DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 2, 5-16, 19 and 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2023/0232196 A1, hereinafter “Xu”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2016/0374139 A1, hereinafter “Chen”) and Shin et al. (US 2021/0266868 A1, hereinafter “Shin”).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Xu teaches a method implemented in a network element (comprising circuitry, including any of a transmitter, receiver, a processor and memory) of a core network (e.g., AMF in figs. 6, 7, 17-19 ) of a communications system, the method comprising: receiving, from a first WTRU via at least one gateway associated with a premises, a second transmission comprising second information indicating a first request to establish a first protocol data unit, PDU, session, a first PDU session ID and a description of a traffic flow associated with the sidelink (figs. 1B, 7, S200 of fig. 6, ¶ [0003], [0314], UE 1 establishes a second session. ¶ [0315], the UE 1 sends a session establishment request message to an AMF, where the session establishment request message may include a data network name (DNN) identifier, The session establishment request message further includes an SUPI of the UE 1 and a session identifier (PDU session 2 ID) of the second session. ¶ [0221], ¶ [0311], a PDU session 1 ID is used as a session identifier of a first session, and a PDU session 2 ID is used as a session identifier of a second session. A QFI 1 is used as a QFI of a first QoS flow, and a QFI 2 is used as a QFI of a second QoS flow); receiving, from a second WTRU via the at least one gateway, a third transmission comprising third information indicating a second request to establish a second PDU session, a second PDU session ID and the description of the traffic flow associated with the sidelink (figs. 1B, 7-15, S202 of fig. 6, ¶ [0321], UE 2 establishes a first session. ¶ [0322] The UE 2 establishes the first session for the D2D communication service. ¶ [0315], where the session establishment request may include SUPI of the UE and session identifier of the first session. ¶ [0221], ¶ [0311]); and transmitting a fourth transmission comprising fourth information indicating (i) an instruction to configure the at least one gateway with at least one session management function and (ii) to trigger the at least one session management function to establish the first and second PDU sessions via the at least one gateway based on/using the first and second PDU session IDs indicated by the second and third transmissions and the description of a traffic flow associated with the sidelink indicated by at least one of the second and third transmissions (figs. 6, 7, ¶ [0315], The AMF selects, based on the DNN identifier, an SMF serving D2D communication. ¶ [0332] S206: The AMF sends a first message to the SMF. ¶ [0333], ¶ [0337] S208: The SMF sends configuration information to the RAN through the AMF. ¶ [0338] The configuration information may include a correspondence between the second session of the UE 1 and the first session of the UE 2. In the correspondence, the second session may be identified by using the PDU session 2 ID, and the first session may be identified by using the PDU session 1 ID. ¶ [0339] and ¶ [0340]).
Xu does not explicitly teach receiving, from one of first and second wireless transmit/receive units, WTRUs, via at least one gateway associated with a premises, one or more first transmissions comprising first information indicating first and second identifiers, IDs, associated to the first and second WTRUs in connection with a sidelink.
Chen teaches receiving, from one of first and second wireless transmit/receive units, WTRUs, via at least one gateway associated with a premises, one or more first transmissions comprising first information indicating first and second identifiers, IDs, associated to the first and second WTRUs in connection with a sidelink (figs. 7, 8, 19, 28, ¶ [0011], ¶ [0026]-¶ [0028], ¶ [0406], ¶ [0407], a mode switching request message is sent. ¶ [0408]. ¶ [0507], The mode switching negotiation request message may contain one of the followings: an identifier of the UE1, the identifier of the UE2, bearer information corresponding to a cellular communication data stream supported by the eNB1 between the UE1 and the UE2, quality of service information corresponding to a cellular communication data stream and/or bearer supported by the eNB1 between the UE1 and the UE2, the indication about whether the corresponding D2D communication bearer is established between the UE1 and the UE2 or not and/or the D2D communication bearer is required to be established between the UE1 and the UE2, a D2D communication resource which may be allocated to the UE1 by the eNB1 and capability information of the UE1. ¶ [0415], ¶ [0418], ¶ [0419]. ¶ [0514], Figs. 20-27). Chen further teaches the first WTRU and/or second WTRU establish and/or modify a bearer (¶ [0419], ¶ [0420], When the corresponding bearer has not been established or the bearer is required to be modified, the UE1 and/or the UE2 establish(es) or modify/modifies the D2D communication data bearer through the eNB1 or directly, update(s) TFT information, and then switch(es) the D2D communication data stream indicated by the mode switching message to the corresponding D2D communication data bearer, and the UE1 performs the cellular communication with the UE2 according to scheduling of the eNB1. ¶ [0514], ¶ [0515]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive, from one of first and second wireless transmit/receive units, WTRUs, via at least one gateway associated with a premises, one or more first transmissions comprising first information indicating first and second identifiers, IDs, associated to the first and second WTRUs in connection with a sidelink
in the system of Chen to further improve industrial applicability (¶ [0004]-¶ [0006], ¶ [0120] of Chen).
