DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-7 are currently pending in this US patent application and were examined on their merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed in this application on 05/02/2023, 10/04/2024, and 05/14/2025 have been received and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “reduced” in claims 3-4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reduced” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What level of protein content in a blood sample qualifies as “reduced?” As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, rendering it indefinite.
Because claim 5 depends from claim 4 and does not provide further clarification of the indefinite language therein, this claim is also indefinite. Therefore, claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted the “reduced” protein content of claims 3-5 to be any level of protein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication 2017/0016906 filed by Hirotsu et al., published 01/19/2017.
Hirotsu teaches the detection of cancer by the chemotaxis of nematodes in response to subject-derived bio-related substances (see entire document, including page 1, paragraph 0013-0014; cf. claim 1). The cancer may be gastric cancer, colon/rectal cancer, or gastrointestinal stromal cancer, among other types (page 5, paragraph 0073; cf. claims 6-7). The bio-related substance may be blood (page 7, paragraph 0109; cf. claims 1-3; the Examiner notes that blood intrinsically contains serum and plasma, and claim 2 does not preclude other blood substances from being present in the sample). A processed sample is preferably used, and centrifugation may be used to process samples prior to evaluation with nematodes (page 7, paragraphs 0109-0111; cf. claims 3-4; the Examiner notes that centrifuging a blood sample would remove blood cells and result in the intrinsic removal of at least some protein from the sample; claim 4 does not require that the deproteinization be to any particular degree).
However, Hirotsu does not explicitly teach the use of blood or centrifuged blood as the patient sample evaluated for the presence of cancer as recited in the instant claims.
While Hirotsu does not explicitly teach the use of blood or centrifuged blood as the patient sample evaluated for the presence of cancer as recited in the instant claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so because Hirotsu suggests the use of blood or centrifuged blood as the patient sample evaluated for the presence of cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that using the blood suggested by Hirotsu as the patient sample in the method of Hirotsu would successfully result in the detection of cancer-related substances in the sample via nematode chemotaxis.
Therefore, claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rendered obvious by Hirotsu and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication 2017/0016906 filed by Hirotsu et al., published 01/19/2017, in view of Whitlam et al., J. Pharm. Sci. 70(2): 146-150 (1981).
As discussed above, claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rendered obvious by Hirotsu. In addition, Hirotsu teaches that the subject sample may be filtered prior to use and that such filtration does not affect the reaction of the nematode to the sample (page 7, paragraph 0110). In addition, the concentration of the odorant is important for the nematode’s response to it (page 6, paragraph 0095). However, Hirotsu does not teach that the filtration process is ultrafiltration as recited in instant claim 5.
Whitlam teaches that ultrafiltration can be used to remove serum proteins from blood samples to better estimate the fraction of free small molecules in plasma and whole blood (see entire document, including page 146, right column, paragraph 2-4; cf. claim 5; the Examiner notes that ultrafiltration of blood would intrinsically result in the deproteinization of the blood sample to at least some degree).
While Hirotsu does not teach that the filtration process used to process the blood sample is ultrafiltration as recited in instant claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so because Hirotsu teaches that sample filtration does not interfere with the cancer detection method and that the concentration of the odorant detected by the nematodes affects the response of the nematodes. In addition, Whitlam teaches that ultrafiltration may be used on blood samples to allow for a more accurate determination of the concentration of free (i.e., non-protein-bound) small molecules in the sample. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that using the ultrafiltration of Whitlam on the blood sample of Hirotsu prior to evaluation with the nematodes would successfully result in the production of a blood sample that could be evaluated for the presence of cancer-related molecules by observing nematode chemotaxis.
Therefore, claims 1-7 are rendered obvious by Hirotsu in view of Whitlam and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
The Supreme Court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation…103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions……the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) (emphasis added).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11719698 in view of international patent application WO 2017/081750 filed by Sakairi et al., published 05/18/2017 (cited on the IDS filed 05/02/2023; please note that citations for this reference listed herein correspond to the English translation attached to this Office action), and Whitlam et al., J. Pharm. Sci. 70(2): 146-150 (1981). The claims of ‘698 differ from the instant claims by reciting that the tested biological sample is urine instead of blood as instantly recited. However, regarding claims 1-4 and 6-7, Sakairi teaches that blood may be used in assays of nematode taxis for cancer detection (see entire document, including page 1, paragraph 1, and page 14, paragraph 6). Regarding claim 5, Whitlam teaches that ultrafiltration may be used to remove substances from blood (see citations presented above). As such, the instant claims are ‘rendered obvious’ by the cited claims of ‘698 in view of Sakairi and Whitlam and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12019068 in view of international patent application WO 2017/081750 filed by Sakairi et al., published 05/18/2017 (cited on the IDS filed 05/02/2023; please note that citations for this reference listed herein correspond to the English translation attached to this Office action), and Whitlam et al., J. Pharm. Sci. 70(2): 146-150 (1981). The claims of ‘068 differ from the instant claims by reciting that the tested biological sample is urine instead of blood as instantly recited. However, regarding claims 1-4 and 6-7, Sakairi teaches that blood may be used in assays of nematode taxis for cancer detection (see entire document, including page 1, paragraph 1, and page 14, paragraph 6). Regarding claim 5, Whitlam teaches that ultrafiltration may be used to remove substances from blood (see citations presented above). As such, the instant claims are ‘rendered obvious’ by the cited claims of ‘068 in view of Sakairi and Whitlam and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11479800 in view of international patent application WO 2017/081750 filed by Sakairi et al., published 05/18/2017 (cited on the IDS filed 05/02/2023; please note that citations for this reference listed herein correspond to the English translation attached to this Office action), and Whitlam et al., J. Pharm. Sci. 70(2): 146-150 (1981). The claims of ‘800 differ from the instant claims by reciting that the tested biological sample is urine instead of blood as instantly recited. However, regarding claims 1-4 and 6-7, Sakairi teaches that blood may be used in assays of nematode taxis for cancer detection (see entire document, including page 1, paragraph 1, and page 14, paragraph 6). Regarding claim 5, Whitlam teaches that ultrafiltration may be used to remove substances from blood (see citations presented above). As such, the instant claims are ‘rendered obvious’ by the cited claims of ‘800 in view of Sakairi and Whitlam and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12493040 in view of international patent application WO 2017/081750 filed by Sakairi et al., published 05/18/2017 (cited on the IDS filed 05/02/2023; please note that citations for this reference listed herein correspond to the English translation attached to this Office action), and Whitlam et al., J. Pharm. Sci. 70(2): 146-150 (1981). The claims of ‘040 differ from the instant claims by reciting that the tested biological sample is urine instead of blood as instantly recited. However, regarding claims 1-4 and 6-7, Sakairi teaches that blood may be used in assays of nematode taxis for cancer detection (see entire document, including page 1, paragraph 1, and page 14, paragraph 6). Regarding claim 5, Whitlam teaches that ultrafiltration may be used to remove substances from blood (see citations presented above). As such, the instant claims are ‘rendered obvious’ by the cited claims of ‘040 in view of Sakairi and Whitlam and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/Erin M. Bowers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653 01/08/2026