Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because of the phrase “according to any one of claim 1”. It should have been written as “according to claim 1”. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a pressurizing mechanism” in claims 1, 3, 5, and 7.
Paragraph [0024] discloses the pressurizing mechanism 2 is a mechanism including the diaphragm 21, and capable of applying pressure to a back surface 102b of the joining target 102 using the diaphragm 21 from an opposite side to the table 112. In the present embodiment, the pressurizing mechanism 2 is composed of the diaphragm 21, and a driving unit 22 that actuates the diaphragm 21. Particulars thereof will be described below.
Paragraph [0026] discloses the driving unit 22 transmits pressure to the diaphragm 21 using a pressure medium 221, thereby actuating the diaphragm 21. More specifically, the pressure medium 221 is packed in between the diaphragm 21 and the top plate 122 inside the second chamber structure unit 12. The driving unit 22 changes pressure to be applied to the pressure medium 221, thereby actuating the diaphragm 21 through the pressure medium 221. Here, the pressure medium 221 may be liquid or gas.
Paragraph [0037] discloses in the above-described configuration with the heater 4, liquid is preferable to gas for the pressure medium 221. The reason for this is that, as liquid has higher heat conductivity than gas, heat is exchanged more efficiently between the heat exchange part 41 and the diaphragm 21 through the pressure medium 221, thereby facilitating transmission of heat of the heater 4 to the diaphragm 21.
Paragraph [0046] discloses the pressurizing mechanism 7 includes a pressure- contact unit 71 with the pressure-contact surface 71a, and a driving unit 72. The pressure-contact unit 71 is provided at each of places of the second chuck unit 52 facing the through holes 51c. The pressure-contact unit 71 is provided movably in a direction perpendicular to the lower surface 521a of the base body 521 (here, vertical direction), and is movable to a protruding position where the pressure-contact surface 71a protrudes downward from the lower surface 521a of the base body 521. The driving unit 72 is an air cylinder, for example, and allows pressurization to a target brought into contact with the pressure-contact surface 71a.In the present embodiment, the driving unit 72 biases the pressure- contact unit 71 downward to move the pressure-contact unit 71 to the protruding position.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "13" and "22" have both been used to designate “a driving unit”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "2" and "7" have both been used to designate “a pressurizing mechanism”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, recites the limitation "the joining target" at lines 8 and 12 in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear and indefinite to the relationship between “the joining target” and “two joining targets” at line 2 and to whether they are the same or different. Further clarification is required to either further differentiate (the joining target) or provide proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 5, recites the limitation "the joining target" at line 15 in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear and indefinite to the relationship between “the joining target” and “two joining targets” at line 2 and to whether they are the same or different. Further clarification is required to either further differentiate (the joining target) or provide proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 7, recites the limitation "the joining target" at lines 9 and 16 in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear and indefinite to the relationship between “the joining target” and “two joining targets” at line 2 and to whether they are the same or different. Further clarification is required to either further differentiate (the joining target) or provide proper antecedent basis.
The dependent claims are rejected for their inherited deficiencies on rejected independent claims 1 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20110309057) in view of Kinoshita (US 20150352672).
Regarding to claim 1, Lin discloses a joining apparatus 100, 300 (figs. 4, 5, i.e. called a laser heating apparatus) that connects a first metal layer (202, 402 )and a second metal layer (206, 406) formed on respective joint surfaces of two joining targets (204, 108, 404, 308) to each other through joining using laser light (not labeled, see figure 4, i.e. indicated by an arrow), thereby joining the joint surfaces of the two joining targets to each other, the joining apparatus comprising (¶ 0012):
a table (102, 302) having permeability (1024, i.e. a hole) to the laser light and on which the two joining targets are to be placed while the first metal layer (202, 402) and the second metal layer (206, 406) face each other (¶ 0034);
a pressurizing mechanism (104, 304) including a diaphragm, and capable of applying pressure to a back surface of the joining target using the diaphragm from an opposite side to the table (102, 302) (¶ 0010, 0038);
a laser light source (106) that emits the laser light (not labeled, see figure 4, i.e. indicated by an arrow) (¶ 0035); and
Lin discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for a controller that brings the first metal layer and the second metal layer into contact with each other by applying pressure to the back surface of the joining target using the diaphragm while the two joining targets are placed on the table, and while maintaining the resultant state, applies the laser light to a place of contact between the first metal layer and the second metal layer through the table.
