Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 26-31, 41-44, and 48, drawn to a power storage device packaging material in the reply filed on March 6th, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that search and examination of the entire application would be made without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because:
This is not found persuasive because Group I would require a unique text search including bilayer in proximity to polyamide and polyester films.
Group II would not be search as above and instead would require a unique text search including barrier layer in proximity to stainless steel, black color, pigment, coloring layer, surface coating layer.
Group II would not be search as above and instead would require a unique text search including sequential lamination, adhesive, wet lamination, dry lamination, hot pressing.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 32-40, 45-47 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected power storage device packaging material and method of producing a power storage device packaging material, respectively, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 6th, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to for the following informalities: The Examiner requests the claim be amended to include the meaning of ATR, in addition to the abbreviation, for increased clarity of the record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-31, 41, 43-44, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumori (Chinese Patent Publication No. 108701780 A).
Regarding claim 26, Tsumori discloses a power storage device packaging material comprising a laminate comprising at least a base (substrate) material layer, a barrier layer, and a heat-sealable resin layer sequentially from an outer side (Paragraph 19), as illustrated in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 1 of Tsumori
Tsumori teaches that the base material layer comprises a polyester film and a polyamide film (Paragraph 15). Tsumori teaches examples of the polyester in the layer such as polyethylene terephthalate, polybutylene terephthalate, polyethylene naphthalate (Paragraph 53), which overlaps the suitable polyester materials included in the teachings of the instant disclosure (Paragraph 0046). Tsumori teaches examples of the polyamide in the layer such as nylon 6, nylon 66, nylon 610, nylon 12, nylon 46, and copolymers of nylon 6 and nylon 66, nylon 6I, nylon 6T, nylon 6IT, nylon 6I6T (I represents isophthalic acid, T represents terephthalic acid), polyamide MXD6, polyaminomethylcyclohexyl adipamide, or 4,4'-diphenylmethane-diisocyanate (Paragraph 56), which overlaps the suitable polyester materials included in the teachings of the instant disclosure (Paragraph 0050).
Tsumori that the thickness of the polyester film is preferably 20 µm or less, more preferably 1 to 15 µm in order to reduce the thickness of the battery packaging material and exhibit excellent moldability. (Paragraph 55).
Tsumori that the thickness of the polyamide film is preferably 30 µm or less, more preferably 1 to 25 µm in order to reduce the thickness of the battery packaging material and exhibit excellent moldability. (Paragraph 58).
The range of thicknesses of the polyester and polyamide layers of Tsumori overlap with the instant claimed ranges of the polyester and polyamide layers, respectively. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 27, Tsumori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26.
Tsumori does not explicitly teach the polyamide film has a crystallization index of 1.50 or more as measured by Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy using ATR.
However, it is reasonable to presume these features are inherent to Tsumori. Support for said presumption is found in that Tsumori discloses a method of manufacturing the base layer of the laminate comprising the polyamide film that overlaps with that of the instant disclosure as well as overlapping materials used in the polyamide film layer.
As discussed briefly above, the suitable materials used in the polyamide film layer which are shared in the teachings of both the instant disclosure (Paragraph 0050) and those of Tsumori (Paragraph 56):
aliphatic polyamides
nylon 6, nylon 66, nylon 610, nylon 12, nylon 46, and copolymers of nylon 6 and nylon 66;
copolyamides containing structural units derived from terephthalic acid and/or isophthalic acid
nylon 6I, nylon 6T, nylon 6IT, nylon 6I6T (I represents isophthalic acid, T represents terephthalic acid)
polyamide MXD6 (poly(m-xylylenediamine);
polyaminomethylcyclohexyl adipamide (PACM6)
polyamide obtained by copolymerizing an isocyanate component and a lactam component
4,4'-diphenylmethane-diisocyanate
polyester as a copolymer of a copolymer polyamide and a polyester or a polyalkylene ether glycol
a polyether ester amide copolymer
Further, the instant disclosure provides in Example 1 the method of forming the base material layer, a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) film and a stretched nylon (ONy) film is prepared by using a urethane adhesive comprising a polyol compound and an aromatic isocyanate compound to bond the PET film and the ONy film via the adhesive agent layer. The instant disclosure teaches the barrier layer is aluminum foil (pre-treated with chemical conversion treatment) and a urethane adhesive comprising a polyol compound and an aromatic isocyanate compound was used to laminate the aluminum foil and the base material layer using a dry lamination method. The instant disclosure provides that the resulting laminate was then subjected to an aging treatment (Paragraph 0208).
