DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, readable on claims 1-12 and 15-20 in the reply filed on 12/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "protruding portion of the fixation ring" in Line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishiguro et al. (US Patent No. 5,871,441, hereinafter Ishiguro).
In regard to claim 1, Ishiguro discloses an endoscope (2, Fig. 1) comprising:
a handle (5, Fig. 1);
a distal tip unit (8) configured to be inserted into a patient's body cavity (Fig. 1);
an endoscope shaft (4) connecting the handle and the distal tip unit (Fig. 1);
a working channel (29, 30) extending from the handle through the endoscope shaft towards the distal tip unit (Fig. 3); and
a suction valve (1) configured to control a suction through the working channel and having a valve closed state (Fig. 21) and a valve open state (Fig. 23), the suction valve comprising:
a housing (81) having an inlet opening (93) connected to the working channel and an outlet opening (94);
a piston unit (5) inserted in the housing (Fig. 1), the piston unit comprising:
a movable piston (38, Fig. 1);
a button (37) attached to the piston (Fig. 1);
a fixation ring (39) arranged stationary in the housing (Fig. 1); and
a spring (49) arranged and acting between the fixation ring and the button or the piston (Fig. 1);
the fixation ring being configured to urge the piston towards the inlet opening of the housing in the valve closed state (Figs. 1, 21 illustrate the piston biased to cover the inlet opening in the valve closed state).
In regard to claim 19, Ishiguro discloses a system (2, Fig. 1) comprising an endoscope (2) according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1) and a suction device connectable to the outlet opening (Col. 4, Lines 26-27).
In regard to claim 20, Ishiguro teaches wherein the endoscope further comprises an image capturing means arranged at the distal tip unit (Col. 4, Lines 27-31), and wherein the system further comprises a monitor (27) configured to show an image captured by the image capturing means (Fig. 2).
Claims 1-7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otani (US Patent No. 4,537,182).
In regard to claim 1, Otani discloses an endoscope (21, Fig. 3) comprising:
a handle (22, Fig. 3);
a distal tip unit (34) configured to be inserted into a patient's body cavity (Fig. 3);
an endoscope shaft (23) connecting the handle and the distal tip unit (Fig. 3);
a working channel (32) extending from the handle through the endoscope shaft towards the distal tip unit (Fig. 3); and
a suction valve (27) configured to control a suction through the working channel and having a valve closed state (Fig. 3) and a valve open state (Fig. 1), the suction valve comprising:
a housing (36) having an inlet opening (48) connected to the working channel and an outlet opening (56);
a piston unit (47) inserted in the housing (Fig. 4), the piston unit comprising:
a movable piston (37, Fig. 4);
a button (44) attached to the piston (Fig. 4);
a fixation ring (39) arranged stationary in the housing (Fig. 4); and
a spring (46) arranged and acting between the fixation ring and the button or the piston (Fig. 4);
the fixation ring being configured to urge the piston towards the inlet opening of the housing in the valve closed state (Fig. 4 illustrate the piston biased to cover the inlet opening in the valve closed state).
In regard to claim 2, Otani teaches wherein the fixation ring is configured to assist in sealing the piston in the valve closed state (Fig. 4 illustrates the piston contacting the fixation ring in the valve closed state).
In regard to claim 3, Otani teaches wherein the fixation ring has a ring- shaped portion and a protruding portion extending axially away from the ring-shaped portion and along the piston, and at least an end portion of the protruding portion is brought into contact with the piston at least in the valve closed state to urge the piston towards the inlet opening of the housing (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
In regard to claim 4 Otani teaches wherein the protruding portion is arranged diametrically opposed with respect to the inlet opening of the housing (the protruding portion has a circular shape and a portion of the protruding portion is diametrically opposed to the inlet opening, Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 5, Otani teaches wherein the piston comprises a first piston portion, a second piston portion and a transition area between the first piston portion and the second piston portion (see annotated Fig. 4 above).
In regard to claim 6, Otani teaches wherein the piston has a radially outwardly protruding rim portion in the transition area between the first piston portion and the second piston portion, the radially outwardly protruding rim portion being urged against the fixation ring by the spring in the valve closed state (see annotated Fig. 4 above).
In regard to claim 7, Otani teaches wherein the protruding portion extends from the ring-shaped portion towards and along the second piston portion in an axial direction of the piston (see annotated Fig. 4 above).
In regard to claim 19, Otani discloses a system (21, Fig. 2) comprising an endoscope (21) according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1) and a suction device (35) connectable to the outlet opening (Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 are allowed.
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 January 24, 2026