DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14, 17-18, 20, 24 and 26 are currently pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 6/25/2026 is acknowledged and has been considered except where lined through.
Rejections Withdrawn in view of Applicants Amendment
All previous rejections are withdrawn in view of Applicants amendment to amend claims 1 and 14 to remove the tyrosine kinase inhibitor Ibrutinib.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 14, 17-18, 20, 24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs, Ephraim (US20230172941A1, 2023-06-08, cited in previous action) in view of Venkataraman and Frieman (Antiviral Research 2017; 143: 142-150).
Fuchs teach a method of treating SARS coronavirus infection in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a tyrosine kinase inhibitor to the subject thereby treating the SARS infection (claim 3 of Fuchs). With regards to the SARS coronavirus infection, Fuchs teach that the SARS coronavirus infection is SARS-CoV-2 (claim 4 of Fuchs). With regards to the tyrosine kinase inhibitor, Fuchs teach that the tyrosine kinase inhibitor include, but are not limited to, approved tyrosine kinase inhibitors such as gefitinib and vandetanib which target EGFR (see paragraph 0030, Table 1). Regarding the effective amount, Fuchs teaches that the dose of the compositions of the present invention can be about 0.001 to 1000 mg/kg body weight of the subject treated, but an attending physician will decide the dosage taking into account a variety of factors such as age, body weight, general health… route of administration and severity of the condition being treated (paragraph 0069). Lastly, Fuchs teach that the tyrosine kinase inhibitors can be combined with another biologically active agent (paragraph 0063).
Fuchs does not specifically select gefitinib or vandetanib or a combination thereof as the tyrosine kinase inhibitor. Nor does the Fuchs teach the amounts of the tyrosine kinase inhibitors as claimed.
Venkataraman and Frieman reviews the role of epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) signaling in SARS coronavirus-induced pulmonary fibrosis (Title). Specifically, Venkataraman and Frieman teach that pulmonary fibrosis is caused by hyperactive host response to lung injury mediated by epidermal growth fact receptor signaling, wherein inhibition of EGFR signaling prevents excessive fibrotic response to SARS-CoV and other respiratory viral infections (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Fuchs to specifically select gefitinib or vandetanib which target EGFR for the treatment of coronavirus in view of the teachings Venkataraman and Frieman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Venkataraman and Frieman teach that pulmonary fibrosis is caused by hyperactive host response to lung injury mediated by epidermal growth fact receptor signaling, wherein inhibition of EGFR signaling prevents excessive fibrotic response to SARS-CoV and other respiratory viral infections.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the amounts of the agents in view of the teachings of the combination of Fuchs.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Fuchs teaches that the dose of the compositions of the present invention can be about 0.001 to 1000 mg/kg body weight of the subject treated, but an attending physician will decide the dosage taking into account a variety of factors such as age, body weight, general health… route of administration and severity of the condition being treated.
Additionally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Lastly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to combine gefitinib and vandetanib for the treatment of pulmonary fibrosis in a patient suffering from SARS-CoV. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs, Ephraim (US20230172941A1, 2023-06-08, cited in previous action) in view of Venkataraman and Frieman (Antiviral Research 2017; 143: 142-150), as applied above to claims 1-2, 5-6, 14, 17-18, 20 , 24 and 26, in further view of Sarguro (WO2017/141137A1, IDS) and Abdoli, Amir (ACS Pharmacology & Translational Science 2020; 3: 1039-1041)..
The combination of Fuchs and Venkataraman and Frieman have been described above and incorporated herein. In short, the combination teaches a method of treating SARS coronavirus infection in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a tyrosine kinase inhibitor to the subject thereby treating the SARS infection, wherein the tyrosine kinase inhibitor is gefitinib.
The combination does not specifically teach that gefitinib is administered in combination with mebendazole or the claimed amounts of each agent in combination.
Sarguro teach a composition and a dosage form comprising mebendazole for use in a method of reducing HIV viral load in a subject infected with HIV, wherein the dosage form contains about 350 mg or about 450 mg of mebendazole (Abstract). Specifically, Sarguro teach that mebendazole is a known antihelminthic, wherein helminthic infections are believed to significantly suppress the immune mechanisms of the human body thereby further compromising the immune system of subjects with already compromised immune systems (page 3, lines 14-25).
Abdoli teach that helminth co-infection may suppress the efficient immune response against SARS-CoV-2 in the early state of the infection, wherein treatment and prevention of helminth infections in endemic regions might decrease the morbidity and mortality of COVID-19 (see page 1040, Conclusions).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by the combination of Fuchs and Venkataraman and Frieman to include mebendazole in view of the teachings of Sarguro and Abdoli. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Sarguro teaches the use of the antihelminth, mebendazole , in patients with HIV and
-Abdoli teaches that helminth co-infection may suppress the efficient immune response against SARS-CoV-2 in the early state of the infection, wherein treatment and prevention of helminth infections in endemic regions might decrease the morbidity and mortality of COVID-19.
Moreover, It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the amounts of the agents in view of the teachings of the combination of the references. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Fuchs teaches that the dose of the compositions of the present invention can be about 0.001 to 1000 mg/kg body weight of the subject treated, but an attending physician will decide the dosage taking into account a variety of factors such as age, body weight, general health… route of administration and severity of the condition being treated; and
- Sarguro teach a composition and a dosage form comprising mebendazole for use in a method reducing HIV viral load in a subject infected with HIV, wherein the dosage form contains about 350 mg or about 450 mg of mebendazole.
Additionally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Hondermarck et al. (FASEB BioAdvances. 2020; 2: 296-303)
-Sisk et al. (Journal of General Virology 2018: 99 (5))
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF, PHD
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626