DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 10 and 12, drawn to a microfluidic device for generating three-dimensional neural tube-like tissues.
Group II, claim(s) 16 and 18, drawn to a system.
Group III, claim(s) 25, 27-33 and 36, drawn to a method for generating a neural tube-like tissue.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I-II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of the central channel, the top channel and the bottom channel, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Adriani et al. (“A 3D neurovascular microfluidic model consisting of neurons, astrocytes and cerebral endothelial cells as a blood-brain barrier” Lab on a Chip, 2017, 17, 448). Adriani discloses a central channel that supplies a gel with astrocytes, a top channel that supplies medium and a bottom channel that supplies endothelial cells with medium (Fig. 2).
During a telephone conversation with Applicant’s representative on 02/02/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 10 and 12. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 16, 18, 25, 27-33 and 36 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: each bullet point in the claim is capitalized and should be lower case (bullet points a, b and c) in order to conform to current U.S. practice. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Chung et al. (KR 20200112512 A – hereafter ‘512 and reference will be to the enclosed translation).
‘512 discloses a concentration microfluidic chip (Abstract) that includes the following limitations for claim 1:
“A microfluidic device”: ‘512 discloses a microfluidic device (page 3, second paragraph).
“for generating three-dimensional neural tube-like tissues and/or neural spheroids”: ‘512 discloses generating a neural network (page 3, third paragraph) where this is being interpreted as a neural tube-like tissue.
“A central channel”: ‘512 discloses a central channel (Fig. 1b; page 3, third paragraph).
“A top channel parallel to the central channel, wherein the top channel is separated from the central channel by a first semi-permeable structure”: ‘512 discloses a drug channel, i.e. a top channel (Fig. 2a; page 3, third paragraph) that is separated from the central channel by interconnected grooves i.e. the semi-permeable structure (page 4, first paragraph).
“A bottom channel parallel to the central channel, wherein the bottom channel is separated from the central channel by a second semi-permeable structure”: ‘512 discloses culture medium channel, i.e. a bottom channel (Fig. 2a; page 4, first paragraph) that is separated from the central channel by interconnected grooves, i.e. the semi-permeable structure (page 3, third paragraph).
“wherein the central channel comprises a plurality of cell-attachment islands positioned on a bottom surface of the central channel.”: ‘512 discloses that the central channel has micro-pillars (page 3, third paragraph) that are being interpreted as the cell-attachment islands and these pillars are used for cell attachment (page 3, seventh paragraph).
For claim 3, ‘512 discloses that the central chamber has a left and right reservoir (outlets, i.e. the reservoir; Fig. 2b). Each of these reservoirs are in fluid connection with the central channel.
For claim 5, ‘512 discloses that the top channel (the drug channel) has a right and left reservoir (Fig. 2b) and that the bottom channel (the medium channel) has a right and left reservoir (Fig. 2b).
For claim 7, the micro-pillars of ‘512 have a basket shape (page 3, seventh paragraph) where this is being interpreted as a rectangular shape.
For claim 9, ‘512 discloses at least four micro-pillars/cell culture islands (page 5, fourth full paragraph).
For claim 10, ‘512 discloses that the micro-pillars/culture islands are formed at regular intervals (page 3, third paragraph; Fig. 2b).
For claim 12, ‘512 that the micro-pillars and channels are formed on the same chip (page 3, fifth paragraph) that is being interpreted as the coverslip of the instant application. The limitation where the islands are printed on the chip is a process step in an apparatus that are not accorded patentable weight. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)." Furthermore, the processing steps do not structurally define the instant application over the prior art since the claimed processing steps do not impart a distinctive structural characteristic to the final product.
Therefore, ‘512 meets the limitations of claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (KR 20200112512 A – hereafter ‘512 and reference will be to the enclosed translation) in view of Kamm et al. (US 2014/0057311 A1 – hereafter ‘311).
For claim 6, ‘512 differs from the instant claim regarding the semi-permeable connection between the channels being a circular post.
‘311 (Kamm) discloses a microfluidic device that can be used for a 3D bioassay (Abstract) that for claim 6 includes posts that separate the channels (Fig. 1) that can have a circular shape ([0083]). These posts, within ‘311, are part of a gel cage that holds the gel within the channel ([0010]) and therefore forms a semi-permeable barrier. ‘311 further discloses that the posts can be of any shape ([0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to include the circular posts of ‘311 within ‘512 in order to contain the cells within the central channel. The suggestion of doing so at the time would have been in order to contain the contents of a central channel that can include a gel and cells ([0083]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeon et al. (US 2019/0017999 A1) discloses a microfluidic chip for blood vessel formation.
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799