In the method of forming the base material layer of Tsumori, specifically as described in Example 2, Tsumori teaches the base material layer a PET film and a stretched nylon film are bonded by a polyurethane-based adhesive comprising a polyol and an isocyanate compound (Paragraph 172), aligning with the method of the instant disclosure provided above. Tsumori also teaches the barrier layer is an aluminum foil subjected to a chemical surface treatment, which an adhesive layer was applied to comprising a two component polyurethane adhesive (polyol compound and aromatic isocyanate compound) followed by dry lamination and then an aging treatment (Paragraph 172), further overlapping with the method of making the laminate described above in the instant disclosure.
Thus, while Tsumori may not explicitly teach the polyamide film has a crystallization index of 1.50 or more as measured by Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy using ATR, the similar materials and method of producing the base layer comprising the polyamide film makes it reasonable for the ordinary artisan to presume that the product produced by a method overlapping with the instant disclosure would inherently have the same features, including crystallization index, as the product of the instant disclosure. Thus, the claimed limitations are met.
Regarding claim 28, Tsumori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26.
Tsumori teaches that the thickness of the barrier layer is particularly preferably 10 µm to 45 µm (Paragraph 9). The range of thickness of the barrier layer of Tsumori overlaps with the instant claimed range of thickness of the barrier layer. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 29, Tsumori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to 26.
Tsumori teaches that the thickness of the heat-sealable resin layer is particularly preferably 15 µm to 45 µm (Paragraph 122). The range of thickness of the heat-sealable resin layer of Tsumori overlaps with the instant claimed range of thickness of the heat-sealable resin layer. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 30, Tsumori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to 26, wherein the power storage device packaging material comprises an adhesive layer between the barrier layer and the heat-sealable resin layer (Paragraph 124).
In an embodiment, Tsumori teaches the thickness of the adhesive layer between the barrier layer and the heat-sealable resin layer (second bonding layer) may be 2 µm to 50 µm (Paragraph 135). The range of thickness of the adhesive layer of Tsumori overlaps with the instant claimed range of thickness of the adhesive layer. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 31, Tsumori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to 26, wherein the thickness of the laminate is 165 µm or less (160 µm or less) (Paragraph 49).
Regarding claim 41, Tsumori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to 26, wherein the heat-sealable resin layer is formed of two or more layers using the same resin or different resins (Paragraph 120).
Regarding claim 43, Tsumori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to 26, wherein at least one of a surface and an inside of the heat-sealable resin layer contains two or more lubricants (Paragraph 121).
Regarding claim 44, Tsumori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26.
Tsumori teaches that the thickness of the barrier layer is 10 µm to 80 µm (Paragraph 93). The range of thickness of the barrier layer of Tsumori overlaps with the instant claimed range of thickness of the barrier layer. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 48, Tsumori discloses the power storage device comprising a power storage device element comprising at least a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte, the power storage device element being housed in a package formed of the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26 (Paragraph 150).
Claim 27 is alternately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumori as applied to claims 26-31, 41, 43-44, and 48 above, and further in view of Hironori (Japanese Patent Publication No. 2020187976 A).
In the event that the crystallization index is not found inherent to Tsumori, an alternate rejection in view of Hironori is presented:
Regarding claim 27, Tsumori teaches the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26.
Tsumori is silent as to the polyamide film has a crystallization index of 1.50 or more, as measured by Fourier transfer infrared spectroscopy using ATR.
