SECONDARY BATTERY, AND BATTERY PACK AND VEHICLE COMPRISING SAME
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/4/2025, 7/25/2024, 5/15/2024, and 5/3/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (WO 2021/024734 A1 using US 2022/0149490 A1 as an English language translation.).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi et al. teach a secondary battery (Abstract; Figure 1, element 1) comprising:
an electrode assembly (Fig. 3B, 5, element 20 discloses a wound electrode body.) in which first (Fig. 2, element 21 discloses a positive electrode.) and second electrodes (Fig. 2, element 22 discloses a negative electrode.) and a separator (Fig. 2, element 23 discloses a separator.) provided between the first and second electrodes are wound (Paragraph 0040 disclose the positive and negative electrodes, elements 21 and 22 respectively, are spirally wound with the separator, element 23, interposed therebetween.), the first and second electrodes each comprising a non-coated portion disposed at a long side end thereof, exposed to an outside of the separator, and having no active material applied thereto (Fig. 2, elements 21C and 22C disclose a positive electrode active material non-covered portion and a negative electrode active material non-covered portion respectively.); and
a current collecting plate provided at one end of the electrode assembly at which the non-coated portion of the first electrode is exposed (Fig. 4C, element 24 discloses a positive electrode current collector plate. Further, paragraph 0046 and Fig. 5 disclose the active material non-covered portions, elements 21C and/or 22C, are welded to the current collector plate, elements 24 and/or 25.), the current collecting plate comprising a central portion corresponding to a core of the electrode assembly (Paragraph 0066; Fig. 4C, element 35 discloses a hole located at the center of current collector plate, element 24.), and a peripheral portion provided around the central portion and configured to adjoin one end of the electrode assembly (Paragraph 0066; Fig. 4C, element 31 discloses a circular plate-like portion which comprises a periphery of the current collector plate.),
wherein the peripheral portion comprises one or more first through-holes (Fig. 4C, 5, element 39A discloses openings.) penetrated by at least a part of the non-coated portion of the first electrode (Paragraph 0067; Figs 1 and 4C disclose the active material non-covered portion, element 21C, exposed at the end face, element 41, is processed such that the protruding portion, element 38A, enters and penetrates into the opening, element 39A, when the positive electrode current collector plate, element 24, is overlaid on the end face, element 41.).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the central portion of the current collecting plate further comprises a center hole provided in a portion corresponding to the core of the electrode assembly (Fig. 4C, element 35 discloses a hole at the center.).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the non-coated portion of the first electrode exposed to the outside through the first through-holes of the current collecting plate is bent one or more times in a direction toward the core of the electrode assembly (Fig. 7, element 21C discloses a positive electrode active material non-covered portion is bent in the direction of the central axis of the wound structure and overlaps to form the second flat portion.).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the one or more first through-holes comprise two or more first through-holes spaced apart from one another in a winding direction of the electrode assembly (Fig. 4C discloses two concentric rings of four slits, element 39A (openings).).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the peripheral portion of the current collecting plate comprises one or more first through-hole groups, each of the first through-hole groups comprising two or more first through-holes of the one or more first through-holes spaced apart from one another in a direction from the central portion toward one outer peripheral portion (Fig. 4C discloses four groups in a 90° sector, each comprising two through holes spaced apart in radial outward direction. See annotated figure below.).
Fig. 4C of Takahashi
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 5, wherein each of the first through-hole groups comprises two to six first through-holes of the one or more first through-holes spaced apart from one another in the direction from the central portion toward one outer peripheral portion (Fig. 4C discloses each through-hole group comprises two holes. See annotated figure 4C in paragraph 14 above.).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 5, wherein the one or more first through-hole groups comprises two to six first through-hole groups, and the first through-hole groups are disposed to be spaced apart from one another in a winding direction of the electrode assembly (Fig. 4C discloses four through-hole groups, element 39A (openings) circled in annotated figure below.).
PNG
image3.png
100
100
image3.png
Greyscale
Fig. 4C of Takahashi
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 5, wherein the one or more first through-hole groups comprise two first through-hole groups, and the two first through-hole groups face each other with the central portion interposed therebetween (See annotated figure 4C below wherein the through-hole groups are diametrically opposite each other.).
PNG
image5.png
100
100
image5.png
Greyscale
Fig. 4C of Takahashi
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 5, wherein the one or more first through-hole groups comprise three to six first through-hole groups, and the first through-hole groups are disposed to be spaced apart from one another in a winding direction of the electrode assembly (Fig. 4C, see annotated figure in paragraph 17 above, shows all groups, element 39A, are disposed to be spaced apart from one another in a concentric manner around the hole, element 35.).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein each of the first through-holes has a slit or dot shape (Fig. 4C, element 39A discloses slits.).
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the peripheral portion of the current collecting plate further comprises one or more second through-holes (Fig. 4C shows there are four through holes are the peripheral portion. See annotated figure below.).
PNG
image7.png
100
100
image7.png
Greyscale
Fig. 4C of Takahashi
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the current collecting plate further comprises an electrode tab (Fig. 4C, element 32).
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi et al. teach a battery pack comprising a plurality of secondary batteries according to claim 1 (Claim 9; paragraphs 0085-0087 disclose a battery pack comprising a plurality of secondary batteries.).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi et al. teach a vehicle comprising at least one battery pack according to claim 15 (Paragraph 0004; claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (WO 2021/024734 A1 using US 2022/0149490 A1 as an English language translation.) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mori et al. (US 2006/0019158 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein at least one of the first through-holes adjoins an edge of the current collecting plate.
Mori et al. teach a battery comprising a collector plate (Abstract: Fig. 2, element 15). Further, the collector plate has at least one through-holes which adjoins the edge of the current collecting plate (Paragraph 0058 discloses FIG. 2 shows, in addition to flange structures, elements 152 to 155, cut-out structures, element 156, used for positioning are formed at four regions on the main surface of the connection area, element 15b. The four cut-out structures, element 156, are used as guides on the XY plane for positioning the positive collector plate, element 15, on the electrode assembly, element 12. Note that a flange may be formed on the edge of each cut-out structure that adjoins the opening, for contributing to the connection to the positive electrode plate, element 121.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi with Mori in order to provide low internal resistance and high efficiency in which connection points to a collector plate are evenly distributed on the electrode plate and the number of the connection points is increasable.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (WO 2021/024734 A1 using US 2022/0149490 A1 as an English language translation.) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Byun et al. (US 2010/0216001 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi et al. teach the secondary battery of claim 5, wherein the one or more first through-hole groups comprise two or more first through-holes groups (See annotated figure 4C in paragraph 16 above.). However, they do not teach wherein the peripheral portion of the current collecting plate further comprises one or more second through-holes, each second through-hole being provided between two adjacent first through-hole groups.
Byun et al. teach a current collector plate (Fig. 4a, 5, element 20) wherein the peripheral portion of the current collecting plate further comprises one or more second through-holes (Fig. 4a, 5, element 24 discloses electrolyte solution injection holes.), each second through-hole being provided between two adjacent first through-hole groups (Fig. 4a, 5 shows the electrolyte solution injection holes, element 24, being between two adjacent through-holes, such as slits, element 26.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi with Byun in order to improve welding efficiency.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 January 27th, 2026