DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22, and 24-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shintani et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0043298).
Claims 21, 22, 24, and 25: Shintani et al. teach a method for cleaning hollow fiber membranes the method comprising a first cleaning step of backwashing [0065] and a second step of air scrubbing [0065]. The backwashing occurs when at least 50% by volume or greater of water in the module is removed [0062]. The backwashing and air scrubbing can be performed simultaneously [0065]. Shintani et al. keep the orientation of the membrane modules [0057, “while keeping the clarification membranes 1 so that the position of the open ends 2 above the position of the closed ends 3” and 0062, they title this the “open-end high-position backwashing step”].
Claim 26, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, and 33: following cleaning, there is a “third cleaning” wherein the suspended component is discharged [0060]. The “third cleaning” involves flushing water through the rawside and drawing it down [0060, 0070-0071]. Further, additional cleanings are taught including cleanings requiring passing of fluid from the filtrate side through the raw side [0088].
Claim 34: the hollow fiber membrane module comprises a hollow fiber membrane bundle comprising hollow fiber membranes [0012], a housing [0012, Fig. 1, 4], an adhesive portion by which both ends of the hollow fiber membrane bundle are adhesively fixed [0045-0046], an inlet [0021, element 6], filtered water port [0021, 0025, 0048], and a cleaning outlet [0048, drain nozzle 7].
Claim 35: the membranes are ultrafiltration membranes [0099] or microfiltration membranes [0100].
Claim 36: the membranes are potted at both the upper end and the lower ends using a potting material [0045-0046, i.e. a resin].
Claim 37 : Shintani et al. teach a method for cleaning hollow fiber membranes the method comprising a first cleaning step of backwashing [0065] and a second step of air scrubbing [0065]. The backwashing occurs when at least 50% by volume or greater of water in the module is removed [0062]. The backwashing and air scrubbing can be performed simultaneously [0065]. Shintani et al. keep the orientation of the membrane modules [0057, “while keeping the clarification membranes 1 so that the position of the open ends 2 above the position of the closed ends 3” and 0062, they title this the “open-end high-position backwashing step”]. The water is removed during a reverse-flow cleaning treatment by passing water from a filtered water side to a raw water side [0057, wherein during cleaning the drain valve is open and water is backwashed through the membrane and 0060, wherein the water level should be kept as low as possible]. Then, after the open-end high-position backwashing step, the membranes are scrubbed with air [0065].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shintani et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0043298).
Claim 23: Shintani et al. teach separation of components of various sizes depending on the intended use [0099] but not specifically a mass percentage removed. However, the mass percentage of suspended components removed depends on the amount of suspended components in the initial solution, which varies by sample, and the specifics of the membranes. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to optimize he amount of % by mass of suspended components removed to be greater than 7% as the goal is to clean the water and an ultimate goal would be 100% removal of suspended components. It is also noted that Shintani et al. teach the same fluid incoming and the same membrane module and therefore it would be expected that the membrane module would function in the same way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/19/2016 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Shintani et al. necessarily and unequivocally require some membrane re-orientation during cleaning.
While in some embodiments, they do teach this, it is clear in the embodiment relied upon for the rejection that Shintani et al. keep the orientation just as it was during filtration. See [0057] that clearly teaches “keeping the clarification membranes 1 so that the position of the open ends 2 is above the position of the closed ends 3”. As discussed in MPEP 2123, “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
With respect to new claim 37, please see the rejection above. Applicant misinterprets Shintani et al.’s teachings and from [0061] it is clear that water remains during backwashing and is filtered down during backwashing. [0065] clearly teaches air scrubbing following open-end high-position backwashing step.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALLISON FITZSIMMONS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/ALLISON G FITZSIMMONS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773