DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 15-22 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gong (CN 206403702 U, previously presented) in view of Shen (CN 209574563 U), King (US 2019/0183306, previously presented), and Horiuchi (US 2013/0330162).
Regarding Claim 1, Gong teaches A vacuum cleaning system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a robotic unit (Ref. B, Fig. 2) comprising a traction arrangement (Ref. A4, Fig. 3), a docking interface (Ref. A1, Fig. 2), and an end effector (Ref. A23, Fig. 3, [0068]), wherein the end effector comprises a suction tool (Ref. A23, Fig. 3), and wherein the robotic unit defines a suction flow path (Ref. A3, Fig. 9) which extends from the suction tool (Ref. A23, Fig. 3) to the docking interface (Fig. 3),
a handheld vacuum cleaner (Ref. B, Fig. 1) configured to be docked with the docking interface (Fig. 2), the handheld vacuum cleaner comprising a fan (Ref. B127, Fig. 4) for drawing air through the suction flow path when docked with the docking interface ([0079]).
Gong fails to explicitly teach the robotic unit comprising an articulated arm defining an end effector wherein the articulated arm comprises a lower arm portion and an upper arm portion having a pair of upper arm members, wherein the suction flow path extends through the lower arm portion and through one of the upper arm members, and wherein the other of the upper arm members is configured to carry mechanical and electrical components. Shen teaches a robotic vacuum cleaner with an articulated arm and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor of vacuum cleaning systems. Shen teaches a robotic unit (Ref. 1, Fig. 1) comprising a traction arrangement (Ref. 28, Fig. 1), and an articulated arm (Ref. 2&25, Fig. 1) defining an end effector (Ref. 21, Fig. 1) wherein the articulated arm comprises a lower arm portion (See annotated Fig. 1 below) and an upper arm portion having a pair of upper arm members (See annotated Fig. 1 below), wherein the suction flow path (Ref. 25, Fig. 1) extends through the lower arm portion (Fig. 1 below) and through one of the upper arm members (Fig. 1 below, the suction flow path (25) is part of the upper and lower arm portions where the flow is through), wherein the other of the upper arm members (221) is configured to carry mechanical and electrical components (Ref. 223, Fig. 1, [0040] describes a motor which has mechanical and electrical components), and wherein the lower arm portion is pivotably coupled to the pair of upper arm members via an elbow joint (Fig. 1 shows the upper and lower arms at an elbow joint) such that the lower arm portion is pivotable relative to the upper arm portion about a first pivot axis (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the robotic unit, as taught by Gong, to have an articulated arm, as taught by Shen, to clean hard to reach places and provide a wider cleaning area.
Gong as modified further fails to explicitly teach the handheld vacuum cleaner comprising a vacuum motor for drawing air through the suction flow path. King teaches a vacuum cleaning system with a handheld vacuum and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. King teaches a handheld vacuum cleaner (Ref. 20, Fig. 2) comprising a vacuum motor and impeller ([0092]) for drawing air through the suction flow path ([0092]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the handheld vacuum impeller, as taught by Gong, with a vacuum motor to rotate the impeller, as taught by King, as a simple substitution of a known element to draw air through a vacuum and to provide a greater suction force and more effectively clean surfaces.
Gong as modified further fails to explicitly teach wherein the lower arm section is disposed between the first and second arm members. Horiunchi teaches a robotic arm and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem by the inventor to have an arm to manipulate a tool on the end for greater range of movement. Horiunchi further teaches wherein the upper arm section (Ref. 14a, Fig. 1) comprises first and second arm members (Fig. 1 annotated below), wherein the first arm member is spaced from the second arm member (Ref. 14h, fig. 1), and wherein the lower arm section (Ref. 14B, Fig. 1) is disposed between the pair of upper arm members (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the articulated arm, as taught by Gong as modified, to have a lower arm section disposed between the pair of upper arm members, as taught by Horiuchi, since such a modification would yield the predictable result of manipulating a tool and to provide more stability for the arms and to provide more protection to the suction hose.
