This final Office Action supplements the final Office Action mailed on 09/16/2026 which now incorporates the rejection of claim 22.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-9 and 11-22 are pending:
Claims 1-9, 11-12 and 20-22 are rejected.
Claims 13-19 have been withdrawn.
Response to Amendments
Amendments filed 07/06/2026 have been entered. Amendments to the claims overcome §102 and §112 rejections but do not overcome §103 rejections as previously set forth in non-final Office Action mailed on 04/09/2026.
Amendments have necessitated grounds of rejections for claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been entered. Arguments were fully considered.
On pgs. 7-9 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that:
The Examiner asserts that Von describes every feature of the claimed invention, including a filter that removes magnetic and non-magnetic particles without a bar magnet. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
However, solely in the interest of furthering prosecution, Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite that the filter includes a bypass hole, wherein the inlet and outlet of the manifold are in fluid communication with each other.
The Examiner acknowledges that Von does not describe or suggest a bypass hole and relies on DE19932795 to Petzolt (hereinafter "Petzolt") to cure its deficiencies (see rejection of Claim 10 on page 11 of the Office Action). Applicant respectfully submits that the combined teachings of Von and Petzolt do not describe or suggest the filter as described and claimed.
The present invention is directed to a filter that relies on changing flow trajectories to prevent caking on the cleaning components without a magnet. This increases the performance of the filter, increases the lifespan before any cleaning is required, and allows for a higher flow rate to pass through the inlet and outlet of the manifold. The result is the efficient removal of suspended particles in a fluid stream that include both magnetic and non-magnetic particles.
In contrast, Von describes a filter that (1) requires a bar magnet to remove magnetic particles and (2) includes thin sieve plates that become blocked by the suspended particles. In fact, Von explicitly describes a filter that is designed to be easily cleaned after the particles blocks parts of the filter and inhibit the flow of the fluid by closing a rotary value to prevent significant water loss (see [0025] of Von). In use, the suspended particles come into contact with the sieve plates of Von and "can settle" in the bottom of the filter. The cleaning components are often made of plastic to reduce the caking of magnetite on the sieve plates as the magnetic particle come into direct contact with the plates (see [0015]-[0016] of Von).
Applicant respectfully submits that the sieve plates of Von are very different from the tiered plate assembly of the present invention. Similar to mesh filters, sieve plates rely on direct contact with the suspended particles, and the suspended particles often collect around and through the mesh. As a result, at least some of the particles will cake onto the cleaning components, requiring cleaning at regular intervals (see [0013]-[0015]). This causes a slowdown and requires a pause in the filtering process to clean the filter, which reduces productivity. In contrast, the tiered plate assembly of the present invention relies on changing flow trajectories, so that less particles are caked onto the assembly, thereby increasing performance with minimal maintenance.
The Examiner asserts that Petzolt describes a bypass hole, wherein the inlet and outlet of the manifold are in fluid communication. Applicant respectfully disagrees that the combined teachings of Von and Petzolt describe or suggest all of the features of the claimed invention.
The inventors of the present invention discovered that including a bypass hole (i.e., so fluid flows directly to the outlet without passing through the main filter body) increases the performance of the filter. That is, the filter of the present invention is able to separate more suspended particles with a bypass hole, thus increasing its efficacy and performance. The bypass hole causes only a partial filtration, whereby some fluid is not filtered in the main filter body and continues through the system. Applicant respectfully submits that the skilled artisan would have been led to believe that including a bypass hole would reduce the efficacy of the filter, as less fluid contacts the main filter body so that more particles remain suspended in the fluid.
The performance of the filter may be quantified by a number of methods, including, for example, by evaluating the flow coefficient ("Kv") of the filter. As the Kv value increases, the efficacy of the filter also increases. When a filter is used without any bypass hole, the Kv value was measured at 5.9, demonstrating a control value.
However, when a 12 mm bypass hole is usedas described and claimed, the Kv value increases to 6.9 (see [0074] and Table 1). Furthermore, even with a higher flow coefficient, more suspended particles overall are able to be separated in the filter with less fluid passing through the filter. Based thereon, it can be seen that a bypass hole provides the filter with better performance, even though some of the fluid is not filtered.
