1. Applicant is requested to cancel withdrawn claims 10-20 in the next correspondence.
Art Rejection
3. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horowitz, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0262638, in view of Qian, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2016/0294548.
Per claim 1, Horowitz discloses a computer implemented method for implementing data encryption in an application using an application programming interface (API), the method comprising:
a) accessing an online platform, e.g., database API 160 and storage API 108, to create an application profile (i.e., configuration metadata file) for the database application, i.e., storing defined encryption type/policy for each database storage in a configuration metadata file (see par 0040, 0087-0088);
b) selecting encryption policies for the application based on the application profile, i.e., setting encryption on individual storage engine (104, 106) (see par 0040, 0116-0117);
c) creating a set of encryption keys for the application based on the application profile (see par 0040, 0226);
d) storing the set of encryption keys as secret information (see par 0227);
e) installing at least one client extension library for performing encryption functions (see par 0116); and
f) updating the application with the API call information and credential information for encrypting data (see par 0007, 0116).
Horowitz does not explicitly teach installing at least one client extension library based on a programming language of the application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the pluggable module or extension library must have been compatible to the programming language of the application in order for the application to utilize.
Horowitz also does not teach creating a set of secret keys for the application to access the API and storing the set of secret keys as credential information. However, Qian discloses a prior art method for managing the encryption keys, wherein credentials are used by the application to generate secret keys or used as secret keys to access and operate the encryption function (see Qian, par 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Horowitz with Qian teaching because it would have ensured secured access to the application and the key manager.
Per claim 2, Horowitz teaches that the application profile, i.e., configuration metadata, includes a number of storage locations/components associated with corresponding storage engines (see par 0016).
Per claim 3, Horowitz teaches that the set of encryption keys comprises a master key and API keys (see par 0226).
Per claim 4, Horowitz teaches that the use can specify any encryption policies (see par 0040). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to practice Horowitz invention with any known encryption policies including FPE.
Claims 5-9 are similar in scope as that of claims 1-4.
Response to Amendment
4. Applicant's arguments filed on February 6, 2026 with respect to claims 1-9 have been fully considered but are not deemed persuasive. It is submitted that the rejection has been revised to better address claim limitations.
Applicant alleges that neither Horowitz nor Qian teach creating an application profile that can be used to select encryption policies and create encryption keys. Examiner disagrees.
The examiner submits that the claims in the current forms do not define how the application profile is used to select encryption policies and create encryption keys other than a use of a file for storing selected encryption policies and created encryption keys. On the other hand, Horowitz clearly teaches creating a profile or configuration file for storing configuration metadata for the database application which defines encryption policies and encryption keys for respective databases (see par 0040, 0087-0088). Particularly, Horowitz teaches that encryption policy for each database can be defined/selected and stored in the profile/configuration file (see par 0040). Horowitz also teaches that encryption key information can be obtained or created and then stored in the profile/configuration file (see par 0226-0227). Thus, it is submitted that Horowitz discloses the alleged claim limitations.
Conclusion
5. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. 1.136(a).
A SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD FOR RESPONSE TO THIS FINAL ACTION IS SET TO EXPIRE THREE MONTHS FROM THE DATE OF THIS ACTION. IN THE EVENT A FIRST RESPONSE IS FILED WITHIN TWO MONTHS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS FINAL ACTION AND THE ADVISORY ACTION IS NOT MAILED UNTIL AFTER THE END OF THE THREE-MONTH SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD, THEN THE SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD WILL EXPIRE ON THE DATE THE ADVISORY ACTION IS MAILED, AND ANY EXTENSION FEE PURSUANT TO 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a) WILL BE CALCULATED FROM THE MAILING DATE OF THE ADVISORY ACTION. IN NO EVENT WILL THE STATUTORY PERIOD FOR RESPONSE EXPIRE LATER THAN SIX MONTHS FROM THE DATE OF THIS FINAL ACTION.
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
2/10/26