However, Hironori discloses an exterior material for a power storage device (Paragraph 0012) which includes a laminate including a base material layer, a barrier layer, and a heat-fusible resin layer (Paragraph 0010). Hironori also teaches the base material layer includes a polyamide film (Paragraph 0014). Hironori teaches the crystallization index (ATR method) of the base material layer measured by the ATR method of the Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy is preferably 1.50 or more in order to effectively suppress breakage of the power storage device exterior material at the time of peeling (Paragraph 0023). Hironori also discloses that the crystallization index of the polyamide film included in the base material layer may be increased by including a method to promote crystallization by the stretching ratio, heat fixing temperature, and or time/temperature of the post heating in the manufacturing process (Paragraph 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polyamide film of Tsumori to incorporate the teachings of Hironori in which the crystallization index, as measured by Fourier transfer infrared spectroscopy using ATR, is 1.50 or more. Doing so would advantageously result in the suppression of breakage of the power storage device exterior material at the time of peeling, as recognized by Hironori.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumori as applied to claims 26-31, 41, 43-44, and 48 above, and further in view of Kenta (Japanese Patent Publication No. 2017069203 A).
Regarding claim 42, Tsumori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to 26, wherein at least one of a surface of the base material layer contains a lubricant (Paragraph 77).
Tsumori is silent as to the base material layer comprising two or more lubricants.
However, as discussed above, Kenta discloses a packaging material for a battery (Paragraph 12) comprising a laminate comprising, in order from the outside, a base material layer, a barrier layer, an adhesive resin layer, and a heat-fusible resin layer (Paragraph 13). Kenta teaches that the base material layer may be made to have low friction in order to improve formability, which is achieved by a thin layer of lubricant included in the formation of the base layer (Paragraph 30). Kenta teaches that the thin film layer of lubricant can be formed from a plurality of materials, and may be formed of a combination of two or more lubricants (Paragraph 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tsumori to incorporate the teachings of Kenta in which at the lubricant in the base material layers contains two or more lubricants. Doing so would advantageously result in reduced friction of the base material layer and in turn, improved formability, as recognized by Kenta.
Claims 26, 28-29, 31 41, 43-44, 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamibori (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220059891 A1) in view of Tsumori.
Regarding claim 26, Minamibori discloses a power storage device (battery) packaging material comprising a laminate (packaging material is laminated) (Paragraphs 0028, 0110) comprising at least a base material layer (Figure 1, Element 13), a barrier layer (Figure 1, Element 11), and a heat-sealable resin (sealant which comprises resin ¶0016) layer (Figure 1, Element 20) sequentially from an outer side (Paragraph 0050), as illustrated in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 1 of Minamibori
Minamibori teaches that the base material layer may be a multi-layer structure such as a polyester film/polyamide film (Paragraph 0082), meeting the instant claimed limitations of the base material layer comprises a polyester film and a polyamide film.
Minamibori discloses that the thickness of the thickness of the base layer is preferably 7 µm to 50 µm, more preferably 9 µm to 30 µm in order to secure satisfactory strength of the packaging material and reduce stress at the time of forming (Paragraph 0083).
Minamibori is silent as to:
the polyester film has a thickness of 10 µm or more and 14 µm or less, and
the polyamide film has a thickness of 18 µm or more and 22 µm or less.
However, Tsumori discloses a battery packaging material comprising a laminate comprising at least a substrate layer, an adhesive layer, a barrier layer, and a heat-fusible resin layer (Paragraph 19). Tsumori teaches that the base material layer comprises at least a polyester film layer and polyamide film layer (Paragraph 15).
Tsumori teaches examples of the polyester in the layer such as polyethylene terephthalate, polybutylene terephthalate, polyethylene naphthalate (Paragraph 53), which overlaps the suitable polyester materials included in the teachings of Minamibori (Paragraph 0082) and the instant disclosure (Paragraph 0046).
Tsumori that the thickness of the polyester film is preferably 20 µm or less, more preferably 1 to 15 µm in order to reduce the thickness of the battery packaging material and exhibit excellent moldability. (Paragraph 55).
Tsumori teaches examples of the polyamide in the layer such as nylon 6 (Paragraph 56), which overlaps the suitable polyester materials included in the teachings of Minamibori (Paragraph 0082) and the instant disclosure (Paragraph 0050).
