DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-30 are pending and currently under review.
Claims 1-15 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/16/2025 has been entered. Claims 16-30 remain(s) pending in the application.
The indicated allowability of claims 26-27 is withdrawn in view applicant’s amendments that broaden the scope of claims 26-27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 22 recites that the absorption device includes an absorption element defined by a portion of the irradiation unit housing wall. However, claim 22 is dependent upon claim 16, which already recites that the absorption device is defined by a portion of the process chamber wall. It is unclear to the examiner as to how the absorption device can be defined by both the process chamber wall and irradiation unit wall, which are different structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-22, 28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (US 2021/0291450) in view of Maggiore (US 2016/0068793).
Regarding claim 16, Barnes discloses a 3D printing system (ie. apparatus for producing three-dimensional workpieces) for building objects in a layer-by-layer manner using a laser or electron beam [abstract, 0001]; wherein said apparatus includes a process chamber (100) having a build platform (102) (ie. carrier) and a powder spreader device) (ie. powder application device), a fusing module (114) which one of ordinary skill would recognize to naturally scan a powder pattern according to a desired geometry based on the basic principles of additive manufacturing, as well as a number of absorbing structures (124) and reflecting structures (122) [0008, fig.1a]. Barnes further teaches that the fusing module includes IR heating lamps among other sources, which meets the limitation of electromagnetic radiation.
Barnes does not expressly teach absorption devices defined by a portion of a process chamber wall as claimed. Maggiore discloses that it is known to include absorptive material in the chamber walls to block or reduce laser intensities escaping from the chamber (ie. adapted to absorb radiation occurring inside the chamber [0080]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the apparatus of Barnes by including an absorptive material in the chamber wall for the aforementioned benefit disclosed by Maggiore.
Regarding claim 17, the aforementioned prior art discloses the apparatus of claim 16 (see previous). As stated above, the absorptive element of Maggiore has a function of absorbing radiation occurring inside the chamber, which meets the limitation of an absorption surface facing an interior of the chamber based on the plain definition of “faces” being “the surface of something having a particular function”. In this case, the function of absorbing radiation is oriented within the chamber to absorb radiation within the chamber (ie. faces interior of chamber).
Regarding claims 18-19, the aforementioned prior art discloses the apparatus of claim 16 (see previous). As stated above, Barnes further teaches a number of absorbing and reflecting structures, wherein said reflecting structures (122) are located in the fusing module (and also in the chamber as the fusing module is located within the chamber) which serve to shield the apparatus from unwanted heating [0008, fig.1a]. The reflecting structures are also expressly depicted to be facing into the chamber [fig.1a]. Barnes further teaches that the fusing module includes IR heating lamps among other sources, which meets the limitation of electromagnetic radiation.
Regarding claim 20, Barnes discloses the apparatus of claim 16 (see previous). Barnes further teaches that the absorber material can be aluminum, which one of ordinary skill would recognize to have a thermal conductivity meeting the claimed range [0026].
Regarding claims 21-22, the aforementioned prior art discloses the apparatus of claim 16 (see previous). Barnes further teaches multiple reflector structures (122) and also teaches side wall reflector structures (125) [fig.1a].
Regarding claim 28, the aforementioned prior art discloses the apparatus of claim 16 (see previous). The examiner notes that thermal expansion of the absorptive element of Maggiore would not affect a location of the irradiation unit as these would be separate and not in physical contact.
Regarding claim 30, the aforementioned prior art discloses the apparatus of claim 16 (see previous). Barnes further teaches that the reflecting structures are moveably associated with the fusing module (ie. functional tool within the chamber) [fig.1a].
Claim(s) 23, 26-27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (US 2021/0291450) and Maggiore (US 2016/0068793) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Meiners et al. (US 2020/0061922).
Regarding claim 23, the aforementioned prior art discloses the apparatus of claim 16 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach a transmission element as claimed. Meiners et al. discloses an additive manufacturing apparatus [abstract], wherein said apparatus further teaches a laser window (1025) which allows transmission of the laser energy (ie. transmission element) [fig.11]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the apparatus of Barnes et al. to have a laser window to allow for transmission of laser energy between a build chamber and laser unit as taught by Meiners et al. Said laser window is included in an upper wall portion of the chamber, wherein said upper wall portion also includes another shielding element (1070), and so the window of Meiners et al. is accommodated in a portion of the upper wall which also defines a reflection element.
Regarding claims 26-27, the aforementioned prior art discloses the apparatus of claim 16 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach that the absorption devices have cooling fins as claimed. Meiners et al. discloses providing a powder bed fusion apparatus with cooling vanes (ie. fins) opposite the internal shielding surface or cooling channels opposite the internal shielding surface in order to desirably dissipate heat from the shielding device of the sleeve structure [0113, 0122, fig.2, fig.7]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the apparatus of Barnes by including vanes or channels for the benefit of dissipating heat as taught by Meiners et al. The examiner notes that cooling fins which protrude from the absorptive elements as suggested by the prior art combination would naturally be extending “from” the absorption device as claimed.
Regarding claim 29, the aforementioned prior art discloses the apparatus of claim 16 (see previous). Meiners et al. further discloses a gap between the chamber build sleeve (ie. housing wall) and shielding wall sleeve (ie. process chamber wall facing irradiation unit) for thermal isolation [0059, fig.11]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the apparatus of Barnes to have an air gap for the aforementioned benefit disclosed by Meiners et al. The examiner notes that the distance depicted in the figures of Meiners et al. would naturally be greater than 0.1 mm as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art of additive manufacturing. Alternatively, the examiner submits that selection of a specific dimension of an air gap is an obvious, engineering design choice that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill because mere selection of particular dimensions is not patentably distinct absent evidence that the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (US 2021/0291450) and Maggiore (US 2016/0068793) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Van Hassel (US 2016/0207147).
Regarding claims 24-25, the aforementioned prior art discloses the apparatus of claim 16 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach a first gas inlet for providing cooled or heated gas as claimed. Van Hassel discloses that it is known to provide gas flow for an additive manufacturing apparatus to provide cooled, clean cover gas [abstract, 0020]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the apparatus of the aforementioned prior art by including the gas circulation of Van Hassel to provide a cooled, clean cover gas as explained above. Van Hassel further expressly depicts a gas inlet and gas source [fig.1,7]. The examiner notes that cooled gas flowing into the process chamber would naturally serve to cool and transfer heat from within the chamber, which includes the absorbing and reflecting components within the chamber of Barnes. Van Hassel does not expressly teach a second gas inlet and gas source as claimed. However, the examiner notes that the limitations of claim 25 merely duplicate the limitations of claim 24, wherein the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (US 2021/0291450) and Maggiore (US 2016/0068793) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Huebinger et al. (US 2020/0276640).
Regarding claim 29, the aforementioned prior art discloses the apparatus of claim 16 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach a gap as claimed. Huebinger et al. discloses that it is known to provide an air gap between a housing support and chamber side wall such that thermal decoupling of the structures is achieved [0018, fig.1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the apparatus of Barnes to have an air gap for the aforementioned benefit disclosed by Huebinger et al. The examiner notes that the distance depicted in the figures of Huebinger et al. would naturally be greater than 0.1 mm as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art of additive manufacturing. Alternatively, the examiner submits that selection of a specific dimension of an air gap is an obvious, engineering design choice that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill because mere selection of particular dimensions is not patentably distinct absent evidence that the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the previous rejection(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments filed 12/16/2025. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Maggiore as explained above.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734