Xu in view of Chen does not explicitly teach at least one local session management function instantiated at the at least one gateway.
However, it is well known in the art, to instantiate at least one local session management function at the at least one gateway, as evidenced by ¶ [0133] (According to an embodiment, the gNB may include an entity included in the gNB and a core network, and include, for example, AMF, SMF, etc.) of Shin.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to instantiate at least one local session management function at the at least one gateway in the system of Xu in view of Chen. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 2 and 21, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining to use the at least one local session management function for the first and second PDU sessions based on at least one of the first request to establish the first PDU session and the second request to establish the second PDU session being received via the at least one gateway (figs. 6, 7, ¶ [0315], The AMF selects, based on the DNN identifier, included in the request to establish the first/second PDU session, an SMF serving D2D communication. ¶ [0337] S208: The SMF sends configuration information to the RAN through the AMF. ¶ [0338], ¶ [0339]).
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1.
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more first transmissions comprise a service request message, and wherein the service request message comprises the first information.
Chen teaches wherein the one or more first transmissions comprise a service request message, and wherein the service request message comprises the first information (figs. 9, 19-30, ¶ [0026]-¶ [0028], ¶ [0408] ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include the first information in a service request in the system of Xu in view of Chen and Shin to further improve industrial applicability (¶ [0004]-¶ [0006], ¶ [0120] of Chen).
Regarding claims 6 and 23, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second transmission comprises a first PDU session establishment request message, and wherein the first PDU session establishment request message comprises the second information (Xu: e.g., S200 of fig. 6. ¶ [0315], ¶ [0311]).
Regarding claims 7 and 24, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the third transmission comprises a second PDU session establishment request message, and wherein the second PDU session establishment request message comprises the third information (Xu: e.g., S202 of fig. 6. ¶ [0338], ¶ [0311]).
Regarding claims 8 and 25, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the fourth transmission comprises a PDU session request message, and wherein the second PDU session request message comprises the fourth information (Xu: ¶ [0315], The AMF selects, based on the DNN identifier, an SMF serving D2D communication. ¶ [0332] S206: The AMF sends a first message to the SMF. ¶ [0333], ¶ [0243], the first message is a create session management context request (Create SM Context Request) message, an update session management context (Update SM Context) message, or a newly defined message, for example, an association establishment/modification request message).
Regarding claims 9 and 26, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the description of the traffic flow associated with the sidelink comprises any of a PC5 QoS flow identifier (PFI), a QoS rule and a packet filter (Xu: ¶ [0221], ¶ [0311]).
Regarding claims 10 and 27, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network element of the core network is an access and mobility management function (AMF) (Xu: figs. 6, 7).
Regarding claims 11 and 28, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first identifier comprises any of an application layer identifier and a layer-2 identifier associated to the first WTRU in connection with a sidelink, and wherein the second identifier comprises any of an application layer identifier and a layer-2 identifier associated to the second WTRU in connection with a sidelink (Xu: figs. 6, 7. ¶ [0316], an identifier (APP ID) of a first application and an application layer identifier (APP User 1 ID) of the UE 1. ¶ [0324], the identifier (APP ID) of the first application and the application layer identifier (APP User 2 ID) of the UE 2).
