DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 1 and 10 are amended. Claims 12-15 are withdrawn. Claims 17-18 are new.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the claims filed on April 21, 2026 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see pgs 6-9, filed April 21, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-11, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to include a limitation that was not previously presented and that the previously applied prior art does not disclose: “wherein the vaporizable material channel part comprises at least first and second sections directing a flow therein in first and second opposite directions, respectively.” Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the previously applied references in combination with a newly found prior art reference. The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 2020/0221782 A1, cited on the IDS dated 5/3/2023) in view of Qiu (US 2019/0261695 A1) and Ghanouni (US 2021/0298358 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lim, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0001]), teaches an aerosol generation device ([0036]-[0039], Figs. 1-2; Aerosol generating device 10000) comprising:
a vaporizable material storage portion for storing a vaporizable material ([0036]-[0041], Figs. 1-2; Aerosol generating device 10000 comprises vaporizer 14000 (vaporizable material storage portion). [0050]-[0052], Vaporizer 14000 comprises a liquid storage portion for storing a vaporizable liquid composition);
a tobacco article socket configured to receive a tobacco article ([0036]-[0041], Figs. 1-2; Aerosol generating device 10000 comprises heater 13000 defining a tobacco article socket for receiving cigarette 20000 (tobacco article). [0064], Fig. 3; Cigarette 20000 may include a tobacco rod 21000);
a flow channel extending between a flow inlet and a flow outlet, the flow channel defining a vaporizable material channel part passing through the vaporizable material storage portion and a socket channel part passing through the tobacco article socket ([0036]-[0041], [0050], Figs. 1-2; The aerosol generated via the vaporizer 14000 may move along an air flow passage of the aerosol generating device 10000 and the air flow passage may be configured such that the aerosol generated via the vaporizer 14000 passes through the cigarette 20000 to be delivered to the user. [0061] The external air may flow into at least one air passage formed in the aerosol generating device 10000. The air flow passage is a flow channel extending from an air passage formed in the device 10000 (flow inlet) to a flow outlet at the tobacco article socket such that the aerosols can be delivered to the user through the mouth end of the cigarette. The portion of the air flow passage within vaporizer 14000 is the vaporizable material channel part. The portion of the air flow passage within the tobacco article socket is the socket channel part); and
a heating system configured to heat the vaporizable material and the tobacco article to form mixed aerosol in the flow channel ([0039]-[0042], Figs. 1-2; Heater 13000 is configured to heat cigarette 20000 (tobacco article) to generate an aerosol. [0051], [0054]-[0055], Vaporizer 14000 comprises a heating element configured to heat the liquid vaporizable material composition to generate an aerosol. [0050], The aerosols mix in the flow channel. Heater 13000 and the heating element form a heating system), the heating system comprising
a vaporizable material heater for heating the vaporizable material ([0051], [0054]-[0055], Figs. 1-2; Vaporizer 14000 comprises a heating element configured to heat the liquid vaporizable material composition to generate an aerosol) and
a tobacco article heater for heating the tobacco article ([0039]-[0042], Figs. 1-2; Heater 13000 is configured to heat cigarette 20000 (tobacco article) to generate an aerosol),
the tobacco article heater surrounding a tobacco article-receiving hole and being integrated into a delimiting wall delimiting the article-receiving hole or adjacent to the delimiting wall ([0039]-[0049], Figs. 1-2; Heater 13000 (tobacco article heater) surrounds a hole configured to receive cigarette 20000 (tobacco article). [0094]-[0095], Fig. 9; Heater 52, corresponding to heater 13000, may have a cylindrical shape surrounding a cylindrical heat transmission pipe. In this embodiment, the heat transmission pipe is a delimiting wall delimiting the article-receiving hole, and the heater 52/13000 (tobacco article heater) is adjacent to the delimiting wall);
wherein the tobacco article heater further comprises a succession of heating sections arranged along the tobacco article-receiving hole ([0049], Figs. 1-2; The aerosol generating device 10000 may include a plurality of heaters 13000 (heating sections) arranged outside the cigarette 20000 along the tobacco article-receiving hole),
wherein the aerosol generation device comprises a control unit configured to control the activation of the heating sections ([0042]-[0043], Figs. 1-2; Aerosol generating device 10000 comprises controller 12000 to control operations of the heater 13000. [0049], Heater 13000 may comprise a plurality of heaters 13000 (heating sections)),
but does not teach the aerosol generation device i) wherein the vaporizable material channel part comprises at least first and second sections directing a flow therein in first and second opposite directions, respectively, and ii) wherein the control unit is configured to control the activation of the heating sections according to a predefined heating profile during a vaping session.