Regarding Claim 2, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and Gong further teaches wherein the handheld vacuum cleaner further comprises a dust separator (Ref. B3, Fig. 4, [0075-0076]).
Regarding Claim 3, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and Gong further teaches wherein the handheld vacuum cleaner includes a battery pack (Ref. B13, Fig. 5, [0073]).
Regarding Claim 4, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, but fails to explicitly teach the handheld vacuum cleaner including a user interface display screen. King further teaches wherein a handheld vacuum cleaner (Ref. 20, Fig. 2) includes a user interface display screen (Ref. 100, Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the handheld vacuum, as taught by Gong as modified, with the user interface display screen, as taught by King, to provide further function allowing the user to better monitor battery life of the vacuum ([0107]).
Regarding Claim 6, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and Gong further teaches the handheld vacuum cleaner comprises a tapered tool mount (Ref. B23, Fig. 10) that are configured to engage with some suction tool (Ref B4,Fig. 10). Song further teaches the robotic vacuum cleaner having a tool mount (Ref. 26, Fig. 1) configured to engage with a suction tool (Ref. 21, Fig. 1) and robotic vacuum cleaner (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mount, as taught by Gong, with the mount, as taught by Shen, as a simple substitution of a known element to produce the predictable result of connect an airflow path to an accessory and to reduce costs by allowing further functionality of the suction tool to work with both the handheld vacuum and articulating arm.
Regarding Claim 8, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and Gong further teaches wherein the handheld cleaner has a longitudinal axis (See annotated Fig. 4 below) along which a suction nozzle (Ref. B23, Fig. 4) and the vacuum motor are oriented (Fig. 4, examiner notes “along” is interpreted as in a direction of), wherein the handheld vacuum cleaner is mounted to the docking interface so that the longitudinal axis extends transversely, and optionally perpendicularly, to a ground plane defined by the traction arrangement (Fig. 9, examiner notes the term "optionally perpendicularly" is interpreted as a perpendicular orientation is not required).
Regarding Claim 9, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and Gong further teaches wherein the traction arrangement defines a rolling axis (Fig. 9 annotated below, into the page), and wherein the docking interface is provided on a first side of the rolling axis (Fig. 9, back side of rolling axis) and a second side of the rolling axis (Fig. 9, front side of rolling axis). Shen further teaches wherein the articulated arm extends from the robotic unit from a position on a front side of the rolling axis (Fig. 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place the extending articulating arm, as taught by Shen, on a second side of the rolling axis, as taught by Gong, to allow the extending arm to be effectively maneuvered ([0030]).
Regarding Claim 10, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and Gong further teaches an interchangeable suction tools (Ref. B4, Fig. 10) and the handheld vacuum cleaner comprises a tapered tool mount (Ref. B23, Fig. 10) that are configured to engage with the suction tool (Ref B4,Fig. 10). Shen further teaches the robotic vacuum cleaner having a tool mount (Ref. 26, Fig. 1) configured to engage with a suction tool (Ref. 21, Fig. 1) and robotic vacuum cleaner (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mount, as taught by Gong, with the mount, as taught by Shen, as a simple substitution of a known element to produce the predictable result of connect an airflow path to an accessory and to reduce costs by allowing further functionality of the suction tool to work with both the handheld vacuum and articulating arm. Further, by modifying the mount structure to be the same it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure such that each of the suction tools being configured to connect to the robotic unit and to the handheld vacuum cleaner.
Regarding Claim 15, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and given the teachings of the articulated arm of Shen, Gong as modified further teaches a body having a forward-facing side (Fig. 1 annotated below) and a rearward-facing side (Fig. 1 annotated below), wherein the articulated arm extends from the forward-facing side (Fig. 1, Song shows mounted on the front side) and the docking interface is defined in the rearward- facing side (Fig. 1 below).