Applicant respectfully submits that Petzolt describes two entirely different flow paths, which is not equivalent to the bypass hole described and claimed by Applicant.
The first path is the flow of fluid during normal operation, as indicated by arrows "a" and "b". Petzolt recites that during "normal operation" the bypass value closes the opening between the inlet and the bypass channel, so that no fluid flows through the bypass channel (see [0022] of Petzolt).
During "disinfection of the reaction vessel", the fluid then follows the flow path indicated by arrow "c". That is, the bypass valve moves so that the opening between the inlet channel and the outlet channel are closed off, so that no fluid travels into the reaction vessel (see [0023] of Petzolt).
The skilled artisan would be led to believe that the bypass system described in Petzolt is actually a bypass circuit. When in use, the "bypass" as described in Petzolt actually prohibits fluid communication between the inlet and the outlet. This occurs so that the reaction vessel can be disinfected. There is no teaching or suggestion that a bypass hole can be included in a filter system as described and claimed by Applicant. That is, the bypass hole of the present invention (1) provides direct fluid communication between the inlet and out of the manifold, (2) provide partial filtration of the fluid in the system, and (3) increases performance of the filter. Petzolt only describes a bypass circuit to completely prevent fluid from entering a vessel, thereby decreasing performance so that the vessel can be disinfected.
The argument not persuasive because Petzolt teaches the claimed bypass structure; specifically, Petzolt teaches “The warm water entering the bypass valve 19 from the circulation manifold 10 flows in the direction of the arrow c through the inlet duct 28 and the bypass duct 30 and runs through the outlet connection 31 of the bypass valve 19 into the circulation manifold 10 again”, see pg. 4 and Figs. 3-4 show flow path indicated by arrow c which shows the inlet 27 in fluid communication with outlet 32. Further claim 1 is directed to an apparatus not a method therefore the argument regarding “when in use, the ‘bypass’ as described in Petzolt actually prohibits fluid communication between the inlet and the outlet” is not commensurate in scope because the operation of the device is not claimed.
On pg. 9 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that:
Turning to claim 21, Applicant respectfully submits that Von does not describe or suggest a filter that includes a manifold with a first end and a second end. Von only describes a filter with an inlet, a main filter body, and an outlet, not a distinct manifold component. That is, the fluid flows through the inlet (3) into an inlet chamber (19), directly down into the main filter body, up through the outlet chamber (20) and exits through the outlet (4) that is completely separated from the inlet by a partition wall (21) (see Fig. 2 of Von). In contrast, the filter of the present invention includes a manifold component, wherein the fluid flows into the inlet, through the manifold, down into the main filter body, up the main filter body, back through the manifold, and then exits through the outlet (see Fig. 6 and [0084-0088]).
For all of these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that Von does not describe or suggest all of the features of the claimed invention and reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 12, and 20 is respectfully requested.
This argument is moot because amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejection.
On pg. 10 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that:
Claim 5 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as allegedly being obvious over Von in view of Wells and further in view of CN202155108 to Wei et al. (hereinafter "Wei") for the reasons set forth in the Office Action.
Because claim 1 is believed to be allowable over the prior art of record for the reasons set forth above, claim 5 which depends therefrom is also believed to be allowable over the prior art of record and notice to that effect is earnestly solicited.
Furthermore, as demonstrated in Figures 1 and 2 of Wei, the plates are arranged in a conical configuration. Although the individual plate is a conical shape, every plate is the same design and design as the one above. That is, the plates are only in a layered configuration, and the diameters of each plate match at the same points. Based thereon, Wei does not describe or suggest using plates of different diameters, only that multiples of the same plates can be layered on each other.
For all of these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that the combined teachings of Von, Wells, and Wei do not describe or suggest all of the features of the claimed invention and reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claim 5 as being unpatentable over Von in view of Wells and further in view of Wei is respectfully requested.
This argument is not persuasive because Wei is relied upon teach the relative dimension relationship not for a particular diameter size. Fig. 1 of Wei shows plates 11 arranged in a conical/stepped configuration, wherein each plate extends radially outward beyond the plate immediately above it; and because the plates are circular, the depicted greater radial extent corresponds to a greater diameter. Thus, Wei teaches the upper plate has a smaller diameter than the lower plate.
