DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Receipt of Applicant’s Amendment, filed on 4 November 2025 is acknowledged and entered.
Election of Species 5, corresponding to Claim 33, without traverse is acknowledged.
By this Amendment:
Applicant withdrew Claims 26-28, 30, 36-41, and 43-46.
Applicant amended Claims 25, 29, 31, 32, 34, 35 are 42. Of these claims, Claims 29, 31, 32, 34, 35 are 42 are also withdrawn by Applicant.
Therefore, Claims 26-32, and 34-46 stand as withdrawn by Applicant.
Applicant additionally canceled Claim 33 (and added its subject matter to Claim 25).
Applicant added Claim 47.
Therefore, Claims 25 and 47 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 25, the claim contains the following preamble: “A device for cleaning a pot-shaped hollow body (12), in particular transport containers for semiconductor wafers or for EUV lithography masks…”
Here, the phrase “in particular” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unknown if “transport containers for semiconductor wafers or for EUV lithography masks” are required for the claimed invention, or merely a suggestion of intended use.
Regarding Claim 47, the claim depends upon Claim 25, and therefore suffers the same deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawano et al. (US 5,363,867).
Regarding Claim 25, Kawano et al. discloses a device for cleaning a pot-shaped hollow body, the hollow body comprising: the hollow body (Fig 15, container 40 as annotated by Examiner, which comprises container body 41, container cover 42, and additional components) comprising:
- a base wall (Fig 15, Examiner's annotations) and a side wall (Examiner's annotations) that forms an inner hollow body surface;
- an opening (Examiner's annotations, in Fig 15 the opening is shown as being filled by container cover 42) that is disposed opposite the base wall and that is proximate a marginal surface (Fig 15, flange 41B) of the side wall;
- a support wall (Fig 15, annular plate 61) on which the marginal surface (41B) of the hollow body can be placed (annular plate/storage table 61 is introduced at Col 13, lines 35-49);
- a locking device (Fig 7, cam 44, as initially described at Col 8, lines 36-50) by which the hollow body (40) is sealingly connectable to the marginal surface and releasably connectable to the support wall;
- a passage opening (Fig 15, port 62, see at least Col 14, line 1-13) and that is formed by the support wall and that is arranged radially inwardly from the locking device (Fig 15 shows port 62 as situated between flanges 41B; therefore port 62 is also “radially inward” from the locking device cam shown at Fig 7);
- a cleaning device (Fig 21, items 167, 168, and 170) by which a first cleaning fluid (from liquid supply 170) for cleaning the inner hollow body (40) surface can be dispensed when the hollow body is connected to the support wall (see at least Col 16, lines 31-37); and
- a first drainage channel (Col 16, lines 45-46 and Fig 21, "funnel-shaped liquid collector 171" having a first end,
- wherein the first end of the first drainage channel is only in fluid communication with the passage opening and by which the first cleaning fluid dispensed by the cleaning device can be drained (see Col 16, lines 45-46),
- wherein a first channel (61A) is arranged in the support wall (61) by which a flushing fluid (nitrogen) can be conducted to the marginal surface (Per Fig 15, nitrogen flows into port 62, which is in clear communication with marginal surface 41B). See Kawano et al.’s teachings at Col 14, lines 1-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawano et al., in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0329219 A1).
Regarding Claim 47, Kawano et al. discloses a device for cleaning a pot-shaped hollow body, wherein the cleaning device has a first cleaning head (167) that projects over the passage opening (port 62) and the first cleaning head has a number of first cleaning nozzles (indicated by the multiple arrows in Fig 21) by which the first cleaning fluid can be dispensed at a spray angle (although Fig 21 shows a cleaning heads directed vertically, Examiner broadly recognizes an "angle" as including a 0 or 90 deg orientation).
Further regarding Claim 47, although the Kawano reference teaches a first cleaning head, the reference on generically describes this component, so is silent on the first cleaning head (having) a setting device by which the spray angle can be set.
Lee et al., however, teaches a first cleaning head (having) a setting device (Fig 4, "nozzle bar rotating mechanism 202a, 202b") by which the spray angle can be set (see at least paras 17, 34, 59, and 121-122).
The Kawano and Lee references each teach substrate (wafer) cleaning apparatuses. The Lee reference additionally teaches a rotational nozzle bar capable of directing cleaning fluid as required by the operator. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the are prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the generically described nozzle 167 of the Kawano reference with the more detailed, rotatable nozzle as taught by the Lee reference, in order to gain the advantages of accurately directing cleaning fluid as required by the operator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- US 5621982 A has the same assignee as the aforementioned Kawano et al. reference, and teaches many of the same features.
- US 7360346 B2 teaches a device for cleaning a pot-shaped hollow body, featuring a locking device (latch 5) by which the hollow body (3) is sealingly connectable to the marginal surface (14), but is silent on a first channel arranged in the support wall by which a flushing fluid can be conducted to the marginal surface, as claimed by Applicant.
- US 6135168 A teaches a “standard mechanical interface wafer pod gas filling system” featuring a hollow body, port, and locking mechanism as claimed by Applicant, but is silent on a (fluid) cleaning device and drainage channel, as claimed by Applicant.
- US 20020046760 A1 teaches a wafer cleaning apparatus with several embodiments that feature first and second drainage channels and a second cleaning head, as claimed by Applicant in the presently amended and withdrawn claims.
/CHRISTOPHER M AFFUL/Examiner, Art Unit 3753