DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 9-11 in the reply filed on 12/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/05/2025.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/PL2021/000085 (11/25/2021) which claims priority to PLP.436077 (11/25/2020) as reflected in the filing receipt issued on 09/28/2023.
The certified copy of the foreign priority document is not in English. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 08/25/2023 and 04/11/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
37 CFR 1.84 states “Character of lines, numbers and letters. All drawings must be made by a process that will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.”
In the current case, the text in Figure 8 is illegible, as it is blurry and it is difficult to read the graph axes and the sample labels and understand the information on the graphs. Additionally, some of the text in Figure 8 is not in English.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al., US 2006/0211032 A1, as evidenced by NCBI Reference Sequence: NP_002930.2 ribonuclease inhibitor.
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches a solution, or liquid formulation, comprising an RNase inhibitor protein in a buffer (Huang p. 4 para. 54). The buffer may be Promega Buffer B, which contains 6 mM Tris-HCl buffer at pH 7.5; and 50 mM of a monovalent salt, NaCl (Huang pp. 4-5 para. 54). This buffer does not contain glycerol.
The protein having an amino acid sequence according to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 is the wild type human placental RNase inhibitor protein (see NCBI ref.; instant specification p. 1 para. 1 and p. 3 para. 1). Huang teaches that the RNase inhibitor may be human placental RNase inhibitor (Huang p. 5 para. 56). As the human placental RNase inhibitor has a sequence according to SEQ ID NO: 1, it is expected that the RNase inhibitor of Huang has this same sequence. Thus, Huang teaches a liquid formulation comprising:
a protein having an amino acid sequence according to SEQ ID NO: 1;
a buffer of pH 7.0 to 8.2 in a concentration between 5 mM and 50 mM; and
a monovalent salt in a concentration between 5 mM and 100 mM; and
no glycerol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al., US 2006/0211032 A1, in view of Bretscher et al., Journal of Biological Chemistry; 275(14):9893-6, as evidenced by NCBI Reference Sequence: NP_002930.2 ribonuclease inhibitor.
Huang teaches an embodiment comprising the RNase inhibitor protein of SEQ ID NO: 1, a buffer, a monovalent salt, and no glycerol, which anticipates claim 9 as discussed above. This embodiment does not contain HEPES (claim 10) or potassium chloride (claim 11).
However, regarding claims 10-11, Huang teaches another embodiment comprising human placental RNase inhibitor protein with SEQ ID NO: 1 (see NCBI ref) in Promega Storage buffer, which contains 20 mM of HEPES-KOH buffer (HEPES adjusted with potassium hydroxide) at pH 7.6; and 50 mM of a monovalent salt, potassium chloride (KCl) (Huang pp. 4-5 para. 54). This embodiment contains glycerol. However, it would have been obvious to remove glycerol from this solution given the teachings of Bretscher.
Bretscher teaches a glycerol-free solution comprising an RNase inhibitor protein of undisclosed origin; 20 mM HEPES-HCl buffer at pH 7.6; and 50 mM of a monovalent salt, KCl (Bretscher p. 9894 “Preparation of Ribonuclease Inhibitor”). Bretscher teaches that the glycerol was removed because glycerol is a viscogen, which may lessen the accuracy of volumes delivered by pipette (Bretscher p. 9894 “Preparation of Ribonuclease Inhibitor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to remove glycerol from the formulation taught by Huang comprising HEPES-KOH and KCl, thus resulting in a formulation comprising the protein according to SEQ ID NO: 1, HEPES-KOH (claim 10), potassium chloride (claim 11); and no glycerol. The solutions taught by Huang and Bretscher both comprise an RNase inhibitor protein and the same type of buffer and monovalent salt. It would have been obvious that the composition of Huang could be modified to remove the glycerol as taught by Bretscher for a similar formulation.
A skilled artisan would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to remove glycerol from the formulation comprising RI, HEPES-KOH, and KCl taught by Huang, because Bretscher teaches that removal of glycerol from a similar RI solution has the benefit of improved pipetting accuracy, which is useful when using the formulation to perform assays that require pipetting small volumes. A skilled artisan could expect success in making this modification to the formulation of Huang given the teachings of Bretscher that glycerol can be successfully and beneficially removed from a similar RNase inhibitor liquid formulation.
Conclusion
Claims 9-11 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/EMILY F EIX/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653