With respect to i), Qiu, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0002]-[0003]), teaches an aerosol generation device ([0043] Figs. 5-7; Electronic cigarette 300) comprising:
a vaporizable material storage portion for storing a vaporizable material ([0043]-[0046], Figs. 5-7; Electronic cigarette 300 comprises an atomizer (not labeled in FIGS. 5-7) and a battery assembly 50 electrically connected with the atomizer. Storage member 70 stores a liquid vaporizable material. The atomizer is a vaporizable material storage portion);
a flow channel extending between a flow inlet and a flow outlet, the flow channel defining a vaporizable material channel part passing through the vaporizable material storage portion, wherein the vaporizable material channel part comprises at least first and second sections directing a flow therein in first and second opposite directions, respectively ([0052]-[0053], Figs. 5-7; An air inlet 81 (flow inlet) communicating with the outside is defined on the housing 80. An end of the air inlet part 61 communicates with the air inlet 81, another end of the air inlet part 61 communicates with an end of the smoke outlet part 62 away from the air suction port 11 (flow outlet). An air inlet port 74 communicating with the cavity and the air inlet 81 is defined on the sidewall of the storage member 70, so that the external air can flow into the airflow passage 60 through the air inlet 81. The flow channel (vaporizable material channel part) is defined from air inlet 81 (flow inlet) to air suction port 11 (flow outlet), and passes through the vaporizable material storage portion. As shown in Fig. 7, the vaporizable material channel part comprises a first section directing the flow of air downward from air inlet 81/air inlet port 74 toward air inlet part 61; and a second section directing the flow of air upward (opposite direction) through smoke outlet part 62); and
a vaporizable material heater for heating the vaporizable material ([0043]-[0046], Figs. 5-7; Atomizer comprises atomizing head 21 including a heating member 20 configured to heat the liquid vaporizable material composition to generate an aerosol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the aerosol generation device of Lim wherein the vaporizable material channel part comprises at least first and second sections directing a flow therein in first and second opposite directions as disclosed by Qiu because Lim and Qiu are directed to aerosol generating devices, Qiu demonstrates that the flow channel configuration ensures that air flows from the flow inlet to the flow outlet while preventing leakage of the vaporizable material (Qiu, [0120]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
With respect to ii), Ghanouni, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0006]), teaches an aerosol generation device ([0012]) comprising:
a tobacco article heater for heating a tobacco article, wherein the tobacco article heater further comprises a succession of heating sections ([0012], the invention provides an aerosol-generating device for generating aerosol from an aerosol-generating substrate by heating the substrate without burning, wherein the device comprises at least three heating zones, each disposed to heat a different section of the aerosol-generating substrate. [0080]-[0081], The aerosol generating substrate is a tobacco article),
wherein the aerosol generation device is configured to control the activation of the heating sections according to a predefined heating profile during a vaping session ([0060], Fig. 1 shows a heating profile according to the invention for a device comprising three heating zones for heating three different sections of aerosol-generating substrate. [0098], The device may be configured or programmed to provide a heating profile according to the method aspect of the invention).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the control unit of Lim to control the activation of the heating sections according to the heating profile disclosed by Ghanouni during a vaping session because Lim and Ghanouni are directed to aerosol generating devices, Ghanouni demonstrates that the heating profile provides good aerosol delivery to the user whilst optimizing power consumption (Ghanouni, [0120]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 1. Lim further teaches the device, extending along a device axis (X), the vaporizable material storage portion and the tobacco article socket successively arranged along the device axis (X) ([0036]-[0041], Figs. 1; Aerosol generating device 10000 comprises vaporizer 14000 (vaporizable material storage portion), and heater 13000 defining a tobacco article socket for receiving cigarette 20000 (tobacco article). Vaporizer 14000 and heater 13000 are successively arranged along the device axis (vertically as shown in Fig. 1)).