However, Kinoshita teaches a controller (60, i.e. a control unit) that brings the first metal layer (21) and the second metal layer (22) into contact with each other by applying pressure to the back surface of the joining target (71, 72) using the diaphragm while the two joining targets (71, 72) are placed on the table, and while maintaining the resultant state, applies the laser light (51) to a place of contact between the first metal layer (21) and the second metal layer (22) through the table (¶ 0010, 0033).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of joining/welding/bonding metal members. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lin and Kinoshita before him or her, to include such controller of Kinoshita because it holds the one metal member superposed on the other metal member with the protrusion therebetween while maintaining the positions of the plurality of metal members in the in-plane direction with the jig unit, and irradiates the laser light from the laser irradiation unit to perform welding. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it maintains the position in the in-plane direction, and laser light is irradiated on the superposed region to weld the plurality of metal members to each other (abstract).
With respect to claim 2, Lin in view of Kinoshita discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Lin further discloses a heater (15, 17, 26) that heats the joining targets (2), wherein during application of the laser light (i.e. a laser beam) to the contact place, the controller causes the heater (15, 17, 26) to heat the joining targets (2) at a temperature lower than a temperature required for the joining using the laser light (i.e. a laser beam) (¶ 0005, 0007, 0035).
With respect to claim 3, Lin in view of Kinoshita discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Kinoshita further discloses wherein a pressure medium (114, 194, 204) through which pressure is transmitted to the diaphragm in the pressurizing mechanism is liquid (i.e. fluid pressure) (¶ 0137, 0165-0166), and the heater is arranged on an opposite side to the table with respect to the diaphragm and the pressure medium (114, 194, 204) is interposed between the heater and the diaphragm (¶ 0075).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lin and Kinoshita before him or her, to include such pressure medium of Kinoshita because it holds the one metal member superposed on the other metal member with the protrusion therebetween while maintaining the positions of the plurality of metal members in the in-plane direction with the jig unit, and irradiates the laser light from the laser irradiation unit to perform welding. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it maintains the position in the in-plane direction, and laser light is irradiated on the superposed region to weld the plurality of metal members to each other (abstract).
With respect to claim 4, Lin in view of Kinoshita discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Lin further discloses wherein the heater (15, 17, 26) is a heat exchanger that uses constant-temperature water adjusted to a predetermined temperature as a heating medium (i.e. gas) (¶ 0005-0008, 0010, 046).
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Lin (US 20110309057) in view of Kinoshita (US 20150352672) and Tsuno et al. (US 20150249026).
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Kinoshita discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 1 (same features) including of which Lin further discloses a first chuck unit (12, i.e. a suction nozzle) including a suction surface (i.e. a suction surface part P) to which a back surface of one of the two joining targets (P i.e. called a part) is to be sucked (¶ 0004, 0006-0009); an alignment mechanism (8, i.e. an alignment unit 8) that adjusts the positions of the two joining targets relative to each other in such a manner as to locate the first metal layer (13) and the second metal layer (14) in a facing relationship while the two joining targets are sucked to the first chuck unit (12) and the second chuck unit (¶ 0007-0009), except for a second chuck unit including a suction surface to which a back surface of the other of the two joining targets is to be sucked.
However, Tsuno et al. teaches a second chuck unit 40a/8a (fig. 1, i.e. called a target moving mechanism/the target holding substrate) including a suction surface (see figure 1) to which a back surface (not labeled) of the other of the two joining targets (7) is to be sucked (¶ 0053).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of bonding/joining apparatus. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lin in view of Kinoshita and Tsuno before him or her, to include such holding element of Tsuno because the positions and orientations of the target holding substrates and so as to control the thickness of the intermediate layer formed on the substrate surface in the direction orthogonal to the substrate surface, the uniformity of the thickness, and the uniformity of the concentrations of materials of the intermediate layer. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it improves the manufacturing yield of the devices using the substrates bonded though the room-temperature bonding and the reliability of the devices. It is possible to reduce a possibility that the manufacturing line of the devices using the substrates bonded by the room-temperature bonding is polluted with the impurity (¶ 0034).
With respect to claim 6, Lin in view of Kinoshita and Tsuno discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Tsuno further discloses wherein the joining apparatus adjusts (i.e. a bonding apparatus) the positions of the two joining targets (7) relative to each other and performs preliminary joining intended to maintain the adjusted relative positions before the joining at the joining apparatus according to claims 1 (¶ 0031, 0050, 0060-0061).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lin in view of Kinoshita and Tsuno before him or her, to include such an adjustment arrangements of Tsuno because the positions and orientations of the target holding substrates and so as to control the thickness of the intermediate layer formed on the substrate surface in the direction orthogonal to the substrate surface, the uniformity of the thickness, and the uniformity of the concentrations of materials of the intermediate layer. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it improves the manufacturing yield of the devices using the substrates bonded though the room-temperature bonding and the reliability of the devices. It is possible to reduce a possibility that the manufacturing line of the devices using the substrates bonded by the room-temperature bonding is polluted with the impurity (¶ 0034).
With respect to claim 7, Lin in view of Kinoshita and Tsuno discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above in combination of claims 1 and 5 (same features).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reis (US 20050205533).
Conclusion
/KET D DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761