DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendment and reply filed April 3, 2026 have been received and entered into the case. Claims 2 and 4 are canceled; claims 1, 3, 5 - 19 are pending; claims 6 - 19 are withdrawn; claims 1, 3 and 5 have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 3 are drawn to any variant of Helicoverpa zea wherein the H. zea is resistant to Vip3Aa and wherein it has one or more nucleic acid variations while claim 5 requires the variations to be single nucleotide polymorphism. These claims are considered genus claims that encompass a wide array of H. zea variants. The specification fails to set forth a representative number of examples in order to reasonably verify possession of such a potentially enormous number of variants. Rather, the specification discloses seven strains of H. zea selected for resistance to Vip3Aa over 33 generations (example 1), crossing 5 strains to create heterozygous strains with resistance and susceptibility to Vip3Aa, wherein resulting larvae are scored for resistance and prepared for DNA sequencing (example 2). The specification fails to identify any single or specific variant having the claimed activity and no variants having “one or more nucleic acid variations” or a “single nucleotide polymorphism.”
The MPEP states that written description for a genus can be achieved by a representative number of species within a broad generic. It is unquestionable that the claims are broad generics, with respect to all variants of H. zea with any nucleic acid variation or any single nucleotide polymorphism that might result from natural selection, natural breeding, specific selective breeding or genetic manipulation of a strain.
The instant disclosure fails to identify a single variant having any single or specific nucleic acid variation or single nucleotide polymorphism. The possible variations of H. zea are limitless with potentially millions of types of strains let alone any variation thereof. Furthermore, claims 1 and 3 recite a composition of H. zea wherein the only limitations are interpreted as functional language, e.g., is resistant to Vip3Aa. A claim term is functional when it recites a feature by what it does rather than by what it is. Without reciting the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function or achieve the result, all means or methods of resolving the problem may be encompassed by the claim. In this instance, unlimited functional claim limitations that extend to all means or methods of achieving the claimed function is not adequately supported by the written description. MPEP 2173.05(g). Although claims 4 and 5 recite that the H. zea has nucleic acid variations or single nucleotide polymorphisms compared to a wild type, the specification fails to describe any variation or polymorphism within any strain of H. zea.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by them. A patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that the inventor invented the claimed invention. Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations" and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." The specification lacks sufficient variety of species of H. zea variants to reflect this variance in the genus since the specification does not provide any examples of such a genus of variants. Accordingly, the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of “a variant of H. zea” and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention Moreover, the specification neither describes the complete structure of a representative number of species, nor describes a representative number of species in terms of partial structure and relevant identifying characteristics. Absent of such teachings and guidance as to the structure and function of these variants, the specification does not describe the claimed variants, nucleic acid variations or single nucleotide polymorphisms in such full, clear, concise and exact terms so as to indicate that Applicant had possession of these variants at the time of filing of the present application.
Thus, the written description requirement has not been satisfied.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the specification teaches how to obtain genetic sequences of variants that are resistant to Vip3Aa. However, the claims encompass any variant at all having the claimed activity and any nucleic acid mutation. The specification describes the use of genomic analysis to identify mutations in particular strains having resistance, whereby these strains are crossed to increase resistance. However, the specification is silent to any nucleic acid mutation in these various disclosed strains. Further the specification fails to describe any specific mutation that causes the resistance increase as claimed.
Previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn due to the amendment requiring the nucleic acid mutations to cause the claimed functional attributes of the Helicoverpa zea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a Helicoverpa zea organism without significantly more.
Step 1: Yes, the claims are drawn to a Vip3Aa resistant H. zea variant which is a composition of matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: Yes, the claims are drawn to a Vip3Aa resistant H. zea, which is product of nature. The specification indicates the variants are obtained by selectively breeding H. zea for Vip3Aa resistance, however the prior art shows that H. zea with a Vip3Aa resistance ratio of 588-fold relative to susceptible populations is found in nature (See Yang et al., 2020, abstract).
Step 2A Prong 2: No, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the product of nature into a practical application.
Step 2B: No, the claims do not recite any additional elements that amount to significantly more than the product of nature.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the claims exhibit resistance of 50 fold compared to wild type and also has a nucleic acid mutation causing the resistance, however this argument and amendment fail to persuade. Specifically, Yang teaches field derived strains of H. zea having resistance of greater than 588-fold that of non-resistant strains (or wild type) expressing a "major resistance allele" conferring the high levels of Vip3Aa resistance. Moreover, the natural variant disclosed in Yang exhibits the claimed activity and also at least one nucleic acid mutation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yang et al. (2020, IDS filed 05.09.2024, NPL #8).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Yang teaches Helicoverpa zea populations (compositions) that are resistant to Vip3Aa (abstract) and have an LC50 value that is 588-fold compared to susceptible strains (table 2, p.4, Results), wherein the resistance is tied to an allelic variation (different versions of DNA that vary according to nucleotide base pairs, or nucleic acids) (abstract, p.3-4).
The reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Yang does not teach the strain with one or more nucleic acid mutations compared to the wild type.
However, this argument fails to persuade because Yang expressly teaches the strain has a major resistance allele (different versions of DNA that vary according to nucleotide base pairs, or nucleic acids) conferring the high resistance to Vip3Aa as compared to the wild type (abstract) indicating at least one nucleic acid mutation relative thereto.
No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699