On pg. 11 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that:
Claim 5 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as allegedly being obvious over Von in view of Wells and further in view of CN202155108 to Wei et al. (hereinafter "Wei") for the reasons set forth in the Office Action.
Because claim 1 is believed to be allowable over the prior art of record for the reasons set forth above, claim 5 which depends therefrom is also believed to be allowable over the prior art of record and notice to that effect is earnestly solicited.
Furthermore, as demonstrated in Figures 1 and 2 of Wei, the plates are arranged in a conical configuration. Although the individual plate is a conical shape, every plate is the same design and design as the one above. That is, the plates are only in a layered configuration, and the diameters of each plate match at the same points. Based thereon, Wei does not describe or suggest using plates of different diameters, only that multiples of the same plates can be layered on each other.
For all of these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that the combined teachings of Von, Wells, and Wei do not describe or suggest all of the features of the claimed invention and reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claim 5 as being unpatentable over Von in view of Wells and further in view of Wei is respectfully requested.
This argument is not persuasive because Wei is relied upon for relative dimension relationship not for a particular diameter size. Fig. 1 of Wei shows plates 11 arranged in a conical/stepped configuration, wherein each plate extends radially outward beyond the plate immediately above it; and because the plates are circular, the depicted greater radial extent corresponds to a greater diameter. Thus, Wei teaches the upper plate has a smaller diameter than the lower plate.
On pg. 12 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that:
Furthermore, the Examiner asserts that Figure 10 of Ager describes a filter structure with a plurality of circumferentially spaced spokes. However, Figure 10 only describes a rear view of an air filter. That is, Figure 10 depicts a frame attached to the filter spokes to provide structural support to the filter (see 4:57-5:4 of Ager). There is no teaching or suggestion that the spoke design is used in filtering a fluid, only that the spoke design provides support for the actual filtering elements.
For all of these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that the combined teachings of Von, Wells, Wei, and Ager do not describe or suggest all of the features of the claimed invention and reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections of claims 7-8 as being unpatentable over Von in view of Wells and Wei and further in view of Ager is respectfully requested.
This argument is not persuasive because Ager is relied upon to teach that it is known to apply a filter element configured with spokes to filter a fluid (i.e. air); a fluid is any substance like liquid or a gas or plasma that is capable of flowing. Additionally, the type of fluid is material worked upon and does not add patentable weight to the claimed apparatus.
On pg. 12 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that:
That is, as described in Fenton, the full bore isolation valve (FBIV) provides two distinct modes: a "separation enabled" mode and a "separation by-pass" mode. Alternatively, other closure mechanism, such as a plug, may be used to provide the two modes. During separation, the FBIV is closed and forces the fluid to flow into a separation chamber. The water then separates from oil using gravitational forces (i.e., the density of the fluids) and the less dense re-enters the tubing above the FBIV and travels up the separator (see 3:5-62 of Fenton).
Applicant respectfully submits that the FBIV of Fenton is only a bypass mechanism to either (1) divert a water/oil mixture into a separation chamber or (2) allow the mixture to directly travel up the well. There is no teaching or suggestion to include a full bore valve at the inlet of the manifold to reduce fluid pressure as described and claimed by Applicant.
For all of these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that the combined teachings of Von, Petzolt, and Fenton do not describe or suggest all of the features of the claimed invention and reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claim 11 as being unpatentable over Von in view of Petzolt and further in view of Fenton is respectfully requested.
This argument is not persuasive because the full bore valve of Fenton is structurally configured to selectively provide an unobstructed bypass flow path around the separator 21. Specifically, the full bore valve (FBIV) 41 provides a “separator by-pass” mode in case of flow disruption through the separator 21 (Fenton, see C3/L10-20); thus when flow through the separator is restricted and upstream pressure increases, opening FBIV 41 provides an alternative and substantially unobstructed pathway, thereby relieving/reducing elevated upstream fluid pressure associated with the restricted flow path. The claim is directed to an apparatus and does not require of a separate method step of operating the valve under a particular condition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von (EP 3 608 007) in view of Petzolt ( DE 19932795).