Regarding Claim 16, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and given the teachings of the articulated arm of Shen, Gong as modified further teaches wherein the traction arrangement defines a rolling axis (Fig. 9 annotated below, into the page), wherein the articulated arm is pivotable relative to a body of the robotic unit about a second pivot axis (Fig. 3 of song shows the articulated arm at the front of the robot and would pivot up and down) and wherein the second pivot axis is parallel to the rolling axis (Fig. 1 of Kuo show the pivot axis allowing up and down movement and given the arm is mounted to the front of Gong the pivot axis would be parallel to the rolling axis).
Regarding Claim 17, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and given the teachings of the articulated arm of Shen, Gong as modified further teaches wherein the rolling axis is provided a first distance from a ground plane in a direction perpendicular thereto (Fig. 9 annotated below), wherein the second pivot axis is provided a second distance (Fig. 9 annotated below) from the ground plane in the direction perpendicular thereto, and wherein the second distance is larger than the first distance (Fig. 9 annotated below).
Regarding Claim 18, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16, as described above and given the teachings of the articulated arm of Shen, Gong as modified further teaches wherein the second pivot axis is offset from the rolling axis (Fig. 9 shows the pivot axis is offset in a lateral direction).
Regarding Claim 19, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and given the teachings of the articulated arm of Shen and Horiuchi into Gong, Shen further teaches wherein the articulated arm is actuatable between first (Fig. 1, Shen) and second configurations ([0030] describes multiple degree of freedom adjustable arm, Shen) wherein when the articulated arm is in the first configuration, the articulated arm is disposed adjacent the handheld vacuum cleaner (examiner notes adjacent is interpreted as near, Fig. 1 of Shen shows the arm is adjacent the handheld vacuum cleaner).
Regarding Claim 20, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and given the teachings of the articulated arm of Shen and Horiuchi into Gong, Shen further teaches wherein the lower arm portion extends between opposite first and second ends (Fig. 1 above, top end (first end) and bottom end (second end)), wherein the first end is coupled to the pair of upper arm members via the elbow joint (Fig. 1 shows the upper and lower arms are coupled at an elbow joint), and wherein the second end defines the end effector (21, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 21, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 20, as described above and given the teachings of the articulated arm of Shen and Horiuchi into Gong, Shen further teaches wherein each upper arm member of the pair of upper arm members extends between opposite first and second ends ((Fig. 1 above, top end (first end) and bottom end (second end)), wherein the respective first ends of the pair of upper arm members are pivotably coupled to a body of the robotic unit (Fig. 1), and wherein the respective second ends of the pair of upper arm members are coupled to the first end of the lower arm portion via the elbow joint (Fig. 1 shows the upper and lower arms are coupled at an elbow joint).
Regarding Claim 22, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 20, as described above and given the teachings of the articulated arm of Shen and Horiuchi into Gong, Shen further teaches wherein a pair of recesses are formed in the body of the robotic unit (Ref. 2241, as part of the main body that holds the arms, Fig. 1, shows two recesses in the stand (2241)) and wherein each recess of the pair of recesses receives a corresponding one of the respective first ends of the pair of upper arm members (Fig. 1).
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gong (CN 206403702 U, previously presented) in view of Shen (CN 209574563 U) and Horiuchi (US 2013/0330162).
Regarding Claim 11, Gong teaches a robotic unit (Ref. B, Fig. 2 comprising a traction arrangement (Ref. A4, Fig. 3), a docking interface (Ref. A1, Fig. 2) for receiving a handheld vacuum cleaner (Ref. B, Fig. 1), and an end effector (Ref. A23, Fig. 3, [0068]), wherein the end effector comprises a cleaner head (Ref. A23, Fig. 3), and wherein the robotic unit defines a suction flow path (Ref. A3, Fig. 9) which extends from the cleaning head (Ref. A23, Fig. 3) to the docking interface (Fig. 3).