Regarding claims 12 and 29, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first PDU session is associated with any of a first application layer identifier and a first layer-2 identifier associated to the first WTRU in connection with a sidelink, and wherein the second PDU session ID is associated with any of a second application layer identifier and a second layer-2 identifier associated to the second WTRU in connection with a sidelink (Xu: figs. 6, 7, ¶ [0317], the SMF stores a correspondence between the application layer identifier (APP User 1 ID) of the UE 1 and the session identifier (PDU session 2 ID) of the second session of the UE 1. ¶ [0324], the SMF stores a correspondence between the application layer identifier (APP User 2 ID) of the UE 2 and the session identifier (PDU session 1 ID) of the first session of the UE 2).
Regarding claims 13 and 30, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1.
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the first information is transmitted as, or in, in a notification message.
Chen teaches the first information is transmitted as, or in, in a notification message (figs. 9, 19-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to transmit the first information as, or in, in a notification message in the system of Xu in view of Chen and Shin to further improve industrial applicability (¶ [0004]-¶ [0006], ¶ [0120] of Chen).
Regarding claims 14 and 31, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1.
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the first information is transmitted as, or in, any of a non-access stratum, NAS, message and a radio resource control, RRC, message
However, Chen teaches the first information is transmitted as, or in, any of a non-access stratum, NAS, message and a radio resource control, RRC, message (¶ [0073], the message including the mode switching information is born by Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration signalling or other dedicated signalling, and in addition, the mode switching information may be sent through an access stratum or transmitted through a protocol data unit of a non-access stratum).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize NAS or RRC signalling for transmitting the first information in the system of Xu in view of Chen and Shin to further improve industrial applicability.
Regarding claims 15 and 32, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein any of the second information and the third information comprises any of network slice information and a data network name (DNN) (Xu: figs. 6, 7, ¶ [0315], where the session establishment request message may include a data network name (DNN) identifier ).
Regarding claims 16 and 33, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 1.
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the first information comprises a state of a sidelink between the first WTRU and a second WTRU.
Chen teaches wherein the first information comprises a state of a sidelink between the first WTRU and a second WTRU (figs. 19, 20, 9, ¶ [0011], ¶ [0026]-¶ [0028], ¶ [0408], The mode switching request message includes at least one of the followings: an identifier of UE2, a signal measurement result, obtained by the UE1, of the UE2, a measurement result, obtained by UE1, of a serving eNB, an indication about the D2D communication between the UE1 and the UE2, bearer information corresponding to a D2D communication data stream between the UE1 and the UE2, quality of service information corresponding to data stream and/or bearer of the D2D communication between the UE1 and the UE2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the first information, the state of a sidelink between the first WTRU and a second WTRU in the system of Xu in view of Chen and Shin to further improve industrial applicability (¶ [0004]-¶ [0006], ¶ [0120] of Chen).
7. Claims 17 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Chen and Shin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Atkins et al. (US 2007/0055913 A1, hereinafter “Atkins”).
Regarding claims 17 and 34, Xu in view of Chen and Shin teaches the method of claim 16.
Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the state of a sidelink between is a first value, and wherein the first value indicates the sidelink is not viable, no longer viable or not likely to remain viable for communications with the second WTRU.
Atkins teaches a state of a link is a first value, and wherein the first value indicates the link is not viable, no longer viable or not likely to remain viable for communication (¶ [0025]-¶ [0031], ¶ [0032], the network manager to determine if the link is viable and can pass data. If it is considered viable, the network manager transitions into the operational state 510. In response to encountering an error 514, the network manager is notified and the network manager transitions into the error state 516. The network manager notifies the operator of the error 518).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include, in the first information, the state information indicating the sidelink is not viable, no longer viable or not likely to remain viable for communications with the second WTRU in the system of Xu in view of Chen and Shin to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed on August 10, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Examiner submits that Xu in view of Chen and Shin render obvious the amended claims 1 and 19, as set forth above.
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477