Tsumori that the thickness of the polyamide film is preferably 30 µm or less, more preferably 1 to 25 µm in order to reduce the thickness of the battery packaging material and exhibit excellent moldability. (Paragraph 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thickness of the polyester and polyamide films of Minamibori to incorporate the teachings of Tsumori in which the thickness of these layers is 1 to 15 µm and 1 to 25 µm, respectively. Doing so would advantageously result in reduced thickness of the battery packaging material and excellent moldability, as recognized by Tsumori.
The resulting range of thicknesses of the polyester and polyamide layers of Tsumori overlap with the instant claimed ranges of the polyester and polyamide layers, respectively. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 28, Minamibori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26.
Minamibori teaches that the thickness of the barrier layer is particularly preferably 25 µm to 85 µm (Paragraph 0084). The range of thickness of the barrier layer of Minamibori overlaps with the instant claimed range of thickness of the barrier layer. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 29, Minamibori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to 26.
Minamibori teaches that the thickness of the heat-sealable resin layer is particularly preferably 25 µm to 85 µm (Paragraph 0079). The range of thickness of the heat-sealable resin layer of Minamibori overlaps with the instant claimed range of thickness of the heat-sealable resin layer. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 31, Minamibori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26.
To determine the minimum and maximum thicknesses of the laminate taught by Minamibori, the Examiner has relied on the teachings of Minamibori directed to the thickness of each individual layer and summed them to calculate the total thickness of the laminate.
As discussed above and exemplified in Figure 1 of Minamibori, the laminate comprises a base layer, barrier layer, heat-sealable resin layer, and two adhesive layers.
Minamibori discloses the upper and lower bounds of the thickness of each layer as follows:
base layer: 9 µm to 30 µm (Paragraph 0082)
barrier layer: 25 µm to 85 µm (Paragraph 0084)
heat-sealable resin layer: 25 µm to 85 µm (Paragraph 0079)
first adhesive layer: 2 µm to 5 µm (Paragraph 0086)
second adhesive layer: 2 µm to 5 µm (Paragraph 0087)
Thus, the thickness of the laminate is determined to be between 63 µm (9 µm + 25 µm + 25 µm + 2 µm + 2 µm) to 210 µm (30 µm + 85 µm + 85 µm + 5 µm + 5 µm).
The range of thickness of the laminate of Minamibori overlaps with the instant claimed range of thickness of the laminate. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 41, Minamibori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26.
Minamibori teaches the heat-sealable resin layer may be a multi-layer structure (Paragraph 0051) comprising a first sealant layer (Figure 1, Element 21), a second sealant layer (Figure 1, Element 22), and a third sealant layer (Figure 1, Element 52) (Paragraph 0052), meeting the instant claimed limitation of the heat-sealable resin layer formed of two or more layers.
Minamibori teaches the third sealant layer may be exemplified by a copolymer of the same composition as the first sealant layer (Paragraph 0076), however Minamibori also teaches that the disclosure does not limit the materials of the layers other than the first sealant material (Paragraph 0075) and teaches the additional sealant layers may comprise a plurality of kinds of polymers (Paragraph 0077). Thus, Minamibori teaches the two or more layers of the heat-sealable resin layer use the same or different resins, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 43, Minamibori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26, wherein at least one of a surface and an inside of the heat-sealable resin layer contains lubricant (Paragraph 0061).
Minamibori does not explicitly teach the lubricant in the heat-sealable resin layer is two or more lubricants. However, Minamibori discloses many possible materials suitable for use as the lubricating agent, including saturated fatty acid amide, unsaturated fatty acid amide, substituted amide, methylolamide, saturated fatty acid bisamide, unsaturated fatty acid bisamide, fatty acid ester amide, and aromatic bisamide (Paragraph 0062).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to have selected and combined at least two lubricating compositions from the finite lists of possible combinations taught by Minamibori to arrive at the lubricant composition of the instant claim since the combination of components would have yielded predictable results as a heat-sealable resin layer with sufficient formability (Paragraph 0071), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Regarding claim 44, Minamibori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26.
