Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending with claims 12-20 being examined and claims 1-11 considered withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
As to the claim amendments and remarks filed on 05/26/2026, Examiner has found applicants arguments not persuasive.
The previous rejection is maintained and the arguments will be addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guckenberger et al. (US 20170199107 A1); hereafter “Guckenberger” already of record).
Regarding claim 12, Guckenberger teaches a sample analyzer (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 10) comprising:
a support platform for receiving a well tray (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 148 and [0048]), wherein the support platform comprises:
an upper surface (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 152 and [0048]);
a registration feature connected to the upper surface (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 156), wherein the registration feature is configured for receiving, in a predetermined orientation, the well tray (Guckenberger; [0048] “plurality of ridges 156 define cavities configured to receive sample plate”);
at least one edge surface connected to the upper surface (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 112, 132 edge of work bed 132 where magnetic base 112 is placed),
wherein the at least one edge surface at least partially defines a slot for slidably receiving a removable magnet (Guckenberger; [0089] “bottom magnet is a free floating magnet”) and a magnet receiver defined by the support platform and in communication with the slot (Guckenberger; [0094] “magnetic base 112 may include a plurality of bottom magnets mounted withing the bottom magnet mounting cavity”).
Regarding claim 13, Guckenberger teaches the sample analyzer of claim 12 (see above), wherein the magnet receiver is configured to slidably receive the removable magnet (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 112, 132, 148 and [0048] work bed 132 includes a support plate 148 that is mounted on a translating plate wherein the magnetic base is mounted on the support plate).
Regarding claim 14, Guckenberger teaches the sample analyzer of claim 12 (see above), wherein the registration feature (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 156) is disposed so as to align the registration feature with the magnet receiver (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 112, 156).
Regarding claim 16, Guckenberger teaches the sample analyzer of claim 12 (see above), wherein the support platform at least partially defines an access opening in communication with the magnet receiver (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 112, 148, 152 and [0089]).
Regarding claim 17, Guckenberger teaches the sample analyzer of claim 12 (see above), wherein the registration feature comprises the removable magnet (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 112, 152).
Regarding claim 18, Guckenberger teaches the sample analyzer of claim 12 (see above), wherein the registration feature comprises a plurality of projections extending from the upper surface (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 156 and [0048] “three ridges”), wherein the plurality of projections define a registration area therebetween (Guckenberger; [0048] “the ridges define a plurality of cavities”).
Regarding claim 19, Guckenberger teaches the sample analyzer of claim 18 (see above), wherein the magnet receiver comprises a receiver area (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 112, 156 and [0048] “cavity may be configured to receive magnetic base 112”).
Regarding claim 20, Guckenberger teaches the sample analyzer of claim 19 (see above), wherein the receiver area (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 132 and [0047]) is greater than the registration area (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 132, 156 illustrates the receiver area 132is greater than the cavity formed by ridges 156 in order to fit magnet 112).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guckenberger et al. (US 20170199107 A1); hereafter “Guckenberger” already of record).
Regarding claim 15, Guckenberger teaches the sample analyzer of claim 12 (see above) to include a removable magnet (see above).
Guckenberger does not teach the removable magnet comprises a tab, wherein the tab is configured to project from the at least one edge surface when the removable magnet is disposed in the magnet receiver.
However, the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (MPEP § 2143). It would have been obvious to include a tab on the removable magnet in Guckenberger, in order to handle the magnet at the receiver area.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claim 12, Applicant argues Guckenberger does not teach at least one edge surface that at least partially defines a slot for slidably receiving a removable magnet. Applicant further argues the component that houses the magnet in Guckenberger is not the support platform.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that Guckenberger teaches the at least one edge surface at least partially defines a slot for slidably receiving a removable magnet. Specifically, Guckenberger teaches work bed 132 includes support plate 148 configured to receive magnetic base 112 (Guckenberger; fig. 1. 112, 132, 148), wherein magnetic base includes free floating magnets 608 (Guckenberger; [0089]) that are placed between magnetic base and support platform 132, 148 (Guckenberger; fig. 12B 112, 608, 804, and fig. 1. 132, 148).
Applicant argues Guckenberger does not teach a magnet receiver defined by the support platform and in communication with the slot.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As mentioned above, Guckenberger [0094] teaches “magnetic base 112 may include a plurality of bottom magnets mounted within the bottom magnet mounting cavity”, and fig. 12B 112, 608, 804).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798