Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohno et al. (US 20130260212 A1) and is provided in the applicants IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Kohno teaches an electricity generating element with electrodes (0008) that is surrounded by a casing that has cylindrical protrusions (13A and 13B in fig. 4 and fig. 2) that are mechanically integrated to a battery case via brazing (0059) and the case is effectively a rectangular box that has lateral surfaces that are supported in pairs in which the lateral surfaces are parallel opposite one another (fig. 1 and 2, 0034).
Regarding claim 2, Kohno teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the faces of the casing are normal to adjacent faces (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kohno teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that there are two cylindrical protrusions and that they are on opposite sides of the case.
Regarding claim 4, Kohno teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that
The case has the battery cell inside (fig. 2, 0034).
Regarding claim 5, Kohno teaches claim 4 as described above and further teaches that the cylindrical end portions do not contain the electrode stack (fig. 2 shows 13A does not contain the electricity generating element).
Regarding claim 6, Kohno teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that there is a positive electrode terminal (pole), labelled 4A (fig. 2, 0036).
Regarding claim 8, Kohno teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that there are fixed special clearances formed between cases (fig. 6, 0088).
Regarding claim 9, Kohno teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that there are portions around the cylindrical protrusions that are airtight (0067) and that there is air flow around the cells via special clearances (0088).
Regarding claim 10, Kohno teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that there can be multiple cells set up parallel to each other that form gaps through which air is blown through for temperature control (fig. 6, 0088).
Regarding claim 11, Kohno teaches the battery cell of claim 1 as described above and further teaches that there can be multiple cells set up parallel to each other that form gaps between which air is blown through for temperature control (fig. 6, 0088).
Regarding claim 16, Kohno teaches claim 2 as described above and further teaches that there are two cylindrical protrusion and they are on opposite sides of the case.
Regarding claim 17, Kohno teaches claim 16 as described above and further teaches that
The case has the battery cell inside (fig. 2, 0034).
Regarding claim 18, Kohno teaches claim 17 as described above and further teaches that the cylindrical end portions do not contain the electrode stack (fig. 2 shows 13A does not contain the electricity generating element).
Regarding claim 19, Kohno teaches claim 16 as described above and further teaches that there is a positive electrode terminal (pole), labelled 4A (fig. 2, 0036).
Regarding claim 20, Kohno teaches claim 19 as described above and further teaches that there are portions around the cylindrical protrusions that are airtight (0067) and that there is ducting for temperature control via air within the batteries (0088).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohno.
Regarding claim 7, while Kohno does not teach the case having walls of the same size, it is obvious to change the dimensions as it does not change the performance of the battery see MPEP 2144.04 Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Regarding claim 12, Kohno teaches claim 10 as described above and further teaches that there is an external blower that blows air through the gaps between cells. The instant application explains that a collecting channel is used for supplying and discharging the temperature-control fluid which can be described as an external blower, as it receives the air and forces it through multiple channels which extend in all directions along the battery cell walls. In this case since it is understood that the blower blows air through multiple pathways of the parallel cells so it necessarily extends perpendicular (transversely) to the height (longitudinal direction) and the channels are along the height and separate from the blower.
Regarding claim 13, Kohno teaches claim 12 as described above but does not explicitly teach that the temperature-control channels constitute a total pressure loss within the flow channel of 60-99%. It is described such that the flow channel is the overall area which air is blown through and the cells are contained in, and the temperature control channels are the spaces between the individual cells. As there is nowhere else described for the fluid to go other than back into the blower itself, it is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that most if not all of the pressure loss would be within the temperature-control channel as the only other place to lose pressure is around the surface of the module and it is known that volume increases faster than surface area. This means, as the number of cells in the module increases, there is an increase in pressure loss in the temperature-control channels vs around the perimeter and could reasonably result in a pressure loss between 60-99% therein.
Regarding claim 14, Kohno teaches claim 11 as described above and further teaches that there is an external blower that blows air through the gaps between cells. The instant application explains that a collecting channel is used for supplying and discharging the temperature-control fluid which can be described as an external blower, as it receives the air and forces it through multiple channels which extend in all directions along the battery cell walls. In this case since it is understood that the blower blows air through multiple pathways of the parallel cells so it necessarily extends perpendicular (transversely) to the height (longitudinal direction) and the channels are along the height and separate from the blower.
Regarding claim 15, Kohno teaches claim 14 as described above but does not explicitly teach that the temperature-control channels constitute a total pressure loss within the flow channel of 60-99%. It is described such that the flow channel is the overall area which air is blow through and the cells are contained in, and the temperature control channels are the spaces between the cells. As there is nowhere else described for the fluid to go other than back into the blower itself, it is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that most if not all of the pressure loss would be within the temperature-control channel as the only other place to lose pressure is around the perimeter of the module and it is known that volume increases faster than area. This means, as the number of cells in the module increases, there is an increase in pressure loss in the temperature-control channels vs around the perimeter and could reasonably result in a pressure loss between 60-99% therein.
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743