DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to applicant’s amendment of claims 1, 12-13, and 17-19 filed on. Claim 20 is a newly submitted claims. Accordingly, claims 1-20 remain pending and are claims addressed and examined below.
Applicant’s replacement sheets have overcome the drawing objections previously set forth in the office action mailed on 12/18/2025.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 12 and 13 have overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Office actioned mailed 12/18/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the structure of the battery taught by Kim is incapable of forming an electrical series connection with one or more other rechargeable batteries whether placed laterally or vertically from the rechargeable battery. However, in ¶ 0002, Kim discloses that rechargeable batteries may be connected in series or parallel. Kim also teaches that the surfaces of the cases are polarized (¶ 0060). In FIG. 6 of Kim, the can may be considered the first case and the cap the second. In this case, the can does not only contact another battery at a singular side. Kim does not preclude connecting the sides of the battery to another battery. Thus, the battery structure taught by Kim is capable of forming an electrical series connection with one or more other rechargeable batteries, irrespective of the placement of the batteries.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 11, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20150243938 A1) in view of Hong et al. (KR 20160118582 A, translation used for citation) and Wang et al. (CN 210182470 U, Translation used for citation).
With regards to claim 1, Kim teaches a rechargeable battery comprising: an electrode stack that includes a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (¶ 0060). Kim also teaches a battery case defining an inner space that accommodates the electrode stack, wherein the battery case comprises a first case and a second case (¶ 0047 and FIG. 8). In FIG. 8, Kim teaches that the first and second case comprise an outer surface. Kim also teaches the first case and the second case are bonded by an insulation bonding portion to seal an inner space of the battery case accommodating the electrode stack (¶ 0048, the gasket is inherently insulative to prevent a short and therefore reads on the insulation bonding portion). Kim goes on to teach, the first electrode current collector comprises a first protruded portion protruded in a first direction, the second electrode current collector comprises a second protruded portion protruded in a second direction (FIG.8). Kim teaches that the first protruded portion (312, cathode terminals) is grounded to the first case (cap) which serves as the cathode terminal (¶ 0060). This reads on the first protruded portion being electrically connected to the first case such that the first case has the same polarity as the first electrode. Similarly, Kim teaches that the first protruded portion (322, anode terminals) is grounded to the second case (can) which serves as an anode terminal (¶ 0060). This reads on the second protruded portion being bonded to the second case such that the second case has the same polarity as the second electrode. FIG. 8 is shown below:
Kim does not specifically teach that the first electrode includes a first electrode current collector and a first electrode active material layer formed on one or both sides of the first electrode current collector, the second electrode comprises a second electrode current collector and a second electrode active material layer formed on one or both sides of the second electrode current collector.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hong teaches a rechargeable battery comprising a first and second electrode with a separator disposed between them in an electrode assembly (page 2). Hong goes on to teach a two-part casing that accommodates the electrode assembly (page 3). Additionally, Hong teaches the battery where the first electrode includes a first electrode current collector and a first electrode active material layer formed on one or both sides of the first electrode current collector, the second electrode comprises a second electrode current collector and a second electrode active material layer formed on one or both sides of the second electrode current collector (page 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to include an active material layer, as taught by Hong, in the cathode and anode plates taught by Kim. This would predictably result in an improved battery as the active material layer on the current collectors enables the battery to operate more effectively.
