Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 03 May 2023 and 14 August 2025. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s timely election with traverse of Group I, claims 1 and 4-9, in the reply filed on 21 April 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s arguments are acknowledged and found unpersuasive. It is noted that Leck was used prior to the amendments to the claims. Yamashita (US 20160146496 A1) teaches an air conditioning apparatus comprising a refrigerant mixture consisting of only difluoromethane (R32 hereinafter) and 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (HFO-1234yf hereinafter) of 44 wt.% R32 and 56 wt.% HFO-1234yf (para [0077]). This satisfies the claimed refrigerant mixture and special technical feature.
Claims 14-17 and 20-27 are withdrawn from consideration from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being withdrawn to a non-elected invention, and non-elected species of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 1 and 4-9 are under examination and the requirement for restriction is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamashita (US 20160146496 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Yamashita teaches an air conditioning apparatus comprising a refrigerant mixture consisting of only difluoromethane (R32 hereinafter) and 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (HFO-1234yf hereinafter) of 44 wt.% R32 and 56 wt.% HFO-1234yf (para [0077]).
Please note, the intended use of the above claimed mixture (i.e. for replacing R-410A..) does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art composition.
In the instant case, the intended use does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting (see, e.g., MPEP 2112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (US 20160146496 A1) in view of Leck (US 20120267564 A1).
The teachings of Yamashita is disclosed above.
With regard to claim 4, Yamashita does not teach the incorporation of additional components into the refrigerant mixture.
In the same field of endeavor, Leck teaches a composition for refrigeration, air-conditioning, and heat pump systems comprising difluoromethane (R32) and tetrafluoropropene (HFO-1234yf) (Abstract). Leck further discloses that the refrigerant blends may optionally include other components— such as lubricants, dyes (including UV dyes), solubilizing agents, compatibilizers, stabilizers, tracers, perfluoropolyether, anti-wear agents, extreme pressure agents, corrosion and oxidation inhibitors, metal surface energy reducers, metal surface deactivators, free radical scavengers, foam control agents, viscosity index improvers, pour point depressants, detergents, viscosity adjusters, and mixtures— to improve performance characteristic (para [0058]). These optional components taught by Leck specifically satisfy the limitations claimed.
With regard to the additive components, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate said additives into the refrigerant mixture to achieve the desirable performance quality and obtain the claimed composition. Although, the cited references differ in their selection of additives, they collectively teach the same base refrigerant mixture for similar applications. Therefore, the person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to modify the mixture with known additives.
With regard to claim 5, Leck teaches a refrigerant composition comprises various lubricants, including polyvinyl ethers (PVEs), polycarbonates, synthetic paraffins and naphthene, mineral oil, polyol esters, alkylbenzenes, and polyalkylene glycols (PAGs) (para [0061-0062]). Leck further teaches that such lubricants are added to enhance compressor lubrication and prevent composition seizing (para [0026]).
With regard to the lubricant, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate these known additives into the refrigerant mixture. The person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to improve both workability and operational longevity, following the teachings of Leck.
With regard to claim 6, Leck teaches the refrigerant composition comprises lubricants, including polyvinyl ethers (PVEs) and polyol esters (paras. [0061-0062]).
With regard to claim 7, Yamashita does not teach the incorporation of stabilizer into the refrigerant mixture.
In the same field of endeavor, Leck teaches the refrigerant composition comprises stabilizer including terpenes, terpenoids, epoxides, butylated triphenylphosphorothionates, benzophenone and derivatives, terephthalic acid, epoxides, phenols (para [0077]).
As stated above, Yamashita in combination of Leck teaches the incorporation of additives, specifically stabilizers.
With regard to claim 8, Leck teaches that the refrigerant composition comprises stabilizer including terpenes (para [0077]).
As stated above, Yamashita in combination of Leck teaches the incorporation of additives, specifically stabilizers.
With regard to claim 9, Leck teaches that the refrigerant composition comprises stabilizer including limonene, terpinene, pinene (para [0078]).
As stated above, Yamashita in combination of Leck teaches the incorporation of additives, specifically stabilizers.
Conclusion
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761