Regarding Claims 4 and 16, Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 1. Lim further teaches the device wherein the tobacco article heater is configured to heat the tobacco article at a first temperature ([0039]-[0042], Figs. 1-2; Heater 13000 necessarily heats cigarette 20000 (tobacco article) at a first temperature), and
the vaporizable material heater is configured to heat the vaporizable material at a second temperature ([0051], [0054]-[0055], Figs. 1-2; Vaporizer 14000 comprises a heating element configured to heat the liquid vaporizable material composition to generate an aerosol).
Ghanouni further teaches the device wherein the first temperature is less than 400°C, wherein the first temperature is between 200°C and 399°C ([0055], the aerosol-generation temperature may be in the range of about 120° C. to about 350° C),
but does not teach the device wherein the first temperature and the second temperature are distinct.
While Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni does not explicitly teach the atomizing device wherein the first temperature and the second temperature are distinct, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the device wherein the first temperature and the second temperature are distinct because Lim demonstrates that the first and second temperature can be pre-set and adjusted by a user (Lim, [0046]), Ghanouni provides a very broad range of values for the first temperature (Ghanouni, [0044]), and Lim demonstrates that the tobacco article has a different material composition than the liquid vaporizable material (Lim, [0021]). As one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that aerosol generating materials having different phases or compositions have different heating requirements, it would have been obvious to try to configure the device wherein the first temperature and the second temperature are distinct.
The ranges for the first temperature disclosed by the prior art overlap the claimed ranges, and therefore the claimed ranges are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 5, Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 1. Ghanouni further teaches the device wherein each heating section is configured to be activated independently from each other ([0060]-[0062], Fig. 1; Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown a heating profile according to the invention for a device comprising three heating zones for heating three different sections of aerosol-generating substrate. Each heating zone (section) is configured to be activated independently from each other).
Regarding Claim 6, Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 1. Ghanouni further teaches the device wherein the predefined heating profile (P) defines, for each heating section, an activation time interval within the vaping session during which said heating section is to be activated ([0060]-[0062], Fig. 1; Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown a heating profile according to the invention for a device comprising three heating zones for heating three different sections of aerosol-generating substrate. The profile shown in Fig. 1 defines for each heating zone (section) an activation time interval within the vaping session during which said heating section is to be activated).
Regarding Claim 7, Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 1. Ghanouni further teaches the device wherein according to the predefined heating profile (P), the heating sections are configured to be activated successively from a first heating section ([0060]-[0062], Fig. 1; Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown a heating profile according to the invention for a device comprising three heating zones for heating three different sections of aerosol-generating substrate. The profile shown in Fig. 1 activates the heating zones (sections) successively from a first heating section).
Regarding Claims 8-9, Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 1. Ghanouni further teaches the device wherein the predefined heating profile (P) defines, for each heating section, an activation time interval within the vaping session during which said heating section is to be activated, and wherein the activation time intervals of two successive heating sections are in part superposed within the vaping session on a superposed interval, wherein the duration of the or each superposed interval is between 5% and 50% of the duration of the activation time interval of each heating section of the two successive heating sections ([0060]-[0062], Fig. 1; Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown a heating profile according to the invention for a device comprising three heating zones for heating three different sections of aerosol-generating substrate. The profile shown in Fig. 1 defines for each heating zone (section) an activation time interval within the vaping session during which said heating section is to be activated. The activation time intervals of “heater 2” and “heater 3” are in part superposed within the vaping session on a superposed interval. The duration of the superimposed interval of “heater 2” and “heater 3” is about 50% of the duration of the activation time interval of each heating section of the two successive heating sections).
