DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-12, 14-18, 20, 21 and 24 are pending in the application. Claims 10-12, 14-18, 20, 21 and 24 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-9 are currently under examination.
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 7/7/2026.
All previous rejection not reiterated in this office action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cathomen, in view of Maeder (WO 2015/148670). This rejection is necessitated by amendment.
Cathomen teaches introducing nucleic acid reagents encoding CCR5 sequence specific reagents into hematopoietic primary cells, alone or in combination with exogenous coding sequences, to make those cell resistant to HIV infection. Cathomen teaches vectors, polynucleotides and polypeptides encoding CCR5 specific reagents and resulting primary cells anti-HIV therapy (page 4, last paragraph, and page 5, 1st paragraph). Cathomen teaches the expression of CCR5 in hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) is reduced by more than 50%-75% (page 16-17 bridging paragraph). Cathomen teaches a preferred embodiment of the engineered cells are primary immune cells such as NK cells or T cells that are CCR5 negative (page 31, lines 6-12). Cathomen teaches using CRISRP-Cas9 and gRNA listed in Table 1, or TALEN for generating CCR5 with reduced expression (page 13, 1st and 2nd paragraph, and Table 1). It is well known that nucleases that results using NHEJ pathway would introduce indels (small insertion or deletion) which meets the limitation of deletion of at least one nucleotide and/or insertion of at least one nucleotide. Cathomen teaches the sequence specific reagents of their invention overcome most limitations of former reagents by targeting specific allelic sequence encoding the N-terminal region of CCR5 (page 4, lines 29-31). As shown in Figure 1, the T3 target site is within the first 15 amino acids of CCR5, which is encoded by exon 2.
However, Cathomen does not teach gRNA having sequence as SEQ ID NO: 1, 2 and 3 as claimed.
Maeder teaches gRNAs that target CCR5 domains that comprises sequences having 100% homology with SEQ ID NO: 1-3. Maeder teaches new guide RNA molecule comprises a targeting domain which is complementary with a target domain from CCR5 gene, SEQ ID NO: 503 (complementary to SEQ ID NO: 1), SEQ ID NO: 421 (complementary to SEQ ID NO: 2), and SEQ ID NO: 491 (complementary to SEQ ID NO: 3) (see attached alignment) (page 94-86, Table 1C).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art to use prior art known gRNA to target CCR5 with CRISPR/Cas9 because Maeder teaches they can be used with a Cas9 molecule that gives double stranded cleavage. Maeder teaches the 3 gRNA sequences are selected based on their close proximity to the start codon (page 92, 1st paragraph). Using prior art known gRNAs for their intended purpose would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Regarding claim 4, Cathomen teaches reagents that introduces stable and inheritable mutations into CCR5 alleles and also reagents preventing expression, transcription or translation of CCR5 (page 12, line 6-9), wherein reagents prevents transcription inherently decreases mRNA encoding CCR5.
Regarding claim 8, Cathomen teaches chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) can be expressed into the primary hematopoietic cells in which the expression of CCR5 has been reduced or inactivated, wherein the polynucleotide sequence encoding CAR can be inserted at the CCR5 locus (page 17, line 26-30). Cathomen teaches expressing CAR directs or improve specificity of primary immune cells such as T cells and NK cells toward tumor of infected cell (page 17, lines 7-10).
Regarding claim 9, Cathomen teaches a therapeutic composition that comprises said modified cell and carrier (page 34, 2nd paragraph).
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cathomen, in view of Maeder as applied to claims 1, 4, 8 and 9, in further view of Moriarity (US 2020/0208111, IDS). This rejection is necessitated by amendment.
The teaching from Cathomen and Maeder has been discussed above.
However, Cathomen and Maeder does not teach modification of NK cell further comprises a heterologous nucleic acid encoding CXCR4, CCR7, CXCR3 or combination thereof (claim 5), which result increased expression of said chemokine receptor. Cathomen does not teach further reduce expression of CXCR6, CCR1 or CD38 or a combination thereof in NK cells (claim 7).
Moriarity teaches genome edited primary NK cell that includes editing a gene for at least one of an activating receptor, an inhibitory receptor, a cytokine, a chemokine receptor…etc (paragraph [0009]). Moriarity teaches one embodiment is that a modification that alters cytokine or chemokine production relative to non-edited primary cell (page 3, paragraph [0050]). Morirarity teaches said modification may include a modification including CCR1, CCR4, CCR5, CCR7 and CXCR3, CXCR6 (paragraph [0051]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that the NK cells rendered obvious by Cathomen and Maeder may be further modified to include modification to chemokine receptor taught by Moriarity including CCR1, CCR4, CCR5, CCR7 and CXCR3, CXCR6 (paragraph [0051]). The ordinary skilled in the art would make such modification to alter the production of a particular chemokine (claims 5, increase production vs. claim 7, reduce production) as suggested by Moriarity. Since both Cathomen, Maeder and Moriarity provides reagents and methods for making such modification, an ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to make such modification in NK cells as claimed. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 5 and 7 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CELINE X QIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637