DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 06/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that amended claims 1, 9 and 17 now overcome the prior art. This is not found persuasive because the technical feature of the cell terminal assembly as claimed is still not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior at in view of Nemoto et al. (US-20190189995-A1).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/15/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-16 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 1-8. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nemoto et al. (US-20190189995-A1).
With regards to claim 1 and 9, Nemoto teaches cell terminal assembly comprising: an outer terminal configured to be disposed at an external location of a cell (¶ 0007, Fig. 2: item 16), the outer terminal including a feedthrough passage (Fig. 2: item 16a), the feedthrough passage (insertion hole, 16a) including a recess having a seating surface (16b) and a side surface(15d) (¶0042, Fig. 2); and an inner terminal including an electrically conductive body (electrode assembly) configured to be disposed within a housing (case) of the cell (¶ 0034 - ¶ 0035), the inner terminal including a feedthrough member (15c) electrically connecting the conductive body to the outer terminal (¶ 0034 - ¶ 0035, Fig. 2). This also reads on the feedthrough member being configured to electrically connect the conductive body the outer terminal. Nemoto also teaches the feedthrough member including a head portion (15c1) having a shape that conforms to a shape of the recess and the seating portion and secures the feedthrough member thereto (¶ 0056, Fig. 2). This rads on the head portion being configured to be shaped to conform to a shape of the seating portion and secure the feedthrough member thereto. As shown in Fig. 2 below, the head portion (15c1) contacts both the seating surface and the side surface. Nemoto discloses that the side surface (15d) is a portion of the internal terminal formed by welding a part of the feedthrough member (15c) to the external terminal and serves as a conductive path between the internal terminal and the outer terminal (¶ 0056). This reads on the head portion contacting or being configured to contact both the seating surface and side surface, providing an electrical connection between the inner terminal and the outer terminal. As mentioned earlier, Nemoto teaches that the side surface (15d) is formed by welding which reads on providing a fluid tight seal between the head portion and the seating
surface. See Fig. 2 below.
With regards to claim 2 and 10, In ¶ 0056 and Figs. 4 and 5, Nemoto teaches that a riveting tool member (63) is pressed against the tip end of the feedthrough member (shaft portion 15c) to deform the head portion ( tip end 15c1). This reads on the head portion being shaped or being configured to be shaped via deformation. See Figs. 4 and 5 below.
With regards to claim 3 and 11, Nemoto teaches that the feedthrough member (shaft potion) is a rivet portion (¶ 0005). This reads on the feedthrough member including a rivet. With regards to claim 4 and 12, in Fig. 2, the feedthrough passage (insertion hole) includes a lower portion having a first diameter, the recess forming an upper portion of the feedthrough passage and having a second diameter greater than the first diameter. Fig. 2 is shown below.
With regards to claim 5 and 13, as shown in Fig. 2 above, the recess of the second diameter and bevel is a counter bore as it is an additional conical recess to accommodate the head of the terminal. This reads on the recess including a counterbore.
With regards to claim 6 and 14, as shown in Fig. 2 below, the seating surface (16b) faces an axial direction that is at least partially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the feedthrough member (shaft), and the recess includes a side surface facing a radial direction that is at least partially orthogonal to the longitudinal axis. As discussed earlier, Nemoto teaches that the side surface (15d) is formed by welding a part of the feedthrough member (15c) to the external terminal which includes the head portion (¶ 0056). This reads on the head portion having or being configured to be shaped having a sealing engagement with both the seating surface and the side surface.
With regard to claim 7 and 15, in ¶ 0035, Nemoto teaches that the feedthrough member (shaft portion) is a part of the internal terminal which reads on the feedthrough member being integral with the conductive body (electrode assembly).
With regards to claim 8 and 16, Nemoto teaches fastening the feedthrough member (shaft portion) of the internal terminal to the external terminal (¶ 0041 and Figs. 4-5). This reads on the feedthrough member being a separate component that is attached to the conductive body. Figs. 4-5 are shown above.
Conclusion
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743