The range for duration of the superposed interval disclosed by the prior art overlaps the claimed range, and therefore the claimed range is considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 10, Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 8. Ghanouni further teaches the device wherein the succession of heating sections comprises at least three heating sections, the of three heating sections comprises a first heating section, a second heating section and a third heating section arranged successively, wherein, for the three heating sections, the activation time interval of the first heating section and the activation time interval of the second heating section being in part superposed on a first superposed interval, and, the activation time interval of the second heating section and the activation time interval of the third heating section being in part superposed on a second superposed interval, the first superposed interval and the second superposed interval being disjoint ([0060]-[0062], Fig. 1; Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown a heating profile according to the invention for a device comprising three heating zones for heating three different sections of aerosol-generating substrate. Initially, a first section is heated to the aerosol-generation temperature, a second section is heated to the intermediate temperature and the third section is warmed to the minimum operating temperature. Subsequently, the second section is heated to the aerosol-generation temperature, the third section is heated to the intermediate temperature and the first section is cooled to the minimum operating temperature. Finally, the third section is heated to the aerosol-generation temperature while the first and second sections are held at the minimum operating temperature. The activation time interval of “heater 1” (first heating section) and the activation time interval of “heater 2” (second heating section) being in part superposed on a first superposed interval. The activation time interval of “heater 2” (second heating section) and the activation time interval of “heater 3” (third heating section) being in part superposed on a second superposed interval, the first superposed interval and the second superposed interval being disjoint. [0079], The heating sections may be arranged successively from a most upstream section to a most downstream section).
Regarding Claim 17, Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 1. Lim further teaches the device wherein at least one of the flow inlet is arranged in an outside casing of the aerosol generation device ([0061], The external air may flow into at least one air passage (flow inlet) formed in the aerosol generating device 10000. The flow inlet must be arranged in an outside casing of the device for external air to flow into it), and
the flow channel is configured, in one configuration, to direct air entering from the at least one flow inlet into the vaporizable material channel part and the socket channel part successively ([0036]-[0041], [0050], Figs. 1-2; The aerosol generated via the vaporizer 14000 may move along an air flow passage of the aerosol generating device 10000 and the air flow passage may be configured such that the aerosol generated via the vaporizer 14000 passes through the cigarette 20000 to be delivered to the user. [0061] The external air may flow into at least one air passage formed in the aerosol generating device 10000. The air flow passage is a flow channel extending from an air passage formed in the device 10000 (flow inlet), through the vaporizable material channel part and the socket channel part successively, and leading to the flow outlet at the tobacco article socket such that the aerosols can be delivered to the user through the mouth end of the cigarette).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 2020/0221782 A1, cited on the IDS dated 5/3/2023) in view of Qiu (US 2019/0261695 A1) and Ghanouni (US 2021/0298358 A1) as applied to Claims 1 and 17, and further in view of Illidge (US 2022/0192258 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Lim further teaches the device wherein the flow channel extends from the flow inlet to the flow outlet according to a channel direction, the vaporizable material channel part and the tobacco article channel part arranged successively following the channel direction ([0036]-[0041], [0050], Fig. 1; The aerosol generated via the vaporizer 14000 may move along an air flow passage of the aerosol generating device 10000 and the air flow passage may be configured such that the aerosol generated via the vaporizer 14000 passes through the cigarette 20000 to be delivered to the user. [0061] The external air may flow into at least one air passage formed in the aerosol generating device 10000. The air flow passage is a flow channel extending from an air passage formed in the device 10000 (flow inlet) to a flow outlet at the tobacco article socket such that the aerosols can be delivered to the user through the mouth end of the cigarette. Therefore, the airflow passage (flow channel) extends from the flow inlet to the flow outlet according to a channel direction (vertically as shown in Fig. 1). The vaporizable material channel part (within vaporizer 14000) and the tobacco article channel part (within heater 13000) are arranged successively following the channel direction),
but does not teach the flow channel comprising a bypass section connecting the flow inlet directly to the socket channel part.