Regarding claim 1, Von teaches a filter (air/sludge separator) comprising:
a. a manifold (upper part 5) having an inlet (inlet opening 3) and an outlet (outlet opening 4);
b. a main filter body (lower part 6) connected to the manifold (i.e. upper part 5), wherein the main filter body comprises a flow disrupter, the flow disrupter comprising a tiered plate assembly (sieve plates 7) arranged in the filter body (i.e. lower part 6), wherein each plate (i.e. lower part 6) in the tiered plate assembly comprises an arrangement of apertures (see Fig. 2),
wherein the inlet of the manifold, the tiered plate assembly, the outlet of the manifold and a bottom of the main filter body are configured, to define a flow path for fluid to be treated (see Fig. 2), the flow path entering through the inlet of the manifold, passing into the filter body and down through the apertures of the tiered plate assembly, and passing the bottom of the main filter body which is configured to collect the magnetic and non- magnet particles removed from suspension in the fluid to settle into the bottom of the main filter body (the caking of the magnetite is significantly reduce, see pg. 3), and the flow path being redirected back up through the tiered plate assembly to exit through the outlet of the manifold (see flow arrows in Fig. 2): and
wherein the filter does not contain a magnet (the magnet in the air/sludge separator of Von is optional, see claim 9 because a sieve or screen can be used to remove magnetite particles).
Von does not teach that the manifold comprises a bypass hole, wherein the inlet of the manifold and the outlet of the manifold are in fluid communication with each other, whereby flow through the main filter body is reduced.
In a related field of endeavor, Petzolt teaches a method and system in hot water supply networks (see ABS) wherein the manifold comprises a bypass path (in the direction of the arrow c, see pg. 4), wherein the inlet of the manifold and the outlet of the manifold are in fluid communication with each other (see Fig. 3), whereby flow through the main filter body is reduced (in the direction of the arrow c shown in Fig. 3, also see pgs. 3-4, is shorter therefore the flow through the filter body is reduced).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the filter of Von (as previously modified by Petzolt) with by incorporating bypath path in the manifold as disclosed by Petzolt because it protects intermingling of warm water interfering with the hot water system (Petzolt, see pg. 2) which is desirable in the system of Von because it is tied to a hot water circuit (Von, see pg. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Von and Petzolt teach the filter according to claim 1, wherein the main filter body comprises a top portion and a bottom portion and the flow disrupter is arranged in the top portion of the main filter body whereby, in use, when fluid to be treated enters the filter through the inlet of the manifold, the fluid passes into the top portion of the main filter body and down through the apertures of tiered plate assembly and into the bottom portion of the main filter body and is redirected back up through the tiered plate assembly in the top portion of the main filter body to exit through the outlet of the manifold, whereby particles held in suspension by the fluid are removed and settle into the bottom of the bottom portion of the main filter body (As shown in Fig. 2, the flow arrows depict fluid entering the filter body and being redirected within the upper portion. The fluid then proceeds downward through the tiered plate region 7, and particles settle in the bottom portion 6, after which fluid is redirected upward toward the outlet).
Regarding claim 20, Von and Petzolt teach a hydronic heating or cooling system (Von, heating system, see pg. 2; hydronic is non-limiting) comprising the filter of claim 1 (Von, air/sludge separator 1).
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von (EP 3 608 007) in view of Petzolt ( DE 19932795) and further in view of Wells (GB 430,375).
Regarding claims 2-4, Von and Petzolt teach the filter according to claim 1, wherein the tiered plated assembly comprises at least a top tier and a bottom tier (the plurality of plates 7 arranged in upper and lower portions correspond to top and bottom tiers under BRI) arranged around and joined to a cylindrical tube (Von, plastic sleeve 25).
Von does not teach that the tiered plate assembly is fixably attached to a bolt, wherein the bolt is secured to a top inner surface of the main filter body; wherein the bolt comprises a threaded end that is threaded into a corresponding recessed opening at the top inner surface of the main filter body; and wherein the bolt is fitted through the cylindrical tube to attach the tiered plate assembly to the main filter body.