Gong fails to explicitly teach the robotic unit comprising an articulated arm defining an end effector wherein the articulated arm comprises a lower arm portion and an upper arm portion having a pair of upper arm members, wherein the suction flow path extends through the lower arm portion and through one of the upper arm members, and wherein the other of the upper arm members is configured to carry mechanical and electrical components Shen teaches a robotic unit (Ref. 1, Fig. 1) comprising a traction arrangement (Ref. 28, Fig. 1), and an articulated arm (Ref. 2&25, Fig. 1) defining an end effector (Ref. 21, Fig. 1) wherein the articulated arm comprises a lower arm portion (See annotated Fig. 1 below) and an upper arm portion having a pair of upper arm members (See annotated Fig. 1 below), wherein the suction flow path (Ref. 25, Fig. 1) extends through the lower arm portion (Fig. 1 below) and through one of the upper arm members (Fig. 1 below, the suction flow path (25) is part of the upper and lower arm portions where the flow is through), and wherein the other of the upper arm members (221) is configured to carry mechanical and electrical components (Ref. 223, Fig. 1, [0040] describes a motor which has mechanical and electrical components), and wherein the lower arm portion is pivotably coupled to the pair of upper arm members via an elbow joint (Fig. 1 shows the upper and lower arms at an elbow joint) such that the lower arm portion is pivotable relative to the upper arm portion about a first pivot axis (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the robotic unit, as taught by Gong, to have an articulated arm, as taught by Shen, to clean hard to reach places and provide a wider cleaning area.
Gong as modified further fails to explicitly teach wherein the lower arm section is disposed between the first and second arm members. Horiunchi teaches a robotic arm and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem by the inventor to have an arm to manipulate a tool on the end for greater range of movement. Horiunchi further teaches wherein the upper arm section (Ref. 14a, Fig. 1) comprises first and second arm members (Fig. 1 annotated below), wherein the first arm member is spaced from the second arm member (Ref. 14h, fig. 1), and wherein the lower arm section (Ref. 14B, Fig. 1) is disposed between the pair of upper arm members (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the articulated arm, as taught by Gong as modified, to have a lower arm section disposed between the pair of upper arm members, as taught by Horiuchi, since such a modification would yield the predictable result of manipulating a tool and to provide more stability for the arms and to provide more protection to the suction hose.
Regarding Claim 14, Gong as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11, as described above and Gong further teaches wherein the traction arrangement defines a rolling axis (Fig. 9 annotated below, into the page), and wherein the docking interface is provided on a first side of the rolling axis (Fig. 9, back side of rolling axis) and a second side of the rolling axis (Fig. 9, front side of rolling axis). Shen further teaches wherein the articulated arm extends from the robotic unit from a position on a front side of the rolling axis (Fig. 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place the extending articulating arm, as taught by Shen, on a second side of the rolling axis, as taught by Gong, to allow the extending arm to be effectively maneuvered ([0030]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments to the drawing objections have been considered and are persuasive. Examiner has withdrawn the drawing objection.
Applicant has amended the claims to recite “wherein the lower arm portion is pivotably coupled to the pair of upper arm members via an elbow joint such that the lower arm portion is pivotable relative to the upper arm portion about a first pivot axis, and wherein the lower arm portion is disposed between the pair of upper arm members in a direction parallel to the first pivot axis” thereby changing the scope of the claims and necessitating a new grounds of rejection. Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 19 February, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Horiuchi. Horiuchi further teaches wherein the upper arm section (Ref. 14a, Fig. 1) comprises first and second arm members (Fig. 1 annotated below), wherein the first arm member is spaced from the second arm member (Ref. 14h, fig. 1), and wherein the lower arm section (Ref. 14B, Fig. 1) is disposed between the pair of upper arm members (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the articulated arm, as taught by Gong as modified, to have a lower arm section disposed between the pair of upper arm members, as taught by Horiuchi, since such a modification would yield the predictable result of manipulating a tool and to provide more stability for the arms and to provide more protection to the suction hose.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached on (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723