Illidge, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0002]-[0006]), teaches an aerosol generation device ([0133]-[0136], Figs. 17-19; System 110 is an e-cigarette configured to generate an aerosol from an aerosol precursor) comprising:
a vaporizable material storage portion for storing a vaporizable material ([0366]-[0376], Figs. 17-19; System 110 (aerosol generation device) comprises a tank 152 (vaporizable material storage portion) for storing e-liquid 160 (vaporizable material));
a vaporizable material heater for heating the vaporizable material ([0366]-[0376], Figs. 17-19; System 110 comprises helical filament 164 (vaporizable material heater) for heating e-liquid 160); and
a flow channel extending between a flow inlet and a flow outlet, the flow channel defining a vaporizable material channel part passing through the vaporizable material storage portion ([0366]-[0376], Figs. 17-19; System 110 comprises a passage 170 (flow channel) extending from inlet 172 to outlet 174, wherein passage 170 comprises a vaporizable material channel part passing through tank 152 (vaporizable material storage portion)),
the flow channel comprising a bypass section connecting the flow inlet directly to the flow outlet ([0383], [0394], Figs. 21 and 25 shows alternate embodiments of the system 110 of Figs. 17-19, wherein the smoking substitute apparatus a150c comprises a bypass passage a180. The bypass passage a180 shares a common inlet a176 and common outlet a174 with the vaporizer air passage a170).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni wherein the flow channel comprises a bypass section connecting the flow inlet directly to the socket channel part, analogously taught by Illidge because Lim, Qiu, Ghanouni, and Illidge are directed to aerosol generating devices, Illidge demonstrates that a bypass section reduces the flow rate through the vaporizable material channel part and allows for more consistent delivery of aerosol to a user (Illidge, [0385]), while improving the mixing of the airflow and cooling of the vapor within the device (Illidge, [0394]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further, as the flow outlet of Illidge is located directly upstream of the vaporizable material channel part (Illidge, [0366]-[0376], Figs. 17-19) and the socket channel part of Lim is located directly upstream of the vaporizable material channel part (Lim, [0036]-[0041], [0050], Figs. 1-2), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the bypass section connecting the flow inlet directly to the socket channel part of Lim such that air and aerosol may flow through the socket channel to the outlet of Lim for inhalation by a user.
Regarding Claim 18, Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni does not teach the aerosol generating device wherein the flow channel is configured, in a second configuration, to direct air from the at least one flow inlet into the socket channel part.
