Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhn, Pierre et al. “Toward Tailorable Porous Organic Polymer Networks: A High-Temperature Dynamic Polymerization Scheme Based on Aromatic Nitriles”, published 12/9/2008, retrieved 11/21/2025 from <https://pubs.acs.org/doi/full/10.1021/ma802322j>.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Kuhn teaches one or more heterocycles formed by alternatively bonding triazine and phenyl or biphenyl (Scheme 1) and teaches that such triazine based polymer scaffolds have a controlled porosity (Abstract). Kuhn shows that the total pore volume and pore size of a dynamic nitrile trimerization reaction changes depending on the monomer used, the temperature, the amount of time, and the amount of halogenated metal (zinc chloride in this case, table 1). While table 1 does not explicitly show a pore volume of 5 cm^3/g or more or an average pore size of 25 nm or more, entry 25 has a pore volume close to it of 4.5 cm^3/g and a pore size of 12.1 nm while using monomers of dicyanobiphenyl (DCBP) to form a covalent triazine framework (CTF) (Scheme 1 shows an example using dicyanobenzene (pDCB) monomers). Kuhn teaches that one of ordinary skill is motivated to increase pore size and connectivity in order to compete with alternative porous structures such as metal organic frameworks or MOFs and amorphous activated carbon (pg 319, Introduction). A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would be capable of manipulating the above result effective variables to get a pore volume equal to or greater than 5 cm^3/g as well as a pore size greater than 25 nm through routine experimentation as discussed in MPEP 2144.05.II.
Regarding claim 3, Kuhn teaches claim 1 as described above and shows that entry 25 of table 1 has a BET specific surface area of 1510 m2/g which is a value greater than 1000 m2/g and therefore meets the limitation of the claim.
Regarding claim 4, Kuhn teaches claim 1 as described above and shows in scheme 1 an example of dicyanobenzene monomers with triazine to form instant formula 2-1 as well as using dicyanobiphenyl monomers instead of dicyanobenzene, such as in entry 25 of table 1, which would form instant formula 1-1.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhn in view of Liu, Manying et al. “Covalent triazine frameworks: synthesis and applications” published 31 Jan 2019, retrieved 04/10/2026 from https://doi.org/10.1039/C8TA12442F.
Regarding claim 13, Kuhn teaches claim 1 as described above but is silent to its use as a positive electrode for a lithium secondary battery. Liu teaches the use of covalent triazine frameworks for use in lithium ion batteries for both the cathodes and anodes as they exhibit noticeable performance (Liu page 12 left side paragraphs 1-3 of the provided pdf).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the covalent triazine framework containing dicyanobiphenyl or dicyanobenzene as described by Kuhn as a positive electrode of a lithium-ion battery, which is known in the art to be a secondary battery, as described by Liu as doing so exhibits noticeable performance.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhn in view of Liu and further in view of Park et al. (US 20140234732 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kuhn in view of Liu teaches claim 13 as described above but is silent to specifically lithium metal in the anode. Park teaches a lithium secondary battery with lithium present in the anode and a separator containing an electrolyte present between the anode and cathode (Park 0061-0063).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use modified Liu as described in claim 13 and have lithium in the anode of the battery as described in Park as doing so prevents corrosion of the lithium metal (Park, abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the data provided by Kuhn falls short of the claimed 5 cm3/g pore volume and 25 nm pore size and that the claimed range has criticality.
The argument for criticality is not persuasive as the argument is that the claimed range has a higher battery performance and energy density which is a known value that is tested for and actively desired (Kuhn, last paragraph of the conclusion). Therefore the rejection is maintained.
The argument that Kuhn falls short of the claimed 5 cm3/g pore volume and 25 nm pore size and the deficiency is not cured is unpersuasive. The rejection of claim 1 previously presented cures this deficiency via routine experimentation by manipulating result effective variables in order to get a desired pore size and volume. The rejection of claim 1 also provides a reasoning for why you would want a higher pore size and volume, in this case it exemplifies that a higher pore size enables the covalent triazine framework to compete with other alternative structures. As no argument was directed to rebut this reasoning, the argument is deemed unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
It is noted that applicant agrees that Kuhn teaches the porous solid compound represented by both formula 1-1 and formula 2-1.
With regards to applicant’s argument that Kuhn is silent to the temperature and reaction time used to form the claimed product, this argument is not persuasive. The claims are directed to a product and not the method of making the product. That Kuhn does not teach the method of making the product is not germane to the product as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN R. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743