Kim discloses that it is well known in the art for a plurality of rechargeable battery cells to be connected in series or in parallel to be utilized in devices requiring a high power (¶ 0002). As discussed earlier, Kim also teaches that the surfaces of the battery are polarized. These polarized surfaces are capable of forming an electrical series connection with one or more other rechargeable batteries via contact of the outer surface of the first and second case of a respective rechargeable battery of the one or more other rechargeable batteries whether placed laterally or vertically from the rechargeable battery. This reads on the battery being configured to form such connection.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang teaches a stable battery module comprising a plurality of rechargeable batteries that are electrically connected by contacting the battery cases with each other (page 3, FIG. 1). Wang teaches that the first case of one rechargeable battery and the second case of another rechargeable battery contact and thus an electrical series or parallel connection between the rechargeable batteries is established (page 3). A lateral placement of the batteries is interpreted as an arrangement where the batteries are stacked next to each other whereas a vertical placement is interpreted as an arrangement where the batteries are stacked on top of each other. As shown in FIG. 1 below, Wang discloses that the batteries may be placed laterally. The structure of the battery module taught by Wang reads on a first case being configured to form an electrical series connection with one or more other rechargeable batteries via contact of the outer surface of the first case of the rechargeable battery with a second case of a respective rechargeable battery of the one or more other rechargeable batteries whether placed laterally or vertically from the rechargeable battery. Although Wang does not show that the batteries may be placed vertically, the rechargeable battery taught by modified Kim has polarized surfaces capable of a series or
parallel connection whether the batteries are arranged laterally or vertically.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary art at the time the invention was effectively filed to arrange and connect a plurality of the battery taught by modified Kim in the manner taught by Wang as there are no unpredictable results.
With regards to claim 2, Kim teaches the insulation bonding portion bonds the first case and the second case and simultaneously maintains electrical insulation between the first case and the second case (¶ 0048).
With regards to claim 3, Kim teaches that the first case and the second case comprise a metal material (¶ 0048).
With regards to claim 7, Kim teaches that the first electrode and the second electrode are each included in the electrode stack in plural, the first protruded portions of the first electrodes are bonded to each other, and the second protruded portions of the second electrodes are bonded to each other (¶ 0060).
With regards to claim 8, Kim teaches that among the first protruded portions, a first protruded portion positioned closest to one side of the first case is bonded to the one side of the first case (¶ 0060 and FIG. 8 shown above).
With regards to claim 11, Kim teaches that a second protruded portion closest to one side of the second case among the second protruded portions is bonded to the one side of the second case (¶ 0060 and FIG. 8 shown above).
With regards to claim 14, Kim teaches the battery case is in the form of a polyhedron with an inner space in which the electrode stack is accommodated (FIG. 3). FIG. 3 is shown below:
With regards to claim 15, Kim teaches that the battery case is in the form of a hexahedron with an inner space in which the electrode stack is accommodated (FIG. 3 shown above).
With regards to claim 16, Kim teaches that the first case and the second case are bonded by the insulation bonding portion to form the battery case of the hexahedron (¶ 0048 and FIG. 8 shown above).
With regards to claim 17, as discussed previously, Kim discloses that it is well known in the art for a plurality of battery cells to be connected in series for use in devices requiring high power (¶ 0002). Kim, in view of Hong and Wang, teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 1. Wang teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of rechargeable batteries that are electrically connected by contacting the battery cases with each other (page 3, FIG. 1). In FIG. 1, Wang teaches a second rechargeable battery, and a third rechargeable battery in plural (FIG. 1), and wherein the second rechargeable battery is disposed laterally from the rechargeable battery and the outer surface of the first case of the rechargeable contacts an outer surface of a second case of the second rechargeable battery. Wang teaches that the batteries are disposed laterally and may be connected in series (page 3 and FIG. 1) which reads on defining a lateral electrical series connection between the first case of the rechargeable battery and the second case of the second rechargeable battery. Although Wang teaches that the rechargeable batteries may be disposed vertically such that the outer cases contact each other to form a series connection (Page 3 and FIG. 1), modified Kim does not specifically teach that the third rechargeable battery is disposed vertically from the rechargeable battery and the outer surface of the first case of the rechargeable battery contacts an outer surface of a second case of the third rechargeable battery. However, the rechargeable battery taught by modified Kim has polarized surfaces capable of a series or parallel connection whether the batteries are arranged laterally
or vertically. FIG. 1 is shown below:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary art at the time the invention was effectively filed to arrange and connect a plurality of the battery taught by modified Kim in the manner taught by Wang to form a stable battery module that may be utilized in devices requiring a high power.
With regards to claim 18, modified Kim teaches the battery module of claim 17. As mentioned previously, Wang teaches that the first case of one rechargeable battery and the second case of another rechargeable battery contact and thus an electrical series connection between the rechargeable batteries is established (page 3 and FIG. 1).