Illidge, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0002]-[0006]), teaches an aerosol generation device ([0133]-[0136], Figs. 17-19; System 110 is an e-cigarette configured to generate an aerosol from an aerosol precursor) comprising:
a vaporizable material storage portion for storing a vaporizable material ([0366]-[0376], Figs. 17-19; System 110 (aerosol generation device) comprises a tank 152 (vaporizable material storage portion) for storing e-liquid 160 (vaporizable material));
a vaporizable material heater for heating the vaporizable material ([0366]-[0376], Figs. 17-19; System 110 comprises helical filament 164 (vaporizable material heater) for heating e-liquid 160); and
a flow channel extending between a flow inlet and a flow outlet, the flow channel defining a vaporizable material channel part passing through the vaporizable material storage portion ([0366]-[0376], Figs. 17-19; System 110 comprises a passage 170 (flow channel) extending from inlet 172 to outlet 174, wherein passage 170 comprises a vaporizable material channel part passing through tank 152 (vaporizable material storage portion)),
the flow channel comprising a bypass section connecting the flow inlet directly to the flow outlet ([0383], [0394], Figs. 21 and 25 shows alternate embodiments of the system 110 of Figs. 17-19, wherein the smoking substitute apparatus a150c comprises a bypass passage a180. The bypass passage a180 shares a common inlet a176 and common outlet a174 with the vaporizer air passage a170).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni wherein the flow channel comprises a bypass section connecting the flow inlet directly to the socket channel part, analogously taught by Illidge such that the flow channel may be configured, in a second configuration, to direct air from the at least one flow inlet into the socket channel part because Lim, Qiu, Ghanouni, and Illidge are directed to aerosol generating devices, Illidge demonstrates that a bypass section reduces the flow rate through the vaporizable material channel part and allows for more consistent delivery of aerosol to a user (Illidge, [0385]), while improving the mixing of the airflow and cooling of the vapor within the device (Illidge, [0394]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 2020/0221782 A1, cited on the IDS dated 5/3/2023) in view of Qiu (US 2019/0261695 A1) and Ghanouni (US 2021/0298358 A1) as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Aoun (US 2022/0117307 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Ghanouni further teaches the device wherein the predefined heating profile (P) defines, for each heating section, an activation time interval within the vaping session during which said heating section is to be activated ([0060]-[0062], Fig. 1; Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown a heating profile according to the invention for a device comprising three heating zones for heating three different sections of aerosol-generating substrate. The profile shown in Fig. 1 defines for each heating zone (section) an activation time interval within the vaping session during which said heating section is to be activated),
but does not teach the device wherein each activation time interval has a duration between 80 and 100 seconds.
Aoun, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0002]), teaches an aerosol generation device ([0499], Fig. 2; Aerosol provision device 200) comprising:
a tobacco article heater for heating a tobacco article, wherein the tobacco article heater further comprises a succession of heating sections ([0227], [0499]-[0513], Fig. 2; Device 200 may be used to heat a replaceable article 210 comprising an aerosol generating medium (tobacco). Aerosol provision device 200 comprises a susceptor arrangement 232, a first inductor coil 224 and a second inductor coil 226. Elements 224/226/232 for a tobacco article heater. The first inductor coil 224 is configured to generate a first varying magnetic field for heating a first section of the susceptor 232 (and article 210) and the second inductor coil 226 is configured to generate a second varying magnetic field for heating a second section of the susceptor 232 (and article 210)),
wherein the aerosol generation device is configured to control the activation of the heating sections according to a predefined heating profile during a vaping session ([0155]-[0156], The heating assembly is configured such that the controller specifies a programmed temperature profile for the first heating unit and the second heating unit over a session of use. [0164], each heating unit present in the heating assembly is an induction heating unit comprising a susceptor heating element),
wherein the predefined heating profile (P) defines, for each heating section, an activation time interval within the vaping session during which said heating section is to be activated ([0676], Fig. 10; The heating profile shown in Fig. 10 defines for each heating section (“heater 1” and “heater 2”) an activation time interval within the vaping session during which said heating section is to be activated)
wherein at least one of the activation time intervals has a duration between 80 and 100 seconds ([0199], Fig. 27; The heating profile shown in Fig. 27 defines for each heating section (“heater 1” and “heater 2”) an activation time interval. The activation time interval of “heater 2” starts around 170 seconds and ends around 260 seconds (about 90 seconds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Lim in view of Qiu and Ghanouni wherein each activation time interval has a duration between 80 and 100 seconds as taught by Aoun because Lim, Qiu, Ghanouni, and Aoun are directed to aerosol generating devices, Lim and Ghanouni do not explicitly disclose a suggested duration for the activation time interval, Aoun discloses an exemplary activation time interval for a heating section of a tobacco article heater (Aoun, [0199], Fig. 27), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have looks to analogous prior art device for a disclosure or suggestion of a suitable activation time interval duration.
The range for duration disclosed by the prior art overlaps the claimed range, and therefore the claimed range is considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755