and to comprise a groove configured to hold the O-ring formed at an end surface of the seal housing, as taught by Brittingham. The seal housing of Brittingham has a known benefit of easily, quickly, and reliably attaching and detaching a seal between two barrel structures.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trakas et al.
(US20110241238) and Brittingham (US20080156183), and further in view of Zhao (CN109228148A- Machine translation used herein).
Regarding claim 11, Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the injection device according claim 1.
While Trakas modified with Brittingham teaches the seal and sealing housing are provided rearward of the feed throat, and Brittingham teaches the seal housing includes a third internal bore having a larger diameter than the first internal bore, and being coaxial with the first internal bore and the second internal bore (see annotated Figure 4 below), Brittingham fails to teach a second seal is held in the third internal bore.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to needle valve systems for injection molding
devices, Zhao teaches an injection device that includes a seal housing (connector 180; Figure 3)
comprising a first seal having an annular shape and a second seal having an annular shape (see
sealing pads 600 in Figure 3), and the seal housing includes a third internal bore in which the
second seal is held, the third internal bore having a larger diameter than the first internal bore,
and being coaxial with the first internal bore and the second internal bore (see annotated
Figure 3 on pg. 18 of the Office Action mailed 04/23/2025). Doubling the seal contact surface
further prevents leakage to allow for material to be injected at a high speed and pressure
(Abstract: using synchronous double sealing contact surface, double insurance to avoid leakage,
meets the high-speed and high- pressure rubber material).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the seal housing of Trakas modified with Brittingham include a second seal in the third internal bore, as taught by Zhao, for the benefit of further preventing leakage and allowing for material to be injected at a high speed and pressure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743