Minamibori teaches that the thickness of the barrier layer is preferably 20 µm to 100 µm, particularly preferably 25 µm to 85 µm (Paragraph 0084). The range of thickness of the barrier layer of Minamibori overlaps with the instant claimed range of thickness of the barrier layer. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 48, Minamibori discloses the power storage device comprising a power storage device element comprising at least a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte, the power storage device element being housed in a package formed of the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26 (Paragraphs 0095-0097).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamibori as applied to claims 26, 28-29, 31 41, 43-44, 48 above, and further in view of Hironori (Japanese Patent Publication No. 2020187976 A).
Regarding claim 27, Minamibori teaches the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26.
Minamibori is silent as to the polyamide film has a crystallization index of 1.50 or more, as measured by Fourier transfer infrared spectroscopy using ATR.
However, Hironori discloses an exterior material for a power storage device (Paragraph 0012) which includes a laminate including a base material layer, a barrier layer, and a heat-fusible resin layer (Paragraph 0010). Hironori also teaches the base material layer includes a polyamide film (Paragraph 0014). Hironori teaches the crystallization index (ATR method) of the base material layer measured by the ATR method of the Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy is preferably 1.50 or more in order to effectively suppress breakage of the power storage device exterior material at the time of peeling (Paragraph 0023). Hironori also discloses that the crystallization index of the polyamide film included in the base material layer may be increased by including a method to promote crystallization by the stretching ratio, heat fixing temperature, and or time/temperature of the post heating in the manufacturing process (Paragraph 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polyamide film of Minamibori to incorporate the teachings of Hironori in which the crystallization index, as measured by Fourier transfer infrared spectroscopy using ATR, is 1.50 or more. Doing so would advantageously result in the suppression of breakage of the power storage device exterior material at the time of peeling, as recognized by Hironori.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamibori as applied to claims 26, 28-29, 31 41, 43-44, 48 above, and further in view of Murata (Japanese Patent Publication No. 2013025980 A).
Regarding claim 30, Minamibori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26.
Minamibori teaches that the heat-sealable resin layer is bonded to the barrier layer via a second adhesive layer (Figure 1, Element 14) (Paragraph 0050). Thus, Minamibori teaches the power storage device packaging material comprises an adhesive layer between the barrier layer and the heat-sealable resin layer, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 1 of Minamibori
Minamibori is silent as to the thickness of the adhesive layer is 30 µm or more and 50 µm or less.
However, Murata discloses a laminate for a battery container (Paragraphs 17, 19) comprising a multilayered structure including a substrate, adhesive layer, barrier layer (aluminum foil), and sealant layer (Paragraphs 19, 21). Kenta teaches the adhesive resin layer (Figure 1, Element 25) used to adhere the sealing layer (heat-fusible resin layer) to the barrier layer (aluminum foil), located therebetween. Murata discloses as the thickness of the adhesive resin layer is preferably 1 µm to 40 µm in order to obtain sufficient adhesive strength and prevent moisture permeation (Paragraph 45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesive layer of Minamibori to incorporate the teachings of Murata in which the adhesive layer comprises a thickness of 1 µm to 40 µm. Doing so would advantageously result in sufficient adhesive strength and prevent moisture permeation, as recognized by Murata.
The thickness of the adhesive layer as a result of the modification overlaps with the instant claimed range, thus prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitations are met.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamibori as applied to claims 26, 28-29, 31 41, 43-44, 48 above, and further in view of Kenta (Japanese Patent Publication No. 2017069203 A).
Regarding claim 42, Minamibori discloses the power storage device packaging material according to claim 26.
Minamibori is silent as to at least one of a surface and an inside of the base material layer contains two or more lubricants.
However Kenta discloses a packaging material for a battery (Paragraph 12) comprising a laminate comprising, in order from the outside, a base material layer, a barrier layer, an adhesive resin layer, and a heat-fusible resin layer (Paragraph 13). Kenta teaches that the base material layer may be made to have low friction in order to improve formability, which is achieved by a thin layer of lubricant included in the formation of the base layer (Paragraph 30). Kenta teaches that the thin film layer of lubricant can be formed from a plurality of materials, and may be formed of a combination of two or more lubricants (Paragraph 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Minamibori to incorporate further teachings of Kenta in which at least one surface of the base material contains two or more lubricants. Doing so would advantageously result in reduced friction of the base material layer and in turn, improved formability, as recognized by Kenta.
Conclusion
/O.A.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789