With regards to claim 19, modified Kim teaches the battery module of claim 17. As discussed earlier, Wang teaches that the first case of one rechargeable battery and the first case of another rechargeable battery contact or the second case of one rechargeable battery and the second case of the other rechargeable battery contact and thus establish an electrical parallel connection between the rechargeable batteries (page 3).
With regards to claim 20, Kim teaches a rechargeable battery comprising: an electrode stack that includes a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (¶ 0060). Kim also teaches a battery case defining an inner space that accommodates the electrode stack, wherein the battery case comprises a first case and a second case (¶ 0047 and FIG. 8). As shown in FIG. 8, Kim teaches that each of the first and second case comprise an outer surface. Kim also teaches the first case and the second case are bonded by an insulation bonding portion to seal an inner space of the battery case accommodating the electrode stack (¶ 0048, the gasket is inherently insulative to prevent a short and therefore reads on the insulation bonding portion). Kim goes on to teach, the first electrode current collector comprises a first protruded portion protruded in a first direction, the second electrode current collector comprises a second protruded portion protruded in a second direction (FIG.8). Kim teaches that the first protruded portion (312, cathode terminals) is grounded to the first case (cap) which serves as the cathode terminal (¶ 0060). This reads on the first protruded portion being electrically connected to the first case such that the first case has the same polarity as the first electrode. Similarly, Kim teaches that the first protruded portion (322, anode terminals) is grounded to the second case (can) which serves as an anode terminal (¶ 0060). This reads on the second protruded portion being bonded to the second case such that the second case has the same polarity as the second electrode.
Kim does not specifically teach that the first electrode includes a first electrode current collector and a first electrode active material layer formed on one or both sides of the first electrode current collector, the second electrode comprises a second electrode current collector and a second electrode active material layer formed on one or both sides of the second electrode current collector.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hong teaches a rechargeable battery comprising a first and second electrode with a separator disposed between them in an electrode assembly (page 2). Hong goes on to teach a two-part casing that accommodates the electrode assembly (page 3). Additionally, Hong teaches the battery where the first electrode includes a first electrode current collector and a first electrode active material layer formed on one or both sides of the first electrode current collector, the second electrode comprises a second electrode current collector and a second electrode active material layer formed on one or both sides of the second electrode current collector (page 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to include an active material layer, as taught by Hong, in the cathode and anode plates taught by Kim. This would predictably result in an improved battery as the active material layer on the current collectors enables the battery to operate more effectively.
Kim discloses that it is well known in the art for a plurality of rechargeable battery cells to be connected in series or in parallel to be utilized in devices requiring a high power (¶ 0002). As discussed earlier, Kim also teaches that the surfaces of the battery are polarized. These polarized surfaces are capable of forming an electrical series connection with one or more other rechargeable batteries via contact of the outer surface of the first and second case of a respective rechargeable battery of the one or more other rechargeable batteries whether placed laterally or vertically from the rechargeable battery. This reads on the battery being configured to form such connection.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang teaches a stable battery module comprising a plurality of rechargeable batteries that are electrically connected by contacting the battery cases with each other (page 3, FIG. 1). Wang teaches that the first case of one rechargeable battery and the second case of another rechargeable battery contact and thus an electrical series or parallel connection between the rechargeable batteries is established (page 3 and FIG. 1). This reads on the rechargeable battery being configured to contact a second rechargeable battery such that the outer surface of the first case of the rechargeable battery contacts an outer surface of a first case of a second rechargeable battery and the outer surface of the second case of the rechargeable battery contacts an outer surface of a second case of the second rechargeable battery to form an electrical parallel connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary art at the time the invention was effectively filed to arrange and connect a plurality of the battery taught by modified Kim in the manner taught by Wang as there are no unpredictable results.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al.
(US 20150243938 A1) in view of Hong et al. (KR 20160118582 A, translation used for citation) and Wang et al. (CN 210182470 U, Translation used for citation) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Takahashi et al. (US 20090087739 A1).
