Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 6/5/23 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 (and its dependents) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claimed “gripping means” is not adequately described in the specification as to exactly what it actually is.
Claim 18 (and its dependents) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claimed “locking means” is not adequately described in the specification as to exactly what it actually is.
Claim 20 (and its dependents) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claimed “further gripping means” is not adequately described in the specification as to exactly what it actually is.
Claim 22 (and its dependents) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claimed “means of a further fastening device” is not adequately described in the specification as to exactly what it actually is.
Claim 26 (and its dependents) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claimed “further gripping means” & “locking means” are not adequately described in the specification as to what it actually is.
Claim 15 (and thus all claims) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 15 recites the broad recitation “a hollow body having a pot-shape”, and the claim also recites “in particular transport containers for semiconductor wafers or for EUV masks” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Removal of “, in particular” from line 1 should cure the issue.
Claim limitation “gripping means” and “locking means” (claim 18), “further gripping means” (claim 20), “means of a further fastening device” (claim 22), and “further gripping means” & “locking means” (claim 26) invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no description or insufficient description as to what exactly is meant by these limitation in the specification. Therefore, the claims (and their dependents) are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the second gripping section" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
There are numerous 112 issues for which the examiner has discussed some above. Applicant should review all claims for similar issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-18,21,25, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokusai (JPH07297260) in view of Sinfonia (JP2012064828).
Re claim 15, Kokusai teaches a device for handling a hollow body 9 having a pot-shape, in particular transport containers for semiconductor wafers or for EUV lithography masks, the device comprising: a wall (10, see figures) that surrounds an inner space; a [gripping and] moving device 29 arranged in the inner space for moving the hollow body within the inner space; and a wall opening 11 that is formed by the wall, the wall opening being closable by a closure body 16, the inner space is accessible through the wall opening, the closure body being movably supported in the device by means of a fastening unit 14,15 (see figures) and having a reception unit 21,22,etc. by which the hollow body is releasably connectable to the closure body.
Moving device 29 holds by gravity, but more active gripping and moving devices are known such as Sinfonia which has gripping / releasably connecting device (12, figure 9, etc.) for controlling positioning of hollow body K1,K2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Kokusai in view of Sinfonia as claimed in order to more actively control positioning of the hollow body.
Re claim 16, Kokusai teaches the fastening unit is formed as a hinge by which the closure body is rotatably fastened to the wall.
Re claim 17, Kokusai teaches the closure body is movable between a first position and a second position, with the closure body closing the wall opening in the first position and in the second position.
Re claim 18, Kokusai teaches the hollow body further includes: a first gripping section; and a second gripping section (section on 29) with the reception unit having locking means 21,22,etc. by which the closure body can cooperate with the hollow body using the first gripping section and the gripping and moving device 29 having gripping means (as already modified above) by which the gripping and moving device can cooperate with the hollow body using the second gripping section.
Re claim 21, Kokusai teaches the hollow body has a base wall and one or more side walls, an opening disposed opposite the base wall but does not mention a cover and cover handling unit.
Sinfonia teaches (see figures) a hollow body K1, K2 has a base wall and one or more side walls, an opening disposed opposite the base wall hollow a cover (not numbered) by which the opening is closable, the device having a cover handling unit 2,3 that is releasably connectable to the cover in order to control access to the hollow body interior. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Kokusai as claimed in order to control access to the interior of the hollow body.
Re claim 25, Kokusai teaches (see figures) an inherent method of handling the hollow body using the device in accordance with claim 15, said method comprising the following steps: moving the closure body into a first position in which the closure body releases the wall opening; supplying the hollow body to the reception unit and activating the reception unit to connect the hollow body to the closure body; and moving the closure body into a closed position in which the closure body closes the wall opening.
Claims 19-20,26, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokusai (JPH07297260) in view of Sinfonia (JP2012064828) and Daifuku (JP2020065015).
Re claim 19, Kokusai does not appear to mention how the hollow body is supplied / removed from the closure body. Daifuku teaches (figures 1-4) a further gripping and moving device 10 for supplying the hollow body 92 to the closure body 91a and for removing the hollow body from the closure body as well as the hollow body having a gripping section (see figures) for interfacing with further gripping and moving device 10 in order to supply and remove hollow bodies to the closure body & processing device 91,91a. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Kokusai in view of Daifuku as claimed in order to allow supply and removal of hollow bodies to the closure body & processing device.
Re claim 20, Kokusai as already modified teaches the further gripping and moving device has further gripping means (31 Daifuku) by which the further gripping and moving device can cooperate with the hollow body using a second gripping section.
Re claim 26, Kokusai does not appear to mention how the hollow body is supplied / removed from the closure body. Daifuku teaches (figures 1-4) a further gripping and moving device 10 for supplying the hollow body 92 to the closure body 91a and for removing the hollow body from the closure body as well as the hollow body having a gripping section (see figures) for interfacing with further gripping and moving device 10 in order to supply and remove hollow bodies to the closure body & processing device 91,91a. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Kokusai in view of Daifuku as claimed in order to allow supply and removal of hollow bodies to the closure body & processing device.
Kokusai as already modified teaches the further gripping and moving device has further gripping means (31 Daifuku) by which the further gripping and moving device can cooperate with the hollow body using a second gripping section. Thus Kokusai as already modified teaches an inherent method including the further steps: supplying the hollow body to the closure body by means of a further gripping and moving device that has further gripping means by which the further gripping and moving device is connected to the hollow body using the second gripping section; activating locking means of the reception unit for connecting the hollow body to the closure body using the first gripping section; releasing the further gripping and moving device from the second gripping section; moving the closure body into the closed position in which the closure body closes the wall opening; connecting the hollow body to the gripping and moving device using the second gripping section; and releasing the hollow body from the closure body by deactivating the reception unit.
Claims 22-24,27,28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokusai (JPH07297260) in view of Sinfonia (JP2012064828) and Park (US 2019/0247900).
Re claim 22,27,28, Kokusai doesn’t teach a handling unit by which the hollow body can be handled, the handling unit having a process space in which the hollow body can be handled, the process space being accessible through a process space opening, the cover handling unit being movably supported in the device by means of a further fastening device between an open position in which the cover handling unit releases the process space opening and a closure position in which the cover handling unit closes the process space opening. However, Park teaches a handling unit 500 by which the hollow body 10 can be handled, the handling unit having a process space in which the hollow body can be handled, the process space being accessible through a process space opening, a cover handling unit 620,621,622,711,720, etc. (see figures) being movably supported in the device by means of a further fastening device (see figures 1,4,10,etc.) between an open position in which the cover handling unit releases the process space opening and a closure position in which the cover handling unit closes the process space opening. It would have been obvious to have modified Kokusai in view of Park as claimed in order to allow (further) processing and handling of the hollow bodies.
Re claim 23, Kokusai as already modified teaches the handling unit is formed as a cleaning device (600 Park) for cleaning the hollow body or the cover.
Re claim 24, Kokusai as already modified teaches the handling unit that formed as an evacuation device (700 Park) for applying a vacuum in the hollow body or at the cover but not a second handling unit. However, duplication of parts is obvious (MPEP2144, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Kokusai to have a second handling unit as claimed in order allow multiple types of parallel processing to speed throughput and reduce wear and tear on the individual handling units.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haas (US 2023/0402298) teaches a hollow body handling and cleaning device (figures , page 9).
Halbmaier (US 2002/0046760) teaches a wafer container washing apparatus (figures, abstract).
MICHAEL S. LOWE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/MICHAEL S LOWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652