In a related field of endeavor, Wells teaches filter and pad thereof (see ABS) wherein a plate assembly (filter pad 12) is fixably attached to a bolt (post 23), wherein the bolt is secured to a location of the main filter body (see Fig. 1); wherein the bolt comprises a threaded end that is threaded into a corresponding recessed opening at a location of the main filter body (see Fig. 1); and wherein the bolt (i.e. post 23) is fitted through the central opening (corresponds to central bore/opening) to attach the plate assembly to the main filter body (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the tiered plate assembly of Von by incorporating the bolt (i.e. threaded post 23) as disclosed by Wells because it is known that fastening members are commonly used to fix filter components in place and allow disassembly for maintenance.
It would have been further obvious to provide the threaded end in engagement with a corresponding opening at a location on the housing, including a top inner surface, of Von (as previously modified by Wells) because said location is convenient and accessible for mounting of internal components, therefore the combination of Von and Wells would have resulted in the bolt/fastening member being secured to the top inner surface of the main filter body with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been further obvious to modify the fastening arrangement of Von by incorporating the bolt (i.e. post 23) of Wells such that said bolt extends through the cylindrical tube (i.e. plastic sleeve 25) of Von because it is known to arrange a bolt (i.e. post 23) in a similar fashion using a central bore/opening to secure stacked filter components (Wells, see Fig. 1) and it would have improved structural alignment and secure retaining of the tiered plate within the housing, thereby achieving the predictable result of using a known fastening technique. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Regarding claim 6, Von, Petzolt and Wells teach the filter according to claim 4.
The combination of references that the bottom tier comprises at least two plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the filter plate of Von by duplicating said filter plate to provide at least two plates in the bottom tier because it increases particle separation efficiency, since adding additional plates increases the available surface area and flow disruption within the fluid path, thereby enhancing settling and removal of suspended particles.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von (EP 3 608 007) in view of Petzolt ( DE 19932795) in view of Wells (GB 430,375) and further in view of Wei (CN 202155108).
Regarding claim 5, Von, Petzolt and Wells teach the filter according to claim 4, wherein the top tier comprises an upper plate and a lower plate (Von, see Fig. 2)…
The combination of references does not teach that the upper plate has a smaller diameter than the lower plate.
In a related field of endeavor, Wei teaches a sewage filter (see ABS) wherein the upper plate has a smaller diameter than the lower plate (as shown in Fig. 1, the plates 11 arranged in a conical/stepped configuration, wherein each plate extends further outwards and has a larger radial footprint therefore the upper plate has a smaller diameter than the lower plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the filter plate of Von by configuring the upper plate to have a smaller diameter than the lower plate as disclosed by Wei because flocs size become larger and larger, and finally settle with large-mass particles accumulated on the surface slides down along the slope of the cover body by gravity and sinks into the mud collecting bucket, thereby, achieving the purpose of removing suspended matter in raw water and cleaning the water body (Wei, see ¶33-¶35).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von (EP 3 608 007) in view of Petzolt ( DE 19932795) in view of Wells (GB 430,375) in view of Wei (CN 202155108) and further in view of Ager (USPN 6,159,258).
Regarding claims 7-8, Von, Petzolt, Wells and Wei teach the filter according to claim 5.
The combination of references does not teach that the upper plate of the top tier comprises an outer edge and a plurality of equidistant spokes that connect the outer edge to the cylindrical tube, whereby a plurality of apertures are created; wherein lower plate of the top tier comprises an outer edge and a second concentric circle arranged equidistant between the outer edge and the cylindrical tube, wherein a first set of spokes connect the outer edge to the second concentric circle to create a plurality of apertures and a second set of spokes connect the second concentric circle to the cylindrical tube, whereby a plurality of apertures are created.
