Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2 May 2023 and 30 June 2025 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner. See attached copy of PTO-1449.
Response to Restriction
2. Applicants’ election of Group II (claims 14-21, 23, and 24) and species of siRNA (claims 18-19) and cancer treatment (claims 21 and 23) in the reply filed on 18 December 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Status of Application
3. The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/US2021/056730 filed 27 October 2021. Claims 14-15, 18-19, 21, and 23 are currently pending. Claims 16-17, 20 and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 December 2025. Claims 1-13, 22, and 25-33 are cancelled. Claims 14-15, 18-19, 21, and 23 are examined on the merits within.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
5. Claim(s) 14-15, 21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tran et al. (Frontiers in Chemistry, 2019).
Regarding instant claims 14-15, Tran et al. disclose encapsulation of FITC catalase in PDA (polydopamine) hollow capsules wherein the FITC-catalase loaded MSN were subjected to PDA coating and core removal process, i.e., a hollow polydopamine capsule and a TC coated to an internal surface. See page 2-3.
Regarding instant claims 21 and 23, cancer treatment is an intended use of the composition. In addition, the composition comprises the same ingredients, i.e., a therapeutic compound and polydopamine capsule and thus should function in the same manner.
Thus the instant claims are anticipated by Tran et al.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
7. Claim(s) 14-15, 18-19, 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (Frontiers in Chemistry, 2019) in view of Jeong et al. (WO2018/131890).
Regarding instant claims 14-15, Tran et al. teach encapsulation of FITC catalase in PDA hollow capsules wherein the FITC-catalase loaded MSN were subjected to PDA coating and core removal process, i.e., a hollow polydopamine capsule and a TC coated to an internal surface. See page 2-3.
Regarding instant claims 21 and 23, cancer treatment is an intended use of the composition.
Tran et al. do not teach siRNA.
Jeong et al. teach poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) microspheres coated with polydopamine. See abstract. A drug or bioactive is in the microspheres, selected from chemicals, proteins, peptides, antibodies, genes, siRNAs and microRNAs. See claim 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to substitute one known biologic agent for another to yield predictable results because Jeong et al. teach the effective delivery of siRNA encapsulated by polydopamine.
Conclusion
8. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615