Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18128933, filed on 3-31-2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11-11-25; 4-21-2025; 1-27-2025, 10-24-2024, 5-3-2023 and 6-26-2024 were filed after the mailing date on 5-3-2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over MASAAKI EP-1202371-B1, hereinafter MASAAKI
Regarding Claim 1, MASAAKI teaches an electrode assembly (2, Fig. 1), comprising:
an electrode laminate [0059];
a protective block (frame) that wraps around an edge portion of the electrode laminate (19, Fig. 1); and
MASAAKI’s embodiment of fig. 1 does not teach at least one fixing tape is wound around an outer surface of the electrode laminate and an outer surface of the protective block in a full width direction or a full-length direction. However, MASAAKI’s third embodiment teaches a fixing tape wound around an outer surface of the electrode laminate in a full width direction (64, Fig. 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use MASAAKI’s third Embodiment fixing tapes in MASAAKI’s preferred battery casing with protective blocks (frame) to reliably withstand vibration or impact [0090]. Wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that combining the frame and tape elements from the different embodiments of Masaaki for the same purpose would lead to a third variation for the very same purpose MPEP 2144.06.
wherein the protective block (19) is made up of a first protective panel (31, Fig. 1), and a second protective panel (32, Fig. 1) extending vertically from one longitudinal side of the first protective panel (31, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 2, MASAAKI teaches the protective block (frame 19)
wraps around the edge portion in the full-length direction of the electrode laminate (19, Fig 2)
wraps around the edge portion in the full width direction of the electrode laminate except for an electrode tab (37, Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 3, MASAAKI teaches the four protective blocks
a) wrap around the corner four respective edge portions of the electrode laminate in the full-length direction, and are provided at each of the four respective edge portions in the full-length direction of the electrode laminate (23,24, Fig. 2)
b) wrap around the four respective edge portions in the full width direction of the electrode laminate except for the electrode tab, and are provided at each of the four respective edge portions in the full width direction of the electrode laminate (34,37, Fig.3)
Regarding Claim 6, MASAAKI teaches the protective blocks has a separation distance from an adjacent one of the protective blocks (22, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 7, MASAAKI teaches the protective block (frame 19) is manufactured from polypropylene [0059].
Regarding Claim 8, MASAAKI’s third embodiment teaches at least one fixing tape is a plurality of fixing tapes provided at a plurality of positions and spaced apart from each other (64,67, Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 9, MASAAKI’s third embodiment teaches that at least one fixing tape is wound around the outer surface (pointed corners) of the electrode laminate and the outer surface (pointed corners) of the protective block by one or more turns in the full width direction (64,67, Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 10, MASAAKI’s third embodiment teaches that at least one fixing tape is a plurality of fixing tapes are fixed at symmetrical positions relative to a full width line on a midpoint in the full length direction of the electrode assembly (64,67, Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 11, MASAAKI’s preferred embodiment does not teach that at least one fixing tape is wound around the outer surface of the electrode laminate and the outer surface of the protective block by one or more turns in the full length direction. However, MASAAKI’s third embodiment teaches at least one fixing tape is wound around the outer surface of the electrode laminate by one or more turns in the full length direction (68, Fig. 16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use MASAAKI’s third Embodiment fixing tapes in MASAAKI’s preferred battery casing with protective blocks so that the inside resin layer of the laminate sheet is protected from pointed corners or sharp edges of the electrode assembly even when the battery is subjected to vibration or impact [0086].
Regarding Claim 12, MASAAKI’s third embodiment teaches that at least one fixing tape is a plurality of fixing tapes fixed at symmetrical positions relative to a full length line on a midpoint in the full width direction of the electrode assembly (64,67, Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 13, MASAAKI’s preferred embodiment does not teach that the electrode laminate has a separator interposed between a positive electrode and a negative electrode; and has a shape in which a length in the full length direction of the electrode laminate is longer than a length in the full width direction orthogonal to the full length direction. However, MASAAKI’s third embodiment teaches a separator (12) interposed between a positive electrode (9) and a negative electrode (4) ; and has a shape in which a length in the full length direction of the electrode laminate is longer than a length in the full width direction orthogonal to the full length direction ([0085] & 12, Fig. 37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use MASAAKI’s third Embodiment separator in MASAAKI’s preferred battery casing to prevent positive and negative electrode plates from contacting the laminate sheet casing [0053]
Regarding Claim 14, MASAAKI teaches An electrode assembly, comprising:
an electrode laminate [0059];
four protective blocks that each wrap around a respective one of four edge portions of the electrode laminate (23,24,31,32, Fig. 2); and
MASAAKI’s preferred embodiment does not teach at least one fixing tape is wound around an outer surface of the electrode laminate and an outer surface of the protective block in a full width direction or a full-length direction. However, MASAAKI’s third embodiment teaches a fixing tape wound around an outer surface of the electrode laminate in a full width direction (64, Fig. 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use MASAAKI’s third Embodiment fixing tapes in MASAAKI’s preferred battery casing with protective blocks to reliably withstand vibration or impact [0090].
wherein the protective block (frame)is made up of a first protective panel (31, Fig. 1), and a second protective panel (32, Fig. 1) extending vertically from one longitudinal side of the first protective panel (31, Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/TELGE SHAVINDA PEIRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724