In a related field of endeavor, Ager teaches an air filter element (see ABS) wherein a filter structure (primary filter element shown in Fig. 10) comprises an outer edge (corresponds to edge near frame 70) and a plurality of circumferentially spaced spokes (spokes 77) that connect the outer edge to the central opening (hub 72), whereby a plurality of apertures are created (see Fig. 10); wherein the filter structure comprises an outer edge (i.e. corresponds to edge near frame 70) and a second concentric circle (formed by intermediate struts 78) arranged circumferentially spaced between the outer edge and the central opening (see Fig. 10), wherein a first set of spokes connect the outer edge to the second concentric circle to create a plurality of apertures and a second set of spokes connect the second concentric circle to the central opening, whereby a plurality of apertures are created (see Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the tiered filter plates of Von by configuring with struts and spokes as disclosed by Ager because it facilitates mounting of the filter and improves the strength of the filter (Ager, see C4/L60-67).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von (EP 3 608 007) in view of Petzolt ( DE 19932795) in view of Wells (GB 430,375) and further in view of Ager (USPN 6,159,258).
Regarding claim 9, Von, Petzolt and Wells teach the filter according to claim 6.
The combination of references does not teach that each of the plates of the lower tier comprises an outer edge and a second concentric circle arranged equidistant between the outer edge and the cylindrical tube, wherein a first set of spokes connect the outer edge to the second concentric circle to create a plurality of apertures and a second set of spokes connect the second concentric circle to the cylindrical tube, whereby a plurality of apertures are created.
In a related field of endeavor, Ager teaches an air filter element (see ABS) wherein a filter structure comprises an outer edge (corresponds to edge near frame 70) and a second concentric circle (formed by intermediate struts 78) arranged circumferentially spaced between the outer edge and the central opening (see Fig. 10), wherein a first set of spokes connect the outer edge to the second concentric circle to create a plurality of apertures and a second set of spokes connect the second concentric circle to the central opening, whereby a plurality of apertures are created (see Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the tiered filter plates of Von to configure with struts and spokes as disclosed by Ager because it facilitates mounting of the filter and improves the strength of the filter (Ager, see C4/L60-67).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von (EP 3 608 007) in view of Petzolt ( DE 19932795) and further in view of Fenton (USPN 8,080,157).
Regarding claim 11, Von and Petzolt teach the filter according to claim 1.
The combination does not teach that the manifold comprises a full bore valve to reduce fluid pressure loss within the filter.
In a related field of endeavor, Fenton teaches a gravitational water separator (see ABS) comprising a full bore valve (41) to reduce fluid pressure loss within the filter (Fenton teaches in C3/L10-20 that the FBIV 41 provides a separation by-pass mode and provides over field life in case of flow disruption through the separator 21 which implies that the valve 41 reduces pressure loss within the filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the valve type of Von (as previously modified by Petzolt) with the full bore valve of Fenton because full bore valves are known to minimize pressure loss by providing an unobstructed flow path. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von (EP 3 608 007) in view of Petzolt ( DE 19932795) and further in view of Lamers (US 2020/0086247).
Regarding claim 21, Von and Petzolt teach the filter of claim1.
The combination does not teach that the inlet and the outlet are arranged at a first end of the manifold and a second end of the manifold is connected to the main filter body.
In a related field of endeavor, Lamers teaches a liquid treatment device (see ABS) having an inlet (input connector 8) and an outlet (output connector 9) arranged at a first end of the manifold and a second end of the manifold is connected to the main filter body (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the filter manifold of Von (as previously modified by Petzolt) with the inlet and the outlet are arranged at a first end of the manifold and a second end of the manifold is connected to the main filter body.as disclosed by Lamers because said configuration enables a filter to be adaptable for connection to other external devices more easily and conveniently thus improving the versatility of the device.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von (EP 3 608 007) in view of Petzolt (DE 19932795) and further in view of Marciano (US 2015/0114915).
Regarding claim 22, Von and Petzolt teach the filter of claim 1.
The combination does not teach that the outlet comprises a smaller aperture than an aperture of the inlet, which increases the system fluid pressure.
In a related field of endeavor, Marciano teaches a pool filter (see ABS) comprising an outlet comprises a smaller aperture than an aperture of the inlet (“the flow controller outlet has an outlet cross-sectional area smaller than the inlet cross-sectional area”, see claim 15), which increases the system fluid pressure (this result is expected with the claimed configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inlet and outlet of Von such that the outlet comprises a smaller aperture than an aperture of the inlet as disclosed by Marciano because said configuration improves the hydraulic efficiency (Marciano, see ¶36).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773