With regards to claim 4, Kim in view of Hong teach the rechargeable battery of claim 1. Hong does not teach an insulating bonding portion however; Kim teaches an insulation bonding portion between the two cases (¶ 0048). Kim is silent on the exact type of bonding material, prompting one of ordinary kill in the art to look to prior art.
In a similar field of endeavor, Takahashi teaches a secondary battery including two cases and an insulation bonding portion. Takahashi teaches that the insulation bonding portions is an insulation welding portion (¶ 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the thermally welded insulating member taught by Takahashi in the battery taught by Kim in view of Hong. This would predictably yield an effectively sealed battery case that prevents shorts and any leakage.
Claim(s) 5-6, 9-10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20150243938 A1) in view of Hong et al. (KR 20160118582 A, translation used for citation) and Wang et al. (CN 210182470 U, Translation used for citation) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Hohenthanner et al. (US 20140220409 A1).
With regards to claim 5, Kim, Hong and Wang do not specifically teach the battery further comprising a first insulation member positioned between the first protruded portion and the second case and a second insulation member positioned between the second protruded portion and the first case. However, In FIG. 8, Kim shows the insulating gaskets extending inwards into a position between the protruded portions and the two cases. FIG. 8 is shown below:
In FIG. 2, shown below, Hong also teaches insulating members wrapped around the protruded portions positioned between the two cases.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hohenthanner teaches a battery comprising an electrode stack with protruding portions accommodated in a two-part metal casing insulated by a frame (¶ 0002). Hohenthanner also teaches a battery further comprising a first insulation member positioned between the first protruded portion and the second case and a second insulation member positioned between the second protruded portion and the first case (¶ 0046 and Figs. 8 and 9). Figs. 9 and 8 are shown below:
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to include additional insulating members as taught by Hohenthanner in the battery of modified Kim. This would predictably yield a well-insulated battery that prevents an electrical short between the protruding portions and the battery case.
With regards to claim 6, modified Kim does not teach that the additional insulation members are an insulation tape or an insulation paste coating layer. However, it is known in the art as Hong discusses on page 4, that protruded portions can be covered with insulating tape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to place insulation tape in any way that insulates the protruded portions taught by modified Kim in order to prevent any improper electrical connections.
With regards to claim 9, modified Kim teaches the rechargeable battery of claim 7. modified Kim does not teach a first insulation member that is positioned between a first protruded portion farthest from one side of the first case and one side of the second case, wherein the one side of the first case and the one side of the second case are positioned opposite to each other with the electrode stack interposed therebetween.
However, Hohenthanner teaches a first insulation member that is positioned between a first protruded portion farthest from one side of the first case and one side of the second case, wherein the one side of the first case and the one side of the second case are positioned opposite to each other with the electrode stack interposed therebetween (FIG. 8 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to position the insulation member in the manner taught by Hohenthanner, in the battery taught by modified Kim. This would predictably yield a well-insulated battery.
With regards to claim 10, Hohenthanner teaches with reference to a direction perpendicular to the one side of the second case, the first insulation member wholly covers the first protruded portion farthest from the one side of the first case among the first protruded portion (FIG. 8 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this invention was effectively filed to wholly cover a protruded portion in the battery taught by modified Kim as taught by Hohenthanner. This would predictably prevent a short caused by the protruded portions contacting the case.
With regards to claim 12, Hohenthanner teaches an insulation member that is positioned between a second protruded portion farthest from one side of the second case among the second protruded portions, and one side of the first case, wherein the one side of the second first case and the one side of the second case are positioned opposite to each other with the electrode stack interposed therebetween (FIG. 8 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to position the insulation member in the manner taught by Hohenthanner, in the battery taught by modified Kim. This would predictably yield a well-insulated battery.
With regards to claim 13, Hohenthanner teaches with reference to a direction that is perpendicular to the one side of the first case, the insulation member wholly covers the second protruded portion farthest from the one side of the second case among the second protruded portions (FIG. 8 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this invention was effectively filed to wholly cover a protruded portion in the battery taught by modified Kim, as taught by Hohenthanner. This would prevent a short caused by the protruded portions contacting the case.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743